DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
According to Applicant’s arguments filed on 01/15/2026, Applicant contends that the combination of Poluri ‘731 in view of WANG ‘607 fails to teach “automatically identifying a matching one of the plurality of digital certificate files for each of the plurality of building control devices by matching the pattern in the file name of the matching digital certificate file with the unique identifier of the respective one of the plurality of building control devices” of claim 1, at least for the following two reasons:
1) Applicant asserts that “The auto-deployment server in Wang does not examine file names to determine whether a pattern contained therein matches a device identifier. Rather, the file name is merely a retrieved value associated with the identifier. This is a direct lookup process, not pattern matching.” – pg. 8 in the argument.
2) Applicant asserts that “At no point does Wang disclose or suggest that the file name itself includes a pattern configured to be matched against the MAC address or any other unique identifier.” – pg. 8 in the argument.
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
WANG ‘607 teaches, in [0016], “The auto-deployment server 14 ... may obtain the MAC address of the device according to the basic configuration file and the temporary IP address in the notification message, may search for a name of a baseline startup configuration file corresponding to the MAC address ... the device 11 may be triggered to execute the baseline startup configuration file”, that the auto-deployment server obtains a MAC address of a device, searches for a corresponding baseline startup configuration file name, and executes the matching startup configuration file on the device. This disclosure reasonably reads on matching a file name using a unique identifier.
The issues raised by Applicant appears to be whether the file name includes what may be characterized as a “pattern.” This may be reasonably interpreted from at least two perspectives.
First, WANG ‘607 discloses using a MAC address as an input for searching the startup configuration file. A MAC address has a defined format (e.g., six pairs of digits separated by colons), and thus it is reasonable to infer that the corresponding file name include a similar structured format, thereby constituting a pattern. Second, the claim language “matching the pattern” is still broad and does not require any particular form of pattern, such as additional characters or a specific format (e.g., a regular expression), as illustrated, for example, in [0040] of the specification. Accordingly, the claimed “pattern” does not impose a narrow or specific limitation. Furthermore, contrary to Applicant’s assertion, WANG ‘607 is not limited to a “direct lookup process,” and it is more reasonable to interpret that the file name itself reflects the pattern of the MAC address.
Therefore, Applicant’s arguments are deemed not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-6, 9-10 and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Poluri et al., US- 20210247731-A1 (hereinafter “Poluri ‘731”) in view of WANG et al., US-20160006607-A1 (hereinafter “WANG ‘607”).
Per claim 1 (independent):
Poluri ‘731 discloses: A method for performing a batch network configuring of a plurality of building control devices for a building control network, the method comprising:
storing a plurality of digital certificate files, wherein each of the digital certificate files includes a digital certificate and has a file name
(FIG. 1, [0022], a building management system (BMS) 12 (for a building control network). The illustrative BMS 12 includes a number of controllers 14, individually labeled as a controller 14a, a controller 14b and a controller 14c (a plurality of building control devices); [0025], A mobile device 22, which in some cases may be referred to as a certificate management device, may be in communication with the remote server 20 ... in order to provide a user of the mobile device 22 with an intuitive, efficient and secure way to provide certificate management for the BMS 12; [0026], Certificates (storing a plurality of digital certificate files) are used by the controllers 14 and the clients 16 for providing secure communication between individual components of the BMS 12 – in the building control network; FIG. 2, [0027], providing a plurality of controller certificates for a plurality of controllers 14 within the BMS 12 using an application executing on the mobile device 22 ... the downloaded project information may include a project name and controller configuration information for each of the plurality of controllers 14 including a controller name and/or a controller IP address (performing a batch network configuring; As shown in FIG. 7 and described in [0038], information used for generating a certificate – such as “Name”, “Unique ID”, “an IP address”, and the like – is presented), as generally indicated at block 26; [0028], at block 34, each of the generated controller certificates (each of the digital certificate files includes a digital certificate) are downloaded (as files, i.e., has a file name) to the corresponding plurality of controllers 14 of the BMS 12 and used for subsequent secure communication in the BMS 12);
automatically identifying a matching one of the plurality of digital certificate files for each of the plurality of building control devices;
batch uploading the matching ones of the plurality of digital certificate files to the respective one of the plurality of building control devices for subsequent use by the respective one of the plurality of building control devices when communicating over the building control network
(FIG. 1, [0022], a building management system (BMS) 12 (over the building control network). The illustrative BMS 12 includes a number of controllers 14, individually labeled as a controller 14a, a controller 14b and a controller 14c (each of the plurality of building control devices); [0025], A mobile device 22, which in some cases may be referred to as a certificate management device, may be in communication with the remote server 20 ... in order to provide a user of the mobile device 22 with an intuitive, efficient and secure way to provide certificate management for the BMS 12; [0026], Certificates (the plurality of digital certificate files) are used by the controllers 14 and the clients 16 for providing secure communication between individual components of the BMS 12 – for subsequent use by the respective one of the plurality of building control devices when communicating over the building control network; FIG. 2, [0027], providing a plurality of controller certificates for a plurality of controllers 14 within the BMS 12 using an application executing on the mobile device 22 ... the downloaded project information may include a project name and controller configuration information for each of the plurality of controllers 14 including a controller name and/or a controller IP address (automatically identifying a matching one of the plurality of digital certificate files by using information used for generating a certificate – such as “Name”, “Unique ID”, “an IP address”, and the like as shown in FIG. 7 and described in [0038]), as generally indicated at block 26; [0028], at block 34, each of the generated controller certificates are downloaded to the corresponding plurality of controllers 14 of the BMS 12 (batch uploading the matching ones of the plurality of digital certificate files to the respective one of the plurality of building control devices) and used for subsequent secure communication in the BMS 12 – for subsequent use by the respective one of the plurality of building control devices when communicating over the building control network).
