Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. INDIA 202311054910, filed on 08/16/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/21/2024 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 12, 13-17, 19, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hutz et al. ( US 10419908, hereinafter, Hutz’s 908 ) in view of Ilsar et al. ( US 20150026317, hereinafter, Ilsar’s 317).
Regarding to the claim 1, Hutz’s 908 teaches a method for configured a wireless interface of a building controller ( the application server 150 ) [see Col. 4, lines 13-40 ] [also see Col. 5, lines 25-40 ] ((43) The application server 150 may be a remote monitoring station for a service provider such as an internet service provider, an alarm security provider, or an internet security provider that receives data transmissions such as, for example, internet activity, Wi-Fi presence, internet connectivity, monitoring system information. The application server 150 may track connection events to the network 105 transmitted from devices located within the property 101) , the method comprising:
the building controller (the application server 150 ) storing a default wireless configuration for the wireless interface in a non-volatile memory ( storing default network configuration for the wirless interface in a non volatile memory ) [see Col. 4, Lines 13-25] ;
the building controller configuring the wireless interface with the default wireless configuration [see Col. 4, Lines 25-40 ] ;
a configuration tool establishing a wireless network connection with the default wireless access point using the default wireless configuration [see Col. 15, Lines 37-40 ] ;
the building controller receiving an updated wireless configuration from the configuration tool via the default wireless access point [see Col. 15, lines 0045-0055];
after receiving the updated wireless configuration, the building controller configuring the wireless interface of the building controller with the updated wireless configuration, and terminating the wireless network connection with the previous default wireless access point (the building controller configuring the wireless interface of the building controller with the updated wireless configuration, and terminating the wireless network connection with the previous default wireless access point) [see Col. 11, lines 32-35 and Col. 12, Lines 18-21];
with the wireless interface configured with the updated wireless configuration, the building controller attempting to establish a wireless network connection via the wireless interface with a remote device (the control unit 110 may be used to detect Wi-Fi devices that have repeatedly tried to unsuccessfully connect to an SSID. For example, in response to detecting the unsuccessful connection attempts using the Wi-Fi sniffing technique);
However, Hutz’s 908 does not explicitly teach when the building controller successfully establishes the wireless network connection with the remote device using the updated wireless configuration, the building controller disabling the default wireless configuration of the wireless interface to thereby prevent subsequent attempts to establish via the wireless interface a subsequent network connection using the default wireless configuration.
Ilsar’s 317, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches the device storing a default wireless configuration ( factory setting, original network configuration ) [see Paragraphs 0105 & 0111] for the wireless in a non-volatile memory;
the device configuring the wireless with the default wireless configuration ( factory setting, original network configuration ) [see Paragraphs 0105 & 0111] ;
the device establishing via a wireless network connection with a default wireless access point (SoftAP) (AP configured/validating) using the default wireless configuration ( factory setting, original network configuration ) [see Paragraphs 0105 & 0111] [also see the Paragraphs 0105 – 0111 and Figure 12 ] ;
a configuration tool establishing a wireless network connection with the default wireless access point (AP configured/validating) using the default wireless configuration ( factory setting, original network configuration ) [see Paragraphs 0105 & 0111 and Figure 12 ] ;
the device receiving an updated wireless configuration ( new configuration ) [see Paragraph 0111] from the configuration tool via the default wireless access point (SoftAP) (AP configured/validating) [see Paragraph 0111] ;
after receiving the updated wireless configuration, the device configuring the wireless with the updated wireless configuration (new configuration ) [see Paragraph 0111] , and terminating the wireless network connection with the previous default wireless access point [see Paragraphs 0105 & 0111 and Figure 12 ] ;
with the wireless configured with the updated wireless configuration (new configuration ) , the device attempting to establish a wireless network connection via the wireless with a remote device [see Paragraphs 0105 & 0111 and Figure 12 ] , wherein:
when the device successfully establishes the wireless network connection with the remote device using the updated wireless configuration (new configuration ) , the device disabling the default wireless configuration of the wireless interface to thereby prevent subsequent attempts to establish via the wireless interface a subsequent network connection using the default wireless configuration [see Paragraphs 0105 & 0111 and Figure 12 ] ; and
when the device does not successfully establish the wireless network connection with the remote device using the updated wireless configuration, the building controller automatically configuring the wireless interface back to the default wireless configuration to allow subsequent attempts to establish via the wireless a subsequent network connection using the default wireless configuration (if the headless device received a new configuration , it will use this configuration to attempt to connect to the network. Otherwise, the headless device will use its original network configuration ) [see Paragraph 0111].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of Hutz’s 908 in view of Ilsar’s 317 because Ilsar’s 317suggests that when there are multiple building control devices that lose the network connection, this can be a time consuming and tedious process. Moreover, in order to update the network credentials, the user typically has to be physically present with access to the building control device.
