DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Examiner acknowledges the following data:
Parent data
18793323 filed 08/02/2024 is a Continuation of 17279075, filed 03/23/2021, now U.S. Patent # 12615607 and having 1 RCE-type filing therein 17279075 is a National Stage entry of PCT/EP2019/073833, International Filing Date: 09/06/2019.
Status of the Application
This Non-final office action is in response to Applicant’s amendment received by the Office on 2 August 2024. Claims 1-20 have been presented in the application, of which, claim 1 is currently amended, and claims 19-20 are new. Accordingly, pending claims 1-20 are addressed herein.
Information Disclosure statements
The information disclosure statements (IDS) were submitted and filed on 02/02/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pathak et al (US 2018/0160422) in view of Guo et al (US 2019/0053130).
Regarding claim 1, Pathak et al discloses user equipment (UE) (fig. 1 item 100, DSDS device) for wireless communication, comprising:
at least one memory (RAM, [0196], line 8); and
at least one processor (processor, [0038], line 1) coupled with the at least one memory (RAM, [0196], line 8) and configured to cause the UE (fig. 1 item 100, DSDS device) to:
register a first subscriber identity module (SIM) with a first mobile communication network (DSDS device 100 includes a first SIM 100a and a second SIM 100b. Here, for convenience, only two SIMs are shown. However, it should be noted that any number of SIMs may be used for describing the proposed methods without departing from the scope of the invention. Also, for convenience, it is shown that first SIM 100a and second SIM 100b access the same network entity 200 as shown in the FIG. 1a. However, it should be noted that first SIM 100a and second SIM 100b may access different network entities (e.g., first SIM 100a may access a first network entity and second SIM 100b may access a second network entity), [0107], lines 6-11);
register a second SIM with a second mobile communication network (DSDS device 100 includes a first SIM 100a and a second SIM 100b. Here, for convenience, only two SIMs are shown. However, it should be noted that any number of SIMs may be used for describing the proposed methods without departing from the scope of the invention. Also, for convenience, it is shown that first SIM 100a and second SIM 100b access the same network entity 200 as shown in the FIG. 1a. However, it should be noted that first SIM 100a and second SIM 100b may access different network entities (e.g., first SIM 100a may access a first network entity and second SIM 100b may access a second network entity), [0107], lines 6-11); and
Pathak et al does not specifically disclose concept of transmit one or more multiple-SIM (MUSIM) capabilities to the first mobile communication network or the second mobile communication network, or both,
wherein the one or more MUSIM capabilities indicate a capability for supporting a connection release type, or a capability for supporting a service type indication in a paging message, or both.
However, Guo et al specifically teaches concept of transmit one or more multiple-SIM (MUSIM) capabilities to the first mobile communication network or the second mobile communication network, or both (Protocol for communication between the wireless communication device 200 and the MME may be a non-access stratum (NAS) protocol. From the device-side, at block B1810, the module 230 and/or the general purpose processor 206 may configure the RF resource 218 to send, to the network base station, a connection release request including a MME radio bearer suspension request. The connection release request may be a RRC connection release request. In some examples, the MME radio bearer suspension request can indicate to the network base station that a nature of the tune-away event may warrant the MME to release the UE context (e.g., to release or otherwise suspend the radio bears established). connection release request may be sent to the network base station in response to determining an incoming tune-away event to the second SIM (SIM-2 204b). Illustrating with a non-limiting example, the connection release request may be sent in response to determining a periodic tune-away event (e.g., scheduled page reception) or another suitable type of scheduled tune-away event to the second SIM. Illustrating with another non-limiting example, the connection release request may be sent in response to determining an incoming voice call over the second SIM, incoming data usage over the second SIM, or another suitable type of unscheduled tune-away event over the second SIM, [0183], lines 6-7, [0184], lines 1-5, [0185], lines 1-6),
wherein the one or more MUSIM capabilities indicate a capability for supporting a connection release type, or a capability for supporting a service type indication in a paging message, or both (Protocol for communication between the wireless communication device 200 and the MME may be a non-access stratum (NAS) protocol. From the device-side, at block B1810, the module 230 and/or the general purpose processor 206 may configure the RF resource 218 to send, to the network base station, a connection release request including a MME radio bearer suspension request. The connection release request may be a RRC connection release request. In some examples, the MME radio bearer suspension request can indicate to the network base station that a nature of the tune-away event may warrant the MME to release the UE context (e.g., to release or otherwise suspend the radio bears established). connection release request may be sent to the network base station in response to determining an incoming tune-away event to the second SIM (SIM-2 204b). Illustrating with a non-limiting example, the connection release request may be sent in response to determining a periodic tune-away event (e.g., scheduled page reception) or another suitable type of scheduled tune-away event to the second SIM. Illustrating with another non-limiting example, the connection release request may be sent in response to determining an incoming voice call over the second SIM, incoming data usage over the second SIM, or another suitable type of unscheduled tune-away event over the second SIM, [0183], lines 6-7, [0184], lines 1-5, [0185], lines 1-6).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Pathak et al with concept of transmit one or more multiple-SIM (MUSIM) capabilities to the first mobile communication network or the second mobile communication network, or both, wherein the one or more MUSIM capabilities indicate a capability for supporting a connection release type, or a capability for supporting a service type indication in a paging message, or both of Guo et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve control element extension for concurrent radio access technologies, (Guo et al, [0003]).
