DETAILED ACTION
Priority
For the purpose of prior art consideration, the effective filing date of the instant application is based on the application filed in Japan on September 26th, 2023. However, priority to this date is not perfected until an English translation of the certified copy of the instant application is filed.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “control unit” in claims 1-18 and “imaging unit” in claim 6.
Claim 1, 6 and 14 – “[A] control unit configured to: disable the abnormality monitoring function…, and enable the abnormality monitoring function when it is determined the LAN cable is connected to the LAN interface” See MPEP 2181. Underlined is the generic placeholder used by the claim and bolded is the functional language. The generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material or acts for performing the claim. Therefore, 112(f) is invoked.
Claim 6 – “[an] imaging unit for capturing images of items being purchased in a sales transaction at a point-of-sale terminal” See MPEP 2181. Underlined is the generic placeholder used by the claim and bolded is the functional language. The generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material or acts for performing the claim. Therefore, 112(f) is invoked.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mahany et al. (US 5,790,536) in view of Tsunoda (US 2020/0313990 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, 6 and 14, Mahany teaches:
An information processing apparatus/ A product scanner for commodity registration systems/ An information processing method (See Mahany Col. 62 lines 28-32 – To monitor sales information, the cash registers and include code scanners, such as tethered code scanners, which read codes on product labels or tags as goods are purchased), the product scanner comprising:
an imaging unit for capturing images of items being purchased in a sales transaction at a point-of-sale terminal (See Mahany Col. 70 lines 13-16 – The terminals can also be configured with code reading/image capturing devices, or be is configured to receive input from external code reading/image capturing devices);
a local area network (LAN) interface including an … monitoring function for monitoring whether a communication path to an image recognition apparatus … (See Mahany Col. 44 lines 35-38 – a peripheral LAN might be established when needed to maintain local communication between a code scanner [image recognition apparatus] and the terminal); and
a control unit (See Mahany Col. 40 lines 18-19 – the computing devices generally control the operation of peripheral devices) configured to:
disable the … monitoring function of the LAN interface when it is determined a LAN cable is not connected to the LAN interface (See Mahany Col. 38 lines 36-40 and 59-61 – the Control Point function is either distributed among some or all the devices within the spontaneous LAN. In such scenarios, the interleaved Access Interval approach used for wireless access points [LAN cable is not connected] is employed... Control point devices must monitor the reservation slot for messages addressed to them, but may sleep afterwards [disable monitoring]), and
enable the … monitoring function when it is determined the LAN cable is connected to the LAN interface (See Mahany Col. 42 lines 35-53 – During the premises LAN Access Interval, the peripheral LAN master device monitors the premises LAN control point for SYNC reservation poll and exchanges inbound and outbound message according to the normal rules of the access protocol and Col. 43 lines 62-67 - The premises LAN in the illustrated embodiment includes a hard-wired backbone LAN and access points. A host computer and any other non-mobile network device located in the vicinity of the backbone LAN can be directly attached to the back bone LAN).
While Mahany teaches a product registering system that recognizes products through captured images of product data, wherein the components of said system are connected and monitored through multiple LAN connections (Mahany Col. 44 lines 35-38), Mahany does not explicitly teach that said monitoring is for an abnormality. This is taught by Tsunoda (See Tsunoda ¶ [0039] – the monitoring unit monitors whether there is an abnormality in the own POS terminal from when the own POS terminal is turned on until the power is turned off). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the monitored product registration system of Mahany the use of abnormality monitoring as taught by Tsunoda to obtain operation information of an information processing device without having to spend time in a store (Tsunoda ¶ [0014]), thereby increasing the efficiency of the monitored product registration system of Mahany.
Regarding Claim 2, 7 and 15, modified Mahany teaches:
The information processing apparatus/ The product scanner/ The information processing method according to claim 1, 6 and 14, wherein the control unit is further configured to:
initialize the LAN interface at startup, and
the control unit determines whether the LAN cable is connected to the LAN interface or not immediately after the startup (See Mahany Col. 29 lines 36-44 - In a premises LAN, access points 1401, 1403 and 1405 communicate SYNC information amongst themselves via wired backbone [LAN cable is connected]. In addition, a wireless access point similarly communicates with the access points 1401, 1403 and 1405 via a wireless link [whether the LAN cable is connected to the LAN interface or not]. A portable/ mobile device is initially registered with access point 1401 [immediately after the startup], which acts as a control point for the portable/mobile device)
Regarding Claim 3, 8 and 16, modified Mahany teaches:
The information processing apparatus/ The product scanner/ The information processing method according to claim 2, 7 and 15, wherein the control unit is further configured to:
periodically determine whether the LAN cable is connected to the LAN interface or not after startup (See Mahany Col. 30 lines 11-14 – communication of neighbors' information may also facilitate the initial selection of an access point by a portable/mobile device attaching to the premises LAN for the first time [after startup] and Col. 30 lines 41-46 - roaming portable and mobile computing devices operating in the premises LAN will routinely move between access point coverage areas. At the maximum device velocity and expected coverage area per access point, a mobile device may be expected to cross a NET coverage contour in several seconds [periodically determine whether the LAN cable is connected to the LAN interface or not]).