Regarding to the claim 2, Hutz’s 908 further teaches wherein the configuration tool comprises a computing device with a user interface for receiving user input to define at least part of the updated wireless configuration (wherein the configuration tool comprises a computing device with a user interface for receiving user input to define at least part of the updated wireless configuration) [see Col. 11, lines 15-60 ] and [ also see Col. 15, lines 35-65 and col. 16, lines 5-60 ].
Regarding to the claim 3, Hutz’s 908 further teaches wherein the default wireless access point comprises a wireless router ( wherein the default wireless access point comprises a wireless router ) [see Col. 11, lines 15-60 ] and [ also see Col. 15, lines 35-65 and col. 16, lines 5-60 ]
Regarding to the claim 4, Hutz’s 908 further teaches wherein the remote device is an access point of a building control network ( wherein the remote device is an access point of a building control network ) [see Col. 11, lines 15-60 ] and [ also see Col. 15, lines 35-65 and col. 16, lines 5-60 ].
Regarding to the claim 5, Hutz’s 908 further teaches wherein the wireless interface of the building controller comprises a WiFi wireless interface, and the default wireless configuration comprises a default SSID and a default password [see Col. 11, lines 15-60 ] and [ also see Col. 15, lines 35-65 and col. 16, lines 5-60 ].
Regarding to the claim 6, Hutz’s 908 further teaches wherein the updated wireless configuration comprises one or more of an updated SSID and an updated password [see Col. 11, lines 15-60 ] and [ also see Col. 15, lines 35-65 and col. 16, lines 5-60 ].
Regarding to the claim 7, Hutz’s 908 and Ilsar’s 317 teach the limitations of the claim 1 above.
However, Hutz’s 908 does not explicitly teach wherein the building controller making a plurality of attempts to establish the wireless network connection via the wireless interface with the remote device, and when after the plurality of attempts, the building controller does not successfully establish the wireless network connection with the remote device using the updated wireless configuration, the building controller automatically configuring the wireless interface of the building controller back to the default wireless configuration to allow subsequent attempts to establish via the wireless interface a subsequent network connection using the default wireless configuration.
Ilsar’s 317, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein the building controller making a plurality of attempts to establish the wireless network connection via the wireless interface with the remote device, and when after the plurality of attempts, the building controller does not successfully establish the wireless network connection with the remote device using the updated wireless configuration, the building controller automatically configuring the wireless interface of the building controller back to the default wireless configuration to allow subsequent attempts to establish via the wireless interface a subsequent network connection using the default wireless configuration [see Paragraphs 106 – 0111].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of Hutz’s 908 in view of Ilsar’s 317 because Ilsar’s 317 suggests that when there are multiple building control devices that lose the network connection, this can be a time consuming and tedious process. Moreover, in order to update the network credentials, the user typically has to be physically present with access to the building control device.
Regarding to the claim 8, Hutz’s 908 and Ilsar’s 317 teach the limitations of the claim 1 above.
However, Hutz’s 908 does not explicitly teach wherein when the building controller does not successfully establish the wireless network connection with the remote device using the updated wireless configuration, the building controller automatically configuring the wireless interface back to the default wireless configuration, and then attempting one or more times to establish via the wireless interface the wireless network connection with the default wireless access point using the default wireless configuration.