Regarding claim 2, Pathak et al discloses UE (fig. 1 item 100, DSDS device), wherein the capability for supporting the connection release type indicates whether the UE supports a radio resource control (RRC) connection release, a non-access-stratum (NAS) connection release, or both (Managing data communication at a DSDS device including a first SIM and a second SIM. Establishing a Radio Resource Control (RRC) connection over a first SIM and performing data communication with a network entity via the RRC connection. Further, the methods include detecting an activity upcoming over a second SIM. Further, the methods include transmitting a connection suspend (connection release) indication to the network entity to suspend the data communication over the first SIM, wherein the connection suspend indication is transmitted on one of a Layer-1 control signaling channel, a Layer-2 control signaling channel, and a Layer-3 control signaling channel. Connection suspend indication is transmitted on the Layer-1 control signaling channel when at least one of the following conditions is present: an activity on the second SIM is time critical, the activity on the second SIM is periodic, the activity on the second SIM is shorter in duration, and a bit indication to be sent in the connection suspend message with lower latency, [0014], lines 1-7, [0023], lines 1-4).
Regarding claim 3, Pathak et al discloses UE (fig. 1 item 100, DSDS device), wherein the capability for supporting the service type indication in the paging message comprises a voice service type (Managing data communication at a DSDS device including a first SIM and a second SIM. Establishing a Radio Resource Control (RRC) connection over a first SIM and performing data communication with a network entity via the RRC connection. Further, the methods include detecting an activity upcoming over a second SIM. Further, the methods include transmitting a connection suspend (connection release) indication to the network entity to suspend the data communication over the first SIM, wherein the connection suspend indication is transmitted on one of a Layer-1 control signaling channel, a Layer-2 control signaling channel, and a Layer-3 control signaling channel. Connection suspend indication is transmitted on the Layer-1 control signaling channel when at least one of the following conditions is present: an activity on the second SIM is time critical, the activity on the second SIM is periodic, the activity on the second SIM is shorter in duration, and a bit indication to be sent in the connection suspend message with lower latency, [0014], lines 1-7, [0023], lines 1-4).
Regarding claim 4, Pathak et al discloses UE (fig. 1 item 100, DSDS device), wherein the at least one processor (processor, [0038], line 1) is further configured to cause the UE to receive a configuration message from a respective mobile communication network, wherein the configuration message indicates a preferred connection release type of the respective mobile communication network, and wherein the respective mobile communication network comprises the first mobile communication network or the second mobile communication network (Managing data communication at a DSDS device including a first SIM and a second SIM. Establishing a Radio Resource Control (RRC) connection over a first SIM and performing data communication with a network entity via the RRC connection. Further, the methods include detecting an activity upcoming over a second SIM. Further, the methods include transmitting a connection suspend (connection release) indication to the network entity to suspend the data communication over the first SIM, wherein the connection suspend indication is transmitted on one of a Layer-1 control signaling channel, a Layer-2 control signaling channel, and a Layer-3 control signaling channel. Connection suspend indication is transmitted on the Layer-1 control signaling channel when at least one of the following conditions is present: an activity on the second SIM is time critical, the activity on the second SIM is periodic, the activity on the second SIM is shorter in duration, and a bit indication to be sent in the connection suspend message with lower latency, [0014], lines 1-7, [0023], lines 1-4).
Regarding claim 5, Pathak et al discloses UE (fig. 1 item 100, DSDS device), wherein the at least one processor (processor, [0038], line 1) is configured to cause the UE (fig. 1 item 100, DSDS device) to:
perform a first registration procedure with the first mobile communication network (DSDS device 100 includes a first SIM 100a and a second SIM 100b. Here, for convenience, only two SIMs are shown. However, it should be noted that any number of SIMs may be used for describing the proposed methods without departing from the scope of the invention. Also, for convenience, it is shown that first SIM 100a and second SIM 100b access the same network entity 200 as shown in the FIG. 1a. However, it should be noted that first SIM 100a and second SIM 100b may access different network entities (e.g., first SIM 100a may access a first network entity and second SIM 100b may access a second network entity), [0107], lines 6-11);
perform a second registration procedure with the second mobile communication network in response to a completion of the first registration procedure (DSDS device 100 includes a first SIM 100a and a second SIM 100b. Here, for convenience, only two SIMs are shown. However, it should be noted that any number of SIMs may be used for describing the proposed methods without departing from the scope of the invention. Also, for convenience, it is shown that first SIM 100a and second SIM 100b access the same network entity 200 as shown in the FIG. 1a. However, it should be noted that first SIM 100a and second SIM 100b may access different network entities (e.g., first SIM 100a may access a first network entity and second SIM 100b may access a second network entity), [0107], lines 6-11); and
Pathak et al does not specifically disclose concept of transmit the one or more MUSIM capabilities to the second mobile communication network during the second registration procedure.
