DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 8-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 4/14/2026. Claims 8-15 have also been cancelled by Applicant.
Specification
Title:
The title of the invention is not descriptive since it uses what appears to be a trade name rather than a generic technical descriptor. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: Pest Deterrent and Installation Method Thereof
Abstract:
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it lists purported merits of the invention while generally lacking sufficient detail of the organization, operation, or manufacture of the device. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Specification:
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In paragraph 80, “jab” should be amended to recite --jamb--
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because it appears that reference numerals 330 and 340 are swapped in Fig. 3 for the left-hand device 300. Note that, according to the specification (e.g. paragraphs 77-78), the posterior side 330 is longer than the anterior side 340. However, Fig. 3 appears to show the opposite for the left device.
Fig. 4 appears to similarly use 340 instead of 330 to show the longer side of the devices 300.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, the words “Providing”, “Cutting”, “Bending”, “Ensuring”, and “Providing” should not be capitalized.
Claim 1, line 6 recites “as”, but it appears this should be amended to recite --at--.
Claim 5 includes a comma after “from” in line 3, which should be omitted.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “approximately” in line 6. This renders the claim indefinite because it is not clear how far outside of the claimed range of associated values would still be considered to fall within the claim scope.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "each pest deterrent" in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim since the product formed thus far had not yet been established as being a “pest deterrent”.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the left side" in line 11. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites “a garage door” in line 11. It is unclear if this is intended to be the same garage door as previously recited or a different one. For examination purposes, this will be interpreted as --the garage door--.
Claim 3 recites “approximately” in line 2 (two instances). This renders the claim indefinite because it is not clear how far outside of the claimed range of associated values would still be considered to fall within the claim scope.
Claim 5 recites “with one lateral side ranging from 4.5 to 5 inches, with one lateral side ranging from, 5.5 to 6.5 inches in height”. The second “one lateral side” is not clearly distinguished from the first such that it is not necessarily clear to which it refers. The examiner recommends amending this to recite --with one of the two lateral sides ranging from 4.5 to 5 inches, with the other one of the two lateral sides ranging from, 5.5 to 6.5 inches in height--, for example.
Claim 6 recites “approximately” in line 2. This renders the claim indefinite because it is not clear how far outside of the claimed range of associated values would still be considered to fall within the claim scope.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the edge" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 recites “approximately” in line 2. This renders the claim indefinite because it is not clear how far outside of the claimed range of associated values would still be considered to fall within the claim scope.
Any claims not explicitly discussed above are rejected by virtue of their dependency on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Weeks (U.S. PGPub 2012/0047811).
Claim 1: Weeks discloses a method of generating a pest (e.g. rodent) deterrent (100) for installation between a garage door (30) and a door jamb (10), comprising: Providing two rectangular sheet metals (metals sheets as in paragraph 21, two provided as in paragraph 25); Cutting each rectangular sheet metal diagonally to form a trapezoidal taper on one side, wherein the side with the trapezoidal taper is shorter in height than an opposite, posterior side (paragraph 23; Fig. 2A); Bending (folding at corner 160) the trapezoidal taper side inward along a vertical axis (fold line) [at] approximately 0.60 to 0.75 degrees (the folding from a flat sheet to a roughly 90-degree angle as shown would pass through 0.65-0.75 degrees at some point), creating an anterior side (e.g. right side in Fig. 2A); Ensuring that the anterior side of each pest deterrent is oriented to face toward the garage door when installed, and the posterior side is oriented to face toward the door jamb when installed (implied in paragraphs 23 and 31 in that the angled cut side would implicitly interact with and thus face the garage door, such that the opposite posterior side would face the jamb); Providing one pest deterrent for the left side of a garage door and one for a right side of the garage door (paragraph 25).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weeks in view of Davis (U.S. PGPub 2015/0176326).
Claim 2: Weeks discloses the use of “thin gauged metal” (paragraph 21) but not necessarily having a thickness ranging from 0.02 to 0.04 inches. However, Davis teaches a similar device using 24 gauge (0.0239 inch according to standard sheet metal gauge charts) steel sheet (paragraph 21). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used metal sheet having a thickness ranging from 0.02 to 0.04 inches since it offers superior machining properties, durability, and resistance to damage by pests (Id.).
Claims 3-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weeks.
Claim 3: Weeks further discloses that the rectangular sheet metals have a height of 2-14 inches, although it could be longer or shorter to suit user preference, provided that elongated member is of sufficient length to deter or prevent chewing or clawing of weather seal by a rodent (paragraph 22). It is also understood that the cut anterior side would be shorter than the posterior side, likely within that same range. Because the claimed ranges (approximately 5.5 to 6.5 inches on the posterior side and approximately 4.5 to 5 inches on the anterior side) overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05 I.). Weeks further suggests that the height is a result effective variable in that it influences the ability to deter or prevent chewing or clawing of weather seal by a rodent. penetration. Further, it appears that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in modifying Weeks to have a height within the claimed range, as it involves only adjusting the dimension of a component disclosed to require adjustment. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have made the device the claimed height as a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller , 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Claim 4: Weeks further discloses that the rectangular sheet metals have a width ranging from 1-2.5 inches as implied in paragraph 23, though it is contemplated that the width of each of legs could vary to suit user preference, provided that the width of leg is sufficient to substantially cover weather seal when properly installed (Id.). Because the claimed ranges (1.7 to 1.9 inches) overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05 I.).
