Status of Claims
This is in response to applicant’s filing date of August 2, 2024. Claims 1-15 are currently pending.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority to Application EP23306446.8, filed on August 31, 2023. The certified copy of the application as required by 37 CFR 1.55 has been received.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/2/2024 and 12/19/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections -- 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-8, and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huet et al (US-20230403813-A1)(“Huet”) and Archer et al (US-10609839-B1)(“Archer”).
As per claim 1, Huet discloses a modular datacenter (Figure 1, rack 14) comprising:
a containment unit (Huet at Figures 1,18, 19, see items 13 and 14, and Para. [0081] disclosing containment of IT hardware useful in a data center:” present apparatus and method is equally compatible for use with immersion cooling IT hardware baths in which a coolant liquid is housed within an immersion cooling bath chamber 88 forming part of an immersion cooling bath.”) having a first side wall extending along a longitudinal axis of the containment unit and a second side wall, opposite the first side wall, extending along the longitudinal axis of the containment unit (Huet at Para. [0081] discloses that containment unit contains conventional racks for maintaining the IT hardware:” FIGS. 18 and 19 illustrate the localised interfacing of the secondary articulator 11 with the racks 13, 14. In particular, a node 12 at rack 13 may be inserted and withdrawn whilst node 12 is held in a generally horizontal orientation. IT rack 13 may be a conventional IT hardware rack having a fan/air cool system.”);and
a rack system mounted in the containment unit and extending along the first side wall, the rack system being configured to house electronic devices (Huet in at least Para. [0081] discloses that the rack system can house the electronic device (node 12) when used as a server, datacenter, and the like:” FIGS. 18 and 19 illustrate the localised interfacing of the secondary articulator 11 with the racks 13, 14. In particular, a node 12 at rack 13 may be inserted and withdrawn whilst node 12 is held in a generally horizontal orientation. IT rack 13 may be a conventional IT hardware rack having a fan/air cool system.”); and
an extraction mobile apparatus for performing maintenance on the electronic devices, the extraction mobile apparatus having (Huet at Figure 2, automated vehicle (AGV) or articulation 10,and Para. [0065] disclosing that the AHV can move to different position to place and remove the electronic device (node 12) from the rack 13:” primary support 18 implemented as an AGV provides a convenient vehicle for the automated positional transport of the nodes 12 between different stored locations at a plurality of different racks 13, 14 (or other storage locations, cabinets or work stations) with the storage orientations being for example horizontal (rack 13) or vertical (rack 14). That is, primary articulator 10 is adapted for translational (e.g. substantially linear) and rotational manipulation of nodes 12 between insertion and withdrawal operations at the respective racks 13, 14.”):
displacing means (Huet at Figure 2, wheels 92 at AGV 10, and Para. [0060]:” Support 18 is implemented as an automated guided vehicle (AGV) having ground engaging wheels 92 mounted to a chassis 93.”),
a support arrangement for receiving at least one of the immersion casings (Huet at Figure 2, support 28, and Para. [0061] discloses the use of a support arrangement such as bucket 11 for receiving and inserting the node into a rack:” may comprise one or a plurality of sensors to provide monitoring and responsive feedback on the relative position of the various component of the primary and secondary articulators 10, 11 during positional interchange of the IT hardware nodes 12 at the racks 13, 14. The rail 20, post 23 and/or beam 25 provide a unitary manipulator arm indicated generally by reference 19 adapted for the position interchange of the IT hardware nodes 12.”), and
a body extending from the displacing means to the support arrangement (Huet at Figure 2, chassis 93, and Para. [0060] disclosing some parts of the body as the extraction apparatus:” Support 18 comprises components and configuration typically associated with AGVs including one or more electric motors, an electronic control unit, a battery and wired or wireless comms for remote control via the control unit 15 optionally via additional sub control units (not shown). A base rail 20 is mounted to an upward facing side of support 18 and extends generally horizontally with the primary articulator 10 supported on level ground.”);
the extraction mobile apparatus being configured to navigate along the rack system (Huet at Figure 1, AGV 11 transporting node 12 to different destinations, and Par. [0064] disclosing that the AGV navigates node 12 to various destinations:” the present apparatus and system is adapted for the secure gripping of the nodes 12 during insertion and withdrawal at the racks 13, 14 to avoid automation failure and/or damage of the nodes during transport.”).
Huet does not disclose that node 12, claimed immersion casing, has or uses liquid cooling to maintain the electronic device at a particular temperature.
