CTNF 18/793,477 CTNF 80065 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim s 1-8 and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kumar et al. (US Pub. 2023/0007550) . Regarding claims 1 and 15, Kumar teaches a method for optimizing simultaneous conditional reconfiguration of a primary cell (PCell) and a primary secondary cell (PSCell) for a user equipment (UE), the method comprising: receiving, from a base station, a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message (see “RRCReconfiguration message containing the CHO configuration” in [0113] and “reconfiguration command (e.g., an RRCreconfiguration message) for the PSCell” in [0144]) comprising a conditional handover (CHO) command (“one or more triggering conditions that, when satisfied, trigger performance (e.g., an attempt, execution) of the CHO procedure” in [0095]) and a conditional PSCell addition or change (CPAC) command (“one or more triggering conditions that, when satisfied, trigger performance (or at least an attempt) of the CPAC procedure” in [0094]) for performing a reconfiguration of the PCell and a reconfiguration of the PSCell (see “PCell” and “PSCell” in [0093]), simultaneously (“configured for both a CPAC procedure and a CHO procedure” in [0095]), wherein the CHO command comprises one or more first conditions to trigger the reconfiguration of the PCell (“one or more triggering conditions that, when satisfied, trigger performance (e.g., an attempt, execution) of the CHO procedure” in [0095]), and wherein the CPAC command comprises one or more second conditions to trigger the reconfiguration of the PSCell (“one or more triggering conditions that, when satisfied, trigger performance (or at least an attempt) of the CPAC procedure” in [0094]); storing one or more reports (see “reports” in [0096] and “SON report” in [0100]) capturing one or more metrics related to the simultaneous conditional reconfiguration of the PCell and the PSCell upon receiving the RRC reconfiguration message (see “the CPAC procedure failure” in [0104] and “an indication of the duration between receipt of the CHO configuration and the CPAC procedure triggering… an indication of the duration between the CPAC procedure triggering and the radio link failure at the PCell” in [0112]); and transmitting, to the base station, the one or more reports (see “reports” in [0096] and “SON report” in [0100]) for optimizing the one or more first conditions and the one or more second conditions (see “the CPAC procedure failure” in [0104] and “an indication of the duration between receipt of the CHO configuration and the CPAC procedure triggering… an indication of the duration between the CPAC procedure triggering and the radio link failure at the PCell” in [0112]). Regarding claims 2 and 16, Kumar teaches one of the one or more reports comprises a time metric indicating an elapsed time between satisfaction of the one or more first conditions for execution of the CHO command and satisfaction of the one or more second conditions for execution of the CPAC command (“indication of the duration between receipt of the CHO configuration and the CPAC procedure triggering” in [0112]), and wherein the method further comprises simultaneously executing the CHO command and the CPAC command (“configured for both a CPAC procedure and a CHO procedure” in [0095]). Regarding claim 3, Kumar teaches one of the one or more reports comprises a time metric indicating an elapsed time between satisfaction of the one or more second conditions for execution of the CPAC command and satisfaction of the one or more first conditions for execution of the CHO command (“indication of the duration between receipt of the CPAC configuration and the CHO procedure triggering” in [0130]). Regarding claim 4, Kumar teaches one of the one or more reports comprises a time metric indicating an elapsed time between satisfaction of the one or more first conditions for execution of the CHO command and detection of a source link failure between the UE and the base station (“indication of the duration between the CHO procedure triggering and radio link failure” in [0130]). Regarding claim 5, Kumar teaches one of the one or more reports comprises a time metric indicating an elapsed time between satisfaction of the one or more second conditions for execution of the CPAC command and detection of a source link failure between the UE and the base station (“include an indication of the duration between the CPAC procedure triggering and the radio link failure at the PCell” in [0112]). Regarding claim 6, Kumar teaches one of the one or more reports comprises a time metric indicating an elapsed time between successful simultaneous execution of the CHO and the CPAC command (“configured for both a CPAC procedure and a CHO procedure” in [0095]) and detection of a target link failure between the UE and the base station (“include an indication of the duration between the CPAC procedure triggering and the radio link failure at the PCell” in [0112]). Regarding claim 7, Kumar teaches one of the one or more reports comprises a time metric indicating an elapsed time between a start of a CHO time-to-trigger (TTT) event and detection of a source link failure between the UE and the base station (“indication of the duration between the CHO procedure triggering and radio link failure” in [0130]). Regarding claim 8, Kumar teaches one of the one or more reports comprises a time metric indicating an elapsed time between a start of a CPAC time-to-trigger (TTT) event and detection of a source link failure between the UE and the base station (“indication of the duration between the CPAC procedure triggering and the radio link failure” in [0112]). Regarding claim 17, Kumar teaches one of the one or more reports comprises a time metric indicating an elapsed time between satisfaction of the one or more second conditions for execution of the CPAC command and satisfaction of the one or more first conditions for execution of the CHO command (“indication of the duration between receipt of the CPAC configuration and the CHO procedure triggering” in [0130]), and wherein the processor is further configured to simultaneously execute the CHO command and the CPAC command (“configured for both a CPAC procedure and a CHO procedure” in [0095]). Regarding claim 18, Kumar teaches one of the one or more reports includes at least one of: a time metric indicating an elapsed time between satisfaction of the one or more first conditions for execution of the CHO command and detection of a source link failure between the UE and the base station (“indication of the duration between the CHO procedure triggering and radio link failure” in [0130]); a time metric indicating the elapsed time between satisfaction of the one or more second conditions for execution of the CPAC command and detection of a source link failure between the UE and the base station (“include an indication of the duration between the CPAC procedure triggering and the radio link failure at the PCell” in [0112]); a time metric indicating the elapsed time between successful simultaneous execution of the CHO and the CPAC command (“configured for both a CPAC procedure and a CHO procedure” in [0095]) and detection of a target link failure between the UE and the base station (“include an indication of the duration between the CPAC procedure triggering and the radio link failure at the PCell” in [0112]); a time metric indicating the elapsed time between a start of a CHO time-to-trigger (TTT) event and detection of a source link failure between the UE and the base station (“indication of the duration between the CHO procedure triggering and radio link failure” in [0130]); or a time metric indicating the elapsed time between a start of a CPAC time-to-trigger (TTT) event and detection of a source link failure between the UE and the base station (“indication of the duration between the CPAC procedure triggering and the radio link failure” in [0112]) . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 9-14, 19 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to CLEMENCE S HAN whose telephone number is (571)272-3158. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 8AM-5PM EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Edan Orgad can be reached at (571)272-7884. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /CLEMENCE S HAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414 Application/Control Number: 18/793,477 Page 2 Art Unit: 2414 Application/Control Number: 18/793,477 Page 3 Art Unit: 2414 Application/Control Number: 18/793,477 Page 4 Art Unit: 2414 Application/Control Number: 18/793,477 Page 5 Art Unit: 2414 Application/Control Number: 18/793,477 Page 6 Art Unit: 2414 Application/Control Number: 18/793,477 Page 7 Art Unit: 2414