DETAILED ACTION
Other Ref: Lee (US 20160203091) – Memory controller and memory system … fetch from host (Abstract).
Benisty (US 20190250848) – submission queue and completion queue (0026) – relevant to claimed submission queues.
Non-Patent Literature - Awad, Amro, Non-volatile memory host controller interface performance analysis in high-performance I/O systems, Published 2015 IEEE International Symposium on Performance Analysis of Systems and Software (ISPASS), (Year: 2015) – relevant to claimed device comprising processing circuitry implementing arbitration and parsing.. memory device.
In order to potentially overcome the rejections, the Office suggest amending the claims, subject to the original disclosure, to clarify the following: Claim 1: the relationship of the limitations related to fetch data, delaying posting, control transfer … submission queues and control transfer from internal queues; Claim 13: the relationship of the limitations related to fetching, decreasing first rate, increasing second rate, controlling transfer.. receiving second feedback and controlling transfer based on second feedback information; Claim 20: the relationship of the limitations related to receiving feedback, inserting data, fetching, receiving information from monitor.. delaying an update… controlling transfer of data … receiving third feedback.. and controlling transfer of data from internal queues based on feedback information.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,2-4,6,12,13,14-16,18,20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benisty (US 10387078 B1) and in view of Muthiah (US 20190370168 A1) and Benisty (US 20170090753)(hereinafter “Benisty753”) and Benisty (US 202500425211)(hereinafter “Benisty211”) and Earl (US 20160080484)
Claim 1. Benisty discloses A device (eg., col 5:42-43 Fig. 1, a data storage system 100 ) comprising:
processing circuitry configured to:
fetch data from one or more submission queues of a host device (eg., col 5:46-50 Fig. 1 - receives data from the host device 102 (via the submission queue 104)),
receive first feedback information from (eg., col 5:3-25 - the NVM data storage controller reports (or otherwise exposes) a different head pointer to the host than the one tracked by the NVM data storage controller. ; indicates the submission queue is already three-quarters full. Herein, the queue depth reported to (or exposed to) the host may be referred to as the “effective queue depth,; col 9:11-20 - parameters may vary dynamically with device usage and may be updated periodically or continuously by the data storage device, such as the usage level of the queue by the host and the average data transfer size of each command. The queue usage level may be assessed, for example, by determining an average or mean value for the number of entries in the host submission queue, or by assessing how often the host uses the queue, etc.; col 9:23-25),
control transfer of the data from the one or more submission queues to based on the first feedback information (eg., col 4:60-65 - controller adaptively and dynamically throttles the rate by which a host device inserts commands into NVMe submission queues to prevent timeouts or exception conditions.),
Benisty does not disclose, but Muthiah discloses
receive second feedback information from a memory device coupled to the processing circuitry, and control the transfer of the data from the one or more internal queues to the memory device based on the second feedback information (eg., 0022 - receiving feedback from the backend module; and determining an order in which to send the plurality of commands to the backend module based on feedback from the backend module.; 0029 - a controller comprising back end means for processing and sending a command to the memory.. determining an order in which to send the plurality of commands to the back end means based on feedback from the back end mean; to integrate with quest of a host device - 0049 - the back end module 110 provides feedback to the front end module 108 to assist it in determining the order in which to send commands to the back end module 110.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the data storage system with submission queues at the host as disclosed by Benisty, with Muthiah, providing the benefit of receive a plurality of commands from a host and determine an order in which to send the plurality of commands to the set of components based on feedback from the set of components (see Muthiah, 0012).
Benisty in view of Muthiah does not disclose, but Benisty753 discloses
implement an arbitration and parsing function (eg.,. 0024 - Submission queue selector 404 utilizes the submission queue statistics and the storage device resource state to identify one of submission queues 112.sub.1-112.sub.n from which the next command to be processed is selected and provide input to fetcher 406 that identifies the selected queue.)
At a rate controlled by the arbitration and parsing function (eg., 0030 - intelligent fetching also improves host utilization of a nonvolatile storage device because the nonvolatile storage device may process commands from the host faster than in implementations where round robin or weighted round robin command fetching only is used )
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the data storage system with submission queues at the host as disclosed by Benisty, with Muthiah, with Benisty753 providing the benefit of intelligent selection so that the queue is not included or passed over in the current round of round robin or weighted round robin selection (see Benisty753, 0024).
