DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Examiner acknowledges the remarks and amendments filed on 8/12/26. Claims 1-34 are pending. Claims 1, 11, 12, 23, and 24 have been amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 7, 8, 11, 15, 19, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geyer USPA_20220325526_A1 in view of Boss USPA_20200224419_A1.
1. Regarding Claim 1, Geyer discloses a roofing membrane comprising a bitumen compound layer and a fiber mat (corresponds to claimed fiber reinforcement layer) (Abstract; paragraph 0002) over it (Fig. 1) wherein said bitumen compound layer can comprise a primary hydrocarbon compound (such as bitumen, coal, or tar)and a filler, polymer modifier (such as styrene butadiene styrene), and/or fiber reinforcements (paragraph 0011).
2. However, Geyer does not disclose if said filler, polymer modifier, and/or fiber reinforcements can be recycled material.
3. Boss discloses roofing materials (Title) in which recycled filler can be used (paragraph 0104) as well as recycled styrene butadiene styrene copolymers (corresponds to claimed polymer modifier) (paragraph 0109). These are presumably 100% solid recycled since there is no mention of partial recycling or mixing with non-recycled materials.
4. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the filler and polymer modifier, of Geyer, with recycled filler and recycled styrene butadiene styrene, of Boss. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated in doing so for environmental reasons by use of recycled materials, so as to improve waste efficiency.
5. Regarding Claims 7, 8, Geyer in view of Boss suggests said bitumen compound layer’s composition can be by weight percent:
- Primary hydrocarbon compound: 25-60 wt%
- Filler: 25 wt%
- Styrene Butadiene Styrene rubber (corresponds to claimed ground tire rubber): 2-12 wt%
- Fire retardant: 1-11 wt%
- Polymer Modifier: 8-10 wt%
(Geyer: paragraphs 0014, 0127; Examples).
6. Regarding Claim 11, Geyer in view of Boss suggests using recycled polyethylene (Boss: paragraph 0098), recycled SBS copolymers (Boss: paragraphs 0109), and recycled PVB (Boss: paragraphs 0158-0160, 0162, 0163).
7. Regarding Claim 15, Geyer in view of Boss suggests using a release liner on the bottom surface of its membrane that can be made of paper (Geyer: paragraph 0050).
8. Regarding Claims 19 and 21, Geyer in view of Boss suggests using a paper (corresponds to claimed recycled material) as a cover (Geyer: paragraphs 0050, 0061, 0088).
Claim(s) 2-6, 23, 25, 29, 31, and 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geyer USPA_20220325526_A1 in view of Boss USPA_20200224419_A1, as applied to Claim 1, and further in view of McGuire USPA_20220010166_A1.
9. Regarding Claims 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 23, Geyer in view of Boss suggests applying reflective granules that are placed on the surface of its roofing material, followed by a fiber reinforcement layer (Boss: paragraphs 0124, 0137). Boss explicitly discloses how when using said reflective granules, the solar reflectance (corresponds to claimed reflectivity) is greater than 13% (Table 5); which presumably would be expected to meet the claimed ASTM C1549 standard. Geyer also discloses said bitumen compound layer’s composition can be by weight percent:
- Primary hydrocarbon compound: 25-60 wt%
- Filler: 25 wt%
- Styrene Butadiene Styrene rubber (corresponds to claimed ground tire rubber): 2-12 wt%
- Fire retardant: 1-11 wt%
- Polymer Modifier: 8-10 wt%
(paragraphs 0014, 0127; Examples).
10. All other limitations of instant Claim 23 have been rejected under the rejection of instant Claim 1 above, except for the limitation of said ground tire rubber having a size of not greater than 100 mesh (149 microns). Geyer in view of Boss is silent with regards to the size of its SBS rubber component.
11. McGuire discloses a roof sloping system (Title) that comprises using rubber, like SBR with tire rubber that can be ground and cut into a size of at least 0.1 mm (100 microns).
12. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the SBR rubber (corresponds to claimed tire rubber), of Geyer in view of Boss, by using the ground tire rubber having a size of 100 microns, of McGuire. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated in using sizes used for the same material within the same field of endeavor, namely, roofing components.
13. Regarding Claim 25, Geyer in view of Boss and further in view of McGuire suggests using a release liner on the bottom surface of its membrane that can be made of paper (Geyer: paragraph 0050).
14. Regarding Claims 29 and 31, Geyer in view of Boss and further in view of McGuire suggests using a paper (corresponds to claimed recycled material) as a cover (Geyer: paragraphs 0050, 0061, 0088).
15. Regarding Claim 33, Geyer in view of Boss and further in view of McGuire suggests using its granules in a concentration of 10 to 70 wt% (Boss: paragraph 0006).
Claim(s) 9, 10, 12, 13, 14, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geyer USPA_20220325526_A1 in view of Boss USPA_20200224419_A1, as applied to Claim 1, and further in view of Humphreys USPA_20150368904_A1.
16. Regarding Claims 9, 10, Geyer in view of Boss does not suggest its fiber reinforcement layer is made of a recycled polymer material.
17. Humphreys discloses a roofing shingle (title) in which a reinforcing fabric layer can be used that is formed from recycled plastics as well as non-recycled polymer fibers (paragraph 0040).
18. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the fiber reinforcement layer, of Geyer in view of Boss, by trying the use of the recycled polymer material, of Humphreys. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated in doing so for environmental reasons by use of recycled materials, so as to improve waste efficiency.
19. Regarding Claim 12, Geyer in view of Boss and further in view of Humphreys suggests using recycled polyethylene (Boss: paragraph 0098), recycled SBS copolymers (Boss: paragraphs 0109), and recycled PVB (Boss: paragraphs 0158-0160, 0162, 0163).
20. Regarding Claims 13 and 14, Geyer in view of Boss and further in view of Humphreys suggests using recycled polymer materials as fillers (Boss: paragraph 0104).
21. Regarding Claim 16, Geyer in view of Boss and further in view of Humphreys suggests using a release liner on the bottom surface of its membrane that can be made of paper (Geyer: paragraph 0050).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geyer USPA_20220325526_A1 in view of Boss USPA_20200224419_A1, as applied to Claim 1, and further in view of Terrenzio USPN_5347785_A.
22. Regarding Claim 17, Geyer in view of Boss does not suggest if its granules at least partially absorb/bind either of NOx or carbon dioxide.
23. Terrenzio discloses a shingle (corresponds to roofing membrane) (Title) that can include mineral granules (column 1, lines 49-64), such as olivine and serpentine (column 6, lines 26-44); which are inherently absorb/bind carbon dioxide, as stated in the instant specification.
24. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the mineral granules, of Geyer in view of Boss, by trying the specific use of olivine and serpentine, as disclosed by Terrenzio. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated in trying other mineral granules that are also used in the same field of endeavor out of a desire of optimization.
Claim(s) 18, 20, and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geyer USPA_20220325526_A1 in view of Boss USPA_20200224419_A1 and Humphreys USPA_20150368904_A1, as applied to Claim 16, and further in view of Terrenzio USPN_5347785_A.
25. Regarding Claim 18, Geyer in view of Boss and further in view of Humphreys does not suggest if its granules at least partially absorb/bind either of NOx or carbon dioxide.
26. Terrenzio discloses a shingle (corresponds to roofing membrane) (Title) that can include mineral granules (column 1, lines 49-64), such as olivine and serpentine (column 6, lines 26-44); which are inherently absorb/bind carbon dioxide, as stated in the instant specification.
27. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the mineral granules, of Geyer in view of Boss and further in view of Humphreys, by trying the specific use of olivine and serpentine, as disclosed by Terrenzio. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated in trying other mineral granules that are also used in the same field of endeavor out of a desire of optimization.
28. Regarding Claims 20 and 22, Geyer in view of Boss suggests using a paper (corresponds to claimed recycled material) as a cover (Geyer: paragraphs 0050, 0061, 0088).