However, Guo et al specifically teaches concept of transmit the one or more MUSIM capabilities to the second mobile communication network during the second registration procedure (Protocol for communication between the wireless communication device 200 and the MME may be a non-access stratum (NAS) protocol. From the device-side, at block B1810, the module 230 and/or the general purpose processor 206 may configure the RF resource 218 to send, to the network base station, a connection release request including a MME radio bearer suspension request. The connection release request may be a RRC connection release request. In some examples, the MME radio bearer suspension request can indicate to the network base station that a nature of the tune-away event may warrant the MME to release the UE context (e.g., to release or otherwise suspend the radio bears established). connection release request may be sent to the network base station in response to determining an incoming tune-away event to the second SIM (SIM-2 204b). Illustrating with a non-limiting example, the connection release request may be sent in response to determining a periodic tune-away event (e.g., scheduled page reception) or another suitable type of scheduled tune-away event to the second SIM. Illustrating with another non-limiting example, the connection release request may be sent in response to determining an incoming voice call over the second SIM, incoming data usage over the second SIM, or another suitable type of unscheduled tune-away event over the second SIM, [0183], lines 6-7, [0184], lines 1-5, [0185], lines 1-6).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Pathak et al with concept of transmit the one or more MUSIM capabilities to the second mobile communication network during the second registration procedure of Guo et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve control element extension for concurrent radio access technologies, (Guo et al, [0003]).
Regarding claim 6, Pathak et al discloses UE (fig. 1 item 100, DSDS device),
Pathak et al does not specifically disclose concept of wherein to transmit the one or more MUSIM capabilities to the second mobile communication network, the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to transmit a non-access stratum (NAS) registration request message comprising the one or more MUSIM capabilities.
However, Guo et al specifically teaches concept of wherein to transmit the one or more MUSIM capabilities to the second mobile communication network, the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to transmit a non-access stratum (NAS) registration request message comprising the one or more MUSIM capabilities (Protocol for communication between the wireless communication device 200 and the MME may be a non-access stratum (NAS) protocol. From the device-side, at block B1810, the module 230 and/or the general purpose processor 206 may configure the RF resource 218 to send, to the network base station, a connection release request including a MME radio bearer suspension request. The connection release request may be a RRC connection release request. In some examples, the MME radio bearer suspension request can indicate to the network base station that a nature of the tune-away event may warrant the MME to release the UE context (e.g., to release or otherwise suspend the radio bears established). connection release request may be sent to the network base station in response to determining an incoming tune-away event to the second SIM (SIM-2 204b). Illustrating with a non-limiting example, the connection release request may be sent in response to determining a periodic tune-away event (e.g., scheduled page reception) or another suitable type of scheduled tune-away event to the second SIM. Illustrating with another non-limiting example, the connection release request may be sent in response to determining an incoming voice call over the second SIM, incoming data usage over the second SIM, or another suitable type of unscheduled tune-away event over the second SIM, [0183], lines 6-7, [0184], lines 1-5, [0185], lines 1-6).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Pathak et al with concept of wherein to transmit the one or more MUSIM capabilities to the second mobile communication network, the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to transmit a non-access stratum (NAS) registration request message comprising the one or more MUSIM capabilities of Guo et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve control element extension for concurrent radio access technologies, (Guo et al, [0003]).
Regarding claim 7, Pathak et al discloses UE (fig. 1 item 100, DSDS device), wherein the at least one processor (processor, [0038], line 1) is configured to cause the UE to transmit the one or more MUSIM capabilities to the first mobile communication network during or after the second registration procedure (DSDS device 100 includes a first SIM 100a and a second SIM 100b. Here, for convenience, only two SIMs are shown. However, it should be noted that any number of SIMs may be used for describing the proposed methods without departing from the scope of the invention. Also, for convenience, it is shown that first SIM 100a and second SIM 100b access the same network entity 200 as shown in the FIG. 1a. However, it should be noted that first SIM 100a and second SIM 100b may access different network entities (e.g., first SIM 100a may access a first network entity and second SIM 100b may access a second network entity), [0107], lines 6-11).
Regarding claim 8, Pathak et al discloses UE (fig. 1 item 100, DSDS device), wherein to
Pathak et al does not specifically disclose concept of transmit the one or more MUSIM capabilities to the first mobile communication network, the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to transmit a non-access stratum (NAS) tracking area update (TAU) message comprising the one or more MUSIM capabilities.
However, Guo et al specifically teaches concept of transmit the one or more MUSIM capabilities to the first mobile communication network, the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to transmit a non-access stratum (NAS) tracking area update (TAU) message comprising the one or more MUSIM capabilities (Protocol for communication between the wireless communication device 200 and the MME may be a non-access stratum (NAS) protocol. From the device-side, at block B1810, the module 230 and/or the general purpose processor 206 may configure the RF resource 218 to send, to the network base station, a connection release request including a MME radio bearer suspension request. The connection release request may be a RRC connection release request. In some examples, the MME radio bearer suspension request can indicate to the network base station that a nature of the tune-away event may warrant the MME to release the UE context (e.g., to release or otherwise suspend the radio bears established). connection release request may be sent to the network base station in response to determining an incoming tune-away event to the second SIM (SIM-2 204b). Illustrating with a non-limiting example, the connection release request may be sent in response to determining a periodic tune-away event (e.g., scheduled page reception) or another suitable type of scheduled tune-away event to the second SIM. Illustrating with another non-limiting example, the connection release request may be sent in response to determining an incoming voice call over the second SIM, incoming data usage over the second SIM, or another suitable type of unscheduled tune-away event over the second SIM, [0183], lines 6-7, [0184], lines 1-5, [0185], lines 1-6).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Pathak et al with concept of transmit the one or more MUSIM capabilities to the first mobile communication network, the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to transmit a non-access stratum (NAS) tracking area update (TAU) message comprising the one or more MUSIM capabilities of Guo et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve control element extension for concurrent radio access technologies, (Guo et al, [0003]).
