DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1 recites, “selecting one of a plurality of candidate positions for the first 3D model in the virtual environment, wherein the plurality of candidate positions respectively correspond to a plurality of physical candidate position of the robotic surgical system in a physical operating room;
simulating movements or rotations of the first 3D model in the virtual environment based on each of the first plurality of candidate position and the planned surgical pathway”….;
The specification at paragraphs 0072 and 0073 indicate that the plurality of candidate positions respectively correspond to a plurality of physical candidate POSITIONS”,
As such the is no support for the claimed limitation, “plurality of candidate position”.
This is new matter.
The rest of the claims are rejected for either having similar deficiencies as claim 1 of for depending on a rejected base claim.
Applicant is advised to follow the example provided in the rejection to correct the claims and overcome the rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 9, 10, 11, 19, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fuerst (US 11896315 B2) in view of Steines (US pub 2022/0273450).
Regarding claim 1, Fuerst discloses a method to position a robotic surgical system (figs. 1-5; abstract; placements and orientation in a physical environment; col. 1, lines 50 to col. 2, lines 26), comprising:
generating:
a first three-dimensional (3D) model associated with the robotic surgical system (figs. 1-5 shows a 3D model of the operating environment; surgical system is generated virtually in three dimensions, surgical system could include, implants parts, instruments, equipment, etc; col. 1, lines 50 to col. 2, lines 26; col. 2, lines 66 to col. 3, line 39; col. 5, lines 27-66; col. 13, lines 53 to col. 14, lines 26);
a second 3D model associated with a patient, and a planned surgical pathway (col. 5 discloses a trocar tool port or surgical pathway into patient, col. 5, lines 54-60; col. 14, lines 18-26, etc discloses a planned surgical pathway for an instrument associated with a patient in an operating room) in a virtual environment (figs. 1-5 shows a 3D model of the operating environment; surgical system includes patients, instruments, cart, etc generated virtually in three dimensions; col. 1, lines 50 to col. 2, lines 26; col. 2, lines 66 to col. 3, line 39; col. 5, lines 27-59);
selecting one of a plurality of candidate positions for the first 3D model in the virtual environment, wherein the plurality of candidate positions respectively correspond to a plurality of physical candidate POSITIONS of the robotic surgical system in a physical operating room (figs. 1-5 shows a 3D model of the operating environment; positions in the operating room for the surgical system are selected and designated including positions of patients, instruments, cart, etc generated virtually in three dimensions; col. 1, lines 50 to col. 2, lines 26; col. 2, lines 66 to col. 3, line 39; col. 5, lines 27-66);
simulating movements or rotations of the first 3D model in the virtual environment based on each of the plurality of candidate POSITIONS (fig. 3; col. 6 lines 22 to col. 7, lines 33) and the planned surgical pathway (col. 14, lines 18-26, etc discloses a planned surgical pathway for an instrument associated with a patient in an operating room);
determining whether a collision associated with the first 3D model occurs in the virtual environment based on the simulated movements or rotations (the system determines there will be occurrence of collisions, wherein the risk of collision is minimized; col. 5, lines 28-49; col. 10, lines 48-61); and
generating status information of each of the plurality of candidate positions (for example status of candidate position must be optimized to accommodate reachability of instruments; generating a status e.g. a virtual reality simulation status indicating whether positions or arms are in a stowed away position, locked position, et; col. 5, lines 50 to col. 6, lines 58; col. 10, lines 48-57) based on the determining (the system generates status information of the candidate position i.e. a first physical position or placement of the robotic surgical system based on the system determining that there will be occurrence of collisions, wherein the risk of collision is minimized; col. 10, lines 62-66; col. 11, lines 17-42).
Fuerst did not particularly recite the limitation, “wherein the first 3D model is represented by a set of polygon meshes but not by any volumetric mesh”.
