DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in the Republic of Korea on 21 February 2024. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the KR 1020240025185 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Pub. No. 2017/0005083 by Choi et al. (“Choi”).
As to claim 1, Choi discloses a display device (Choi, display device, Figures 3, 4A, and 4B) comprising:
a line (Choi, second line 116, Figure 4A) disposed on an upper surface of a substrate (Choi, A first insulating film 113 and a second insulating film 115 are arranged between the first line 112 and the second line 116. Figures 4A and 4B, ¶ [0064]); The substrate is the combined first insulating film 113 and second insulating film 115.
a driving unit disposed on a side surface of the substrate (Choi, The flexible circuit film 400 is attached to a side of the display panel, and the printed circuit board 500 is connected to the flexible circuit film 400. Figure 4A, ¶ [0054]); and
a connection part disposed in the substrate (Choi, The first line 112 and the second line 116 are electrically connected with each other through a first contact hole CNT1. Figure 4A, ¶ [0067]),
wherein the connection part includes a first connection part penetrating from the upper surface of the substrate to a lower surface of the substrate (Choi, The first line 112 and the second line 116 are electrically connected with each other through a first contact hole CNT1. Figure 4A, ¶ [0067]), and a second connection part protruding from the first connection part to the side surface of the substrate (Choi, the signal pad 110 is comprised of a multi-layer made of the first line 112 and the second line 116, whereby an area where the signal pad 110 is connected with the flexible circuit film 400 is increased. Figure 4A, ¶ [0073-0074]), and
the second connection part is in contact with the driving unit to be electrically connected with the driving unit at the side surface of the substrate (Choi, the signal pad 110 is comprised of a multi-layer made of the first line 112 and the second line 116, whereby an area where the signal pad 110 is connected with the flexible circuit film 400 is increased. Figure 4A, ¶ [0073-0074]).
As to claim 2, Choi discloses the display device wherein the first connection part includes:
a first region located in a same plane as the upper surface of the substrate (Choi, second line 116, Figures 4A and 4B), and
a second region located in a same plane as the lower surface of the substrate (Choi, first line 112, Figures 4A and 4B).
As to claim 3, Choi discloses the display device wherein the connection part includes a third connection part disposed on the upper surface of the substrate (Choi, second line 116, Figure 4A),
the third connection part is in contact with the first region of the first connection part (Choi, the signal pad 110 is comprised of a multi-layer made of the first line 112 and the second line 116, whereby an area where the signal pad 110 is connected with the flexible circuit film 400 is increased. Figure 4A, ¶ [0073-0074]), and
the line is in contact with the third connection part (Choi, The first line 112 and the second line 116 are electrically connected with each other through a first contact hole CNT1. Figure 4A, ¶ [0067]).
As to claim 4, Choi discloses the display device wherein an area of a lower surface of the third connection part (Choi, second line 116, Figure 4A) is larger than an area of the first region of the first connection part. As shown in figure 4A of Choi, the second line 116 has an area larger than the area of the first contact hole CNT1.
As to claim 5, Choi discloses the display device wherein the driving unit includes a first driving unit (Choi, first line 112, Figure 7A) disposed on the lower surface of the substrate (Choi, Referring to FIGS. 8 and 9 together with FIGS. 7A and 7B, each of the plurality of signal pads 110 is formed in a multi-layer structure. In more detail, the signal pad 110 includes a first line 112, a second line 114, and a third line 116. Figures 7A-9, ¶ [0153]) and a second driving unit disposed on the side surface of the substrate (Choi, The flexible circuit film 400 is attached to a side of the display panel, and the printed circuit board 500 is connected to the flexible circuit film 400. Figure 7A, ¶ [0145]), The signal pads are part of a driving unit.
the first connection part is in contact with the first driving unit (Choi, the first line 112, the second line 114 and the third line 116 are electrically connected with one another through the first contact hole CN1 and the second contact hole CNT2. Figure 7A, ¶ [0158]), and
the second connection part is in contact with the second driving unit (Choi, the first line 112, the second line 114 and the third line 116 are electrically connected with one another through the first contact hole CN1 and the second contact hole CNT2. Figure 7A, ¶ [0158]).
As to claim 6, Choi discloses the display device wherein the line is electrically connected with both the first and second driving units (Choi, the first line 112, the second line 114 and the third line 116 are electrically connected with one another through the first contact hole CN1 and the second contact hole CNT2. Figure 7A, ¶ [0158]).