Benisty in view of Muthiah and Benisty753 does not disclose, but Benisty211 discloses
one or more internal queues; the one or more internal queues (eg., 0007 - The internal operations are queued in the dummy submission queues, ; Fig. 5 0044 A dummy VF is created along with the dummy SQs. Those requests are queued in the SQs. The bandwidth limiter controls the bandwidth on the drive considering also internal operations);
implement a rate limiter to control the arbitration and parsing function, (eg., 0021 - internal operations are queued in the dummy submission queues, while the bandwidth limiter is responsible for the performance rate.)
delay posting of new data to the one or more submission queues using the rate limiter, … based on controlling the arbitration and parsing function, (eg., 0044-0046 - bandwidth monitor then sends the feedback to the bandwidth limiter. The SSD 500 further comprises a dummy host, an NVME arbitration logic, and a bandwidth limiter database. Both the NVMe arbitration logic and the bandwidth limiter database receive information from the bandwidth limiter. The NVMe arbitration logic comprises a SQ fetch enable. The SQ fetch enable controls the queues and decides when to fetch new commands and when to stop fetching new commands from the device.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the data storage system with submission queues at the host as disclosed by Benisty, with Muthiah, with Benisty753 and Benisty211, providing the benefit of bandwidth allocation is balanced between the hosts and SSD (see Benisty211, 0021) improving logic for controlling bandwidth allocation in solid state drives (0001) benefit of this approach is the use of the bandwidth limiter while being able to control the bandwidth of all the internal operations without limiting the bandwidth from the external hosts (0046).
Benisty in view of Muthiah and Benisty753 and Benisty211 does not disclose, but Earl discloses
the first feedback information comprising a first indication of first resources consumed by a first tenant of the host device and a second indication of second resources consumed by a second tenant of the host device (eg., 0028 Fig. 1 - Resource monitoring module 218 may track the consumption of various computing instances, (e.g., resource credit balances, resource credit consumption) consumed for different virtual computer resources, clients, user accounts, and/or specific instances. resource monitoring module 218 may implement various administrative actions to stop, heal, manage, or otherwise respond to various different scenarios in the fleet of virtualization hosts 230 and instances 234. Resource monitoring module 218 may also provide access to various metric data for client(s) 202 as well as manage client configured alarms.)
the second feedback information comprising a third indication of an amount of usage of a specific resource of the first resources consumed by the first tenant (eg., 0044 - Resource monitoring module 218 may track the consumption of various computing instances, (e.g., resource credit balances, resource credit consumption) consumed for different virtual computer resources, clients, user accounts, and/or specific instances. resource monitoring module 218 may implement various administrative actions to stop, heal, manage, or otherwise respond to various different scenarios in the fleet of virtualization hosts 230 and instances 234. Resource monitoring module 218 may also provide access to various metric data for client(s) 202 as well as manage client configured alarms.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the data storage system with submission queues at the host as disclosed by Benisty, with Muthiah, with Benisty753 and Benisty211, with Earl, providing the benefit of Work requests may be submitted to individual virtual resource queues, which may correspond to a particular compute instance, from which they are then placed into a common physical resource queue for the physical computer resource performing the work request. Multiple different physical computer resources may have different resource request queues and corresponding individual virtual resource requests queues for compute instances that utilize the different physical computer resources (se Earl, 0011).
Claim 2. Benisty discloses wherein the first feedback information includes credit information that controls the transfer of the data from the one or more submission queues to the one or more internal queues (eg., col 4:65 – col 5:10 - adaptive throttling may be achieved by providing the host with a head pointer for a submission queue that differs from the actual head pointer maintained within the NVM data storage controller, with the adjusted head pointer set by the NVM data storage controller to throttle submissions by the host to the NVM device).
Claim 3. Benisty discloses wherein the credit information comprises information indicating an amount of resources used by the data transferred from the one or more submission queues to the one or more internal queues, and wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to adjust the rate based on the first feedback information (eg., col 5:5-17 - NVM data storage controller reports a head pointer (via a completion queue entry posted in a separate completion queue) that indicates there is relatively little submission queue depth currently available. The host device, in accordance with its normal processing, then stops sending (or reduces the rate of) new memory access requests to the NVM controller via the submission queues).
Benisty in view of Muthiah does not disclose, but Benisty753 discloses
rate controlled by the arbitration and parsing function (eg., 0030 - intelligent fetching also improves host utilization of a nonvolatile storage device because the nonvolatile storage device may process commands from the host faster than in implementations where round robin or weighted round robin command fetching only is used )
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the data storage system with submission queues at the host as disclosed by Benisty, with Muthiah, with Benisty753 providing the benefit of intelligent selection so that the queue is not included or passed over in the current round of round robin or weighted round robin selection (see Benisty753, 0024).
