DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21, 23, 24, 27, 29, 31, 32, 35, 37, 39, 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Barrall et al. (9,396,156).
For claims 21, 29, 37, Barrall teaches a computer-implemented method and system (abstract, background, summary and claims) comprising:
maintaining in memory (col. 7, lines 5-15) a list of addresses (col. 23, lines 55-67) for one or more virtual storage containers (col. 8, lines 1-25), each storage container comprising i) a data set associated with a user account (col. 10, lines 1-10), ii) data representing a level of permission (col. 28, lines 35-50), and iii) an individual address for the respective virtual storage container (col. 9, lines 15-25);
receiving a request (col. 11, lines 10-30) to provide access for a software based service to at least part of the data set associated with a user account (col. 10, lines 30-60);
in response to receiving the request to provide access to at least part of the data set associated with the user account, accessing at least one virtual storage container and updating the data representing the level of permission for access by the software based service (col. 28, lines 50-67); and
transmitting, to the software based service, data representing the individual address of the at least one virtual storage container with updated permissions (col. 10, lines 30-60).
For claims 23, 31, 39, Barrall teaches each virtual storage container is associated with different software services (col. 28, lines 50-67).
For claims 24, 32, 40, Barrall teaches that the data representing the level of permission correlates to an amount of access provided to the data set associated with the user account (col. 9, lines 15-25).
For claims 27, 35, Barrall teaches transmitting a message indicating an update to permissions based on a change in the level of permission for a software based service (col. 38, line 35 – col. Col. 39, line 55).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 22, 30, 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barrall as applied to claims 21, 29, 37 above, and further in view of Roth et al. (10,089,476).
For claims 22, 30, 38, Barrall does not expressly disclose the limits of the claims. Roth teaches a method and system (abstract) in the relevant art (background, summary and claims) wherein each of the data sets associated with a user account in each virtual storage container, contains subsets (col. 20, lines 1-30), each subset containing different types of data associated with a user (col. 24, lines 20-55). At the time of filing, one of ordinary skill in the art would have added Roth in order to provide improvements to account control (col. 1,lines 35-60).
Claim(s) 25, 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barrall as applied to claims 21, 29 above, and further in view of Adjakple et al. (9,693,366).
For claims 25, 33, Barrall does not expressly disclose the elements. Adjakple teaches a method and system (abstract) in the relevant art (background, summary and claims) that includes transmitting to the software based service, data representing the individual address of the at least one storage container with updated permissions (col. 36, lines 20-40) is responsive to the software based service requesting authentication credentials (col. 38, lines 50-67). At the time of filing, one of ordinary skill in the art would have added Adjakple in order to provide improvements to the service network structure (col. 1, lines 15-45).
Claim(s) 26, 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barrall as applied to claims 21, 29 above, and further in view of Roth et al. (9,420,007).
For claims 26, 34, Barrall does not expressly disclose the elements. Roth teaches a method and system (abstract) in the relevant art (background, summary and claims) where at least some of the data sets associated the user account across the one or more virtual storage containers at least partially overlap in stored information (col. 12, lines 15-60). At the time of filing, one of ordinary skill in the art would have added Roth in order to provide improvements to organizational systems (col. 1, lines 5-25).
Claim(s) 28, 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barrall as applied to claims 21, 29 above, and further in view of Toshniwal et al. (2012/0,303,831).
For claims 28, 36, Barrall does not expressly disclose the included elements. Toshniwal teaches a method and system (abstract) in the relevant art (background, summary and claims) where at least some of the data in at least one container is associated with advertisement preferences of a user (Paras 39-40). At the time of filing, one of ordinary skill in the art would have added Toshniwal in order to provide improvements to communications establishment (Paras 5-7).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/MELVIN H POLLACK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2445