Regarding claim 9, Pathak et al discloses UE (fig. 1 item 100, DSDS device), wherein the at least one processor (processor, [0038], line 1) is configured to cause the UE (fig. 1 item 100, DSDS device) to:
communicate in a connected state with the second mobile communication network (first SIM 100a and second SIM 100b may access different network entities (e.g., first SIM 100a may access a first network entity and second SIM 100b may access a second network entity), [0107], lines 9-11);
detect activity associated with the first SIM (detecting an activity upcoming over the second SIM, [0057], line 4); and
Pathak et al does not specifically disclose concept of transmit a connection release request message from the connected state for the second SIM, in response to the detected activity associated with the first SIM, wherein the connection release request message is based at least in part on the one or more MUSIM capabilities and comprises one of a radio resource control (RRC) layer request message indicating a connection release and a non- access-stratum (NAS) layer request message indicating the connection release.
However, Guo et al specifically teaches concept of transmit a connection release request message from the connected state for the second SIM, in response to the detected activity associated with the first SIM, wherein the connection release request message is based at least in part on the one or more MUSIM capabilities and comprises one of a radio resource control (RRC) layer request message indicating a connection release and a non- access-stratum (NAS) layer request message indicating the connection release (Protocol for communication between the wireless communication device 200 and the MME may be a non-access stratum (NAS) protocol. From the device-side, at block B1810, the module 230 and/or the general purpose processor 206 may configure the RF resource 218 to send, to the network base station, a connection release request including a MME radio bearer suspension request. The connection release request may be a RRC connection release request. In some examples, the MME radio bearer suspension request can indicate to the network base station that a nature of the tune-away event may warrant the MME to release the UE context (e.g., to release or otherwise suspend the radio bears established). connection release request may be sent to the network base station in response to determining an incoming tune-away event to the second SIM (SIM-2 204b). Illustrating with a non-limiting example, the connection release request may be sent in response to determining a periodic tune-away event (e.g., scheduled page reception) or another suitable type of scheduled tune-away event to the second SIM. Illustrating with another non-limiting example, the connection release request may be sent in response to determining an incoming voice call over the second SIM, incoming data usage over the second SIM, or another suitable type of unscheduled tune-away event over the second SIM, [0183], lines 6-7, [0184], lines 1-5, [0185], lines 1-6).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Pathak et al with concept of transmit a connection release request message from the connected state for the second SIM, in response to the detected activity associated with the first SIM, wherein the connection release request message is based at least in part on the one or more MUSIM capabilities and comprises one of a radio resource control (RRC) layer request message indicating a connection release and a non- access-stratum (NAS) layer request message indicating the connection release of Guo et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve control element extension for concurrent radio access technologies, (Guo et al, [0003])
Regarding claim 10, Pathak et al discloses UE (fig. 1 item 100, DSDS device), wherein the at least one processor (processor, [0038], line 1) is configured to cause the UE (fig. 1 item 100, DSDS device) to:
Pathak et al does not specifically disclose concept of initiate a state transition timer based on a transmission of the connection release request message; and
transition to an idle state in response to expiry of the state transition timer without a reception of a response message from the second mobile communication network.