Claim 4. Benisty discloses wherein the first feedback information indicates a rate change for changing a transfer rate at which data is transferred from the one or more submission queues to the one or more internal queues (eg., col 5:14-17 - The host device, in accordance with its normal processing, then stops sending (or reduces the rate of) new memory access requests to the NVM controller).
Claim 6. Benisty discloses wherein the rate change decreases the transfer rate of the data from the one or more submission queues to the one or more internal queues (eg., col 5:11-14 - host device, in accordance with its normal processing, then stops sending (or reduces the rate of) new memory access requests to the NVM controller via the submission queues).
Claim 12. Benisty discloses wherein the data comprises one or more commands (eg., 0018 – commands in submission queues).
Claim 13. Benisty discloses A method performed by at least one processor, the method (eg., col 5:42-43 Fig. 1, a data storage system 100 ) comprising:
fetching data from submission queues of a host device at rates controlled by the arbitration and parsing function (eg., col 5:46-50 Fig. 1 - receives data from the host device 102 (via the submission queue 104); col 4:60-63 - controller adaptively and dynamically throttles the rate by which a host device inserts commands into NVMe submission queues),
receiving first feedback information from (eg., col 5:3-25 - the NVM data storage controller reports (or otherwise exposes) a different head pointer to the host than the one tracked by the NVM data storage controller. ; indicates the submission queue is already three-quarters full. Herein, the queue depth reported to (or exposed to) the host may be referred to as the “effective queue depth,; col 9:11-20 - parameters may vary dynamically with device usage and may be updated periodically or continuously by the data storage device, such as the usage level of the queue by the host and the average data transfer size of each command. The queue usage level may be assessed, for example, by determining an average or mean value for the number of entries in the host submission queue, or by assessing how often the host uses the queue, etc.; col 9:23-25),
controlling transfer of the data from the submission queues to based on the first feedback information (eg., col 4:60-65 - controller adaptively and dynamically throttles the rate by which a host device inserts commands into NVMe submission queues to prevent timeouts or exception conditions.),
Benisty does not disclose, but Muthiah discloses
receiving second feedback information from a memory device coupled to the processor, and controlling the transfer of the data from the one or more internal queues to the memory device based on the second feedback information (eg., 0022 - receiving feedback from the backend module; and determining an order in which to send the plurality of commands to the backend module based on feedback from the backend module.; 0029 - a controller comprising back end means for processing and sending a command to the memory.. determining an order in which to send the plurality of commands to the back end means based on feedback from the back end mean; to integrate with quest of a host device - 0049 - the back end module 110 provides feedback to the front end module 108 to assist it in determining the order in which to send commands to the back end module 110.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the data storage system with submission queues at the host as disclosed by Benisty, with Muthiah, providing the benefit of receive a plurality of commands from a host and determine an order in which to send the plurality of commands to the set of components based on feedback from the set of components (see Muthiah, 0012).
Benisty in view of Muthiah does not disclose, but Benisty753 discloses
implement an arbitration and parsing function (eg.,. 0024 - Submission queue selector 404 utilizes the submission queue statistics and the storage device resource state to identify one of submission queues 112.sub.1-112.sub.n from which the next command to be processed is selected and provide input to fetcher 406 that identifies the selected queue; 0030 - intelligent fetching also improves host utilization of a nonvolatile storage device because the nonvolatile storage device may process commands from the host faster than in implementations where round robin or weighted round robin command fetching only is used )
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the data storage system with submission queues at the host as disclosed by Benisty, with Muthiah, with Benisty753 providing the benefit of intelligent selection so that the queue is not included or passed over in the current round of round robin or weighted round robin selection (see Benisty753, 0024).