Huet does not disclose, but Archer discloses electronic components that are disposed in immersion casings filled with immersion cooling liquid (Archer at Figure 1, device housing 602 and Column 3, Lines 20-33, disclosing housing 602 with liquid cooled compartment 604 for maintaining an electronic equipment within a certain temperature range:” FIGS. 1-3 illustrate an example of a liquid submersion cooled electronic device 600. The device 600 includes a device housing 602 that is formed by a bottom liquid tight tray 604 defining an interior space 605 and a cover 606 that removably fits on the tray 604 to prevent contaminants from falling into cooling liquid that is contained with the interior space 605 of the tray 604.”).
Archer is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of liquid submersion cooled electronic systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Huet further in view of Archer to allow for maintaining an electronic device, whether as part of rack of other devices or being transported by a mobile device between racks, to within a certain temperature. Motivation to do so would allow for reducing negative effects of temperature variations and providing a cooling system with a lower operating cost since as noted by Archer liquid submersion cooling has superior cooling efficiency compared to air cooling, thereby reducing power requirements. (Archer at Column 2, Lines 22-25.).
As per claim 2, Huet and Archer disclose a modular datacenter of claim 1, wherein the extraction mobile apparatus is further configured to align the support arrangement longitudinally and vertically in front of the at least one immersion casings when the at least one immersion casings is located in the rack system (Huet at Figure 2, agv system is capable of rotation 22-227 and vertical movement, and Para. [0060] discloses various forms of movement to insert and extract a node from racks 13 7 14:” articulator further comprises a beam 25 mounted to and projecting laterally from post 23 via a second pivot joint 26. Accordingly, beam 25 is capable of rotation about its longitudinal axis 24. Pivot joint 26 is mounted at post 23 via a linear track and/or rail similar to rail 20 so as to enable beam 25 to move linearly along the length of post 23 between a raised or elevated position (at an upper end of post 23) and a lowered position proximate to support 18 (at a lower end of post 23).”).
As per claim 3, Huet and Archer disclose a modular datacenter of claim 2, wherein the extraction mobile apparatus is further configured to extract the at least one immersion casings from the rack system (Huet at Para. [0080] discloses extracting node 12 from a rack having a plurality of nodes:” control unit 15 proceeds with the withdrawal action in which body 30 is withdrawn in the Z axis along support 28 so as to extract node 12 from the rack 13, 14 via linear displacement in the Z axis.”).
As per claim 4, Huet and Archer disclose a modular datacenter of claim 3, wherein is further configured to displace the at least one immersion casing to a maintenance area (Huet at Para. [0065] discloses moving/displacing node 12 between various locations:” primary support 18 implemented as an AGV provides a convenient vehicle for the automated positional transport of the nodes 12 between different stored locations at a plurality of different racks 13, 14 (or other storage locations, cabinets or work stations) with the storage orientations being for example horizontal (rack 13) or vertical (rack 14).”).
As per claim 5, Huet and Archer disclose a modular datacenter of claim 1, further comprising a second rack system mounted in the containment unit and extending along a second side wall thereof, the second wall being opposed to the first wall, the first and second rack systems being spaced from one another and defining an aisle there between, the first and second rack systems being configured to house electronic devices disposed in immersion casings filled with an immersion cooling liquid, wherein the extraction mobile apparatus is configured (Huet at Para. [0007] teaches the use of a plurality of racks:” specific objective to provide an adaptable apparatus and method to universally integrate the positional interchange of IT hardware nodes at one or a plurality of an IT hardware racks.”) to:
navigate along the aisle, and extract at least one of the immersion casings from any one of the first and second rack systems (Huet at Figure 1, AGV 11 transporting node 12 to different destinations, and Par. [0064] disclosing that the AGV navigates node 12 to various destinations:” the present apparatus and system is adapted for the secure gripping of the nodes 12 during insertion and withdrawal at the racks 13, 14 to avoid automation failure and/or damage of the nodes during transport.”).
As per claim 7, Huet and Archer disclose a modular datacenter of claim 1, wherein the electronic devices are servers (Huet at Para. [0024] discloses that the electronic device (node 12) can form part of a server:” ‘IT hardware node’ encompasses alternative terms such as: IT hardware component, IT hardware server, computer server, networking hardware, electronic equipment module, rack-mountable equipment, rack-mount chassis, shelf or any other equipment designed to be placed in an IT hardware rack”.).