However, Guo et al specifically teaches concept of initiate a state transition timer based on a transmission of the connection release request message (Protocol for communication between the wireless communication device 200 and the MME may be a non-access stratum (NAS) protocol. From the device-side, at block B1810, the module 230 and/or the general purpose processor 206 may configure the RF resource 218 to send, to the network base station, a connection release request including a MME radio bearer suspension request. The connection release request may be a RRC connection release request. In some examples, the MME radio bearer suspension request can indicate to the network base station that a nature of the tune-away event may warrant the MME to release the UE context (e.g., to release or otherwise suspend the radio bears established). connection release request may be sent to the network base station in response to determining an incoming tune-away event to the second SIM (SIM-2 204b). Illustrating with a non-limiting example, the connection release request may be sent in response to determining a periodic tune-away event (e.g., scheduled page reception) or another suitable type of scheduled tune-away event to the second SIM. Illustrating with another non-limiting example, the connection release request may be sent in response to determining an incoming voice call over the second SIM, incoming data usage over the second SIM, or another suitable type of unscheduled tune-away event over the second SIM, [0183], lines 6-7, [0184], lines 1-5, [0185], lines 1-6); and
transition to an idle state in response to expiry of the state transition timer without a reception of a response message from the second mobile communication network (Protocol for communication between the wireless communication device 200 and the MME may be a non-access stratum (NAS) protocol. From the device-side, at block B1810, the module 230 and/or the general purpose processor 206 may configure the RF resource 218 to send, to the network base station, a connection release request including a MME radio bearer suspension request. The connection release request may be a RRC connection release request. In some examples, the MME radio bearer suspension request can indicate to the network base station that a nature of the tune-away event may warrant the MME to release the UE context (e.g., to release or otherwise suspend the radio bears established). connection release request may be sent to the network base station in response to determining an incoming tune-away event to the second SIM (SIM-2 204b). Illustrating with a non-limiting example, the connection release request may be sent in response to determining a periodic tune-away event (e.g., scheduled page reception) or another suitable type of scheduled tune-away event to the second SIM. Illustrating with another non-limiting example, the connection release request may be sent in response to determining an incoming voice call over the second SIM, incoming data usage over the second SIM, or another suitable type of unscheduled tune-away event over the second SIM, [0183], lines 6-7, [0184], lines 1-5, [0185], lines 1-6).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Pathak et al with concept of initiate a state transition timer based on a transmission of the connection release request message; and transition to an idle state in response to expiry of the state transition timer without a reception of a response message from the second mobile communication network of Guo et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve control element extension for concurrent radio access technologies, (Guo et al, [0003]).
Regarding claim 11, Pathak et al discloses method (fig. 1a, method) performed by a user equipment (UE) (fig. 1 item 100, DSDS device), the method comprising:
registering a first subscriber identity module (SIM) with a first mobile communication network (DSDS device 100 includes a first SIM 100a and a second SIM 100b. Here, for convenience, only two SIMs are shown. However, it should be noted that any number of SIMs may be used for describing the proposed methods without departing from the scope of the invention. Also, for convenience, it is shown that first SIM 100a and second SIM 100b access the same network entity 200 as shown in the FIG. 1a. However, it should be noted that first SIM 100a and second SIM 100b may access different network entities (e.g., first SIM 100a may access a first network entity and second SIM 100b may access a second network entity), [0107], lines 6-11);
registering a second SIM with a second mobile communication network (DSDS device 100 includes a first SIM 100a and a second SIM 100b. Here, for convenience, only two SIMs are shown. However, it should be noted that any number of SIMs may be used for describing the proposed methods without departing from the scope of the invention. Also, for convenience, it is shown that first SIM 100a and second SIM 100b access the same network entity 200 as shown in the FIG. 1a. However, it should be noted that first SIM 100a and second SIM 100b may access different network entities (e.g., first SIM 100a may access a first network entity and second SIM 100b may access a second network entity), [0107], lines 6-11); and
Pathak et al does not specifically disclose concept of transmitting one or more multiple-SIM (MUSIM) capabilities to the first mobile communication network or the second mobile communication network, or both, wherein the one or more MUSIM capabilities indicate a capability for supporting a connection release type, or a capability for supporting a service type indication in a paging message, or both.
However, Guo et al specifically teaches concept of transmitting one or more multiple-SIM (MUSIM) capabilities to the first mobile communication network or the second mobile communication network, or both, wherein the one or more MUSIM capabilities indicate a capability for supporting a connection release type, or a capability for supporting a service type indication in a paging message, or both (Protocol for communication between the wireless communication device 200 and the MME may be a non-access stratum (NAS) protocol. From the device-side, at block B1810, the module 230 and/or the general purpose processor 206 may configure the RF resource 218 to send, to the network base station, a connection release request including a MME radio bearer suspension request. The connection release request may be a RRC connection release request. In some examples, the MME radio bearer suspension request can indicate to the network base station that a nature of the tune-away event may warrant the MME to release the UE context (e.g., to release or otherwise suspend the radio bears established). connection release request may be sent to the network base station in response to determining an incoming tune-away event to the second SIM (SIM-2 204b). Illustrating with a non-limiting example, the connection release request may be sent in response to determining a periodic tune-away event (e.g., scheduled page reception) or another suitable type of scheduled tune-away event to the second SIM. Illustrating with another non-limiting example, the connection release request may be sent in response to determining an incoming voice call over the second SIM, incoming data usage over the second SIM, or another suitable type of unscheduled tune-away event over the second SIM, [0183], lines 6-7, [0184], lines 1-5, [0185], lines 1-6).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Pathak et al with concept of transmitting one or more multiple-SIM (MUSIM) capabilities to the first mobile communication network or the second mobile communication network, or both, wherein the one or more MUSIM capabilities indicate a capability for supporting a connection release type, or a capability for supporting a service type indication in a paging message, or both of Guo et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve control element extension for concurrent radio access technologies, (Guo et al, [0003]).
