DETAILED ACTION
The Office Action is in response to an AMENDMENT entered 2/5/2026
Status of Claims
Claims 1-13 are pending.
Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claims 1, 2, 5-10 and 12-13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 9, 11, 17, 18, 21, 22, 24, 40, 41, 47, 63 and 64 of conflicting Patent No. 12,088,888 B2. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of the pending application is generic to all that is recited in claim 1, 17 and 18 of the conflicting Patent No. 12,088,888 B2. That is, claim 1 of the pending application is anticipated by claim 1, 17 and 18 of the conflicting application. Also the corresponding dependent claims are identically the same. Look below for example.
Table 1 illustrates the conflicting claim pairs:
Conflicting Patent No. 12,088,888 B2
1, 17 and 18
17
17, 18
9, 11
17
21
22
1
Pending Application 14/461653
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
Conflicting Patent No. 8,813,144 B2
24, 40 and 41
47, 63 and 64
Pending Application 14/461653
11
12
13
Table 2 illustrates a mapping between the limitations claim 1 of the pending application and claim 1, 17 and 18 of the conflicting Patent No. 12,088,888 B2. Claim 12 and 13 of pending application and claim 24, 40, 41 and claim 47, 63, 64 in the conflicting Patent No. 12,088,888 B2, respectively, are analyzed similarly. Additionally, the dependent claims are analyzed similarly.
Conflicting Patent No. 12,088,888 B2
Claim 1, 17 and 18 of Conflicting Application
Serial Number (18/793641)
Claim 1 of Pending Application
1. A method comprising:
at a first electronic device in communication with a display generation component and one or more input devices:
while the first electronic device is not part of a synchronized media and communication session with one or more third electronic devices associated with one or more users:
receiving, via the one or more input devices, a first input corresponding to a request to playback a first media item; and in response to receiving the first input:
in accordance with a determination that a second electronic device is part of the synchronized media and communication session and in accordance with a determination that one or more criteria are satisfied, including a criterion that is satisfied when the first media item is of a first type, initiating a process to add the first electronic device to the synchronized media and communication session; and
in accordance with a determination that the second electronic device is not part of the synchronized media and communication session, forgoing initiating the process to add the first electronic device to the synchronized media and communication session.
17. The method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving, via one or more input devices, a second input corresponding to a request to display a control center user interface; and
in response to receiving the second input: displaying, via the display generation component, a control center user interface that includes a first set of selectable options for controlling one or more functionalities of the first electronic device; and
in accordance with a determination that one or more second criteria are satisfied, including a criterion that is satisfied when the second electronic device is part of the synchronized media and communication session, displaying, in the control center user interface, information associated with the synchronized media and communication session.
18. The method of claim 17, wherein:
in accordance with a determination that a respective media item is playing in the synchronized media and communication session, the information associated with the synchronized media and communication session includes a visual indication indicating a playback status of the respective media item; and
in accordance with a determination that the respective media item is not playing in the synchronized media and communication session, the information associated with the synchronized media and communication session does not include the visual indication indicating the playback status of the respective media item.
1. A method comprising:
at a first electronic device in communication with a display generation component and one or more input devices:
receiving, via the one or more input devices, an input corresponding to a request to display a control center user interface; and
in response to receiving the input: displaying, via the display generation component, the control center user interface;
in accordance with a determination that the first electronic device is part of a synchronized media and communication session, displaying, in the control center user interface, information associated with the synchronized media and communication session; and
in accordance with a determination that the first electronic device is not part of the synchronized media and communication session, forgoing displaying, in the control center user interface, the information associated with the synchronized media and communication session.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5-9, 12, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US Pub. No. 20220131511 A1 to Beckhardt (See provisional 63/105042 for support).