Poluri ‘731 does not disclose but WANG ‘607 discloses: each of startup configuration files has a file name that includes a pattern that can be matched to a unique identifier of a respective one of the plurality of devices;
automatically identifying a matching one of the plurality of startup configuration files for each of the plurality of devices by matching the pattern in the file name of the matching startup configuration file with the unique identifier of the respective one of the plurality of devices
(FIG. 1, [0011], a structure of an auto-deployment system ... including a device 11 (the plurality of devices) ... an auto-deployment server 14; [0012], The device 11 ... request ... to allocate a temporary IP address ... to receive the basic configuration file; [0013], the device 11 may be a to-be-configured device, that is, a device that is yet to be configured; [0040], the auto-deployment server may automatically deploy multiple devices (the plurality of devices) simultaneously; [0016], The auto-deployment server 14 may store an auto-deployment file and basic configuration files. The auto-de-ployment file may record auto-deployment tuple information. The auto-deployment tuple information may include the MAC address, IP address and mask of the device, and the name of the baseline startup configuration file (each of startup configuration files has a file name) ... The auto-deployment server 14 ... may obtain the MAC address of the device (a unique identifier of a respective one of the plurality of devices) according to the basic configuration file and the temporary IP address in the notification message, may search for a name of a baseline startup configuration file corresponding to the MAC address (has a file name that includes a pattern that can be matched to a unique identifier of a respective one of the plurality of devices), that is, by matching the pattern in the file name of the matching startup configuration file with the unique identifier ... The baseline startup configuration file may be deployed to the device 11 (automatically identifying a matching one of the plurality of startup configuration files for each of the plurality of devices) and the device 11 may be triggered to execute the baseline startup configuration file).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Poluri ‘731 with the automatic deployment of a device by executing the startup configuration file which is searched based on a name of the startup configuration file corresponding to the MAC address as taught by WANG ‘607 because it would enhance auto-deployment efficiency of an active device particularly when the device is to be upgraded [0001][0010]. Additionally, WANG ‘607 is analogous to the claimed invention because it teaches automatically deploying a device by an auto-deployment server [0008].
Per claim 3 (dependent on claim 1):
Poluri ‘731 in view of WANG ‘607 discloses the elements detailed in the rejection of claim 1 above, incorporated herein by reference
Poluri ‘731 discloses: The method of claim 1, comprising:
automatically identifying matching first and second ones of the plurality of digital certificate files for each of the plurality of building control devices by matching first and second ones of the plurality of digital certificate files with the unique identifier of the respective one of the plurality of building control devices;
batch uploading the matching first and second ones of the plurality of digital certificate files to the respective one of the plurality of building control devices for subsequent use by the respective one of the plurality of building control devices when communicating over the building control network
(FIG. 1, [0022], a building management system (BMS) 12 (over the building control network). The illustrative BMS 12 includes a number of controllers 14, individually labeled as a controller 14a, a controller 14b and a controller 14c (each of the plurality of building control devices); [0025], A mobile device 22, which in some cases may be referred to as a certificate management device, may be in communication with the remote server 20 ... in order to provide a user of the mobile device 22 with an intuitive, efficient and secure way to provide certificate management for the BMS 12; [0026], Certificates (the plurality of digital certificate files) are used by the controllers 14 and the clients 16 for providing secure communication between individual components of the BMS 12 – for subsequent use by the respective one of the plurality of building control devices when communicating over the building control network; FIG. 2, [0027], providing a plurality of controller certificates for a plurality of controllers 14 within the BMS 12 using an application executing on the mobile device 22 ... the downloaded project information may include a project name and controller configuration information for each of the plurality of controllers 14 including a controller name and/or a controller IP address (automatically identifying matching first and second ones of the plurality of digital certificate files by using information used for generating a certificate – such as “Name”, “Unique ID”, “an IP address”, and the like , that is, the unique identifier, as shown in FIG. 7 and described in [0038]), as generally indicated at block 26; [0030], at block 38 ... allowing automatic renewal of the generated controller certificates before expiration of the generated controller certificates, that is, generating first and second ones of the plurality of digital certificate files again for matching with the unique identifier of the respective one of the plurality of building control devices; [0028], at block 34, each of the generated controller certificates are downloaded to the corresponding plurality of controllers 14 of the BMS 12 (batch uploading the matching first and second ones of the plurality of digital certificate files to the respective one of the plurality of building control devices) and used for subsequent secure communication in the BMS 12 – for subsequent use by the respective one of the plurality of building control devices when communicating over the building control network).
