DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-2, 7, 9, 11-12 amended
Claims 11-20 withdrawn
Claims 1-10 pending and elected
Examiner’s Note
A NEW SHORTENED STATUTORY PERIOD FOR REPLY IS SET TO EXPIRE THREE MONTHS FROM THE MAILING DATE OF THIS COMMUNICATION.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of claims 1-10 in the reply filed on 01/05/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that search and examination would not impose an undue burden on the office. This is not found persuasive because as the examination of method claims are not the same for examination of product claims.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the surface structure" in page 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tuffile (PG Pub 2018/0119239 A1).
Consider Claim 1, Tuffile teaches the process of forming a metallic part using layer by layer process (claim 1), by supplying iron based alloy powder, where the powder alloy includes; mainly Fe, Cr with 10-19 wt %, Nb with 0-1.0 wt%, Mo with 0.5-3.0 wt%, C with 0-0.35 wt%, Ni with 0-5.0 wt%, Cu with 0-5.0 wt%, Si with 0-1.0 wt%, N with 0-0.25 wt% (claim 1, page 5) leading to Fe with 65.4-89.5 wt %, where this metallic part is built on a substrate (claim 8), in a layer form by melting the alloy powder into a melting state using laser/e-beam energy (claim 6) to melt and cooling and solidifying processes (claim 1, page 5), and forming a layer thickness with 2-200 microns (claim 1, page 5), and where the tensile strength at least 1000 MPa, yield strength at least 640 MPa, elongation at least 3.0%, hardness at least 375 HV (375 HV equal to 45 HRC) (claim 1, page 5).
Consider Claim 2, Tuffile teaches the layer thickness is from 2.0 micron to 200 micron (claim 1).
Consider Claims 3-4, Tuffile teaches the iron alloy includes; mainly Fe, Cr with 10-19 wt %, Nb with 0-1.0 wt%, Mo with 0.5-3.0 wt%, C with 0-0.35 wt%, Ni with 0-5.0 wt%, Cu with 0-5.0 wt%, Si with 0-1.0 wt%, N with 0-0.25 wt% (claim 1, page 5) leading to Fe with 65.4-89.5 wt % (Claim 1).
Consider Claim 7, Tuffile teaches the substrate is pre-heated to temperature less than or equal to 300 ℃ (Claim 8).
Consider Claim 8, Tuffile teaches the metallic part undergoes solutionizing for the as built metallic part at a temp that is greater than 900℃ followed by quenching step (claim 9).
Consider Claim 9, Tuffile teaches tempering the as built metallic part at a temperature of 454℃ after the forming of the as built metallic part [0053].
Consider Claim 10, Tuffile teaches altering of the as built metallic part surface using carbonization (claim 12) or nitridation (claim 13), and carbonitriding [0063].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tuffile (PG Pub 2018/0119239 A1).
Consider Claim 1, Tuffile teaches the process of forming a metallic part using layer by layer process (claim 1), by supplying iron based alloy powder, where the powder alloy includes; mainly Fe, Cr with 10-19 wt %, Nb with 0-1.0 wt%, Mo with 0.5-3.0 wt%, C with 0-0.35 wt%, Ni with 0-5.0 wt%, Cu with 0-5.0 wt%, Si with 0-1.0 wt%, N with 0-0.25 wt% (claim 1, page 5) leading to Fe with 65.4-89.5 wt %, where this metallic part is built on a substrate (claim 8), in a layer form by melting the alloy powder into a melting state using laser/e-beam energy (claim 6) to melt and cooling and solidifying processes (claim 1, page 5), and forming a layer thickness with 2-200 microns (claim 1, page 5), and where the tensile strength at least 1000 MPa, yield strength at least 640 MPa, elongation at least 3.0%, hardness at least 375 HV (375 HV equal to 45 HRC) (claim 1, page 5). In the case where the claimed ranges, “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). (MPEP 2144.05).
Consider Claim 2, Tuffile teaches the layer thickness is from 2.0 micron to 200 micron (claim 1). In the case where the claimed ranges, “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). (MPEP 2144.05).
Consider Claims 3-4, Tuffile teaches the iron alloy includes; mainly Fe, Cr with 10-19 wt %, Nb with 0-1.0 wt%, Mo with 0.5-3.0 wt%, C with 0-0.35 wt%, Ni with 0-5.0 wt%, Cu with 0-5.0 wt%, Si with 0-1.0 wt%, N with 0-0.25 wt% (claim 1, page 5) leading to Fe with 65.4-89.5 wt % (Claim 1). In the case where the claimed ranges, “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). (MPEP 2144.05).
Consider Claim 7, Tuffile teaches the substrate is pre-heated to temperature less than or equal to 300 ℃ (Claim 8). In the case where the claimed ranges, “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). (MPEP 2144.05).
Consider Claim 8, Tuffile teaches the metallic part undergoes solutionizing for the as built metallic part at a temp that is greater than 900℃ followed by quenching step (claim 9). In the case where the claimed ranges, “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). (MPEP 2144.05).
Consider Claim 9, Tuffile teaches tempering the as built metallic part at a temperature of 454℃ after the forming of the as built metallic part [0053]. In the case where the claimed ranges, “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). (MPEP 2144.05).
Consider Claim 10, Tuffile teaches altering of the as built metallic part surface using carbonization (claim 12) or nitridation (claim 13), and carbonitriding [0063].
Claim(s) 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Angles (PG Pub 2018/0318922 A1) in view of Tuffile (PG Pub 2018/0119239 A1).