Benisty in view of Muthiah and Benisty753 does not disclose, but Benisty211 discloses
one or more internal queues; the one or more internal queues (eg., 0007 - The internal operations are queued in the dummy submission queues, ; Fig. 5 0044 A dummy VF is created along with the dummy SQs. Those requests are queued in the SQs. The bandwidth limiter controls the bandwidth on the drive considering also internal operations);
decreasing a first rate of the rates for fetching first data from a first submission queue associated with a first tenant of the host device based on the first feedback information; increasing a second rate of the rates for fetching second data from a second submission queue associated with a second tenant of the host device based on the first feedback information (eg., 0044 – 0046 - a bandwidth limiter that considers all internal operations. A bandwidth monitor that monitors the bandwidths of both host A and host B; bandwidth monitor then sends the feedback to the bandwidth limiter. The SSD 500 further comprises a dummy host, an NVME arbitration logic, and a bandwidth limiter database. Both the NVMe arbitration logic and the bandwidth limiter database receive information from the bandwidth limiter. The NVMe arbitration logic comprises a SQ fetch enable. The SQ fetch enable controls the queues and decides when to fetch new commands and when to stop fetching new commands from the device)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the data storage system with submission queues at the host as disclosed by Benisty, with Muthiah, with Benisty753 and Benisty211, providing the benefit of bandwidth allocation is balanced between the hosts and SSD (see Benisty211, 0021) improving logic for controlling bandwidth allocation in solid state drives (0001) benefit of this approach is the use of the bandwidth limiter while being able to control the bandwidth of all the internal operations without limiting the bandwidth from the external hosts (0046).
Benisty in view of Muthiah and Benisty753 and Benisty211 does not disclose, but Earl discloses
increasing a third rate for fetching first commands from a first internal queue associated with a third tenant of the host device based on the second feedback information; decreasing a fourth rate for fetching second commands from a second internal queue associated with a fourth tenant of the host device based on the second feedback information (eg., 0043 - [0043] Resource credit balance scheduler 324 may also report credit balance and usage metrics 362 to monitoring agent 326, which may in turn report these metrics along with any other host metrics 364 (health information, etc.) to resource monitoring module 218. 0044 - dynamic virtual resource request rate controls for physical resources. Utilization of multiple different physical computer resources may be provided to compute instances 330 ; [0045] Different dynamic request rate controls may be implemented for different resources, in some embodiments. For example dynamic request rate controls 407 may be implemented for work requests for resource A 400, dynamic request rate controls 417 may be implemented for work requests for resource B 410, and dynamic request rate controls 427 may be implemented for work requests for resource C 420.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the data storage system with submission queues at the host as disclosed by Benisty, with Muthiah, with Benisty753 and Benisty211, with Earl, providing the benefit of Work requests may be submitted to individual virtual resource queues, which may correspond to a particular compute instance, from which they are then placed into a common physical resource queue for the physical computer resource performing the work request. Multiple different physical computer resources may have different resource request queues and corresponding individual virtual resource requests queues for compute instances that utilize the different physical computer resources (se Earl, 0011) dynamic virtual resource request rate controls (0044).
Claim 14 is rejected for reasons similar to Claim 2 above.
Claim 15 is rejected for reasons similar to Claim 3 above.
Claim 16 is rejected for reasons similar to Claim 4 above.
Claim 18 is rejected for reasons similar to Claim 6 above.
Claim 20. Benisty discloses A non-transitory computer readable medium having instructions stored therein, which when executed by a processor cause the processor to perform a method (eg., col 5:42-43 Fig. 1, a data storage system 100 ) comprising:
the one or more submission queues (eg., col 5:46-50 Fig. 1 - receives data from the host device 102 (via the submission queue 104)),
receiving feedback information (eg., col 5:3-25 - the NVM data storage controller reports (or otherwise exposes) a different head pointer to the host than the one tracked by the NVM data storage controller. ; indicates the submission queue is already three-quarters full. Herein, the queue depth reported to (or exposed to) the host may be referred to as the “effective queue depth,; col 9:11-20 - parameters may vary dynamically with device usage and may be updated periodically or continuously by the data storage device, such as the usage level of the queue by the host and the average data transfer size of each command. The queue usage level may be assessed, for example, by determining an average or mean value for the number of entries in the host submission queue, or by assessing how often the host uses the queue, etc.; col 9:23-25),
Benisty does not disclose, but Muthiah discloses
receiving third feedback information from a memory device coupled to the processor, and controlling the transfer of the data from the one or more internal queues to the memory device based on the third feedback information (eg., 0022 - receiving feedback from the backend module; and determining an order in which to send the plurality of commands to the backend module based on feedback from the backend module.; 0029 - a controller comprising back end means for processing and sending a command to the memory.. determining an order in which to send the plurality of commands to the back end means based on feedback from the back end mean; to integrate with quest of a host device - 0049 - the back end module 110 provides feedback to the front end module 108 to assist it in determining the order in which to send commands to the back end module 110.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the data storage system with submission queues at the host as disclosed by Benisty, with Muthiah, providing the benefit of receive a plurality of commands from a host and determine an order in which to send the plurality of commands to the set of components based on feedback from the set of components (see Muthiah, 0012).
