DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 and 11-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Luft et al. (US20200259921A1).
Regarding claim 2, Luft discloses a method for use in a communication system comprising a content delivery network (para [0022] shows a content distribution network (CDN); Fig 3 and para [0100] show a user device 827 on the plane may request to stream a particular movie from the content provider Netflix) having
a network topology (para [0059] shows a content distribution network extender 110 (“CDNE”) to provide content distribution support to stranded networks 130. As used herein, a “stranded network” 130 includes a concentration of users 152 during certain periods of time in a transportation vehicle. Stranded networks 130 can range from WiFi networks in mobile environments such as a ferry, train, or plane through any concentration of consumers with Wifi/Cellular connectivity and a limited backhaul. Stranded networks 130 are sometimes referred to as being located at the “edge” of the CDN extender 110 networks; para [0247] shows content is distributed within the CDN network extender footprint, including all fixed and mobile caches maintained by the CDN extender) and comprising
an edge tier of servers [mobile edge 185] located on mobile platforms [mobile environment 150] served by wireless communication links [network 161] of the communication system ([Abstract] and Fig 3 show a mobile edge integrated within a mobile environment; para [0081] shows as the mobile environment 150 approaches a specific fixed edge 184, the physical high speed network 161 is established under the control of fixed edge 184 and mobile edge 185; para [0099] shows high speed network 161 comprise wireless links) and
two or more terrestrial tiers of servers [fixed edges 184] distributed geographically within the communication system, the method comprising (Fig 3 and para [0076] show the stranded network is configured with a mobile edge 185 which periodically connects to one or more fixed edges 184 via high speed networks 161; para [0083] shows the high speed link 161 (e.g., first fixed edge 184) is unavailable during transit of the mobile environment 150; para [0089] shows the establishment of high speed network 311 (e.g., connection to second fixed edge 184) while the mobile environment 150 is in transit; para [0067] shows the analytics logic 112 prioritizes the distribution of content based on geography (e.g., first and second fixed edges 184 are distributed geographically based on the transit path of the mobile environment 150)):
receiving, from a first device within a mobile platform served by a wireless communication link of the communication system, a first request for a media content item (para [0099] shows popular multimedia content (e.g., the most popular movies); para [0100] shows the user device 827 may request content from the content provider by logging in to Netflix and attempting to stream a particular movie);
streaming the media content item to the first device from a first terrestrial server based on the first request and the network topology of the content delivery network indicating the first terrestrial server as a source for the media content item (Fig 3 and para [0076] show the mobile edge 185 connects to one or more fixed edges 184 via high speed networks 161. When the transportation vehicle arrives or passes by a stationary fixed edge 184, connectivity may be established (e.g., the network topology));
while the requested media content item is streamed to the first device, identifying an update to the network topology [mobile is in transit] of the content delivery network, the update indicating a second terrestrial server as the source for the media content item (Fig 3 and para [0076] show the stranded network is configured with a mobile edge 185 which periodically connects to one or more fixed edges 184; para [0083] shows the high speed link 161 (e.g., first fixed edge 184) is unavailable during transit of the mobile environment 150; para [0089] shows the establishment of high speed network 311 (e.g., connection to second fixed edge 184) while the mobile environment 150 is in transit; para [0067] shows the analytics logic 112 prioritizes the distribution of content based on geography);
receiving a second request for the media content item from the first device (para [0108] shows the client then re-requests the content) and
streaming the media content item to the first device from the second terrestrial server based on the second request and the updated network topology (Fig 3 and para [0076] show the stranded network is configured with a mobile edge 185 which periodically connects to one or more fixed edges 184 via high speed networks 161; para [0083] shows the high speed link 161 (e.g., first fixed edge 184) is unavailable during transit of the mobile environment 150; para [0089] shows the establishment of high speed network 311 (e.g., connection to second fixed edge 184) while the mobile environment 150 is in transit.)