Consider Claim 1, Angles teaches the process of forming metallic part using high melting point alloy powder (claim 1), where the high melt alloy include iron alloy (claim 5), where the iron alloy powder consists essentially of: including Fe with 5.8-99.85 wt %, Cr with 0-20 wt %, Nb with 0-10 wt%, Mo with 010 wt%, C with 0.15-3.5 wt% Ni with 0-2 wt%, Cu with 0-10 wt% Si with 0-6 wt%, W with 0-12 wt%, Mn with 0-3 wt%, N with 0-15 wt%, B with 0-0.27 wt % (claim 13). In the case where the claimed ranges, “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). (MPEP 2144.05).
Although Angles teach the forming of layer by layer in paragraph [1873] with a thickness of 1.1 micron – 11 mm in paragraph [0137], however, it does not explicitly teach the building of a metallic part on a substrate using layer by layer process.
However, Tuffile is in the prior art of using iron base powder for layer by layer (claim 1), teaches the process of forming a metallic part using layer by layer process (claim 1), by supplying iron based alloy powder (claim 5), where this metallic part is built on a substrate (claim 8), in a layer form by melting the alloy powder into a melting state using laser/e-beam energy (claim 6) to melt and cooling and solidifying processes (claim 1, page 5), and forming a layer thickness with 2-200 microns (claim 1, page 5), and where the tensile strength at least 1000 MPa, yield strength at least 640 MPa, elongation at least 3.0%, hardness at least 375 HV (375 HV equal to 45 HRC) (claim 1, page 5). In the case where the claimed ranges, “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). (MPEP 2144.05).
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention would combine Angles with Tuffile to form metallic part on a substrate using layer by layer process, to provide metallic parts with high hardness, tensile strengths, yield strengths, and elongation (abstract).
Consider Claim 2, the combined Angles (with Tuffile) teaches the forming of layer with thickness from 1.1 micron to 11,000 micron [0130].
Consider Claims 3-6, the combined Angles (with Tuffile) teaches the iron powder alloy with Fe with 5.8-99.85 wt %, Cr with 0-20 wt %, Nb with 0-10 wt%, Mo with 0-10 wt%, C with 0.15-3.5 wt% Ni with 0-15 wt%, Cu with 0-10 wt% Si with 0-6 wt%, W with 0-12 wt%, Mn with 0-3 wt%, N with 0-15 wt%, B with 0-0.27 wt % (Angles, claim 13). In the case where the claimed ranges, “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). (MPEP 2144.05).
Consider Claim 7, the combined Angles (with Tuffile) teaches the substrate is pre-heated to temperature less than or equal to 300 ℃ (Tuffile , Claim 8). In the case where the claimed ranges, “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). (MPEP 2144.05).
Consider Claim 8, the combined Angles (with Tuffile) teaches the metallic part undergoes solutionizing for the as built metallic part at a temp that is greater than 900℃ followed by quenching step (Tuffile, claim 9). In the case where the claimed ranges, “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). (MPEP 2144.05).
Consider Claim 9, the combined Angles (with Tuffile) teaches tempering the as built metallic part at a temperature of 454℃ after the forming of the as built metallic part (Tuffile, [0053]). In the case where the claimed ranges, “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). (MPEP 2144.05).
Consider Claim 10, the combined Angles (with Tuffile) teaches altering of the as built metallic part surface using carbonization (Tuffile, claim 12) or nitridation (Tuffile, claim 13), and carbonitriding (Tuffile, [0063]).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 10,953,465 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because
Claim 1 state “A method of layer-by-layer construction by direct energy deposition of a metallic part comprising:
supplying an alloy in particle form comprising the following elements: Fe at 69.2 wt. % to 89.1 wt. %; Cr at 7.25 wt. % to 16.0 wt. %; Nb at 0.01 wt. % to 10.0 wt. %; Mo at 0.5 wt. % to 4.0 wt. %. C at 0.03 wt. % to 0.4 wt. % and optionally one or more of Ni, Cu, Si, W, Mn, N and B;
supplying a substrate; and
applying one or more layers of the alloy onto the substrate by melting the alloy into a molten state and cooling and solidifying;
wherein the metallic part has the following properties: tensile strength of at least 1300 MPa, yield strength of at least 700 MPa, elongation of at least 4.0%, and hardness of at least 45 HRC.”
Where this is in claims 1-3 of ‘465.
Claims 2-10 are in claims 1-15 of ‘465.
Claims 1-10 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 10,920,295 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because
Claim 1 state “A method of layer-by-layer construction by direct energy deposition of a metallic part comprising:
supplying an alloy in particle form comprising the following elements: Fe at 69.2 wt. % to 89.1 wt. %; Cr at 7.25 wt. % to 16.0 wt. %; Nb at 0.01 wt. % to 10.0 wt. %; Mo at 0.5 wt. % to 4.0 wt. %. C at 0.03 wt. % to 0.4 wt. % and optionally one or more of Ni, Cu, Si, W, Mn, N and B;
supplying a substrate; and
applying one or more layers of the alloy onto the substrate by melting the alloy into a molten state and cooling and solidifying;
wherein the metallic part has the following properties: tensile strength of at least 1300 MPa, yield strength of at least 700 MPa, elongation of at least 4.0%, and hardness of at least 45 HRC.”
Where this is in claims 1-3 of ‘295.
Claims 2-10 are in claims 1-15 of ‘295.
Conclusion
/Mohammad Mayy/
Art Unit 1718
/GORDON BALDWIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1718