Benisty in view of Muthiah does not disclose, but Benisty753 discloses
implementing an arbitration and parsing function (eg.,. 0024 - Submission queue selector 404 utilizes the submission queue statistics and the storage device resource state to identify one of submission queues 112.sub.1-112.sub.n from which the next command to be processed is selected and provide input to fetcher 406 that identifies the selected queue.)
at a second rate controlled by the arbitration and parsing function (eg., 0030 - intelligent fetching also improves host utilization of a nonvolatile storage device because the nonvolatile storage device may process commands from the host faster than in implementations where round robin or weighted round robin command fetching only is used )
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the data storage system with submission queues at the host as disclosed by Benisty, with Muthiah, with Benisty753 providing the benefit of intelligent selection so that the queue is not included or passed over in the current round of round robin or weighted round robin selection (see Benisty753, 0024).
Benisty in view of Muthiah and Benisty753 does not disclose, but Benisty211 discloses
one or more internal queues; the one or more internal queues (eg., 0007 - The internal operations are queued in the dummy submission queues, ; Fig. 5 0044 A dummy VF is created along with the dummy SQs. Those requests are queued in the SQs. The bandwidth limiter controls the bandwidth on the drive considering also internal operations);
receiving first feedback information from the arbitration and parsing function; inserting data into one or more submission queues of a host device at a first rate controlled by the first feedback information; controlling transfer of the data from the one or more submission queues to the one or more internal queues based on the first feedback information (eg., 0044 – 0046 - a bandwidth limiter that considers all internal operations. A bandwidth monitor that monitors the bandwidths of both host A and host B; bandwidth monitor then sends the feedback to the bandwidth limiter. The SSD 500 further comprises a dummy host, an NVME arbitration logic, and a bandwidth limiter database. Both the NVMe arbitration logic and the bandwidth limiter database receive information from the bandwidth limiter. The NVMe arbitration logic comprises a SQ fetch enable. The SQ fetch enable controls the queues and decides when to fetch new commands and when to stop fetching new commands from the device);
fetching the data from the one or more submission queues at a second rate controlled (eg., 0045 - arbitration logic and the bandwidth limiter database receive information from the bandwidth limiter. The NVMe arbitration logic comprises a SQ fetch enable. The SQ fetch enable controls the queues and decides when to fetch new commands and when to stop fetching new commands from the device)
receiving second feedback information from one or more internal queues (eg., 0044 Fig. 5 - The bandwidth limiter controls the bandwidth on the drive considering also internal operations. By using the same technique while the dummy VF mimics the host for all internal operations the bandwidth of VFs can be balanced.)
controlling transfer of the data from the one or more submission queues to the one or more internal queues based on the first second feedback information (eg., 0049 Fig. 6 - bandwidth allocation can be changed dynamically. When extensive background operation is required, the bandwidth allocation to the dummy VF is configured to service those operations only while starving for a short time the other regular VFs which represent host traffic)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the data storage system with submission queues at the host as disclosed by Benisty, with Muthiah, with Benisty753 and Benisty211, providing the benefit of bandwidth allocation is balanced between the hosts and SSD (see Benisty211, 0021) improving logic for controlling bandwidth allocation in solid state drives (0001) benefit of this approach is the use of the bandwidth limiter while being able to control the bandwidth of all the internal operations without limiting the bandwidth from the external hosts (0046).
Benisty in view of Muthiah and Benisty753 and Benisty211 does not disclose, but Earl discloses
receiving information from a performance monitor indicating an amount of resources consumed by a tenant of the host device; delaying an update of a position of a head pointer of a submission queue associated with the tenant based on the amount of the resources consumed by the tenant (eg., 0045 - Dynamic resource request controls may be configured to dynamically determine a delay to be imposed before placing a next resource request into a resource request queue… resource credit balance 403 of a particular instance (e.g., 330c) for resource A may be obtained to determine an initial delay between work requests (using the number of resource credits in the credit balance to identify an allotted utilization for instance 303c). The workload for resource A may also be obtained 405 and provided to the dynamic rate control)(In order to overcome the rejection, the Office suggests amending the claim to clarify whether “a submission queue” is one of the one or more submission queues of a host device, or is “a submission queue” different).