Claim(s) 24 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geyer USPA_20220325526_A1 in view of Boss USPA_20200224419_A1 and McGuire USPA_20220010166_A1, as applied to Claim 23, and further in view of Humphreys USPA_20150368904_A1.
29. Regarding Claim 24, Geyer in view of Boss and McGuire does not suggest its fiber reinforcement layer is made of a recycled polymer material.
30. Humphreys discloses a roofing shingle (title) in which a reinforcing fabric layer can be used that is formed from recycled plastics as well as non-recycled polymer fibers (paragraph 0040).
31. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the fiber reinforcement layer, of Geyer in view of Boss and McGuire, by trying the use of the recycled polymer material, of Humphreys. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated in doing so for environmental reasons by use of recycled materials, so as to improve waste efficiency.
32. Regarding Claim 26, Geyer in view of Boss and McGuire and further in view of Humphreys suggests using a release liner on the bottom surface of its membrane that can be made of paper (Geyer: paragraph 0050).
Claim(s) 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geyer USPA_20220325526_A1 in view of Boss USPA_20200224419_A1 and McGuire USPA_20220010166_A1, as applied to Claim 23, and further in view of Terrenzio USPN_5347785_A.
33. Regarding Claim 27, Geyer in view of Boss and McGuire does not suggest if its granules at least partially absorb/bind either of NOx or carbon dioxide.
34. Terrenzio discloses a shingle (corresponds to roofing membrane) (Title) that can include mineral granules (column 1, lines 49-64), such as olivine and serpentine (column 6, lines 26-44); which are inherently absorb/bind carbon dioxide, as stated in the instant specification.
35. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the mineral granules, of Geyer in view of Boss and McGuire, by trying the specific use of olivine and serpentine, as disclosed by Terrenzio. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated in trying other mineral granules that are also used in the same field of endeavor out of a desire of optimization.
Claim(s) 28, 30, 32, and 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geyer USPA_20220325526_A1 in view of Boss USPA_20200224419_A1, McGuire USPA_20220010166_A1, and Humphreys USPA_20150368904_A1, as applied to Claim 26, and further in view of Terrenzio USPN_5347785_A.
36. Regarding Claim 28, Geyer in view of Boss and McGuire and further in view of Humphreys does not suggest if its granules at least partially absorb/bind either of NOx or carbon dioxide.
37. Terrenzio discloses a shingle (corresponds to roofing membrane) (Title) that can include mineral granules (column 1, lines 49-64), such as olivine and serpentine (column 6, lines 26-44); which are inherently absorb/bind carbon dioxide, as stated in the instant specification.
38. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the mineral granules, of Geyer in view of Boss and McGuire and further in view of Humphreys, by trying the specific use of olivine and serpentine, as disclosed by Terrenzio. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated in trying other mineral granules that are also used in the same field of endeavor out of a desire of optimization.
39. Regarding Claims 30 and 32, Geyer in view of Boss and McGuire and further in view of Terrenzio suggests using a paper (corresponds to claimed recycled material) as a cover (Geyer: paragraphs 0050, 0061, 0088).
40. Regarding Claim 34, Geyer in view of Boss and McGuire and further in view of Terrenzio suggests using its granules in a concentration of 10 to 70 wt% (Boss: paragraph 0006).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/12/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants state: “Boss was cited for the purpose of disclosing that non-asphaltic coatings for roofing materials can include a filler formed of a recycled material. Boss pertains to a coating that can be applied to a roofing material. Boss does not teach any type of roofing member, which is the subject of the claims of the present invention. As such, the teachings of Boss cannot be properly combined with teachings regarding the formation of a roofing membrane since Boss has nothing to do with roofing membrane formation. Boss merely teaches non-asphaltic coating that can be applied to a top surface of a roofing membrane.”
The Examiner respectfully submits that Boss explicitly discloses roofing materials made from its recycled polymer material coatings (Abstract).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TAHSEEN KHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781 October 17, 2026