However, Steines teaches of a first 3D model associated with a robotic surgical system and a second 3D model associated with a patient (fig. 18; sec 0049, 0164, 0250, 0278, 0297, 0316, 0317, 0332, 0791), and a planned surgical pathway in a virtual environment (sec 1180), wherein the first 3D model is represented by a set of polygon meshes but not by any volumetric mesh (figs. 76-83, etc; three-dimensional (3D) model associated with the robotic surgical system represented by a set of polygon meshes but not by any volumetric mesh e.g. a tool, an implant; sec 0109, 1241);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Fuerst as taught by Steines such that 3D models of the Fuerst instruments, tools, etc are represented by a set of polygon meshes for the purpose of improving performance of a surgical procedure using digitally created polygon mesh models that are preoperatively designed (see Steines; sec 0090, 0010).
Regarding claim 9, Fuerst discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the determining further includes determining whether the collision occurs when the first 3D model is in a default pose (the system determines there will be occurrence of collisions, wherein the risk of collision is minimized; collision in Fuesrt includes all collisions in the operating and thus it is obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art that the determining whether there is collision includes determining whether the collision occurs when the first 3D model is in a default pose or another pose; col. 5, lines 28-49; col. 10, lines 48-61).
Regarding claim 10, Fuerst discloses the method of claim 9, in response to determining that the collusion occurs when the first 3D model is in a default pose, further comprising determining whether the collision occurs when the first 3D model is in another pose different from the default pose (the system determines there will be occurrence of collisions, wherein the risk of collision is minimized; collision in Fuesrt includes all collisions in the operating and thus it is obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art that the determining whether there is collision includes determining whether the collision occurs when the first 3D model is in a default pose or in any other pose; col. 5, lines 28-49; col. 10, lines 48-61).
Regarding claim 11, Fuerst discloses a system to position a robotic surgical system (figs. 1-5; abstract; placements and orientation in a physical environment; col. 1, lines 50 to col. 2, lines 26), comprising:
a processor (col. 15, lines 12 to col. 16, lines 24; claim 16, lines 56-67); and
a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium containing a set of executable instructions which, in response to execution by the processor (col. 15, lines 12 to col. 16, lines 24; claim 16, lines 56-67), cause the processor to:
generate a first three-dimensional (3D) model associated with the robotic surgical system (figs. 1-5 shows a 3D model of the operating environment; surgical system is generated virtually in three dimensions, surgical system could include, implants parts, instruments, equipment, etc; col. 1, lines 50 to col. 2, lines 26; col. 2, lines 66 to col. 3, line 39; col. 5, lines 27-66; col. 13, lines 53 to col. 14, lines 26) and a second 3D model associated with a patient and a planned surgical pathway (col. 5 discloses a trocar tool port or surgical pathway into patient, col. 5, lines 54-60; col. 14, lines 18-26, etc discloses a planned surgical pathway for an instrument associated with a patient in an operating room) in a virtual environment (figs. 1-5 shows a 3D model of the operating environment; surgical system includes patients, instruments, cart, etc generated virtually in three dimensions; col. 1, lines 50 to col. 2, lines 26; col. 2, lines 66 to col. 3, line 39; col. 5, lines 27-59),
select one of a plurality of candidate positions for the first 3D model in the virtual environment, wherein the of the plurality of candidate positions respectively CORRESPOND to a plurality of physical candidate POSITIONS of the robotic surgical system in a physical operating room(figs. 1-5 shows a 3D model of the operating environment; positions in the operating room for the surgical system are selected and designated including positions of patients, instruments, cart, etc generated virtually in three dimensions; col. 1, lines 50 to col. 2, lines 26; col. 2, lines 66 to col. 3, line 39; col. 5, lines 27-66);
simulate movements or rotations of the first 3D model in the virtual environment based on each of the plurality of candidate POSITIONS and the planned surgical pathway (fig. 3; col. 6 lines 22 to col. 7, lines 33) and the planned surgical pathway (col. 14, lines 18-26, etc discloses a planned surgical pathway for an instrument associated with a patient in an operating room);
determine whether a collision associated with the first 3D model occurs in the virtual environment based on the simulated movements or rotations (the system determines there will be occurrence of collisions, wherein the risk of collision is minimized; col. 5, lines 28-49; col. 10, lines 48-61); and
generate status information of each of the plurality of candidate positions (for example status of candidate position must be optimized to accommodate reachability of instruments; generating a status e.g. a virtual reality simulation status indicating whether positions or arms are in a stowed away position, locked position, et; col. 5, lines 50 to col. 6, lines 58; col. 10, lines 48-57) based on the determining (the system generates status information of the candidate position i.e. a first physical position or placement of the robotic surgical system based on the system determining that there will be occurrence of collisions, wherein the risk of collision is minimized; col. 10, lines 62-66; col. 11, lines 17-42).