Ilsar’s 317 , from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein when the building controller does not successfully establish the wireless network connection with the remote device using the updated wireless configuration, the building controller automatically configuring the wireless interface back to the default wireless configuration, and then attempting one or more times to establish via the wireless interface the wireless network connection with the default wireless access point using the default wireless configuration [see Paragraphs 106 – 0111].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of Hutz’s 908 in view of Ilsar’s 317 because Ilsar’s 317 suggests that when there are multiple building control devices that lose the network connection, this can be a time consuming and tedious process. Moreover, in order to update the network credentials, the user typically has to be physically present with access to the building control device.
Regarding to the claim 9, Hutz’s 908 further teaches wherein after the building controller successfully establishes the wireless network connection with the remote device using the updated wireless configuration, performing a factory reset on the building controller, wherein in response to performing the factory reset on the building controller, the building controller automatically configuring the wireless interface with the default wireless configuration [see Col. 11, lines 15-60 ] and [ also see Col. 15, lines 35-65 and col. 16, lines 5-60 ].
Regarding to the claim 10, Hutz’s 908 further teaches wherein after the building controller successfully establishes the wireless network connection with the remote device using the updated wireless configuration, power cycling the building controller, wherein in response to power cycling the building controller, the building controller restarting the wireless interface with the updated wireless configuration [see Col. 11, lines 15-60 ] and [ also see Col. 15, lines 35-65 and col. 16, lines 5-60 ].
Regarding to the claim 12, Hutz’s 908 teaches a building controller ( the application server 150 ) ((43) The application server 150 may be a remote monitoring station for a service provider such as an internet service provider, an alarm security provider, or an internet security provider that receives data transmissions such as, for example, internet activity, Wi-Fi presence, internet connectivity, monitoring system information. The application server 150 may track connection events to the network 105 transmitted from devices located within the property 101) , comprising:
a housing; a wireless interface housed by the housing; a non-volatile memory housed by the housing for storing a default wireless configuration for the wireless interface ( storing default network configuration for the wirless interface in a non volatile memory ) [see Col. 4, Lines 13-25]; a controller housed by the housing operatively coupled to the wireless interface and the non-volatile memory, the controller configured to:
configure the wireless interface with the default wireless configuration [see Col. 4, Lines 25-40 ];
establish via the wireless interface a wireless network connection with a default wireless access point using the default wireless configuration, wherein the default wireless access point is in communication with a configuration tool [see Col. 15, Lines 37-40 ];
receive an updated wireless configuration from the configuration tool via the wireless network connection with the default wireless access point [see Col. 15, Lines 37-40 ] ;
store the updated wireless configuration in the non-volatile memory [see Col. 15, Lines 37-40 ];
configure the wireless interface with the updated wireless configuration, and terminating the wireless network connection with the default wireless access point (the building controller configuring the wireless interface of the building controller with the updated wireless configuration, and terminating the wireless network connection with the previous default wireless access point) [see Col. 11, lines 32-35 and Col. 12, Lines 18-21];
attempt to establish a wireless network connection via the wireless interface with a remote device
device (the control unit 110 may be used to detect Wi-Fi devices that have repeatedly tried to unsuccessfully connect to an SSID. For example, in response to detecting the unsuccessful connection attempts using the Wi-Fi sniffing technique);
However, Hutz’s 908 does not explicitly teach when the building controller successfully establishes the wireless network connection with the remote device using the updated wireless configuration, the building controller disabling the default wireless configuration of the wireless interface to thereby prevent subsequent attempts to establish via the wireless interface a subsequent network connection using the default wireless configuration.