Poluri ‘731 does not disclose but WANG ‘607 discloses: by matching the pattern in the file name of the matching ones of the plurality of startup configuration files with the unique identifier of the respective one of the plurality of devices (FIG. 1, [0011], a structure of an auto-deployment system ... including a device 11 (the plurality of devices) ... an auto-deployment server 14; [0012], The device 11 ... request ... to allocate a temporary IP address ... to receive the basic configuration file; [0013], the device 11 may be a to-be-configured device, that is, a device that is yet to be configured; [0040], the auto-deployment server may automatically deploy multiple devices (the plurality of devices) simultaneously; [0016], The auto-deployment server 14 may store an auto-deployment file and basic configuration files. The auto-deployment file may record auto-deployment tuple information. The auto-deployment tuple information may include the MAC address, IP address and mask of the device, and the name of the baseline startup configuration file ... The auto-deployment server 14 ... may obtain the MAC address of the device (the unique identifier of the respective one of the plurality of devices) according to the basic configuration file and the temporary IP address in the notification message, may search for a name of a baseline startup configuration file corresponding to the MAC address (i.e., the file name that includes the pattern that can be matched to the unique identifier of a respective one of the plurality of devices), that is, by matching the pattern in the file name of the matching ones of the plurality of startup configuration file with the unique identifier ... The baseline startup configuration file may be deployed to the device 11 and the device 11 may be triggered to execute the baseline startup configuration file).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Poluri ‘731 with the automatic deployment of a device by executing the startup configuration file which is searched based on a name of the startup configuration file corresponding to the MAC address as taught by WANG ‘607 because it would enhance auto-deployment efficiency of an active device particularly when the device is to be upgraded [0001][0010].
Per claim 5 (dependent on claim 1):
Poluri ‘731 in view of WANG ‘607 discloses the elements detailed in the rejection of claim 1 above, incorporated herein by reference
Poluri ‘731 discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein the unique identifier of the respective one of the plurality of building control devices comprises one or more of a device name, a device serial number, a device instance and a device MAC address (FIG. 1, [0022], a building management system (BMS) 12. The illustrative BMS 12 includes a number of controllers 14, individually labeled as a controller 14a, a controller 14b and a controller 14c (the plurality of building control devices);FIG. 2, [0027], providing a plurality of controller certificates for a plurality of controllers 14 within the BMS 12 using an application executing on the mobile device 22 ... the downloaded project information may include a project name and controller configuration information for each of the plurality of controllers 14 including a controller name and/or a controller IP address (As shown in FIG. 7 and described in [0038], information used for generating a certificate – such as “Name”, “Unique ID”, “an IP address”, and the like, that is, the unique identifier of the respective one of the plurality of building control devices – is presented, ), as generally indicated at block 26; [0028], at block 34, each of the generated controller certificates are downloaded to the corresponding plurality of controllers 14 of the BMS 12 and used for subsequent secure communication in the BMS 12).
Per claim 6 (dependent on claim 1):
Poluri ‘731 in view of WANG ‘607 discloses the elements detailed in the rejection of claim 1 above, incorporated herein by reference
Poluri ‘731 discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein the matching digital certificate file is generated with one or more of a device name, and a device serial name (FIG. 2, [0027], providing a plurality of controller certificates for a plurality of controllers 14 within the BMS 12 using an application executing on the mobile device 22 ... the downloaded project information may include a project name and controller configuration information for each of the plurality of controllers 14 including a controller name and/or a controller IP address (As shown in FIG. 7 and described in [0038], information used for generating a certificate – such as “Name”, “Unique ID”, “an IP address”, and the like – is presented for the matching digital certificate file), as generally indicated at block 26; [0028], at block 34, each of the generated controller certificates are downloaded (as files) to the corresponding plurality of controllers 14 of the BMS 12 and used for subsequent secure communication in the BMS 12).
Poluri ‘731 does not disclose but WANG ‘607 discloses: the matching pattern in the file name of the matching startup configuration file includes one or more of a device name, a device serial number, a device instance and a device MAC address FIG. 1, [0012], The device 11 (a device) ... request ... to allocate a temporary IP address ... to receive the basic configuration file; [0013], the device 11 may be a to-be-configured device, that is, a device that is yet to be configured; [0016], The auto-deployment server 14 may store an auto-deployment file and basic configuration files. The auto-de-ployment file may record auto-deployment tuple information. The auto-deployment tuple information may include the MAC address, IP address and mask of the device, and the name of the baseline startup configuration file ... The auto-deployment server 14 ... may obtain the MAC address of the device (a device MAC address) according to the basic configuration file and the temporary IP address in the notification message, may search for a name of a baseline startup configuration file corresponding to the MAC address, that is, the matching pattern in the file name of the matching startup configuration file includes the unique identifier such as a device MAC address... The baseline startup configuration file may be deployed to the device 11 and the device 11 may be triggered to execute the baseline startup configuration file).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Poluri ‘731 with the automatic deployment of a device by executing the startup configuration file which is searched based on a name of the startup configuration file corresponding to the MAC address as taught by WANG ‘607 because it would enhance auto-deployment efficiency of an active device particularly when the device is to be upgraded [0001][0010].