As to claims 1, 12 and 13, Beckhardt discloses a method comprising:
at a first electronic device in communication with a display generation component and one or more input devices (Beckhardt Fig. 1, 4, 5, ¶0038-0041, 0052, a plurality of devices in network communication with control devices, playback devices and network microphone devices):
receiving, via the one or more input devices, an input corresponding to a request to display a control center user interface (Beckhardt Fig. 1, 4, 5, ¶0038-0041, 0052, 0053, 0070, receiving user input via the network microphone devices to request displaying a user interface on the control device); and
in response to receiving the input: displaying, via the display generation component, the control center user interface (Beckhardt Fig. 1, 4, 5, ¶0038-0041, 0052, 0053, 0070, 0076, 0079-0085, 0088-0089, 0104-0106, displaying the various user interfaces by the control device based on the received input);
in accordance with a determination that the first electronic device is part of a synchronized media and communication session, displaying, in the control center user interface, information associated with the synchronized media and communication session (Beckhardt Fig. 1, 4, 5, ¶0038-0041, 0043-0045, 0052, 0053, 0070, 0076, 0079-0085, 0088-0089, 0104-0106, displaying in the control device user interface, group information related with the group/zone, where the group/zone includes playback devices in the group/zone that are synchronized and connected session for content playback); and
in accordance with a determination that the first electronic device is not part of the synchronized media and communication session, forgoing displaying, in the control center user interface, the information associated with the synchronized media and communication session (Beckhardt Fig. 1, 4, 5, ¶0038-0041, 0043-0045, 0052, 0053, 0070, 0076, 0079-0085, 0088-0089, 0104-0106, not displaying in the control device user interface, group information related with the group/zone, where the group/zone includes playback devices in the group/zone that are synchronized and connected session for content playback).
As to claim 2, Beckhardt discloses wherein displaying the control center user interface includes displaying a first set of selectable options for controlling one or more functionalities of the first electronic device in the control center user interface (Beckhardt Fig. 1, 4, 5, ¶0038-0041, 0043-0045, 0052, 0053, 0070, 0076, 0079-0085, 0088-0089, 0104-0106, play/pause, rewind, fastforward).
As to claim 5, Beckhardt discloses wherein: in accordance with a determination that a respective media item is playing in the synchronized media and communication session, the information associated with the synchronized media and communication session includes a visual indication indicating a playback status of the respective media item (Beckhardt Fig. 1, 4, 5, ¶0038-0041, 0043-0045, 0052, 0053, 0070, 0076, 0079-0085, 0088-0089, 0104-0106, playback status such as play/pause, rewind, fast forward for the grouped devices that are synchronized and connected session for content playback); and in accordance with a determination that the respective media item is not playing in the synchronized media and communication session, the information associated with the synchronized media and communication session does not include the visual indication indicating the playback status of the respective media item (Beckhardt ¶0038-0041, 0043-0045, 0052, 0053, 0070, 0076, 0079-0085, 0088-0089, 0104-0106, group region 433c and 433d in queue and not playing where the 433e region is not displaying the playback status regarding group region 433c and 433d).
As to claim 6, Beckhardt discloses wherein: in accordance with a determination that the first electronic device is part of the synchronized media and communication session, the information associated with the synchronized media and communication session includes a first selectable option that, when selected, causes the first electronic device to leave the synchronized media and communication session (Beckhardt Fig. 1, 4, 5, ¶0038-0041, 0043-0045, 0052, 0053, 0070, 0076, 0079-0085, 0088-0089, 0104-0106, ungrouping zones via the user interface).
As to claim 7, Beckhardt discloses wherein: the information associated with the synchronized media and communication session includes an indication of a second electronic device, different from the first electronic device, that is part of the synchronized media and communication session (Beckhardt Fig. 1, 4, 5, ¶0038-0041, 0043-0045, 0052, 0053, 0070, 0076, 0079-0085, 0088-0089, 0104-0106, different groups/zones associated with different playback devices).