Regarding claim 12, Pathak et al discloses method (fig. 1a, method), wherein the capability for supporting the connection release type indicates whether the UE (fig. 1 item 100, DSDS device) supports a radio resource control (RRC) connection release, a non-access-stratum (NAS) connection release, or both (Managing data communication at a DSDS device including a first SIM and a second SIM. Establishing a Radio Resource Control (RRC) connection over a first SIM and performing data communication with a network entity via the RRC connection. Further, the methods include detecting an activity upcoming over a second SIM. Further, the methods include transmitting a connection suspend (connection release) indication to the network entity to suspend the data communication over the first SIM, wherein the connection suspend indication is transmitted on one of a Layer-1 control signaling channel, a Layer-2 control signaling channel, and a Layer-3 control signaling channel. Connection suspend indication is transmitted on the Layer-1 control signaling channel when at least one of the following conditions is present: an activity on the second SIM is time critical, the activity on the second SIM is periodic, the activity on the second SIM is shorter in duration, and a bit indication to be sent in the connection suspend message with lower latency, [0014], lines 1-7, [0023], lines 1-4).
Regarding claim 13, Pathak et al discloses method (fig. 1a, method), wherein the capability for supporting the service type indication in the paging message comprises a voice service type (Managing data communication at a DSDS device including a first SIM and a second SIM. Establishing a Radio Resource Control (RRC) connection over a first SIM and performing data communication with a network entity via the RRC connection. Further, the methods include detecting an activity upcoming over a second SIM. Further, the methods include transmitting a connection suspend (connection release) indication to the network entity to suspend the data communication over the first SIM, wherein the connection suspend indication is transmitted on one of a Layer-1 control signaling channel, a Layer-2 control signaling channel, and a Layer-3 control signaling channel. Connection suspend indication is transmitted on the Layer-1 control signaling channel when at least one of the following conditions is present: an activity on the second SIM is time critical, the activity on the second SIM is periodic, the activity on the second SIM is shorter in duration, and a bit indication to be sent in the connection suspend message with lower latency, [0014], lines 1-7, [0023], lines 1-4).
Regarding claim 14, Pathak et al discloses mobility management entity (Mobility Management Entity (MME), [0108], line 3) for wireless communication, comprising:
at least one memory (RAM, [0196], line 8); and
at least one processor (processor, [0038], line 1) coupled with the at least one memory (RAM, [0196], line 8) and configured to cause the mobility management entity (Mobility Management Entity (MME), [0108], line 3) to:
register a subscriber identity module (SIM) with a mobile communication network (DSDS device 100 includes a first SIM 100a and a second SIM 100b. Here, for convenience, only two SIMs are shown. However, it should be noted that any number of SIMs may be used for describing the proposed methods without departing from the scope of the invention. Also, for convenience, it is shown that first SIM 100a and second SIM 100b access the same network entity 200 as shown in the FIG. 1a. However, it should be noted that first SIM 100a and second SIM 100b may access different network entities (e.g., first SIM 100a may access a first network entity and second SIM 100b may access a second network entity), [0107], lines 6-11);
Pathak et al does not specifically disclose concept of receive one or more multiple-SIM (MUSIM) capabilities associated with the SIM, wherein the SIM is associated with a user equipment (UE), and wherein the one or more MUSIM capabilities indicate a capability for supporting a connection release type, or a capability for supporting a service type indication in a paging message, or both; and
transmit a configuration message that indicates a preferred connection release type of the mobility management entity.
However, Guo et al specifically teaches concept of receive one or more multiple-SIM (MUSIM) capabilities associated with the SIM, wherein the SIM is associated with a user equipment (UE), and wherein the one or more MUSIM capabilities indicate a capability for supporting a connection release type, or a capability for supporting a service type indication in a paging message, or both (Protocol for communication between the wireless communication device 200 and the MME may be a non-access stratum (NAS) protocol. From the device-side, at block B1810, the module 230 and/or the general purpose processor 206 may configure the RF resource 218 to send, to the network base station, a connection release request including a MME radio bearer suspension request. The connection release request may be a RRC connection release request. In some examples, the MME radio bearer suspension request can indicate to the network base station that a nature of the tune-away event may warrant the MME to release the UE context (e.g., to release or otherwise suspend the radio bears established). connection release request may be sent to the network base station in response to determining an incoming tune-away event to the second SIM (SIM-2 204b). Illustrating with a non-limiting example, the connection release request may be sent in response to determining a periodic tune-away event (e.g., scheduled page reception) or another suitable type of scheduled tune-away event to the second SIM. Illustrating with another non-limiting example, the connection release request may be sent in response to determining an incoming voice call over the second SIM, incoming data usage over the second SIM, or another suitable type of unscheduled tune-away event over the second SIM, [0183], lines 6-7, [0184], lines 1-5, [0185], lines 1-6); and
transmit a configuration message that indicates a preferred connection release type of the mobility management entity (Protocol for communication between the wireless communication device 200 and the MME may be a non-access stratum (NAS) protocol. From the device-side, at block B1810, the module 230 and/or the general purpose processor 206 may configure the RF resource 218 to send, to the network base station, a connection release request including a MME radio bearer suspension request. The connection release request may be a RRC connection release request. In some examples, the MME radio bearer suspension request can indicate to the network base station that a nature of the tune-away event may warrant the MME to release the UE context (e.g., to release or otherwise suspend the radio bears established). connection release request may be sent to the network base station in response to determining an incoming tune-away event to the second SIM (SIM-2 204b). Illustrating with a non-limiting example, the connection release request may be sent in response to determining a periodic tune-away event (e.g., scheduled page reception) or another suitable type of scheduled tune-away event to the second SIM. Illustrating with another non-limiting example, the connection release request may be sent in response to determining an incoming voice call over the second SIM, incoming data usage over the second SIM, or another suitable type of unscheduled tune-away event over the second SIM, [0183], lines 6-7, [0184], lines 1-5, [0185], lines 1-6).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Pathak et al with concept of receive one or more multiple-SIM (MUSIM) capabilities associated with the SIM, wherein the SIM is associated with a user equipment (UE), and wherein the one or more MUSIM capabilities indicate a capability for supporting a connection release type, or a capability for supporting a service type indication in a paging message, or both; and transmit a configuration message that indicates a preferred connection release type of the mobility management entity of Guo et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve control element extension for concurrent radio access technologies, (Guo et al, [0003]).
