DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Republic of Korea on February 23, 2024. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the 10-2024-0026236 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Note: An attempt of retrieving the priority document electronically has failed on 7/23/2025.
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claims 1-7 be found allowable, claims 8-14 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “improve coupling” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “improve coupling” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For this case, it is not clear to examiner that how to determine improvement in coupling of the two antennas. Therefore, the examiner will not give any patentable weight on the term “improve” until clarified by the applicant.
Appropriate clarification and/or correction is required.
Claim 8 is also rejected for same rationale.
Claims 2-7 and 9-14 are also rejected because claims are depended on rejected claims 1 and 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 8, 9, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koo et al. (KR 2016-0023744) in view of Dishart (EP 1088364).
Re claims 1, 8: Koo teaches a vehicle antenna (fig. 3) comprising a glass antenna (302) provided on a rear glass of a vehicle to transmit and receive a wireless signal; a roof antenna (300) provided at an end portion of a roof panel of the vehicle to transmit and receive a wireless signal; and a rear glass attached to the roof antenna opposite to the roof antenna comprising a feeder line (304) serving as a pattern coupling the glass antenna and the roof antenna (figs. 3-5; page 14, 5th paragraph – page 17, 2nd paragraph of English translation).
However, Koo fairly suggest that a transparent conductive film.
Dishart teaches an on-glass antenna comprising a rear glass (12) comprising glass flies (14 and 16) wherein the glass plies are transparent rigid materials such as polycarbonates serving as a transparent conductive film (see fig. 1-3; page 1, lines 40-55).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide rigid glass with transparency.
Re claims 2, 4, 9, 11: Although, Koo as modified by Dishart fail to particularly teach that the ground points for the glass antenna and the roof antenna.
However, it would have been an obvious design variation well within the ordinary skill in the art failing to provide any unexpected results for choosing the vehicle body as a common ground or separate parts (e.g., the vehicle’s roof and vehicle’s frame, etc. respectively) of the vehicle body as grounds for antennas, and therefore an obvious expedient.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 5-7, 10, and 12-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
None of prior art teaches the vehicle antenna comprising the transparent conductive film attached to the roof panel opposite to the roof antenna and including a pattern wherein the pattern is a defected ground structure (DGS) pattern, the pattern is a split ring resonator (SRR) pattern, the transparent conductive film is a conductive film using a multi-layered electrode film (MLF) which is a transparent electrode, and the transparent conductive film is a conductive film using a metal mesh film (MMF) which is a transparent electrode. as set forth in the claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Doi et al. (JP 2005142616) and Fujii et al. (US 5933119) teach glass antenna for vehicles.
/SEUNG H LEE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876