the third feedback information indicating an amount of usage of a specific resource of the resources consumed by the tenant (eg., 0044 - Utilization of multiple different physical computer resources may be provided to compute instances 330. For example, resource A 400, resource B 410, and resource C 420 may represent processing, networking and/or storage physical computer resources (or any other physical computer resource).; 0045 - Resource B queue workload 415 and resource C queue workload 425 may also be used to dynamically determine the delay.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the data storage system with submission queues at the host as disclosed by Benisty, with Muthiah, with Benisty753 and Benisty211, with Earl, providing the benefit of Work requests may be submitted to individual virtual resource queues, which may correspond to a particular compute instance, from which they are then placed into a common physical resource queue for the physical computer resource performing the work request. Multiple different physical computer resources may have different resource request queues and corresponding individual virtual resource requests queues for compute instances that utilize the different physical computer resources (se Earl, 0011) dynamic virtual resource request rate controls (0044).
Claims 5, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benisty (US 10387078 B1) and in view of Muthiah (US 20190370168 A1) , and further in view of Benisty753 (cited above) and Benisty211 (cited above) and Earl (cited above) and Trika (US 20240095074 A1)
Claim 5. Benisty in view of Muthiah and Benisty753 and Benisty211 and Earl does not disclose, but Trika discloses
wherein the rate change increases the transfer rate of the data from the one or more submission queues to the one or more internal queues (eg., col 16:10-12 - the NVM data storage controller throttles the host in a more aggressive manner (eg., 0028 - requests from submission queues having higher WRRCs are submitted to the fulfillment processor and fulfilled at a greater rate than requests from submission queues having lower WRRCs. ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the data storage system with submission queues at the host as disclosed by Benisty, with Muthiah, and Benisty753 and Benisty211 and Earl and Trika providing the benefit of receive a plurality of commands from a host and determine an order in which to send the plurality of promote fairness to the clients while simultaneously allowing full utilization of the storage hardware performance (see Trika, 0006).
Claim 17 is rejected for reasons similar to Claim 5 above.
Claims 7, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benisty (US 10387078 B1) and in view of Muthiah (US 20190370168 A1) and further in view of Benisty753 (cited above) and Benisty211 (cited above) and Earl (cited above) and Saund (US 20140310437 A1)
Claim 7. Benisty in view of Muthiah and Benisty753 and Benisty211 and Earl does not disclose, but Saund discloses
wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to implement a deficit weight round robin scheduling algorithm for the transfer of the data to and from the one or more internal command queues based on the second feedback information (eg.,0026 - arbiters 20 may implement a deficit-weighted round robin arbitration scheme and thus may be programmable in the configuration registers 24 with weights for each input port and/or transaction priority/QoS level/virtual channel.; 0034 - controller 22 may include various queues for buffering memory operations, data for the operations, etc., and the circuitry to sequence the operations and access the memory 12 according to the interface defined for the memory 12.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the data storage system with submission queues at the host as disclosed by Benisty, with Muthiah, and Benisty753 and Benisty211 and Earl and Saund providing the benefit of bandwidth characteristics than those expected from the configuration of the weights (see Saund, 0006) transactions may be more frequently selected to fill the available bandwidth (0009).
Claim 19 is rejected for reasons similar to Claim 7 above.
Claims 8, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benisty (US 10387078 B1) and in view of Muthiah (US 20190370168 A1) and further in view of Benisty753 (cited above), and Benisty211 (cited above) and Earl (cited above) and Saund (US 20140310437 A1) and Horspool (US 20220261183 A1)
Claim 8. Benisty in view of Muthiah and Benisty753 and Benisty211 and Earl does not disclose, but Saund discloses
based on the deficit weight round robin algorithm (eg.,0026 - arbiters 20 may implement a deficit-weighted round robin arbitration scheme and thus may be programmable in the configuration registers 24 with weights for each input port and/or transaction priority/QoS level/virtual channel.; 0034 - controller 22 may include various queues for buffering memory operations, data for the operations, etc., and the circuitry to sequence the operations and access the memory 12 according to the interface defined for the memory 12.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the data storage system with submission queues at the host as disclosed by Benisty, with Muthiah, and Benisty753 and Benisty211 and Earl and Saund providing the benefit of bandwidth characteristics than those expected from the configuration of the weights (see Saund, 0006) transactions may be more frequently selected to fill the available bandwidth (0009).