Regarding claim 15, Pathak et al discloses mobility management entity (Mobility Management Entity (MME), [0108], line 3), wherein the capability for supporting the connection release type indicates whether the UE (fig. 1 item 100, DSDS device) supports a radio resource control (RRC) connection release, a non-access-stratum (NAS) connection release, or both (Managing data communication at a DSDS device including a first SIM and a second SIM. Establishing a Radio Resource Control (RRC) connection over a first SIM and performing data communication with a network entity via the RRC connection. Further, the methods include detecting an activity upcoming over a second SIM. Further, the methods include transmitting a connection suspend (connection release) indication to the network entity to suspend the data communication over the first SIM, wherein the connection suspend indication is transmitted on one of a Layer-1 control signaling channel, a Layer-2 control signaling channel, and a Layer-3 control signaling channel. Connection suspend indication is transmitted on the Layer-1 control signaling channel when at least one of the following conditions is present: an activity on the second SIM is time critical, the activity on the second SIM is periodic, the activity on the second SIM is shorter in duration, and a bit indication to be sent in the connection suspend message with lower latency, [0014], lines 1-7, [0023], lines 1-4).
Regarding claim 16, Pathak et al discloses mobility management entity (Mobility Management Entity (MME), [0108], line 3), wherein the preferred connection release type indicates the RRC connection release, the NAS connection release, or both (Managing data communication at a DSDS device including a first SIM and a second SIM. Establishing a Radio Resource Control (RRC) connection over a first SIM and performing data communication with a network entity via the RRC connection. Further, the methods include detecting an activity upcoming over a second SIM. Further, the methods include transmitting a connection suspend (connection release) indication to the network entity to suspend the data communication over the first SIM, wherein the connection suspend indication is transmitted on one of a Layer-1 control signaling channel, a Layer-2 control signaling channel, and a Layer-3 control signaling channel. Connection suspend indication is transmitted on the Layer-1 control signaling channel when at least one of the following conditions is present: an activity on the second SIM is time critical, the activity on the second SIM is periodic, the activity on the second SIM is shorter in duration, and a bit indication to be sent in the connection suspend message with lower latency, [0014], lines 1-7, [0023], lines 1-4).
Regarding claim 17, Pathak et al discloses mobility management entity (Mobility Management Entity (MME), [0108], line 3), wherein the capability for supporting the service type indication in the paging message comprises a voice service type (Managing data communication at a DSDS device including a first SIM and a second SIM. Establishing a Radio Resource Control (RRC) connection over a first SIM and performing data communication with a network entity via the RRC connection. Further, the methods include detecting an activity upcoming over a second SIM. Further, the methods include transmitting a connection suspend (connection release) indication to the network entity to suspend the data communication over the first SIM, wherein the connection suspend indication is transmitted on one of a Layer-1 control signaling channel, a Layer-2 control signaling channel, and a Layer-3 control signaling channel. Connection suspend indication is transmitted on the Layer-1 control signaling channel when at least one of the following conditions is present: an activity on the second SIM is time critical, the activity on the second SIM is periodic, the activity on the second SIM is shorter in duration, and a bit indication to be sent in the connection suspend message with lower latency, [0014], lines 1-7, [0023], lines 1-4).
Regarding claim 18, Pathak et al discloses mobility management entity (Mobility Management Entity (MME), [0108], line 3), wherein the at least one processor (processor, [0038], line 1) is configured to cause the mobility management entity to:
perform a registration procedure with the UE for registering the SIM (DSDS device 100 includes a first SIM 100a and a second SIM 100b. Here, for convenience, only two SIMs are shown. However, it should be noted that any number of SIMs may be used for describing the proposed methods without departing from the scope of the invention. Also, for convenience, it is shown that first SIM 100a and second SIM 100b access the same network entity 200 as shown in the FIG. 1a. However, it should be noted that first SIM 100a and second SIM 100b may access different network entities (e.g., first SIM 100a may access a first network entity and second SIM 100b may access a second network entity), [0107], lines 6-11); and
Pathak et al does not specifically disclose concept of receive the one or more MUSIM capabilities during the registration procedure.