As per claim 8, Huet and Archer disclose a modular datacenter of claim 1, wherein the containment unit is a shipping container (Huet at Figure 2, articulator 11, and Para. [0062] discloses that articulator 11 can insert and move node 12 to different positions so under the rubric of broadest reasonable interpretation the articulator 11 is a shipping container since is moved, i.e., shipped, to different locations:” articulator 11 comprises a size and configuration generally smaller than the primary articulator 10 so as to be mountable at the primary articulator 10 via beam 25, post 23 and rail 20. Secondary articulator 11 comprises an articulator body indicated generally by reference 30 that supports a pair of opposed grippers indicated generally by reference 29. Alternatively, each gripper may be termed a gripper finger, and are adapted for the lateral movement towards and away from one another so as to releasably engage and positionally support the IT hardware nodes 12 for insertion and withdrawal at least one of the IT hardware racks 13, 14.”).
As per claim 9, Huet discloses a method for operating an extraction mobile apparatus in a modular datacenter (Figures 13-15), the method comprising:
positioning the extraction mobile apparatus in front of a rack column of a rack system within a containment unit of the modular datacenter (Huet at Figure 2, automated vehicle (AGV) or articulation 10,and Para. [0065] disclosing that the AHV can move to different position to place and remove the electronic device (node 12) from the rack 13:” primary support 18 implemented as an AGV provides a convenient vehicle for the automated positional transport of the nodes 12 between different stored locations at a plurality of different racks 13, 14 (or other storage locations, cabinets or work stations) with the storage orientations being for example horizontal (rack 13) or vertical (rack 14). That is, primary articulator 10 is adapted for translational (e.g. substantially linear) and rotational manipulation of nodes 12 between insertion and withdrawal operations at the respective racks 13, 14.”), the rack system being configured to house electronic devices (Huet at Figures 1,18, 19, see items 13 and 14, and Para. [0081] disclosing containment of IT hardware useful in a data center:” present apparatus and method is equally compatible for use with immersion cooling IT hardware baths in which a coolant liquid is housed within an immersion cooling bath chamber 88 forming part of an immersion cooling bath.”) ;
positioning a support arrangement of the extraction mobile apparatus in front of a given rack shelf of the rack column (Huet at Figure 2, support 28, and Para. [0061] discloses the use of a support arrangement such as bucket 11 for receiving and inserting the node into a rack:” may comprise one or a plurality of sensors to provide monitoring and responsive feedback on the relative position of the various component of the primary and secondary articulators 10, 11 during positional interchange of the IT hardware nodes 12 at the racks 13, 14. The rail 20, post 23 and/or beam 25 provide a unitary manipulator arm indicated generally by reference 19 adapted for the position interchange of the IT hardware nodes 12.”);
actuating a support arrangement for extracting at least one of the immersion casings from the rack system (Huet at Figure 1, AGV 11 transporting node 12 to different destinations, and Par. [0064] disclosing that the AGV navigates node 12 to various destinations:” the present apparatus and system is adapted for the secure gripping of the nodes 12 during insertion and withdrawal at the racks 13, 14 to avoid automation failure and/or damage of the nodes during transport.”); and
actuating displacing means of the extraction mobile apparatus to move the extraction mobile apparatus towards a maintenance area (Huet at Figure 2, wheels 92 at AGV 10, and Para. [0060]:” Support 18 is implemented as an automated guided vehicle (AGV) having ground engaging wheels 92 mounted to a chassis 93.”); and
causing the extraction mobile apparatus to dispose the at least one of the immersion casings in the maintenance area (Huet at Figure 1, AGV 11 transporting node 12 to different destinations, and Par. [0064] disclosing that the AGV navigates node 12 to various destinations:” the present apparatus and system is adapted for the secure gripping of the nodes 12 during insertion and withdrawal at the racks 13, 14 to avoid automation failure and/or damage of the nodes during transport.”).
Huet does not disclose that node 12, claimed immersion casing, has or uses liquid cooling to maintain the electronic device at a particular temperature.
Huet does not disclose, but Archer discloses electronic components that are disposed in immersion casings filled with immersion cooling liquid (Archer at Figure 1, device housing 602 and Column 3, Lines 20-33, disclosing housing 602 with liquid cooled compartment 604 for maintaining an electronic equipment within a certain temperature range:” FIGS. 1-3 illustrate an example of a liquid submersion cooled electronic device 600. The device 600 includes a device housing 602 that is formed by a bottom liquid tight tray 604 defining an interior space 605 and a cover 606 that removably fits on the tray 604 to prevent contaminants from falling into cooling liquid that is contained with the interior space 605 of the tray 604.”).
Archer is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of liquid submersion cooled electronic systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Huet further in view of Archer to allow for maintaining an electronic device, whether as part of rack of other devices or being transported by a mobile device between racks, to within a certain temperature. Motivation to do so would allow for reducing negative effects of temperature variations and providing a cooling system with a lower operating cost since as noted by Archer liquid submersion cooling has superior cooling efficiency compared to air cooling, thereby reducing power requirements. (Archer at Column 2, Lines 22-25.).