As to claim 8, Beckhardt discloses wherein: in accordance with a determination that the first electronic device is not part of the synchronized media and communication session, the control center user interface includes a visual indication indicating that a second electronic device in communication with the first electronic device is part of the synchronized media and communication session (Beckhardt Fig. 1, 4, 5, ¶0038-0041, 0043-0045, 0052, 0053, 0070, 0076, 0079-0085, 0088-0089, 0104-0106, determining different groups/zones associated with different playback devices, where a second bedroom is associated with one playback device and the user interface displayed information related to a group/zone with a plurality of playback devices that is part of the synchronized and connected session for content playback).
As to claim 9, Beckhardt discloses while displaying the visual indication indicating that the second electronic device is part of the synchronized media and communication session, receiving, via the one or more input devices, a second input selecting the visual indication (Beckhardt Fig. 1, 4, 5, ¶0038-0041, 0043-0045, 0052, 0053, 0070, 0076, 0079-0085, 0088-0089, 0104-0106, while displaying the user interface indicating the group/zone, receiving user input/interaction selecting group icon); and in response to receiving the second input, initiating a process to add the first electronic device to the synchronized media and communication session (Beckhardt Fig. 1, 4, 5, ¶0038-0041, 0043-0045, 0052, 0053, 0070, 0076, 0079-0085, 0088-0089, 0104-0106, selecting group icon to group/ungrouping zones for synchronized and connected session for content playback).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pub. No. 20220131511 A1 to Beckhardt in view of US Pub. No. 20160062569 A1 to Jenkins
As to claim 3, Beckhardt does not expressly disclose wherein receiving the input is while the first electronic device is configured with a first user profile, the method further comprising: while displaying the control center user interface that includes the first set of selectable options, receiving, via the one or more input devices, a second input directed to an option in the control center user interface; and in response to receiving the second input directed to the option, initiating a process to configure the first electronic device with a second user profile, different from the first user profile.
Jenkins discloses wherein receiving the input is while the first electronic device is configured with a first user profile (Jenkins Fig. 3, ¶0018-0020, 0042-0044, receiving user selection while the primary device has a plurality of profiles), the method further comprising: while displaying the control center user interface that includes the first set of selectable options, receiving, via the one or more input devices, a second input directed to an option in the control center user interface (Jenkins Fig. 3, ¶0018-0020, 0042-0044, displaying the user profile selection user interface and selecting the user profile); and in response to receiving the second input directed to the option, initiating a process to configure the first electronic device with a second user profile, different from the first user profile (Jenkins Fig. 3, ¶0018-0020, 0042-0044, applying the selected user profile on the primary device from the plurality of different user profiles).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Beckhardt by wherein receiving the input is while the first electronic device is configured with a first user profile, the method further comprising: while displaying the control center user interface that includes the first set of selectable options, receiving, via the one or more input devices, a second input directed to an option in the control center user interface; and in response to receiving the second input directed to the option, initiating a process to configure the first electronic device with a second user profile, different from the first user profile as disclosed by Jenkins. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to provide different user profiles for selection that allows a secondary device to be configured with the select user profile allowing the user to easily switch to another user profile thereby enhancing the user’s experience.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pub. No. 20220131511 A1 to Beckhardt in view of US Patent No. 10,147,309 B2 to Skokna
As to claim 4, Beckhardt does not expressly disclose wherein receiving the input is while the first electronic device is operating in a first power mode, the method further comprising: while displaying the control center user interface that includes the first set of selectable options, receiving, via the one or more input devices, a second input directed to an option in the control center user interface; and in response to receiving the second input directed to the option, initiating a process to operate the first electronic device in a second power mode, different from the first power mode.