However, Guo et al specifically teaches concept of receive the one or more MUSIM capabilities during the registration procedure (Protocol for communication between the wireless communication device 200 and the MME may be a non-access stratum (NAS) protocol. From the device-side, at block B1810, the module 230 and/or the general purpose processor 206 may configure the RF resource 218 to send, to the network base station, a connection release request including a MME radio bearer suspension request. The connection release request may be a RRC connection release request. In some examples, the MME radio bearer suspension request can indicate to the network base station that a nature of the tune-away event may warrant the MME to release the UE context (e.g., to release or otherwise suspend the radio bears established). connection release request may be sent to the network base station in response to determining an incoming tune-away event to the second SIM (SIM-2 204b). Illustrating with a non-limiting example, the connection release request may be sent in response to determining a periodic tune-away event (e.g., scheduled page reception) or another suitable type of scheduled tune-away event to the second SIM. Illustrating with another non-limiting example, the connection release request may be sent in response to determining an incoming voice call over the second SIM, incoming data usage over the second SIM, or another suitable type of unscheduled tune-away event over the second SIM, [0183], lines 6-7, [0184], lines 1-5, [0185], lines 1-6).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Pathak et al with concept of receive the one or more MUSIM capabilities during the registration procedure of Guo et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve control element extension for concurrent radio access technologies, (Guo et al, [0003]).
Regarding claim 19, Pathak et al discloses mobility management entity (Mobility Management Entity (MME), [0108], line 3),
Pathak et al does not specifically disclose concept of wherein to receive the one or more MUSIM capabilities, the at least one processor is configured to cause the mobility management entity to receive a non-access stratum (NAS) registration request message comprising the one or more MUSIM capabilities.
However, Guo et al specifically teaches concept of wherein to receive the one or more MUSIM capabilities, the at least one processor is configured to cause the mobility management entity to receive a non-access stratum (NAS) registration request message comprising the one or more MUSIM capabilities (Protocol for communication between the wireless communication device 200 and the MME may be a non-access stratum (NAS) protocol. From the device-side, at block B1810, the module 230 and/or the general purpose processor 206 may configure the RF resource 218 to send, to the network base station, a connection release request including a MME radio bearer suspension request. The connection release request may be a RRC connection release request. In some examples, the MME radio bearer suspension request can indicate to the network base station that a nature of the tune-away event may warrant the MME to release the UE context (e.g., to release or otherwise suspend the radio bears established). connection release request may be sent to the network base station in response to determining an incoming tune-away event to the second SIM (SIM-2 204b). Illustrating with a non-limiting example, the connection release request may be sent in response to determining a periodic tune-away event (e.g., scheduled page reception) or another suitable type of scheduled tune-away event to the second SIM. Illustrating with another non-limiting example, the connection release request may be sent in response to determining an incoming voice call over the second SIM, incoming data usage over the second SIM, or another suitable type of unscheduled tune-away event over the second SIM, [0183], lines 6-7, [0184], lines 1-5, [0185], lines 1-6).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Pathak et al with concept of wherein to receive the one or more MUSIM capabilities, the at least one processor is configured to cause the mobility management entity to receive a non-access stratum (NAS) registration request message comprising the one or more MUSIM capabilities of Guo et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve control element extension for concurrent radio access technologies, (Guo et al, [0003]).
Regarding claim 20, Pathak et al discloses mobility management entity (Mobility Management Entity (MME), [0108], line 3),
Pathak et al does not specifically disclose concept of wherein to receive the one or more MUSIM capabilities, the at least one processor is configured to cause the mobility management entity to receive a non-access stratum (NAS) tracking area update (TAU) message comprising the one or more MUSIM capabilities.
However, Guo et al specifically teaches concept of wherein to receive the one or more MUSIM capabilities, the at least one processor is configured to cause the mobility management entity to receive a non-access stratum (NAS) tracking area update (TAU) message comprising the one or more MUSIM capabilities (Protocol for communication between the wireless communication device 200 and the MME may be a non-access stratum (NAS) protocol. From the device-side, at block B1810, the module 230 and/or the general purpose processor 206 may configure the RF resource 218 to send, to the network base station, a connection release request including a MME radio bearer suspension request. The connection release request may be a RRC connection release request. In some examples, the MME radio bearer suspension request can indicate to the network base station that a nature of the tune-away event may warrant the MME to release the UE context (e.g., to release or otherwise suspend the radio bears established). connection release request may be sent to the network base station in response to determining an incoming tune-away event to the second SIM (SIM-2 204b). Illustrating with a non-limiting example, the connection release request may be sent in response to determining a periodic tune-away event (e.g., scheduled page reception) or another suitable type of scheduled tune-away event to the second SIM. Illustrating with another non-limiting example, the connection release request may be sent in response to determining an incoming voice call over the second SIM, incoming data usage over the second SIM, or another suitable type of unscheduled tune-away event over the second SIM, [0183], lines 6-7, [0184], lines 1-5, [0185], lines 1-6).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Pathak et al with concept of wherein to receive the one or more MUSIM capabilities, the at least one processor is configured to cause the mobility management entity to receive a non-access stratum (NAS) registration request message comprising the one or more MUSIM capabilities of Guo et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve control element extension for concurrent radio access technologies, (Guo et al, [0003]).
Conclusion
/FRANTZ BATAILLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2681