DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on 19 August 2026 has been entered in which claims 1, 2, 5, and 7-10 are amened and claims 17-20 are new. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and an office action on the merits follows.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Inventorship
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pub. No. 2017/0005083 by Choi et al. (“Choi”) in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2015/0303241 by Zhang et al. (“Zhang”)
As to claim 7, Choi discloses a display device (Choi, display device, Figures 3, 4A, and 4B) comprising:
a substrate (Choi, insulating film between first line 112 and third line 116, Figures 4A and 4B) including an upper surface, a lower surface opposing the upper surface, and a side surface connecting the upper surface and the lower surface; As shown in figures 4A and 4B of Choi, the insulating film between first line 112 and third line 116 has a top surface (which contacts the third line 116), side surface (which contacts the connection electrode 300), and lower surface (which contacts the first line 112). The substrate is the combined first insulating film 113 and second insulating film 115.
a line (Choi, second line 116, Figure 4A) disposed on the upper surface of the substrate (Choi, A first insulating film 113 and a second insulating film 115 are arranged between the first line 112 and the second line 116. Figures 4A and 4B, ¶ [0064]) and a lower line (Choi, first line 112, Figure 4A) disposed on the lower surface of the substrate;
a second driving unit disposed on the side surface of the substrate (Choi, The flexible circuit film 400 is attached to a side of the display panel, and the printed circuit board 500 is connected to the flexible circuit film 400. Figure 4A, ¶ [0054]); and
a connection part disposed in the substrate (Choi, The first line 112 and the second line 116 are electrically connected with each other through a first contact hole CNT1. Figure 4A, ¶ [0067]);
wherein the connection part includes a first connection part penetrating from the upper surface of the substrate to the lower surface of the substrate (Choi, The first line 112 and the second line 116 are electrically connected with each other through a first contact hole CNT1. Figure 4A, ¶ [0067]), and a second connection part protruding from the first connection part to the side surface of the substrate (Choi, the signal pad 110 is comprised of a multi-layer made of the first line 112 and the second line 116, whereby an area where the signal pad 110 is connected with the flexible circuit film 400 is increased. Figure 4A, ¶ [0073-0074]), and
wherein the second connection part is in contact with the second driving unit to be electrically connected with the second driving unit at the side surface of the substrate (Choi, the signal pad 110 is comprised of a multi-layer made of the first line 112 and the second line 116, whereby an area where the signal pad 110 is connected with the flexible circuit film 400 is increased. Figure 4A, ¶ [0073-0074]).
Choi does not expressly disclose
an upper sub-pixel group composed of sub-pixels and disposed on the upper line; and
a lower sub-pixel group composed of sub-pixels and disposed on the lower line,
wherein each sub-pixel of the upper sub-pixel group and one sub-pixel of the lower sub-pixel group overlap each other,
Zhang teaches a display panel including
an upper sub-pixel group composed of sub-pixels and disposed on the upper line (Zhang, first sub-pixels 111, Figure 1); and
a lower sub-pixel group composed of sub-pixels and disposed on the lower line (Zhang, second sub-pixels 112, Figure 1),
wherein each sub-pixel of the upper sub-pixel group and one sub-pixel of the lower sub-pixel group overlap each other, As shown in figure 1 of Zhang, the transparent substrate 10 has the first sub-pixel 111 above and the second sub-pixels 112 below so as the sub-pixels overlap each other.
At the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Choi’s display device to include Zhang’s display panel because such a modification is taught, suggested, or motivated by the art. More specifically, the motivation to modify Choi to include Zhang is expressly provided by Zhang, stating that the additional pixels in a limited space provide a high resolution and improved display color gamut (Zhang, ¶ [0004]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Choi’s display device to include Zhang’s display panel with the motivation of increasing the resolution and color gamut. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit of improving the viewing properties of the display device.
Thus, Choi, as modified by Zhang, teaches the upper and lower sub-pixels overlapping.
As to claim 8, Choi, as modified by Zhang, teaches the display device wherein the driving unit is electrically connected with both the upper line and the lower line (Choi, the signal pad 110 is comprised of a multi-layer made of the first line 112 and the second line 116, whereby an area where the signal pad 110 is connected with the flexible circuit film 400 is increased. Figure 4A, ¶ [0073]).
As to claim 9, Choi, as modified by Zhang, teaches the display device wherein the first connection part includes:
a first region located in a same plane as the upper surface of the substrate (Choi, region with the second line 116, Figure 4A); and
a second region located in a same plane as the lower surface of the substrate (Choi, region with the first line 112, Figure 4A),
wherein the connection part includes a third connection part disposed on the upper surface of the substrate (Choi, second line 116, Figure 4A) (Choi, The first line 112 and the second line 116 are electrically connected with each other through a first contact hole CNT1. Figure 4A, ¶ [0067]),
wherein the third connection part is in contact with the first region of the first connection part (Choi, second line 116, Figure 4A), and
wherein the upper line is in contact with the third connection part (Choi, second line 116, Figure 4A), and the lower line (Choi, first line 112, Figure 4A) is in contact with the second region of the first connection part (Choi, The first line 112 and the second line 116 are electrically connected with each other through a first contact hole CNT1. Figure 4A, ¶ [0067]).