Fuerst did not particularly recite the limitation, “wherein the first 3D model is represented by a set of polygon meshes but not by any volumetric mesh”.
However, Steines teaches of generating a first three-dimensional (3D) model associated with a robotic surgical system [example or surgical systems are shown in applicant’s specification and drawings at sec 0004-0011. The prior art disclose a similar system, see prior art figs. 76-83, etc; three-dimensional (3D) model associated with the robotic surgical system e.g. a tool, an implant; sec 0109, 1241] and a second 3D model associated with a patient (fig. 18; sec 0049, 0164, 0250, 0278, 0297, 0316, 0317, 0332, 0791), and a planned surgical pathway in a virtual environment (sec 1180), wherein the first 3D model is represented by a set of polygon meshes but not by any volumetric mesh (figs. 76-83, etc; three-dimensional (3D) model associated with the robotic surgical system e.g. a tool, an implant; sec 0109, 1241);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Fuerst as taught by Steines such that 3D models of the Fuerst instruments, tools, etc are represented by a set of polygon meshes for the purpose of improving performance of a surgical procedure using digitally created polygon mesh models that are preoperatively designed (see Steines; sec 0090, 0010).
Regarding claim 19, Fuerst discloses the system of claim 11, wherein the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium containing an additional set of executable instructions which, in response to execution by the processor, cause the processor to:
determine whether the collision occurs when the first 3D model is in a default pose (the system determines there will be occurrence of collisions, wherein the risk of collision is minimized; collision in Fuesrt includes all collisions in the operating and thus it is obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art that the determining whether there is collision includes determining whether the collision occurs when the first 3D model is a default pose or another pose; col. 5, lines 28-49; col. 10, lines 48-61).
Regarding claim 20, Fuerst discloses the system of claim 19, wherein the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium containing an additional set of executable instructions which, in response to execution by the processor, cause the processor to:
in response to determining that the collusion occurs when the first 3D model is in a default pose, determine whether the collision occurs when the first 3D model is in another pose different from the default pose (the system determines there will be occurrence of collisions, wherein the risk of collision is minimized; collision in Fuesrt includes all collisions in the operating and thus it is obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art that the determining whether there is collision includes determining whether the collision occurs when the first 3D model is in another pose or a default pose; col. 5, lines 28-49; col. 10, lines 48-61).
Claims 2-8, 12-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fuerst (US 11896315 B2) and Steines (US pub 2022/0273450) as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Bulleit (US 12242777).
Regarding claim 2, Fuerst and Steines disclose the method of claim 1, but did not particularly recite the limitation, “…..generating the set of polygon meshes prior to generating the first 3D model…….,”.
However, Bulleit teaches of a method of claim 1, further comprising:
generating the set of polygon meshes prior to generating the first 3D model, wherein the set of polygon meshes represents a surface of the first 3D model (figs. 6&7; col. 23, lines 38 to col. 25, lines 20).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Fuerst and Steines as taught by Bulleit for the purpose or effective creating an outline and shape of a surgical system using polygon meshes before producing well refined final product of the surgical system.
Regarding claim 3, Bulleit teaches of the method of claim 2, wherein generating the set of polygon meshes comprises:
loading a third 3D model associated with a component of the robotic surgical system, wherein a first polygon mesh is configured to represent a surface of the third 3D model and a first volumetric mesh is configured to represent an interior volume of the third 3D model; and creating a primitive mesh to enclose the third 3D model (figs. 6&7; col. 23, lines 38 to col. 25, lines 20).