Benisty in view of Muthiah and Benisty753 and Benisty211 and Earl and Saund does not disclose, but Horspool discloses
, is further configured to control the transfer of data from the one or more internal command queues based on performance monitoring information after completion of a command (eg., 0030 - After the driver completes processing a group of completion queue entries, it signals this to the SSD 120 by writing the completion queue's updated head pointer to the respective completion queue 226-229.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the data storage system with submission queues at the host as disclosed by Benisty, with Muthiah, and Benisty753 and Benisty211 and Earl and Saund with Horspool, providing the benefit of dynamically prioritize command submission queues from a host so as to maximize throughput and improve performance of the SSD (see Horspool, 0001).
Claim 9. Benisty in view of Muthiah and Benisty753 and Benisty211 and Earl and Saund does not disclose, but Horspool discloses
wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to delay an update of a head pointer associated with at least one queue from the one or more submission queues based on the first feedback information. eg., 0030 - After the driver completes processing a group of completion queue entries, it signals this to the SSD 120 by writing the completion queue's updated head pointer to the respective completion queue 226-229.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the data storage system with submission queues at the host as disclosed by Benisty, with Muthiah, and Benisty753 and Benisty211 and Earl and Saund with Horspool, providing the benefit of dynamically prioritize command submission queues from a host so as to maximize throughput and improve performance of the SSD (see Horspool, 0001).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benisty (US 10387078 B1) and in view of Muthiah (US 20190370168 A1) and further in view of Benisty753 (cited above), and Benisty211 (cited above) and Earl (cited above) Saund (US 20140310437 A1) and Horspool (US 20220261183 A1)
Claim 10. Benisty in view of Muthiah and Benisty753 and Benisty211 and Earl and Saund does not disclose, but Horspool discloses
wherein the second feedback information comprises information indicating an amount of resources used by the data transferred from the one or more internal queues to the memory device (eg., 0047 - NVMe controller 132 evaluates the size of in-flight data in the LPQs 414, 424, 443-445, and HPQs 412, 422, 440-442 (both individually for each queue and in total summation) associated with all commands from the particular submission queue currently selected by arbitration, and determines if the size of each queue exceeds (i.e. is more than) an individual queue threshold or the total size of all queues exceeds a total queue threshold that has been predetermined by the user.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the data storage system with submission queues at the host as disclosed by Benisty, with Muthiah, and Benisty753 and Benisty211 and Earl and Saund with Horspool, providing the benefit of dynamically prioritize command submission queues from a host so as to maximize throughput and improve performance of the SSD (see Horspool, 0001).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benisty (US 10387078 B1) and in view of Muthiah (US 20190370168 A1) and further in view of Benisty753 (cited above) and Benisty211 (cited above) and Earl (cited above) and Horspool (US 20220261183 A1) and Saund (US 20140310437 A1)
Claim 11. Benisty in view of Muthiah and Benisty753 and Benisty211 and Earl does not disclose, but Saund discloses
wherein the second feedback information comprises information indicating an amount of memory bandwidth used by the data transferred from the one or more internal queues to the memory device and an amount (eg., 0031 - weights may represent relative amounts of bandwidth to be assigned to different sources/priorities/QoS levels/virtual channels. For example, the weights may be transaction counts. Alternatively, the weights may be data counts and may be consumed based on the size of the transaction.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the data storage system with submission queues at the host as disclosed by Benisty, with Muthiah, and Benisty753 and Benisty211 and Earl and Saund providing the benefit of bandwidth characteristics than those expected from the configuration of the weights (see Saund, 0006) transactions may be more frequently selected to fill the available bandwidth (0009).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/8/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
For claims 1, 13 and 20, Applicant argues that that the cited references do not disclose the amended limitations. The Office disagrees.
In the present OA, the updated combination of references render the amended limitations as obvious.
Specifically, For Claim 1, Benisty in view of Muthiah and Benisty753 and Benisty211 does not disclose, but Earl discloses
the first feedback information comprising a first indication of first resources consumed by a first tenant of the host device and a second indication of second resources consumed by a second tenant of the host device (eg., 0028 Fig. 1 - Resource monitoring module 218 may track the consumption of various computing instances, (e.g., resource credit balances, resource credit consumption) consumed for different virtual computer resources, clients, user accounts, and/or specific instances. resource monitoring module 218 may implement various administrative actions to stop, heal, manage, or otherwise respond to various different scenarios in the fleet of virtualization hosts 230 and instances 234. Resource monitoring module 218 may also provide access to various metric data for client(s) 202 as well as manage client configured alarms.)