Claim 5: Weeks does not necessarily disclose one lateral side ranging from 4.5 to 5 inches, with one lateral side ranging from, 5.5 to 6.5 inches in height. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made the lateral sides the claimed dimensions since it has been held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984). Please note that in the instant application, Applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the dimensions of the lateral sides (the disclosure makes no mention of the lateral sides or their dimensions).
Claim 6: The bending occurs along the vertical axis at approximately 0.5 to 1.25 inches from the edge of the anterior side (paragraph 23). Because the claimed ranges (approximately 1.2 inches) overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05 I.).
Claim 7: As noted above for claim 1, the shorter anterior side of each trapezoidal sheet metal is bent inward at an angle of approximately 0.65 to 0.75 degrees in that it would be at this angle at some point between flat and its final angle.
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koshar (U.S. Patent 11,725,453) in view of Weeks.
Claim 1: Koshar discloses a method of generating a pest deterrent (136 - e.g. Fig. 4B) for installation between a garage door (100) and a door jamb (102), comprising: Providing two (for a mirrored set - column 5, lines 53-58) rectangular sheet metals (column 5, lines 20-22; Figs. 4B-7A); Bending a side (144) inward along a vertical axis, creating an anterior side (column 5, lines 31-33); Ensuring that the anterior side (144) of each pest deterrent is oriented to face toward the garage door when installed (Fig. 4B), and the posterior side (143) is oriented to face toward the door jamb when installed (Id.); Providing one pest deterrent for the left side of a garage door and one for a right side of the garage door (column 5, lines 53-58).
The bend is not necessarily approximately 0.60 to 0.75 degrees. Koshar discloses that portion 144 is “bent at an angle near-parallel to and not beyond the weather stripping's flap edge, covering the flexible seal flap of the weather stripping” and “adjusting this bend angle as needed at installation allows for the fifth bent portion 144 trailing edge never to protrude into the upward and downward action of the door”. Thus, the angle is established as a result-effective variable. Further, it appears that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in modifying Koshar to have a bend angle within the claimed range, as it involves only adjusting the dimension of a component disclosed to require adjustment. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have made the device the claimed angle as a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller , 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Koshar does not disclose cutting each rectangular sheet metal diagonally to form a trapezoidal taper on one side, wherein the side with the trapezoidal taper is shorter in height than [the] opposite, posterior side. However, Weeks teaches a similar device including cutting each rectangular sheet metal diagonally to form a trapezoidal taper on one side, wherein the side with the trapezoidal taper is shorter in height than an opposite, posterior side (paragraph 23; Fig. 2A). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have made such a cut to have allowed for smooth passage of the garage door (Id.).
Claim 2: Koshar discloses that the sheet metals are made from approximately 30 or 28-gauge [approximately 0.0149” or less] low carbon steel. In this case, a prima facie case of obviousness exists because the claimed ranges or amounts (0.02 to 0.04 inches) do not overlap with the prior art but are close (MPEP 2144.05 I.).
Claim 3: Koshar discloses that the rectangular sheet metals have a height of approximately 3 inches (column 5, lines 20-24), with the understanding that one side would be shorter than the other when modified to have the angled cut as taught above. In this case, a prima facie case of obviousness exists because the claimed ranges or amounts (approximately 5.5 to 6.5 inches on the posterior side and approximately 4.5 to 5 inches on the anterior side) do not overlap with the prior art but are close (MPEP 2144.05 I.). Alternatively, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made the height the claimed dimensions since it has been held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984). Please note that in the instant application, Applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the height (the disclosure makes no mention of the height dimensions).
Claim 4: Koshar does not disclose the rectangular sheet metals have a width ranging from 1.7 to 1.9 inches. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made the width the claimed dimensions since it has been held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984). Please note that in the instant application, Applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the width (the disclosure makes no mention of the width dimensions).
Claim 5: Koshar does not necessarily disclose one lateral side ranging from 4.5 to 5 inches, with one lateral side ranging from, 5.5 to 6.5 inches in height. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made the lateral sides the claimed dimensions since it has been held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984). Please note that in the instant application, Applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the dimensions of the lateral sides (the disclosure makes no mention of the lateral sides or their dimensions).
Claim 6: Koshar discloses that the bending occurs along the vertical axis at approximately 1 inch from the edge of the anterior side (the portion 144 is “approximately 1” long” (column 5, line 31). In this case, a prima facie case of obviousness exists because the claimed ranges or amounts (approximately 1.2 inches) do not overlap with the prior art but are close (MPEP 2144.05 I.). One may also argue that “approximately 1 inch” and ““approximately 1.2 inches” do overlap depending on that range afforded by “approximately”.
Claim 7: Bending the shorter anterior side of each trapezoidal sheet metal inward at an angle of approximately 0.65 to 0.75 degrees would have been obvious for similar reasons as discussed for claim 1 above.
Claim 2 is alternatively rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koshar and Weeks as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Davis.
Claim 2: Koshar discloses that the sheet metals are made from approximately 30 or 28-gauge [approximately 0.0149” or less] low carbon steel as previously cited, but not necessarily having a thickness ranging from 0.02 to 0.04 inches. However, Davis teaches a similar device using 24 gauge (0.0239 inch according to standard sheet metal gauge charts) steel sheet (paragraph 21). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used metal sheet having a thickness ranging from 0.02 to 0.04 inches since it offers superior machining properties, durability, and resistance to damage by pests (Id.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The additional cited references generally pertain to similar pest deterrent devices.
Contact Information
/Matthew P Travers/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3726