Regarding Claim 4, 9 and 17, modified Mahany teaches:
The information processing apparatus/ The product scanner/ The information processing method according to claim 3, 8 and 16, wherein the control unit enables the … monitoring function after previously disabling the … function when the LAN cable is connected to the LAN interface after previously being disconnected. (See Mahany Col. 38 lines 36-40 and 59-61 – the Control Point function is either distributed among some or all the devices within the spontaneous LAN. In such scenarios, the interleaved Access Interval approach used for wireless access points [LAN cable is not connected] is employed... Control point devices must monitor the reservation slot for messages addressed to them, but may sleep afterwards [disable monitoring], Col. 42 lines 35-53 – During the premises LAN Access Interval, the peripheral LAN master device monitors the premises LAN control point for SYNC reservation poll and exchanges inbound and outbound message according to the normal rules of the access protocol and Col. 43 lines 62-67 - The premises LAN in the illustrated embodiment includes a hard-wired backbone LAN and access points. A host computer and any other non-mobile network device located in the vicinity of the backbone LAN can be directly attached to the back bone LAN).
While Mahany teaches a product registering system that recognizes products through captured images of product data, wherein the components of said system are connected and monitored through multiple LAN connections (Mahany Col. 44 lines 35-38), Mahany does not explicitly teach that said monitoring is for an abnormality. This is taught by Tsunoda (See Tsunoda ¶ [0039] – the monitoring unit monitors whether there is an abnormality in the own POS terminal from when the own POS terminal is turned on until the power is turned off). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the monitored product registration system of Mahany the use of abnormality monitoring as taught by Tsunoda to obtain operation information of an information processing device without having to spend time in a store (Tsunoda ¶ [0014]), thereby increasing the efficiency of the monitored product registration system of Mahany.
Regarding Claim 5, 10 and 18, modified Mahany teaches:
The information processing apparatus/ The product scanner/ The information processing method according to claim 3, 8 and 16, wherein the control unit determines whether the LAN cable is connected to the LAN interface by checking whether a link speed parameter for the LAN interface has been set (See Mahany Col. 30 lines 61-64 - the premises LAN [the LAN cable is connected to the LAN interface], roaming portable and mobile devices initially select and register with an access point Control Point on the basis of link quality, i.e., signal quality, signal strength and Col. 72 lines 7-10 – communication can be achieved via a telephone jack link at the customer site, if: … link costs or channel speed so justify).
Regarding Claim 11, modified Mahany teaches:
The product scanner according to claim 6, wherein the control unit is further configured to:
detect an encoded product code in a captured image from the imaging unit (See Mahany Col. 62 lines 28-32 – To monitor sales information, the cash registers and include code scanners, such as tethered code scanners, which read codes on product labels or tags as goods are purchased).
Regarding Claim 12, modified Mahany teaches:
The product scanner according to claim 11, wherein the control unit is further configured to:
decode the encoded product code and send a decoded product code to the point-of-sale terminal (See Mahany Col. 62 lines 28-32 – To monitor sales information, the cash registers and include code scanners, such as tethered code scanners, which read codes on product labels or tags as goods are purchased and Col. 76 lines 21-35 - the code reader sends a processing request downstream to the access device... If the access device is an access server, it looks up in its table to determine whether it has the capability to perform the type of processing requested, i.e., decoding. If it does, the access device sends an acknowledge and the code reader forwards the code image signal to the access device for decoding. Once decoded, the information may be re-transmitted to the code reader for display on a screen. In addition, or alternatively, the access device may send a good read signal to the code reader to indicate to the user that the reading operation has resulted in a valid reading).
Regarding Claim 13, modified Mahany teaches:
The product scanner according to claim 11, wherein the control unit is further configured to send the captured image to the image recognition apparatus via the LAN cable if the LAN cable is determined to be connected to the LAN interface (See Mahany Col. 76 lines 5-9 - the code reader, an end-point device, forwards the code image signal downstream in the premises LAN [the LAN cable is determined to be connected to the LAN interface] to the first access server in the network that has the capability of decoding the signal into the usable information represented by the code).
Examiner’s Note
Claims 1-18 of the instant application are found to comprise patent eligible subject matter under 35 USC § 101. For instance, exemplary independent claim 1:
An information processing apparatus, comprising:
a local area network (LAN) interface including an abnormality monitoring function for monitoring whether a communication path is abnormal; and
a control unit configured to:
disable the abnormality monitoring function of the LAN interface when it is determined a LAN cable is not connected to the LAN interface, and
enable the abnormality monitoring function when it is determined the LAN cable is connected to the LAN interface.
These exemplary limitations show an abnormality monitoring function detecting an abnormal communication path and responsively disabling said abnormality monitoring function when it is determined a LAN cable is not connected to the LAN interface. These features are similar to Example 47 of the July 2024 Subject Matter Eligibility Examples with respect to anomaly detection. Independent claims 6 and 14 also show similar limitations as exemplary claim 1. Therefore, claims 1-18 of the instant application are considered to be patent eligible subject matter under 35 USC § 101.
Conclusion
/MATTHEW S WERONSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 3627
/MICHAEL JARED WALKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3627