Regarding claim 4, Bulleit teaches of the method of claim 3, wherein the primitive mesh is a sphere mesh (col. 13, lines 65 to col. 14, lines 18; col. 20, lines 7-11).
Regarding claim 5, Bulleit teaches of the method of claim 3, wherein generating the set of polygon meshes further comprises:
adjusting the primitive mesh to match a surface of the component (figs. 6-21; col. 23, lines 38 to col. 25, lines 20);
resampling the adjusted mesh (figs. 6-21; col. 23, lines 38 to col. 25, lines 20); and
simplifying the resampled mesh (figs. 6-21; col. 23, lines 38 to col. 25, lines 20).
Regarding claim 6, Bulleit teaches of the method of claim 5, wherein the resampled mesh includes first uniform faces having the first same shape (figs. 6-21; col. 23, lines 38 to col. 25, lines 20).
Regarding claim 7, Bulleit teaches of the method of claim 3, wherein generating the set of polygon meshes further includes generating a second polygon mesh corresponding to a physical working space for a surgeon (figs. 6-21; col. 23, lines 38 to col. 25, lines 20).
Regarding claim 8, Bulleit teaches of the method of claim 7, wherein the second polygon mesh is a cylindrical polygon mesh and includes second uniform faces having the second same shape (figs. 6-21; col. 23, lines 38 to col. 25, lines 20).
Regarding claim 12, Fuerst and Steines disclose the system of claim 11, wherein the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium contains an additional set of executable instructions which, in response to execution by the processor (figs. 1-5; abstract; placements and orientation in a physical environment; col. 1, lines 50 to col. 2, lines 26).
Fuerst and Steines disclose the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 11, but did not particularly recite the limitation, “….generate the set of polygon meshes prior to generating the first 3D model, wherein the set of polygon meshes represents a surface of the first 3D model…….”
However, Bulleit teaches of a system comprising:
a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium containing an additional set of executable instructions which, in response to execution by the processor, cause the processor to:
generate the set of polygon meshes prior to generating the first 3D model, wherein the set of polygon meshes represents a surface of the first 3D model (figs. 6&7; col. 23, lines 38 to col. 25, lines 20).
However, Bulleit teaches of a system comprising:
a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium containing an additional set of executable instructions (col. 37, lines 15-67) which, in response to execution by the processor, cause the processor to:
generating the set of polygon meshes prior to generating the first 3D model, wherein the set of polygon meshes represents a surface of the first 3D model (figs. 6&7; col. 23, lines 38 to col. 25, lines 20).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Fuerst and Steines as taught by Bulleit for the purpose or effective creating an outline and shape of a surgical system using polygon meshes before producing well refined final product of the surgical system.
Regarding claim 13, Bulleit teaches of the system of claim 12, wherein the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium containing an additional set of executable instructions which, in response to execution by the processor, cause the processor to:
load a third 3D model associated with a component of the robotic surgical system, wherein a first polygon mesh is configured to represent a surface of the third 3D model and a first volumetric mesh is configured to represent an interior volume of the third 3D model; and create a primitive mesh to enclose the third 3D model (figs. 6&7; col. 23, lines 38 to col. 25, lines 20).
Regarding claim 14, Bulleit teaches of the system of claim 13, wherein the primitive mesh is a sphere mesh (figs. 6&7; col. 23, lines 38 to col. 25, lines 20).
Regarding claim 15, Bulleit teaches of the system of claim 13, wherein the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium containing an additional set of executable instructions which, in response to execution by the processor, cause the processor to:
adjust the primitive mesh to match a surface of the component (figs. 6-21; col. 23, lines 38 to col. 25, lines 20);
resample the adjusted mesh (figs. 6-21; col. 23, lines 38 to col. 25, lines 20); and simplify the resampled mesh (figs. 6-21; col. 23, lines 38 to col. 25, lines 20).