Skokna discloses wherein receiving the input is while the first electronic device is operating in a first power mode (Skokna col. 4, ll. 5-60, col. 5, ll. 1- col. 6, ll. 17, receiving input while the device is in a first power mode e.g. powered on/off), the method further comprising: while displaying the control center user interface that includes the first set of selectable options, receiving, via the one or more input devices, a second input directed to an option in the control center user interface (Skokna col. 4, ll. 5-60, col. 5, ll. 1- col. 6, ll. 17, displaying the user interface with selectable power options and receiving user input/selection to select the power option on the user interface); and in response to receiving the second input directed to the option, initiating a process to operate the first electronic device in a second power mode, different from the first power mode (Skokna col. 4, ll. 5-60, col. 5, ll. 1- col. 6, ll. 17, in response to selecting the power option, powering on/off the device).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Beckhardt by wherein receiving the input is while the first electronic device is operating in a first power mode, the method further comprising: while displaying the control center user interface that includes the first set of selectable options, receiving, via the one or more input devices, a second input directed to an option in the control center user interface; and in response to receiving the second input directed to the option, initiating a process to operate the first electronic device in a second power mode, different from the first power mode as disclosed by Skokna. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to remotely power on/off a plurality of different devices from the user interface thereby enhancing the user’s experience
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pub. No. 20220131511 A1 to Beckhardt in view of US Pub. No. 20170279860 A1 to Agarwal.
As to claim 10, Beckhardt does not expressly disclose wherein: the information associated with the synchronized media and communication session includes a representation of a user associated with a second electronic device, different from the first electronic device, that is included in the synchronized media and communication session.
Agarwal discloses wherein: the information associated with the synchronized media and communication session includes a representation of a user associated with a second electronic device, different from the first electronic device, that is included in the synchronized media and communication session (Agarwal Fig. ¶0049-0052, 0056-0059, 0063, plurality of users associated with respective user devices that are in synchronized media and communication session).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Beckhardt by wherein: the information associated with the synchronized media and communication session includes a representation of a user associated with a second electronic device, different from the first electronic device, that is included in the synchronized media and communication session as disclosed by Agarwal. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to visually provide visual indications of a plurality of users associated with their respective devices with various synchronization statuses thereby enhancing the users experience with up-to-date information.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 11 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/5/2026 related to claims 1-13 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In reference to Applicant's arguments:
Claims 1, 2, 5-10 and 12-13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 9, 11, 17, 18, 21, 22, 24, 40, 41, 47, 63 and 64 of conflicting Patent No. 12,088,888 B2. Applicant respectfully requests that these rejections be held in abeyance until the application is otherwise in condition for allowance.
Examiners Response:
The examiner maintains the Double Patenting rejection.
In reference to Applicant's arguments:
The Office Action alleged that Berkhardt discloses "not displaying in the control device user interface, group information related with the group/zone, where the group/zone includes playback devices in the group/zone that are synchronized and connected session for content playback," which allegedly reads on "in accordance with a determination that the first electronic device is not part of the synchronized media and communication session, forgoing displaying, in the control center user interface, the information associated with the synchronized media and communication session," as required by claim 1. Applicant respectfully disagrees.
For example, Berkhardt discloses "[t]he playback zone region 533 b can include representations of playback zones within the media playback system 100 (FIGS. 1A and 1B. In some embodiments, the graphical representations of playback zones may be selectable to bring up additional selectable icons to manage or configure the playback zones in the media playback system, such as a creation of bonded zones, creation of zone groups, separation of zone groups, renaming of zone groups, etc." (Berkhardt, paragraph [0106]). Further, Berkhardt discloses "[i]n the illustrated embodiment, the "group" icon may be selectable to bring up options to deselect one or more zones in the zone group to be removed from the zone group. In some embodiments, the control device 530 includes other interactions and implementations for grouping and ungrouping zones via the user interface 531." (Id.). That is, the playback device 530 of Berkhardt displays selectable graphical representations of playback zones that when selected cause the playback device 530 of Berkhardt to display additional selectable icons to manage or configure the playback zones in the media playback system.