As per claim 10, Huet and Archer disclose a method of claim 9, wherein the maintenance area is defined within the containment unit of the modular datacenter (Huet at Para. [0004] discloses a separate maintenance area within a datacenter facility:” Data center automation is the process by which routine workflows and processes of a data center such as scheduling, monitoring, maintenance, or application delivery are managed and executed without or with minimized human administration. Data center automation increases agility and operational efficiency. Some attempts have been made to automate the data center industry. Examples include micro-modular data centers to house immersion cooling bath/tanks. Such systems have robotic manipulators customized to latch onto a server, lift it out of an immersion tank and place it into a second enclosure.”).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huet and Archer as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jochim et al (US-20190261534-A1)(“Jochim”), provided by Applicant in the IDS filed on 8/2/2024.
As per claim 6, Huet and Archer disclose a modular datacenter of claim 1.
Huet and Archer do not disclose, but Jochim discloses electronic switches electrically coupled to the electronic devices, the electronic switches being fixedly attached to a ceiling surface of the containment unit (Jochim at Figure 2B, electronic switches 230 and cabling 232 connecting the rack, and Para. [0052] disclosing switches 230 for connecting the modules to serve data and the like to networked devices:” networking switches 230 may be connected via the cabling 232 to server racks 214 that are vertically below, as well as vertically below and offset.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the switching method taught in Jochim in the IT hardware rack in Huet as modified by Archer with a reasonable expectation of success. because this results in an IT hardware rack being utilized as uniformly as possible over time since network deployments can be sped up due to simpler and shorter cable runs between network switches and IT equipment as inserted into its slot (see Jochim at Para. [0024]).
Claim Rejections -- 35 U.S.C. § 102
Claims 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Huet et al (US-20230403813-A1)(“Huet”).
As per claim 11, Huet discloses an extraction mobile apparatus (fig. 1, 2) comprising:
a chassis (bottom part 10);
an elongated body (At least Figure 2, item 23) extending substantially vertically from the chassis;
a support arrangement ( Figure 2, items 25,26, 11) movably mounted to the elongated body;
displacing means (Figure 2, wheel 92) operably connected to the chassis for displacing the extraction mobile apparatus along a rack system, the rack system comprising rack-mounted assemblies; and
a controller (Figure 1, control unit 15) communicably connected to the displacing means and the support arrangement (See Paras. [0059]-[0060]., the controller (15) being configured to:
receive instructions ( See Flowcharts in Figures 13, 14, 15, 16, 17) to extract a target rack-mounted assembly;
cause the extraction mobile apparatus to navigate along the rack system (Huet at Figure 1, AGV 11 transporting node 12 to different destinations, and Par. [0064] disclosing that the AGV navigates node 12 to various destinations:” the present apparatus and system is adapted for the secure gripping of the nodes 12 during insertion and withdrawal at the racks 13, 14 to avoid automation failure and/or damage of the nodes during transport.”);
cause an adjustment of a height of the support arrangement relatively to the target rack mounted assembly to be extracted (Huet at Figure 2, agv system is capable of rotation 22-227 and vertical movement, and Para. [0060] discloses various forms of movement to insert and extract a node from racks 13 7 14:” articulator further comprises a beam 25 mounted to and projecting laterally from post 23 via a second pivot joint 26. Accordingly, beam 25 is capable of rotation about its longitudinal axis 24. Pivot joint 26 is mounted at post 23 via a linear track and/or rail similar to rail 20 so as to enable beam 25 to move linearly along the length of post 23 between a raised or elevated position (at an upper end of post 23) and a lowered position proximate to support 18 (at a lower end of post 23).”) ; and
cause the support arrangement to extract (See flow methods in Figures. 16, 17) the target rack-mounted assembly (Huet at Figure 1, AGV 11 transporting node 12 to different destinations, and Par. [0064] disclosing that the AGV navigates node 12 to various destinations:” the present apparatus and system is adapted for the secure gripping of the nodes 12 during insertion and withdrawal at the racks 13, 14 to avoid automation failure and/or damage of the nodes during transport.”)."
As per claim 12, Huet discloses an extraction mobile apparatus of claim 11, wherein the displacing means are operably connected to a ground surface of a containment unit, the rack system being disposed along a longitudinal side wall of the containment unit (Huet at Para. [0060] discloses that the mobile apparatus (AGV) is on the ground when extracting or inserting a node into the IT rack:” base rail 20 is mounted to an upward facing side of support 18 and extends generally horizontally with the primary articulator 10 supported on level ground. A post 23 extends upwardly and generally vertically from support 18 and is slidably mounted at rail 20 via a first pivot joint 21.”).