the second feedback information comprising a third indication of an amount of usage of a specific resource of the first resources consumed by the first tenant (eg., 0044 - Resource monitoring module 218 may track the consumption of various computing instances, (e.g., resource credit balances, resource credit consumption) consumed for different virtual computer resources, clients, user accounts, and/or specific instances. resource monitoring module 218 may implement various administrative actions to stop, heal, manage, or otherwise respond to various different scenarios in the fleet of virtualization hosts 230 and instances 234. Resource monitoring module 218 may also provide access to various metric data for client(s) 202 as well as manage client configured alarms.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the data storage system with submission queues at the host as disclosed by Benisty, with Muthiah, with Benisty753 and Benisty211, with Earl, providing the benefit of Work requests may be submitted to individual virtual resource queues, which may correspond to a particular compute instance, from which they are then placed into a common physical resource queue for the physical computer resource performing the work request. Multiple different physical computer resources may have different resource request queues and corresponding individual virtual resource requests queues for compute instances that utilize the different physical computer resources (se Earl, 0011).
For Claim 13, Benisty in view of Muthiah and Benisty753 and Benisty211 does not disclose, but Earl discloses
increasing a third rate for fetching first commands from a first internal queue associated with a third tenant of the host device based on the second feedback information; decreasing a fourth rate for fetching second commands from a second internal queue associated with a fourth tenant of the host device based on the second feedback information (eg., 0043 - [0043] Resource credit balance scheduler 324 may also report credit balance and usage metrics 362 to monitoring agent 326, which may in turn report these metrics along with any other host metrics 364 (health information, etc.) to resource monitoring module 218. 0044 - dynamic virtual resource request rate controls for physical resources. Utilization of multiple different physical computer resources may be provided to compute instances 330 ; [0045] Different dynamic request rate controls may be implemented for different resources, in some embodiments. For example dynamic request rate controls 407 may be implemented for work requests for resource A 400, dynamic request rate controls 417 may be implemented for work requests for resource B 410, and dynamic request rate controls 427 may be implemented for work requests for resource C 420.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the data storage system with submission queues at the host as disclosed by Benisty, with Muthiah, with Benisty753 and Benisty211, with Earl, providing the benefit of Work requests may be submitted to individual virtual resource queues, which may correspond to a particular compute instance, from which they are then placed into a common physical resource queue for the physical computer resource performing the work request. Multiple different physical computer resources may have different resource request queues and corresponding individual virtual resource requests queues for compute instances that utilize the different physical computer resources (se Earl, 0011) dynamic virtual resource request rate controls (0044).
For Claim 20, Benisty in view of Muthiah and Benisty753 and Benisty211 does not disclose, but Earl discloses
receiving information from a performance monitor indicating an amount of resources consumed by a tenant of the host device; delaying an update of a position of a head pointer of a submission queue associated with the tenant based on the amount of the resources consumed by the tenan (eg., 0045 - Dynamic resource request controls may be configured to dynamically determine a delay to be imposed before placing a next resource request into a resource request queue… resource credit balance 403 of a particular instance (e.g., 330c) for resource A may be obtained to determine an initial delay between work requests (using the number of resource credits in the credit balance to identify an allotted utilization for instance 303c). The workload for resource A may also be obtained 405 and provided to the dynamic rate control)(In order to overcome the rejection, the Office suggests amending the claim to clarify whether “a submission queue” is one of the one or more submission queues of a host device, or is “a submission queue” different).
the third feedback information indicating an amount of usage of a specific resource of the resources consumed by the tenant (eg., 0044 - Utilization of multiple different physical computer resources may be provided to compute instances 330. For example, resource A 400, resource B 410, and resource C 420 may represent processing, networking and/or storage physical computer resources (or any other physical computer resource).; 0045 - Resource B queue workload 415 and resource C queue workload 425 may also be used to dynamically determine the delay.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the data storage system with submission queues at the host as disclosed by Benisty, with Muthiah, with Benisty753 and Benisty211, with Earl, providing the benefit of Work requests may be submitted to individual virtual resource queues, which may correspond to a particular compute instance, from which they are then placed into a common physical resource queue for the physical computer resource performing the work request. Multiple different physical computer resources may have different resource request queues and corresponding individual virtual resource requests queues for compute instances that utilize the different physical computer resources (se Earl, 0011) dynamic virtual resource request rate controls (0044).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GAUTAM SAIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2135