Per claim 9 (dependent on claim 1):
Poluri ‘731 in view of WANG ‘607 discloses the elements detailed in the rejection of claim 1 above, incorporated herein by reference
Poluri ‘731 discloses: The method of claim 1, further comprising:
selecting the plurality of building control devices via a user interface before automatically identifying a matching one of the plurality of digital certificate files for each of the plurality of building control devices
(FIG. 1, [0022], a building management system (BMS) 12. The illustrative BMS 12 includes a number of controllers 14, individually labeled as a controller 14a, a controller 14b and a controller 14c (each of the plurality of building control devices); [0025], A mobile device 22, which in some cases may be referred to as a certificate management device, may be in communication with the remote server 20 ... in order to provide a user of the mobile device 22 with an intuitive, efficient and secure way to provide certificate management for the BMS 12; FIG. 8A, [0039], The screen 100 also includes a list 104 of controllers (for selecting the plurality of building control devices via a user interface) ... including a Download Controller Certificates button 106 (Upon selection and activation of the button, a matching is automatically identified for sending the plurality of digital certificate files), a Download Client Certificates button 108, a BACnet port button 110 and a Cancel button 112 ... the mobile device 22 can subsequently download the controller certificates to each of the controllers 14 of the BMS 12 (automatically identifying a matching one of the plurality of digital certificate files).
Per claim 10 (dependent on claim 9):
Poluri ‘731 in view of WANG ‘607 discloses the elements detailed in the rejection of claim 9 above, incorporated herein by reference
Poluri ‘731 discloses: The method of claim 9, further comprising:
displaying on the user interface an association between each of the plurality of building control devices and the corresponding matching digital certificate file (FIG. 1, [0025], A mobile device 22, which in some cases may be referred to as a certificate management device, may be in communication with the remote server 20 ... in order to provide a user of the mobile device 22 with an intuitive, efficient and secure way to provide certificate management for the BMS 12; FIG. 8A, [0039], The screen 100 (displaying on the user interface an association) also includes a list 104 of controllers (each of the plurality of building control devices) ... including a Download Controller Certificates button, a Download Client Certificates button 108, a BACnet port button 110 and a Cancel button 112 ... the mobile device 22 can subsequently download the controller certificates to each of the controllers 14 of the BMS 12; For example, the association can relate to actions such as downloading or cancelling the corresponding matching digital certificate file, or determining which BACnet port is to be used for communication with the corresponding matching digital certificate file).
Per claim 17 (independent):
Poluri ‘731 discloses: A configuration tool for performing a batch network configuring of a plurality of building control devices for a building control network, the configuration tool comprising:
an IP port;
a memory for storing a plurality of digital certificate files, wherein each of the digital certificate files includes a digital certificate and has a file name;
a configuration tool controller operatively coupled to the memory and the IP port, the configuration tool controller configured to:
(FIG. 1, [0022], a building management system (BMS) 12 (for a building control network). The illustrative BMS 12 includes a number of controllers 14, individually labeled as a controller 14a, a controller 14b and a controller 14c (a plurality of building control devices); [0025], A mobile device 22 (a configuration tool), which in some cases may be referred to as a certificate management device, may be in communication with the remote server 20 ... in order to provide a user of the mobile device 22 with an intuitive, efficient and secure way to provide certificate management for the BMS 12; FIG. 8A, [0039], the mobile device 22 can subsequently download the controller certificates to each of the controllers 14 of the BMS 12 ... The BACnet port button 110 (an IP port) may be used to set the BACnet port number for each controller; [0026], Certificates (storing a plurality of digital certificate files) are used by the controllers 14 and the clients 16 for providing secure communication between individual components of the BMS 12 – in the building control network; FIG. 2, [0027], providing a plurality of controller certificates for a plurality of controllers 14 within the BMS 12 using an application executing on the mobile device 22 ... the downloaded project information may include a project name and controller configuration information for each of the plurality of controllers 14 including a controller name and/or a controller IP address (performing a batch network configuring; As shown in FIG. 7 and described in [0038], information used for generating a certificate – such as “Name”, “Unique ID”, “an IP address”, and the like – is presented), as generally indicated at block 26; [0028], at block 34, each of the generated controller certificates (each of the digital certificate files includes a digital certificate) are downloaded (as files, i.e., has a file name) to the corresponding plurality of controllers 14 of the BMS 12 and used for subsequent secure communication in the BMS 12);
automatically identify a matching one of the plurality of digital certificate files for each of the plurality of building control devices;
upload the matching ones of the plurality of digital certificate files to the respective one of the plurality of building control devices via the IP port for subsequent use by the respective one of the plurality of building control devices when communicating over the building control network.
(FIG. 1, [0022], a building management system (BMS) 12 (over the building control network). The illustrative BMS 12 includes a number of controllers 14, individually labeled as a controller 14a, a controller 14b and a controller 14c (each of the plurality of building control devices); [0025], A mobile device 22, which in some cases may be referred to as a certificate management device, may be in communication with the remote server 20 ... in order to provide a user of the mobile device 22 with an intuitive, efficient and secure way to provide certificate management for the BMS 12; [0026], Certificates (the plurality of digital certificate files) are used by the controllers 14 and the clients 16 for providing secure communication between individual components of the BMS 12 – for subsequent use by the respective one of the plurality of building control devices when communicating over the building control network; FIG. 2, [0027], providing a plurality of controller certificates for a plurality of controllers 14 within the BMS 12 using an application executing on the mobile device 22 ... the downloaded project information may include a project name and controller configuration information for each of the plurality of controllers 14 including a controller name and/or a controller IP address (automatically identifying a matching one of the plurality of digital certificate files by using information used for generating a certificate – such as “Unique ID”, “an IP address”, and the like as shown in FIG. 7 and described in [0038]), as generally indicated at block 26; [0028], at block 34, each of the generated controller certificates are downloaded to the corresponding plurality of controllers 14 of the BMS 12 (upload the matching ones of the plurality of digital certificate files to the respective one of the plurality of building control devices via the IP port as described in FIG. 8A and [0039]) and used for subsequent secure communication in the BMS 12 – for subsequent use by the respective one of the plurality of building control devices when communicating over the building control network).