As to claim 10, Choi, as modified by Zhang, teaches the display device wherein when a first sub- pixel of the upper sub-pixel group and a second sub-pixel of the lower sub-pixel group overlap each other (Zhang, he first sub-pixels 111 provided on the front surface of the transparent substrate 10 are in a one-to-one correspondence relationship with the second sub-pixels 112 provided on the back surface of the transparent substrate 10, that is, at a position corresponding to each of the first sub-pixels 111, one corresponding second sub-pixel 112 is provided on the back surface of the transparent substrate 10. Figure 1, ¶ [0023]), and
the first and second sub-pixels emit light with a same color (Zhang, three of four sub-pixels (two first sub-pixels 111 and two second sub-pixels 112) are designed to be red/green/blue sub-pixels respectively, and the remaining one can be designed as a sub-pixel that can emit any other color of light, such as, a orange light and a yellow light. Figure 1, ¶ [0022]). In addition, the motivation used is the same as in the rejection of claim 7.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-6 and 11-20 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
As to independent claim 1, Choi (U.S. Pub. No. 2017/0005083) discloses a display device (Choi, display device, Figures 3, 4A, and 4B) comprising:
a substrate (Choi, insulating film between first line 112 and third line 116, Figures 4A and 4b) including an upper surface, a lower surface opposing the upper surface, and a side surface connecting the upper surface and the lower surface; As shown in figures 4A and 4B of Choi, the insulating film between first line 112 and third line 116 has a top surface (which contacts the third line 116), side surface (which contacts the connection electrode 300), and lower surface (which contacts the first line 112). The substrate is the combined first insulating film 113 and second insulating film 115.
a line (Choi, second line 116, Figure 4A) disposed on the upper surface of the substrate (Choi, A first insulating film 113 and a second insulating film 115 are arranged between the first line 112 and the second line 116. Figures 4A and 4B, ¶ [0064]); The substrate is the combined first insulating film 113 and second insulating film 115.
a connection part disposed in the substrate (Choi, The first line 112 and the second line 116 are electrically connected with each other through a first contact hole CNT1. Figure 4A, ¶ [0067]),
wherein the connection part includes a first connection part penetrating from the upper surface of the substrate to the lower surface of the substrate (Choi, The first line 112 and the second line 116 are electrically connected with each other through a first contact hole CNT1. Figure 4A, ¶ [0067]), and a second connection part protruding from the first connection part to the side surface of the substrate (Choi, the signal pad 110 is comprised of a multi-layer made of the first line 112 and the second line 116, whereby an area where the signal pad 110 is connected with the flexible circuit film 400 is increased. Figure 4A, ¶ [0073-0074]), and
wherein the second connection part is in contact with the second driving unit to be electrically connected with the second driving unit at the side surface of the substrate (Choi, the signal pad 110 is comprised of a multi-layer made of the first line 112 and the second line 116, whereby an area where the signal pad 110 is connected with the flexible circuit film 400 is increased. Figure 4A, ¶ [0073-0074]).
Choi continues to teach the flexible circuit film on the side of the substrate (Choi, The flexible circuit film 400 is attached to a side of the display panel, and the printed circuit board 500 is connected to the flexible circuit film 400. Figure 4A, ¶ [0054]).
Choi does not expressly teach
a driving unit including a first driving unit disposed on the lower surface oof the substrate and a second driving unit disposed on the side surface of the substrate;
In addition, no other prior art was found which teaches, alone or in combination, the cited limitations.
As to dependent claims 2-6 and 17-20, these claims are allowable as they depend upon allowable independent claim 1.
As to claim 11, Choi (U.S. Pub. No. 2017/0005083) discloses a display device (Choi, display device, Figures 3, 7A, and 7B) comprising:
a plurality of lines (Choi, second line 114 and third line 116, Figure 7A) disposed on an upper surface of a substrate; As shown in figure 9 of Choi, the substrate is the combined first insulating film 113 and second insulating film 115.
a first driving unit (Choi, first line 112, Figure 7A) disposed on a lower surface of the substrate (Choi, Referring to FIGS. 8 and 9 together with FIGS. 7A and 7B, each of the plurality of signal pads 110 is formed in a multi-layer structure. In more detail, the signal pad 110 includes a first line 112, a second line 114, and a third line 116. Figures 7A-9, ¶ [0153]); The signal pads are part of a driving unit.
a second driving unit disposed on a side surface of the substrate (Choi, The flexible circuit film 400 is attached to a side of the display panel, and the printed circuit board 500 is connected to the flexible circuit film 400. Figure 7A, ¶ [0145]); and
Choi does not expressly teach
a connection part disposed in the substrate, wherein each of the plurality of lines is electrically connected with one of the first and second driving units and is not electrically connected with the other of the first and second driving units by the connection part.
As shown in figure 7A of Choi, each of the first line 112, second line 114, and third line 116, are connected by the first and second contact holes, CNT1 and CNT2. Thus, Choi cannot reasonably teach that the plurality of line are not electrically connected to other driving units.
In addition, no other prior art was found which teaches, alone or in combination, the cited limitations.
As to dependent claims 12-16, these claims are allowable as they depend upon allowable independent claim 11.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 7-10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent No. 11,522,032 by Jeong teach a display device which includes a driving circuit portion which is placed on the bottom side of the substrate and connected to signal lines on the side surface.
/BRENT D CASTIAUX/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623