Regarding claim 16, Bulleit teaches of the system of claim 15, wherein the resampled mesh includes first uniform faces having the first same shape (figs. 6-21; col. 23, lines 38 to col. 25, lines 20).
Regarding claim 17, Bulleit teaches of the system of claim 13, wherein the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium containing an additional set of executable instructions which, in response to execution by the processor, cause the processor to:
generate a second polygon mesh corresponding to a physical working space for a surgeon (figs. 6-21; col. 23, lines 38 to col. 25, lines 20).
Regarding claim 18, Bulleit teaches of the system of claim 17, wherein the second polygon mesh is a cylindrical polygon mesh and includes second uniform faces having the second same shape (figs. 6-21; col. 23, lines 38 to col. 25, lines 20).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/06/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant traverses the rejections on the grounds that the claims have been amended to overcome the rejections. The examiner respectfully disagrees. These amendments are not supported on applicant’s original disclosure including applicant’s cited paragraphs 0059-0074 of the specification.
Claims 1 recites, “selecting one of a plurality of candidate positions for the first 3D model in the virtual environment, wherein the plurality of candidate positions respectively correspond to a plurality of physical candidate position of the robotic surgical system in a physical operating room;
simulating movements or rotations of the first 3D model in the virtual environment based on each of the first plurality of candidate position and the planned surgical pathway”….;
The specification at paragraphs 0072 and 0073 indicate that the plurality of candidate positions respectively correspond to a plurality of physical candidate POSITIONS”,
As such the is no support for the claimed limitation, “plurality of candidate position”.
This is new matter.
The rest of the claims are rejected for either having similar deficiencies as claim 1 of for depending on a rejected base claim.
The applicant is advised to follow the example provided in the rejection to correct the claims and overcome the rejection.
The applicant also traverses the 103 rejection. The examiner respectfully disagrees.
The applicant particularly argues that, “Fuerst does not teach or suggest, for example, simulating movements or rotations of the first 3D model based on cach of the plurality of candidate positions and the planned surgical pathway, determining whether a collision occurs for each of the plurality of candidate positions, and generating status information of each of the plurality of candidate positions.”; and also that,
“Fuerst's iterative refinement of a single configuration based on sensor feedback does not teach or suggest, for example, generating status information of each of a plurality of candidate positions.”; and also that,
“A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had no motivation to combine Fuerst and Steines to arrive at the presently claimed invention. Steines is directed to a patient-adapted implant design method, wherein medical imaging data of a patient's joint is processed to generate modified models of the joint or joint surfaces for designing customized surgical implants (Steines, paragraph [0010]). The polygon meshes in Steines serve the purpose of accurately modeling patient-specific anatomical geometry for implant customization. The purpose of the polygon meshes in Steines is different from the purpose of the presently claimed invention. Moreover, Steines relates to implant design, which is a different field from Fuerst's equipment positioning. A person of ordinary skill in the art would not have been motivated to apply the polygon mesh representation of Steines to the equipment position simulation of Fuerst, much less to arrive at the presently claimed invention as recited in the amended independent claim 1.”