The remaining limitations of the claim(s) correspond(s) to features of claim 1 and the claim(s) is/are rejected for the reasons detailed with respect to claim 1.
Per claim 18 (dependent on claim 17):
Poluri ‘731 in view of WANG ‘607 discloses the elements detailed in the rejection of claim 17 above, incorporated herein by reference
The limitations of the claim(s) correspond(s) to features of claim 10 and the claim(s) is/are rejected for the reasons detailed with respect to claim 10.
Per claim 19 (dependent on claim 18):
Poluri ‘731 in view of WANG ‘607 discloses the elements detailed in the rejection of claim 18 above, incorporated herein by reference
The limitations of the claim(s) correspond(s) to features of claim 9 and the claim(s) is/are rejected for the reasons detailed with respect to claim 9.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Poluri ‘731 in view of WANG ‘607 and TIAN et al., US-20250056228-A1 (hereinafter “TIAN ‘228”).
Per claim 2 (dependent on claim 1):
Poluri ‘731 in view of WANG ‘607 discloses the elements detailed in the rejection of claim 1 above, incorporated herein by reference
Poluri ‘731 in view of WANG ‘607 does not disclose but TIAN ‘228 discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein the digital certificate includes one or more of a user certificate and a private key (FIG. 5, [0070], the terminal includes: a network access management module 501, a digital certificate management module 502, a digital certificate storage module 503, and a network connection module 504; [0077], After the network access management module 501 detects that the network connection module 504 is connected to the auxiliary network, it ... downloads the digital certificate from the certificate server 602, obtains user certificate data and user private key data (a user certificate and a private key) from the downloaded user certificate (the digital certificate)).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Poluri ‘731 in view of WANG ‘607 with the downloading of the digital certificate to obtain user certificate data and user private key data as taught by TIAN ‘228 because it would make the user's access to the Internet more secure (because the certificate network is more secure than the password network or passwordless network of wifi) [0068]. Additionally, TIAN ‘228 is analogous to the claimed invention because it teaches simplifying network access operations based on digital certificates [0005].
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Poluri ‘731 in view of WANG ‘607 and Haque et al., US-20230103456-A1 (hereinafter “Haque ‘456”).
Per claim 8 (dependent on claim 1):
Poluri ‘731 in view of WANG ‘607 discloses the elements detailed in the rejection of claim 1 above, incorporated herein by reference.
Poluri ‘731 discloses: The method of claim 1, further comprising:
pre-storing in a directory the plurality of digital certificate files before automatically identifying a matching one of the plurality of digital certificate files for each of the plurality of building control devices; and
matching the one of the plurality of digital certificate files for each of the plurality of building control devices
(FIG. 1, [0022], a building management system (BMS) 12. The illustrative BMS 12 includes a number of controllers 14, individually labeled as a controller 14a, a controller 14b and a controller 14c (for each of the plurality of building control devices); [0025], A mobile device 22, which in some cases may be referred to as a certificate management device, may be in communication with the remote server 20 ... in order to provide a user of the mobile device 22 with an intuitive, efficient and secure way to provide certificate management for the BMS 12; [0026], Certificates (pre-storing in a directory of the remote server 20 of FIG. 1 the plurality of digital certificate files) are used by the controllers 14 and the clients 16 for providing secure communication between individual components of the BMS 12; FIG. 2, [0027], providing a plurality of controller certificates for a plurality of controllers 14 within the BMS 12 using an application executing on the mobile device 22 ... the downloaded project information (from the remote server 20) may include a project name and controller configuration information for each of the plurality of controllers 14 including a controller name and/or a controller IP address, as generally indicated at block 26; [0028], the remote server 20 can generate a corresponding controller certificate for each of the plurality of controllers 14 of the BMS 12, as indicated at block 32 – pre-storing in a directory the plurality of digital certificate files before automatically identifying a matching one. at block 34, each of the generated controller certificates (a matching one of the plurality of digital certificate files) are downloaded to the corresponding plurality of controllers 14 (each of the plurality of building control devices) of the BMS 12 (matching the one of the plurality of digital certificate files) and used for subsequent secure communication in the BMS 12).
Poluri ‘731 in view of WANG ‘607 does not disclose but Haque ‘456 discloses: encrypting the matching one of the plurality of digital certificate files for each of the plurality of devices (FIG. 3, [0027], The intermediate device may route communications from a variety of sending devices (each of the plurality of devices) to the target device via a dedicated, secured communication channel; [0030], The data may be encoded and the target device may decode the encoded request data ... The certificate data (the matching one of the plurality of digital certificate files with a certain sending device) may be decoded using a public key associated with the sending device – means that the certificate data has been encrypted with a public key; See claim 1, “encrypt the certificate data, using a public key associated with the second device”. The certificate data may be validated by a validation system and/or by a public key provided by the sending device. The validation of the certificate data may include verifying the certificate is not expired and/or the certificate was issued by a trusted validation system).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Poluri ‘731 in view of WANG ‘607 with the verification of the matching certificate transmitted in an encrypted format for each one of devices as taught by Haque ‘456 because it would verify the certificate is not expired and/or the certificate was issued by a trusted validation system in a secure way [0030]. Additionally, Haque ‘456 is analogous to the claimed invention because it teaches the target device may use the encrypted security data and the security data to verify the identity of the sending device [ABSTRACT].