Ilsar’s 317, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches the device storing a default wireless configuration ( factory setting, original network configuration ) [see Paragraphs 0105 & 0111] for the wireless in a non-volatile memory;
the device configuring the wireless with the default wireless configuration ( factory setting, original network configuration ) [see Paragraphs 0105 & 0111] ;
the device establishing via a wireless network connection with a default wireless access point (SoftAP) (AP configured/validating) using the default wireless configuration ( factory setting, original network configuration ) [see Paragraphs 0105 & 0111] [also see the Paragraphs 0105 – 0111 and Figure 12 ] ;
a configuration tool establishing a wireless network connection with the default wireless access point (AP configured/validating) using the default wireless configuration ( factory setting, original network configuration ) [see Paragraphs 0105 & 0111 and Figure 12 ] ;
the device receiving an updated wireless configuration ( new configuration ) [see Paragraph 0111] from the configuration tool via the default wireless access point (SoftAP) (AP configured/validating) [see Paragraph 0111] ;
after receiving the updated wireless configuration, the device configuring the wireless with the updated wireless configuration (new configuration ) [see Paragraph 0111] , and terminating the wireless network connection with the previous default wireless access point [see Paragraphs 0105 & 0111 and Figure 12 ] ;
with the wireless configured with the updated wireless configuration (new configuration ) , the device attempting to establish a wireless network connection via the wireless with a remote device [see Paragraphs 0105 & 0111 and Figure 12 ] , wherein:
when the device successfully establishes the wireless network connection with the remote device using the updated wireless configuration (new configuration ) , the device disabling the default wireless configuration of the wireless interface to thereby prevent subsequent attempts to establish via the wireless interface a subsequent network connection using the default wireless configuration [see Paragraphs 0105 & 0111 and Figure 12 ] ; and
when the device does not successfully establish the wireless network connection with the remote device using the updated wireless configuration, the building controller automatically configuring the wireless interface back to the default wireless configuration to allow subsequent attempts to establish via the wireless a subsequent network connection using the default wireless configuration (if the headless device received a new configuration , it will use this configuration to attempt to connect to the network. Otherwise, the headless device will use its original network configuration ) [see Paragraph 0111].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of Hutz’s 908 in view of Ilsar’s 317 because Ilsar’s 317 suggests that when there are multiple building control devices that lose the network connection, this can be a time consuming and tedious process. Moreover, in order to update the network credentials, the user typically has to be physically present with access to the building control device.
Regarding to the claim 13, claim 13 is rejected the same ground, or for the same reasons as claim 5, because both claims have the same claim limitations.
Regarding to the claim 14, claim 14 is rejected the same ground, or for the same reasons as claim 6, because both claims have the same claim limitations.
Regarding to the claim 15, claim 15 is rejected the same ground, or for the same reasons as claim 7, because both claims have the same claim limitations.
Regarding to the claim 16, claim 16 is rejected the same ground, or for the same reasons as claim 8 , because both claims have the same claim limitations.
Regarding to the claim 17, Hutz’s 908 further teaches wherein after the controller successfully establishes the wireless network connection with the remote device using the updated wireless configuration, restarting the building controller, wherein in response to restarting the building controller, the controller is configured to automatically reset the wireless interface with the default wireless configuration [see Col. 11, lines 15-60 ] and [ also see Col. 15, lines 35-65 and col. 16, lines 5-60 ].
Regarding to the claim 19, Hutz’s 908 teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions that when executed by one or more processors of a building controller (the application server 150 ) ((43) The application server 150 may be a remote monitoring station for a service provider such as an internet service provider, an alarm security provider, or an internet security provider that receives data transmissions such as, for example, internet activity, Wi-Fi presence, internet connectivity, monitoring system information. The application server 150 may track connection events to the network 105 transmitted from devices located within the property 101) , cause the building controller to:
configure a wireless interface of the building controller with a default wireless configuration [see Col. 4, Lines 25-40 ];
establish via the wireless interface a wireless network connection using the default wireless configuration [see col. 15, lines 37-40];
receive an updated wireless configuration via the wireless network connection [see col. 15, lines 45-55] ;
configure the wireless interface with the updated wireless configuration;
attempt to establish a wireless network connection via the wireless interface with a remote device [see Col. 11, lines 32-35 and Col. 12, Lines 18-21].
However, Hutz’s 908 does not explicitly teach when the building controller successfully establishes the wireless network connection with the remote device using the updated wireless configuration, the building controller disabling the default wireless configuration of the wireless interface to thereby prevent subsequent attempts to establish via the wireless interface a subsequent network connection using the default wireless configuration.