Regarding claim 3, Luft as applied to claim 2 discloses the network topology is updated due to at least one of: a network connection to the mobile platform on which the first device is located is handed over from a first access node to a second access node; the first terrestrial server no longer has access to the media content item streamed to the first device; or the first terrestrial server is experiencing a high network load (Fig 3 and para [0076] show the stranded network is configured with a mobile edge 185 which periodically connects to one or more fixed edges 184 via high speed networks 161; para [0083] shows the high speed link 161 (e.g., first fixed edge 184) is unavailable during transit of the mobile environment 150; para [0089] shows the establishment of high speed network 311 (e.g., connection to second fixed edge 184) while the mobile environment 150 is in transit.)
Regarding claim 4, Luft as applied to claim 2 discloses:
determining, by a mobile edge server [mobile edge 185] of the edge tier of servers, that the first terrestrial server is the source of the media content item for the first device, wherein the mobile edge server receives the first request and wherein the mobile edge server is located on the mobile platform with the first device ([Abstract] and Fig 3 show a mobile edge integrated within a mobile environment; the content titles to be distributed to the mobile edge cache; para [0081] shows as the mobile environment 150 approaches a specific fixed edge 184, the physical high speed network 161 is established under the control of fixed edge 184 and mobile edge 185; para [0100] shows a user device 827 on the plane may request to stream a particular movie from the content provider Netflix; para [0226] shows when each individual mobile environment 150 arrives at a fixed edge 1610 with a high speed network 161, the cache will include up-to-date content which will be pushed out to each mobile environment);
requesting, by the mobile edge server for the first device, the media content item from the first terrestrial server (Fig 3 and para [0081] show as a mobile environment 150 approaches a specific fixed edge 184, the physical high speed network 161 is established under the control of fixed edge 184 and mobile edge 185);
receiving the streamed media content item from the first terrestrial server at the mobile edge server; and forwarding the streamed media content item from the first terrestrial server to the first device from the mobile edge server ([Abstract] and Fig 3 show a mobile edge integrated within a mobile environment; the content titles to be distributed to the mobile edge cache; [0081] shows as the mobile environment 150 approaches a specific fixed edge 184, the physical high speed network 161 is established under the control of fixed edge 184 and mobile edge 185; para [0100] shows a user device 827 on the plane may request to stream a particular movie from the content provider Netflix; para [0226] shows when each individual mobile environment 150 arrives at a fixed edge 1610 with a high speed network 161, the cache will include up-to-date content which will be pushed out to each mobile environment).
Regarding claim 5, Luft as applied to claim 4 discloses receiving a notification of the update to the network topology at the mobile edge server, wherein the mobile edge server requests the media content item from the second terrestrial server; receiving the streamed media content item from the second terrestrial server at the mobile edge server; and forwarding the streamed media content item from the second terrestrial server to the first device from the mobile edge server (Fig 3 and para [0076] show the stranded network is configured with a mobile edge 185 which periodically connects to one or more fixed edges 184 via high speed networks 161; para [0083] shows the high speed link 161 (e.g., first fixed edge 184) is unavailable during transit of the mobile environment 150; para [0089] shows the establishment of high speed network 311 (e.g., connection to second fixed edge 184) while the mobile environment 150 is in transit.)
Regarding claim 6, Luft as applied to claim 5 discloses responsive to receiving the media content item from the first terrestrial server, storing the media content item at the mobile edge server [mobile edge 185] ([Abstract] shows the content titles to be distributed to the plurality of mobile edge caches; Fig 3 and para [0076] show the stranded network is configured with a mobile edge 185 which periodically connects to one or more fixed edges 184 via high speed networks 161.)
Regarding claim 7, Luft as applied to claim 2 discloses receiving a communication from the first terrestrial server, in response to the update to the network topology, to request the media content item from the second terrestrial server ([Abstract] shows a plurality of fixed edge caches coupled between the fixed core cache and the mobile edge caches; Fig 3 and para [0076] show the stranded network is configured with a mobile edge 185 which periodically connects to one or more fixed edges 184 via high speed networks 161; para [0077] shows a transparent cache (TIC) via a fixed edge 184; para [0083] shows the high speed link 161 (e.g., first fixed edge 184) is unavailable during transit of the mobile environment 150; para [0089] shows the establishment of high speed network 311 (e.g., connection to second fixed edge 184) while the mobile environment 150 is in transit; para [0108] shows a positive lookup into the cache triggers a redirect (1003). The client then re-requests the content from the local redirect http server 1020, which serves the content from the local TIC 610.)