Claim(s) 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Poluri ‘731 in view of WANG ‘607 and Shalom, US-20250317734-A1 (hereinafter “Shalom ‘734”).
Per claim 12 (dependent on claim 1):
Poluri ‘731 in view of WANG ‘607 discloses the elements detailed in the rejection of claim 1 above, incorporated herein by reference
Poluri ‘731 discloses: The method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving commands via a user interface, and uploading the matching ones of the plurality of digital certificate files to one or more of the plurality of building control devices for subsequent use by the one or more of the plurality of building control devices when communicating over the building control network
(FIG. 1, [0025], A mobile device 22 (providing a user interface), which in some cases may be referred to as a certificate management device, may be in communication with the remote server 20 ... in order to provide a user of the mobile device 22 with an intuitive, efficient and secure way to provide certificate management for the BMS 12; [0028], at block 34, each of the generated controller certificates are downloaded to the corresponding plurality of controllers 14 of the BMS 12 (upload the matching ones of the plurality of digital certificate files to the respective one of the plurality of building control devices) and used for subsequent secure communication in the BMS 12 – for subsequent use by the respective one of the plurality of building control devices when communicating over the building control network; FIG. 8A, [0039], The screen 100 also includes a list 104 of controllers (one or more of the plurality of building control devices) ... including a Download Controller Certificates button 106 (receiving commands via a user interface, and upon selection and activation of the button, uploading the matching ones of the plurality of digital certificate files to the list 104 of controllers), a Download Client Certificates button 108, a BACnet port button 110 and a Cancel button 112 ... the mobile device 22 can subsequently download the controller certificates to each of the controllers 14 of the BMS 12).
Poluri ‘731 in view of WANG ‘607 does not disclose but Shalom ‘734 discloses: receiving additional network configuration parameters, and uploading the additional network configuration parameters to a device (FIG. 2, [0048], an in-band sign up framework for a Wi-Fi enabled client computing device 215 (e.g. a mobile phone) may enable a user to join a network environment with a public Enterprise or Passpoint Wi-Fi network that client computing device 215 is not subscribed to, or has not connected to in the past; [0062], client computing device 215 (a device) may utilize the ANQP element (receiving additional network configuration parameters and uploading them to the device 215) to generate a temporary extensible authentication protocol (EAP) configuration including: (i) a Service Set Identifier (SSID;) of the wireless access point, (ii) the authentication protocol, (iii) a server certificate, (iv) a server domain name, and (v) the temporary login credential. Such embodiments also include utilizing the temporary EAP configuration to establish the initial network connection).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Poluri ‘731 in view of WANG ‘607 with the utilization of a temporary extensible authentication protocol (EAP) configuration including a SSID, a server certificate and the temporary login credential as taught by Shalom ‘734 because it would provide the in-band secure access protocol so that the client computing device is enabled to establish an encrypted and trusted network connection over the wireless network [0004]. Additionally, Shalom ‘734 is analogous to the claimed invention because it teaches an in-band sign up framework for a Wi-Fi enabled client computing device [0048].
Per claim 13 (dependent on claim 12):
Poluri ‘731 in view of WANG ‘607 and Shalom ‘734 discloses the elements detailed in the rejection of claim 12 above, incorporated herein by reference
Poluri ‘731 in view of WANG ‘607 does not disclose but Shalom ‘734 discloses: The method of claim 12, wherein the additional network configuration parameters include one or more of an SSID, a username, a password and a root certificate (FIG. 2, [0048], an in-band sign up framework for a Wi-Fi enabled client computing device 215 (e.g. a mobile phone) may enable a user to join a network environment with a public Enterprise or Passpoint Wi-Fi network that client computing device 215 is not subscribed to, or has not connected to in the past; [0062], client computing device 215 may utilize the ANQP element to generate a temporary extensible authentication protocol (EAP) configuration including: (i) a Service Set Identifier (SSID; an SSID) of the wireless access point, (ii) the authentication protocol, (iii) a server certificate (a root certificate), (iv) a server domain name, and (v) the temporary login credential (a username and a password – see [0063], “WAP 210 may provide the temporary username and password”). Such embodiments also include utilizing the temporary EAP configuration to establish the initial network connection).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Poluri ‘731 in view of WANG ‘607 with the utilization of a temporary extensible authentication protocol (EAP) configuration including a SSID, a server certificate and the temporary login credential as taught by Shalom ‘734 because it would provide the in-band secure access protocol so that the client computing device is enabled to establish an encrypted and trusted network connection over the wireless network [0004].
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Poluri ‘731 in view of WANG ‘607 and Shalom ‘734 and Overcash et al., US-11677759-B1 (hereinafter “Overcash ‘759”).
Per claim 14 (dependent on claim 13):
Poluri ‘731 in view of WANG ‘607 and Shalom ‘734 discloses the elements detailed in the rejection of claim 13 above, incorporated herein by reference
Poluri ‘731 discloses: The method of claim 13, further comprising:
reading back network configuration parameters from one or more of the plurality of building control devices; and
storing the network configuration parameters that are read back from the one or more of the plurality of building control devices
(FIG. 7, [0038], within the box 86, a number of controller names (one or more of the plurality of building control devices) ... The name of the controller, shown in a box 96, can be used as a common name or domain name for subsequently generating certificates. The Properties Window 84 also includes a box 98 that includes address information, such as an IP address, a Subnet Mask and a Gateway Address (reading back network configuration parameters and storing temporarily the network configuration parameters that are read back from the one or more of the plurality of building control devices). In some cases, the IP address may also be used as common name or domain name for subsequently generating certificates).