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Based on the present amendments and the new rejections corresponding to the newly amended claims,
Fuerst discloses a method and system to position a robotic surgical system (figs. 1-5; abstract; placements and orientation in a physical environment; col. 1, lines 50 to col. 2, lines 26), comprising:
generating:
a first three-dimensional (3D) model associated with the robotic surgical system (figs. 1-5 shows a 3D model of the operating environment; surgical system is generated virtually in three dimensions, surgical system could include, implants parts, instruments, equipment, etc; col. 1, lines 50 to col. 2, lines 26; col. 2, lines 66 to col. 3, line 39; col. 5, lines 27-66; col. 13, lines 53 to col. 14, lines 26);
a second 3D model associated with a patient, and a planned surgical pathway (col. 5 discloses a trocar tool port or surgical pathway into patient, col. 5, lines 54-60; col. 14, lines 18-26, etc discloses a planned surgical pathway for an instrument associated with a patient in an operating room) in a virtual environment (figs. 1-5 shows a 3D model of the operating environment; surgical system includes patients, instruments, cart, etc generated virtually in three dimensions; col. 1, lines 50 to col. 2, lines 26; col. 2, lines 66 to col. 3, line 39; col. 5, lines 27-59);
selecting one of a plurality of candidate positions for the first 3D model in the virtual environment, wherein the plurality of candidate positions respectively correspond to a plurality of physical candidate POSITIONS of the robotic surgical system in a physical operating room (figs. 1-5 shows a 3D model of the operating environment; positions in the operating room for the surgical system are selected and designated including positions of patients, instruments, cart, etc generated virtually in three dimensions; col. 1, lines 50 to col. 2, lines 26; col. 2, lines 66 to col. 3, line 39; col. 5, lines 27-66);
simulating movements or rotations of the first 3D model in the virtual environment based on each of the plurality of candidate POSITIONS (fig. 3; col. 6 lines 22 to col. 7, lines 33) and the planned surgical pathway (col. 14, lines 18-26, etc discloses a planned surgical pathway for an instrument associated with a patient in an operating room);
determining whether a collision associated with the first 3D model occurs in the virtual environment based on the simulated movements or rotations (the system determines there will be occurrence of collisions, wherein the risk of collision is minimized; col. 5, lines 28-49; col. 10, lines 48-61); and
generating status information of each of the plurality of candidate positions (for example status of candidate position must be optimized to accommodate reachability of instruments; generating a status e.g. a virtual reality simulation status indicating whether positions or arms are in a stowed away position, locked position, et; col. 5, lines 50 to col. 6, lines 58; col. 10, lines 48-57) based on the determining (the system generates status information of the candidate position i.e. a first physical position or placement of the robotic surgical system based on the system determining that there will be occurrence of collisions, wherein the risk of collision is minimized; col. 10, lines 62-66; col. 11, lines 17-42).
Fuerst did not particularly recite the limitation, “wherein the first 3D model is represented by a set of polygon meshes but not by any volumetric mesh”.
However, Steines teaches of a first 3D model associated with a robotic surgical system and a second 3D model associated with a patient (fig. 18; sec 0049, 0164, 0250, 0278, 0297, 0316, 0317, 0332, 0791), and a planned surgical pathway in a virtual environment (sec 1180), wherein the first 3D model is represented by a set of polygon meshes but not by any volumetric mesh (figs. 76-83, etc; three-dimensional (3D) model associated with the robotic surgical system represented by a set of polygon meshes but not by any volumetric mesh e.g. a tool, an implant; sec 0109, 1241);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Fuerst as taught by Steines such that 3D models of the Fuerst instruments, tools, etc are represented by a set of polygon meshes for the purpose of improving performance of a surgical procedure using digitally created polygon mesh models that are preoperatively designed (see Steines; sec 0090, 0010).
In addition, the applicant argues that there is no motivation for one of ordinary skill in the at the combine prior art. Contrary to applicant’s argument there is provided a motivation to combine prior art the rejection provides motivation to combines prior art. Applicant does not refute why the motivation to combine art in the rejection is not proper, rather applicant merely issues a conclusory remark that there will be no motivation to combine prior art. Where is the proof that there will be no motivation for one of ordinary skill in the art to combine art? Applicant did not provide the required proof.
In addition applicant argues that, “The polygon meshes in Steines serve the purpose of
accurately modeling patient-specific anatomical geometry for implant customization. The
purpose of the polygon meshes in Steines is different from the purpose of the presently claimed invention.” The examiner respectfully disagrees. The purpose of use is not patentable.
In addition, applicant’s further argument that, “Moreover, Steines relates to implant design, which is a different field from Fuerst's equipment positioning” is not convincing. It is submitted that both prior art references are in the field of robotic surgery.
It is believed that the prior art reads on the claims, the rejections stand.
Communication
/RONNIE M MANCHO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3657