As per claim 13, Huet discloses an extraction mobile apparatus of claim 12, wherein:
the containment unit further comprises a second rack system mounted therein and extending along a second side wall thereof, the second wall being opposed to the first wall, the first and second rack systems being spaced from one another and defining an aisle there between, the first and second rack systems being configured to house the rack-mounted assemblies (Huet at Figure 1 and Para. [0081] discloses that containment unit contains conventional racks for maintaining the IT hardware:” FIGS. 18 and 19 illustrate the localised interfacing of the secondary articulator 11 with the racks 13, 14. In particular, a node 12 at rack 13 may be inserted and withdrawn whilst node 12 is held in a generally horizontal orientation. IT rack 13 may be a conventional IT hardware rack having a fan/air cool system.”), the elongated body is pivotably connected to the displacing means, and the extraction mobile apparatus is configured to:
navigate along the aisle, and extract at least one of the immersion casings from any one of the first and second rack systems by rotating the elongated body (Huet at Figure 1, AGV 11 transporting node 12 to different destinations, and Par. [0064] disclosing that the AGV navigates node 12 to various destinations:” the present apparatus and system is adapted for the secure gripping of the nodes 12 during insertion and withdrawal at the racks 13, 14 to avoid automation failure and/or damage of the nodes during transport.”).
As per claim 14, Huet discloses an extraction mobile apparatus of claim 12, wherein the containment unit is a shipping container(Huet at Figure 2, articulator 11, and Para. [0062] discloses that articulator 11 can insert and move node 12 to different positions so under the rubric of broadest reasonable interpretation the articulator 11 is a shipping container since is moved, i.e., shipped, to different locations:” articulator 11 comprises a size and configuration generally smaller than the primary articulator 10 so as to be mountable at the primary articulator 10 via beam 25, post 23 and rail 20. Secondary articulator 11 comprises an articulator body indicated generally by reference 30 that supports a pair of opposed grippers indicated generally by reference 29. Alternatively, each gripper may be termed a gripper finger, and are adapted for the lateral movement towards and away from one another so as to releasably engage and positionally support the IT hardware nodes 12 for insertion and withdrawal at least one of the IT hardware racks 13, 14.”).
As per claim 15, Huet discloses an extraction mobile apparatus of claim 11, wherein the elongated body is pivotably connected to the chassis (Huet at Figure 2, chassis 93 and pivot joint 26, and Para. [0060] disclosing some parts of the body as the extraction apparatus:” Support 18 comprises components and configuration typically associated with AGVs including one or more electric motors, an electronic control unit, a battery and wired or wireless comms for remote control via the control unit 15 optionally via additional sub control units (not shown). A base rail 20 is mounted to an upward facing side of support 18 and extends generally horizontally with the primary articulator 10 supported on level ground.”).
CONCLUSION
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
CHEHADE; Ali et al. (US-20260040486-A1) IMMERSION CASE FOR DATACENTER SERVER RACK;
VERZIJL; Marco Hendricus Cornelis et al. (US-20240114667-A1) HYBRID DATACENTRE MODULE;
Jochim; Jayson Michael et al. (US-20190104637-A1) MANAGING A DATA CENTER;
Enright; John David et al. (US-20200093026-A1) ROBOT FOR A LIQUID IMMERSION COOLING SYSTEM;
JAU; Maw-Zan et al. (US-20150232273-A1) ROBOTIC VEHICLE, DATACENTER, AND METHOD FOR MAINTAINING DATACENTER;
Enright; John David et al. (US-20200093025-A1) LIQUID IMMERSION COOLING VESSEL AND COMPONENTS THEREOF;
Bash, Cullen E. et al. (US-20040243280-A1) Data center robotic device;
FARRAHI MOGHADDAM; Fereydoun et al. (US-20210100127-A1) METHOD, SYSTEM AND APPARATUS FOR ENABLING LIVE AND/OR HOT MIGRATION OF PHYSICAL RESOURCES;
Enright; John David et al. (US-20210144885-A1) EXTERNAL ROBOTIC SYSTEM FOR LIQUID IMMERSION COOLING PLATFORM;
DEMETRIOU; Dustin W. et al. (US-20190340552-A1) AUTOMATED MANAGING OF A DATA CENTER INSTALLATION;
O'Brien; Kevin Patrick et al. (US-9908239-B1) Mobile robot system;
CHEHADE ALI et al. (EP-4068932-A1) RACK SYSTEM WITH BOTH IMMERSION AND FORCED LIQUID CONVECTION COOLING.
/ELLIS B. RAMIREZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3658