However, Applicant respectfully asserts that the disclosure of Berkhardt is silent with respect to receiving an input corresponding to a request to display a control center user interface, and in response to detecting the input and in accordance with a determination that the first electronic device is not part of the synchronized media and communication session, forgoing displaying, in the control center user interface, the information associated with the synchronized media and communication session, as required by claim 1. As mentioned above, Berkhardt discloses that control device 530 displays selectable graphical representations of playback zones in the media playback system. Clearly, Berkhardt discloses a control device that is a part of the media playback system displaying information (e.g., selectable graphical representations of playback zones and additional selectable icons to manage or configure the playback zones of Berkhardt) on the alleged control center user interface. In other words, Berkhardt discloses that the control device 530 is part of the media playback system and that the control device 530 displays information associated with the media playback system. There is no disclosure in Berkhardt about displaying a control interface, or its content, in the case that the control device 530 is not part of the media playback system. In stark contrast to Berkhardt, claim 1 requires receiving an input corresponding to a request to display a control center user interface, and in response to detecting the input and in accordance with a determination that the first electronic device is not part of the synchronized media and communication session, forgoing displaying, in the control center user interface, the information associated with the synchronized media and communication session. As such, Applicant respectfully submits that claim 1 cannot be anticipated by Berkhardt, for at least the reasons above.
Therefore, claim 1 and its dependent claims are believed to be patentable over the cited references. Claims 12 and 13 - which correspond to the subject matter recited in claim 1 - are therefore believed to be patentable for similar reasons.
Examiners Response:
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Beckhardt does disclose receiving, via the one or more input devices, an input corresponding to a request to display a control center user interface; and in response to receiving the input: in accordance with a determination that the first electronic device is not part of the synchronized media and communication session, forgoing displaying, in the control center user interface, the information associated with the synchronized media and communication session.
In particular, Beckhardt discloses not displaying in the control device user interface, group information related with the group/zone, where the group/zone includes playback devices in the group/zone that are synchronized and connected session for content playback (Beckhardt Fig. 1, 4, 5, ¶0038-0041, 0043-0045, 0052, 0053, 0070, 0076, 0079-0085, 0088-0089, 0104-0106).
Beckhardt in ¶0106 discloses:
The playback zone region 533b can include representations of playback zones within the media playback system 100 (FIGS. 1A and 1B). In some embodiments, the graphical representations of playback zones may be selectable to bring up additional selectable icons to manage or configure the playback zones in the media playback system, such as a creation of bonded zones, creation of zone groups, separation of zone groups, renaming of zone groups, etc. In the illustrated embodiment, a “group” icon is provided within each of the graphical representations of playback zones. The “group” icon provided within a graphical representation of a particular zone may be selectable to bring up options to select one or more other zones in the media playback system to be grouped with the particular zone. Once grouped, playback devices in the zones that have been grouped with the particular zone can be configured to play audio content in synchrony with the playback device(s) in the particular zone. Analogously, a “group” icon may be provided within a graphical representation of a zone group. In the illustrated embodiment, the “group” icon may be selectable to bring up options to deselect one or more zones in the zone group to be removed from the zone group. In some embodiments, the control device 530 includes other interactions and implementations for grouping and ungrouping zones via the user interface 531. In certain embodiments, the representations of playback zones in the playback zone region 533b can be dynamically updated as a playback zone or zone group configurations are modified. (Emphasis added).
The graphical user interface of the playback zones can be selected to ungroup/separate the zone groups allowing the deselection of the one or more zones in the zone group to be removed from the zone group thus allowing the playback zones in the playback zone region 533b to be dynamically updated as zone group configurations are modified. In other words, by removing the zone in the group zones, the playback devices that are ungrouped in the zone would not be in synchronization for playback with the other playback systems in the zone group and dynamically updated in the playback zone region 533b.
Therefore, applicant’s arguments are not persuasive and the examiner respectfully disagrees.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Claims 1-10 and 12-13 have been rejected.
Claim 11 is objected.
Correspondence Information
/KYU CHAE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426