Poluri ‘731 in view of WANG ‘607 and Shalom ‘734 does not disclose but Overcash ‘759 discloses: storing the network configuration parameters that are read back from the one or more of the plurality of devices for archival purposes (FIG. 2, [Col. 11], ll.24-29, using the cloud controller 224 as part of detecting and/or preventing unauthorized devices (the one or more of the plurality of devices) from access or continued access to the second communication network 106; FIG. 4, [Col. 12], ll.45-59, At 414, process 400 updates the cloud controller storage 236 (storing the network configuration parameters that are read back from the one or more of the plurality of devices for archiving in the cloud storage 236) with an entry that identifies the unauthorized device and/or any action taken to block the unauthorized device from any further access to the second communication network 106; [Col. 6], ll.50-57, access information stored in the cloud controller storage 236, such as previously-obtained network and device information (the network configuration parameters), identify devices 214 associated with the subscriber's account).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Poluri ‘731 in view of WANG ‘607 and Shalom ‘734 with the storage of network and device information in the cloud storage for detecting and/or preventing unauthorized devices from access to a communication network as taught by Overcash ‘759 because the system would provide for the detection and/or use of countermeasures to prevent and/or limit unauthorized devices from accessing and/or using another's communication network [ABSTRACT]. Additionally, Overcash ‘759 is analogous to the claimed invention because it teaches detecting devices connected to a communication network, such as a local communication network [FIG. 3].
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Poluri ‘731 in view of WANG ‘607 and Nicolson et al., US-20090320110-A1 (hereinafter “Nicolson ‘110”).
Per claim 15 (dependent on claim 1):
Poluri ‘731 in view of WANG ‘607 discloses the elements detailed in the rejection of claim 1 above, incorporated herein by reference
Poluri ‘731 discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein batch uploading the matching one of the plurality of digital certificate files to the respective one of the plurality of building control devices occurs when the respective one of the plurality of building control devices has changed its configuration settings (FIG. 2, [0027], providing a plurality of controller certificates for a plurality of controllers 14 within the BMS 12 using an application executing on the mobile device 22 ... the downloaded project information may include a project name and controller configuration information for each of the plurality of controllers 14 including a controller name and/or a controller IP address (identifying the matching one of the plurality of digital certificate files by using information used for generating a certificate – such as “Name”, “Unique ID”, “an IP address”, and the like as shown in FIG. 7 and described in [0038]), as generally indicated at block 26; [0028], The mobile device 22 may then upload each of the CSRs (causing the change of individual settings) to the API of the remote server 20 so that the remote server 20 can generate a corresponding controller certificate for each of the plurality of controllers 14 of the BMS 12, as indicated at block 32. As indicated at block 34, each of the generated controller certificates are downloaded to the corresponding plurality of controllers 14 of the BMS 12 (batch uploading the matching one of the plurality of digital certificate files to the respective one of the plurality of building control devices when the CSRs is requested) and used for subsequent secure communication in the BMS 12).
Poluri ‘731 in view of WANG ‘607 does not disclose but Nicolson ‘110 discloses: uploading the matching one of the plurality of digital certificate files to the respective one of the plurality of devices occurs when the respective one of the plurality of devices has an on-line status on the network (FIG. 1, [0061], The mobile device (the respective one of the plurality of devices) ... activities such as (112) certificates for optional and mandatory components being (114) broadcast (on the network) to all devices will occur ... the device owner may (116) ... causing the set of optional components available to a particular device to be updated; [0050], The present embodiment relates to a system for updating a certificate (uploading the matching one of the plurality of digital certificate files) used for verifying a piece of software. In a device, if there is one or more optional components, it is depending on a user's decision which component is being activated, that is, whether it has an on-line status or not. So, usually a server needs to know which components are activated for each device in order to send updated certificates corresponding to active components (uploading the matching one of the plurality of digital certificate files occurs when it has an on-line status). And, the server sends a customized set of updated certificates, corresponding to active components of each device, for the each device).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Poluri ‘731 in view of WANG ‘607 with the sending of updated certificates to each device corresponding to active components in response to the request of a device owner as taught by Nicolson ‘110 because it would send a customized set of updated certificates, corresponding to active components of each device [0050]. Additionally, Nicolson ‘110 is analogous to the claimed invention because it teaches a system for updating a certificate used for verifying a piece of software [0050].
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Poluri ‘731 in view of Shalom ‘734.