As to claim 7, Choi discloses the display device wherein the line includes an upper line disposed on the upper surface of the substrate (Choi, second line 116, Figure 4A) and a lower line disposed on the lower surface of the substrate (Choi, first line 112, Figure 4A),
the upper line is in contact with the third connection part (Choi, the signal pad 110 is comprised of a multi-layer made of the first line 112 and the second line 116, whereby an area where the signal pad 110 is connected with the flexible circuit film 400 is increased. Figure 4A, ¶ [0073]), and
the lower line is in contact with the second region of the first connection part (Choi, The first line 112 and the second line 116 are electrically connected with each other through a first contact hole CNT1. Figure 4A, ¶ [0067]) (Choi, the signal pad 110 is comprised of a multi-layer made of the first line 112 and the second line 116, whereby an area where the signal pad 110 is connected with the flexible circuit film 400 is increased. Figure 4A, ¶ [0073]).
As to claim 8, Choi discloses the display device wherein the driving unit is electrically connected with both the upper line and the lower line (Choi, the signal pad 110 is comprised of a multi-layer made of the first line 112 and the second line 116, whereby an area where the signal pad 110 is connected with the flexible circuit film 400 is increased. Figure 4A, ¶ [0073]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claim 9, Choi (U.S. Pub. No. 2017/0005083) does not expressly teach the display device further comprising:
an upper sub-pixel group composed of sub-pixels and disposed on the upper line; and
a lower sub-pixel group composed of sub-pixels and disposed on the lower line,
wherein each sub-pixel of the upper sub-pixel group and one sub-pixel of the lower sub-pixel group overlap each other.
Additional prior art of Liu (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0098501) teaches a display device comprising:
an upper sub-pixel group composed of sub-pixels and disposed on the upper line (Liu, the display substrate includes a first substrate 1, a first sub-pixel layer 3 and a second sub-pixel layer 4 located on the first substrate 1, wherein the first sub-pixel layer 3 includes a plurality of first sub-pixels 31, the second sub-pixel layer 4 includes a plurality of second sub-pixels 41, Figure 1, ¶ [0031]); and
a lower sub-pixel group composed of sub-pixels and disposed on the lower line (Liu, the display substrate includes a first substrate 1, a first sub-pixel layer 3 and a second sub-pixel layer 4 located on the first substrate 1, wherein the first sub-pixel layer 3 includes a plurality of first sub-pixels 31, the second sub-pixel layer 4 includes a plurality of second sub-pixels 41, Figure 1, ¶ [0031]),
However, Choi and Liu does not expressly teach
wherein each sub-pixel of the upper sub-pixel group and one sub-pixel of the lower sub-pixel group overlap each other.
In addition, no other prior art was found which teaches, alone or in combination, the cited limitations.
As to dependent claim 10, this claim is objected to for the same reasons as claim 9 as claim 10 depends upon objected dependent claim 9.
Claims 11-16 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
As to claim 11, Choi (U.S. Pub. No. 2017/0005083) discloses a display device (Choi, display device, Figures 3, 7A, and 7B) comprising:
a plurality of lines (Choi, second line 114 and third line 116, Figure 7A) disposed on an upper surface of a substrate; As shown in figure 9 of Choi, the substrate is the combined first insulating film 113 and second insulating film 115.
a first driving unit (Choi, first line 112, Figure 7A) disposed on a lower surface of the substrate (Choi, Referring to FIGS. 8 and 9 together with FIGS. 7A and 7B, each of the plurality of signal pads 110 is formed in a multi-layer structure. In more detail, the signal pad 110 includes a first line 112, a second line 114, and a third line 116. Figures 7A-9, ¶ [0153]); The signal pads are part of a driving unit.
a second driving unit disposed on a side surface of the substrate (Choi, The flexible circuit film 400 is attached to a side of the display panel, and the printed circuit board 500 is connected to the flexible circuit film 400. Figure 7A, ¶ [0145]); and
Choi does not expressly teach
a connection part disposed in the substrate, wherein each of the plurality of lines is electrically connected with one of the first and second driving units and is not electrically connected with the other of the first and second driving units by the connection part.
As shown in figure 7A of Choi, each of the first line 112, second line 114, and third line 116, are connected by the first and second contact holes, CNT1 and CNT2. Thus, Choi cannot reasonably teach that the plurality of line are not electrically connected to other driving units.
In addition, no other prior art was found which teaches, alone or in combination, the cited limitations.
As to dependent claims 12-16, these claims are allowable as they depend upon allowable independent claim 11.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent No. 11,522,032 by Jeong teach a display device which includes a driving circuit portion which is placed on the bottom side of the substrate and connected to signal lines on the side surface.
/BRENT D CASTIAUX/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623