Regarding claim 8, Luft as applied to claim 2 discloses mapping the first and second requests for the media content item to a proxy server associated with the first device (para [0083] shows the high speed link 161 (e.g., first fixed edge 184) is unavailable (e.g., during transit of the mobile environment 150); para [0089] shows the establishment of high speed network 311 (e.g., connection to second fixed edge 184) while the mobile environment 150 is in transit; para [0091] shows the content provider 401 will perform a lookup of the location of the user and see the association between the user's IP address and the mobile cache 410 (which are in the same sub-network). Subsequent communication may then be directed to the mobile cache 410; Fig 3 and para [0100] show a user device 827 on the plane may request to stream a particular movie from the content provider Netflix; para [0108] shows the client then re-requests the content).
Regarding claim 9, Luft as applied to claim 2 discloses: determining that the media content item is not stored on a mobile edge server of the edge tier of servers, wherein the mobile edge server is located on the mobile platform with the first device; determining that the media content item is stored on the first terrestrial server; and redirecting the first request for the media content item to the first terrestrial server from the mobile edge server (para [0207] shows if the content is not locally available, the response redirects the user device 827 to the Content Provider Cache (CPC) 1302; Fig 16 and para [0226] show a CPC-cache is connected to the mobile environment, e.g. the plane, via a fixed edge 1610; para [0076] shows when the transportation vehicle arrives or passes by a stationary fixed edge 184, connectivity may established using various different types of wireless radios.)
Regarding claim 10, Luft as applied to claim 9 discloses: updating an association of the mobile edge server for the content delivery network to be associated with the second terrestrial server based at least in part on a transition of the mobile platform to being served by the second terrestrial server (Fig 3 and para [0076] show the stranded network is configured with a mobile edge 185 which periodically connects to one or more fixed edges 184 via high speed networks 161; para [0083] shows the high speed link 161 (e.g., first fixed edge 184) is unavailable during transit of the mobile environment 150; para [0089] shows the establishment of high speed network 311 (e.g., connection to second fixed edge 184) while the mobile environment 150 is in transit; para [0067] shows the analytics logic 112 prioritizes the distribution of content based on geography (e.g., first and second fixed edges 184 are distributed geographically based on the transit path of the mobile environment 150); para [0124] shows the central management component 895 maintains an account database 1240 which identifies all CDN nodes and associated customers.)
Regarding claim 11, Luft as applied to claim 10 discloses updating the association of the mobile edge server for the content delivery network comprises updating a domain name server (DNS) with an address of the second terrestrial server to update the association of the mobile edge server for the content delivery network to be associated with the second terrestrial server (para [0063] shows stranded network properties may include the manner in which the local CDN 135 manages IP addresses and DNS mappings to its users 152; para [0124] shows the central management component 895 maintains an account database 1240 which identifies all CDN nodes and associated customers.)
Regarding claim 12, Luft as applied to claim 2 discloses: sending, based on the updated network topology, a message to the first device to request the media content item from the second terrestrial server (Fig 3 and para [0076] show the stranded network is configured with a mobile edge 185 which periodically connects to one or more fixed edges 184 via high speed networks 161; para [0083] shows the high speed link 161 (e.g., first fixed edge 184) is unavailable during transit of the mobile environment 150; para [0089] shows the establishment of high speed network 311 (e.g., connection to second fixed edge 184) while the mobile environment 150 is in transit; para [0108] shows a positive lookup into the cache triggers a redirect (1003). The client then re-requests the content from the local redirect http server 1020, which serves the content from the local TIC 610.)
Regarding claims 13-23, claims 13-23 are directed to a communication system. The system claims 13-23 require limitations that are similar to those recited in the method claims 2-12 to carry out the method steps. And since Luft teaches the method including limitations required to carry out the method steps, therefore the system claims 13-23 would have also been anticipated by Luft.
Furthermore, Luft discloses a processor; memory in electronic communication with the processor; and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor (para [0274-0275).
Citation of Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sharma et al. (US20170223029A1) discloses in para [0063] a Content Delivery Network (CDN) in a multi-tiered architecture.
Conclusion
/TAN DOAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2445