Per claim 20 (independent):
Poluri ‘731 discloses: A method for performing a batch network configuring of a plurality of building control devices for a building control network, the method comprising:
securely storing a plurality of digital certificate files, wherein each of the digital certificate files includes a digital certificate and has a unique identifier that can be matched to a unique identifier of a respective one of the plurality of building control devices
(FIG. 1, [0022], a building management system (BMS) 12 (for a building control network). The illustrative BMS 12 includes a number of controllers 14, individually labeled as a controller 14a, a controller 14b and a controller 14c (a plurality of building control devices); [0025], A mobile device 22, which in some cases may be referred to as a certificate management device, may be in communication with the remote server 20 ... in order to provide a user of the mobile device 22 with an intuitive, efficient and secure way to provide certificate management for the BMS 12; [0026], Certificates (securely storing a plurality of digital certificate files in the remote server 20 of FIG. 1) are used by the controllers 14 and the clients 16 for providing secure communication between individual components of the BMS 12 – in the building control network; FIG. 2, [0027], providing a plurality of controller certificates for a plurality of controllers 14 within the BMS 12 using an application executing on the mobile device 22 ... the downloaded project information may include a project name and controller configuration information for each of the plurality of controllers 14 including a controller name and/or a controller IP address (performing a batch network configuring; As shown in FIG. 7 and described in [0038], information used for generating a certificate – such as “Name”, “Unique ID”, “an IP address”, and the like, in other words, a unique identifier of a respective one of the plurality of building control devices – is presented), as generally indicated at block 26; [0028], at block 34, each of the generated controller certificates (each of the digital certificate files includes a digital certificate) are downloaded to the corresponding plurality of controllers 14 of the BMS 12 and used for subsequent secure communication in the BMS 12);
automatically identifying a matching one of the plurality of digital certificate files for each of the plurality of building control devices by matching the unique identifier of the matching digital certificate file with the unique identifier of the respective one of the plurality of building control devices;
uploading the matching ones of the plurality of digital certificate files to the respective one of the plurality of building control devices for subsequent use by the respective one of the plurality of building control devices when communicating over the building control network
(FIG. 1, [0022], a building management system (BMS) 12 (over the building control network). The illustrative BMS 12 includes a number of controllers 14, individually labeled as a controller 14a, a controller 14b and a controller 14c (each of the plurality of building control devices); [0025], A mobile device 22, which in some cases may be referred to as a certificate management device, may be in communication with the remote server 20 ... in order to provide a user of the mobile device 22 with an intuitive, efficient and secure way to provide certificate management for the BMS 12; [0026], Certificates (the plurality of digital certificate files) are used by the controllers 14 and the clients 16 for providing secure communication between individual components of the BMS 12 – for subsequent use by the respective one of the plurality of building control devices when communicating over the building control network; FIG. 2, [0027], providing a plurality of controller certificates for a plurality of controllers 14 within the BMS 12 using an application executing on the mobile device 22 ... the downloaded project information may include a project name and controller configuration information for each of the plurality of controllers 14 including a controller name and/or a controller IP address (automatically identifying a matching one of the plurality of digital certificate files by using information used for generating a certificate – such as “Name”, “Unique ID”, “an IP address”, and the like, in other words, the unique identifier of the respective one of the plurality of building control devices as shown in FIG. 7 and described in [0038] – for a match with the plurality of controller certificate files), as generally indicated at block 26; [0028], at block 34, each of the generated controller certificates are downloaded to the corresponding plurality of controllers 14 of the BMS 12 (uploading the matching ones of the plurality of digital certificate files to the respective one of the plurality of building control devices) and used for subsequent secure communication in the BMS 12 – for subsequent use by the respective one of the plurality of building control devices when communicating over the building control network);
uploading one or more additional network configuration parameters to one or more of the plurality of building control devices for subsequent use by the one or more of the plurality of building control devices when communicating over the building control network (FIG. 2, [0027], providing a plurality of controller certificates for a plurality of controllers 14 (one or more of the plurality of building control devices) within the BMS 12 (the building control network) using an application executing on the mobile device 22 ... the downloaded project information may include a project name and controller configuration information for each of the plurality of controllers 14 including a controller name and/or a controller IP address (information used for generating a certificate – such as “Name”, “Unique ID”, “an IP address”, “Subnet mask”, “Gateway address”, and the like, in other words, additional network configuration parameters as shown in FIG. 7 and described in [0038]), as generally indicated at block 26; [0028], at block 34, each of the generated controller certificates are downloaded to the corresponding plurality of controllers 14 of the BMS 12 (uploading additional network configuration parameters to one or more of the plurality of building control devices) and used for subsequent secure communication in the BMS 12 – for subsequent use by the one or more of the plurality of building control devices when communicating over the building control network).
Poluri ‘731 does not disclose but Shalom ‘734 discloses: wherein the one or more additional network configuration parameters include one or more of an SSID, a username, a password and a root certificate (FIG. 2, [0048], an in-band sign up framework for a Wi-Fi enabled client computing device 215 (e.g. a mobile phone) may enable a user to join a network environment with a public Enterprise or Passpoint Wi-Fi network that client computing device 215 is not subscribed to, or has not connected to in the past; [0062], client computing device 215 may utilize the ANQP element to generate a temporary extensible authentication protocol (EAP) configuration including: (i) a Service Set Identifier (SSID; an SSID) of the wireless access point, (ii) the authentication protocol, (iii) a server certificate (a root certificate), (iv) a server domain name, and (v) the temporary login credential (a username and a password – see [0063], “WAP 210 may provide the temporary username and password”). Such embodiments also include utilizing the temporary EAP configuration to establish the initial network connection).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Poluri ‘731 with the utilization of a temporary extensible authentication protocol (EAP) configuration including a SSID, a server certificate and the temporary login credential as taught by Shalom ‘734 because it would provide the in-band secure access protocol so that the client computing device is enabled to establish an encrypted and trusted network connection over the wireless network [0004].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 4, 7, 11 and 16 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SANGSEOK PARK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2499