Ilsar’s 317 , from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches the device storing a default wireless configuration ( factory setting, original network configuration ) [see Paragraphs 0105 & 0111] for the wireless in a non-volatile memory;
the device configuring the wireless with the default wireless configuration ( factory setting, original network configuration ) [see Paragraphs 0105 & 0111] ;
the device establishing via a wireless network connection with a default wireless access point (SoftAP) (AP configured/validating) using the default wireless configuration ( factory setting, original network configuration ) [see Paragraphs 0105 & 0111] [also see the Paragraphs 0105 – 0111 and Figure 12 ] ;
a configuration tool establishing a wireless network connection with the default wireless access point (AP configured/validating) using the default wireless configuration ( factory setting, original network configuration ) [see Paragraphs 0105 & 0111 and Figure 12 ] ;
the device receiving an updated wireless configuration ( new configuration ) [see Paragraph 0111] from the configuration tool via the default wireless access point (SoftAP) (AP configured/validating) [see Paragraph 0111] ;
after receiving the updated wireless configuration, the device configuring the wireless with the updated wireless configuration (new configuration ) [see Paragraph 0111] , and terminating the wireless network connection with the previous default wireless access point [see Paragraphs 0105 & 0111 and Figure 12 ] ;
with the wireless configured with the updated wireless configuration (new configuration ) , the device attempting to establish a wireless network connection via the wireless with a remote device [see Paragraphs 0105 & 0111 and Figure 12 ] , wherein:
when the device successfully establishes the wireless network connection with the remote device using the updated wireless configuration (new configuration ) , the device disabling the default wireless configuration of the wireless interface to thereby prevent subsequent attempts to establish via the wireless interface a subsequent network connection using the default wireless configuration [see Paragraphs 0105 & 0111 and Figure 12 ] ; and
when the device does not successfully establish the wireless network connection with the remote device using the updated wireless configuration, the building controller automatically configuring the wireless interface back to the default wireless configuration to allow subsequent attempts to establish via the wireless a subsequent network connection using the default wireless configuration (if the headless device received a new configuration , it will use this configuration to attempt to connect to the network. Otherwise, the headless device will use its original network configuration ) [see Paragraph 0111].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of Hutz’s 908 in view of Ilsar’s 317because Ilsar’s 317 suggests that when there are multiple building control devices that lose the network connection, this can be a time consuming and tedious process. Moreover, in order to update the network credentials, the user typically has to be physically present with access to the building control device.
Regarding to the claim 20, Hutz’s 908 further teaches wherein the wireless interface comprises a WiFi wireless interface, and the default wireless configuration comprises a default SSID and a default password, and the updated wireless configuration comprises one or more of an updated SSID and an updated password
[see Col. 11, lines 15-60 ] and [ also see Col. 15, lines 35-65 and col. 16, lines 5-60 ].
Claim(s) 11, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hutz et al. ( US 10419908, hereinafter, Hutz’s 908 ) in view of Ilsar et al. ( US 20150026317, hereinafter, Ilsar’s 317), and further in view of XIA et al. ( US 20170374552, hereinafter, XIA’s 552 ).
Regarding to the claim 11, Hutz’s 908 and Ilsar’s 317 teach the limitations of the claim 1 above.
However, Hutz’s 908 does not explicitly teach wherein the building controller includes one or more LEDs, and wherein the building controller indicating via the one or more LEDs whether the building controller successfully established the wireless network connection with the remote device or not
XIA’s 552, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein the building controller includes one or more LEDs, and wherein the building controller indicating via the one or more LEDs whether the building controller successfully established the wireless network connection with the remote device or not [see Paragraph 0094].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the combined system ( Hutz’s 908 and Ilsar’s 317 ), and further in view of XIA’s 552 because XIA’s 552 suggests that therefore the existing networking process for a smart home device is thus often complicated, and application scenarios for the smart home device may be limited. accordingly, it is desire to provide a smart networking method, and a related smart device.
Regarding to the claim 18, claim 18 is rejected the same ground, or for the same reasons as claim 11, because both claims have the same claim limitations.
Conclusion
/CHUONG T HO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412