DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on 08/02/2024.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claims 1-20 are rejected.
Claims 1, 9 and 17 are independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rubayet Shafin et al. (US 2022/0408355 A1), hereinafter Shafin, in view of James June-Ming Wang et al. (US 2021/0120427 A1), hereinafter Wang, and George CHERIAN et al. (US 2023/0209466 A1), hereinafter CHERIAN.
For claim 1, Shafin teaches a first station (STA) in a wireless network (Shafin, Fig. 1 item 111.), comprising:
a memory (Shafin, Fig. 2B item 260.); and
a processor (Shafin, Fig. 2B item 111.) coupled to the memory, the processor configured to cause:
establishing one or more peer-to-peer (P2P) links with one or more second STAs;
transmitting, to a first access point (AP), an assistance request frame requesting that the first AP coordinates with a second AP to reduce interference from the second AP (Shafin, Fig. 19 and paragraphs 123-128.), wherein a first basic service set (BSS) corresponding to the first AP and a second BSS corresponding to the second AP partially overlap (Shafin, Fig. 8 and paragraphs 95-98.);
receiving, from the first AP, an assistance response frame indicating an assistance provided by the second AP in response to the assistance request frame (Shafin, Fig. 19 and paragraphs 123-128.).
Wang also teaches transmitting, to a first access point (AP), report for the first AP coordinates with a second AP to reduce interference from the second AP (Wang, Fig. 6 and paragraph 53.), wherein a first basic service set (BSS) corresponding to the first AP and a second BSS corresponding to the second AP partially overlap (Wang, Fig. 7 and paragraph 54.);
receiving, from the first AP, a trigger indicating an assistance provided by the second AP in response to the report (Wang, Fig. 6 and paragraph 53.).
CHERIAN further teaches a STA in a wireless network establishing one or more P2P links with one or more second STAs, the STA works as a P2P group owner to communicates with a first AP (CHERIAN, Fig. 4 and paragraphs 76-81.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in Shafin and Wang with a STA in a wireless network establishing one or more P2P links with one or more second STAs, the STA works as a P2P group owner to communicates with a first AP taught in CHERIAN to have establishing one or more peer-to-peer (P2P) links with one or more second STAs; transmitting, to a first access point (AP), an assistance request frame requesting that the first AP coordinates with a second AP to protect P2P communication between the first STA and the one or more second STAs, wherein a first basic service set (BSS) corresponding to the first AP and a second BSS corresponding to the second AP partially overlap; receiving, from the first AP, an assistance response frame indicating an assistance provided by the second AP in response to the assistance request frame; and communicating with one or more second STAs based on the assistance provided from the second AP, as all components were active areas of 802.11be/802.11bn standardization.
For claim 2, Shafin, Wang and CHERIAN further teach the first STA of claim 1, wherein the assistance is associated with a power control performed by the second AP (Shafin, Fig. 8 and paragraphs 4 and 7.).
For claim 3, Shafin, Wang and CHERIAN further teach the first STA of claim 1, wherein the assistance is associated with reduction of interference to the one or more P2P links from the second BSS (Shafin, Fig. 9 and paragraphs 82 and 99.).
For claim 4, Shafin, Wang and CHERIAN further teach the first STA of claim 1, wherein the assistance is associated with spatial reuse operation performed by the second AP (Wang, Fig. 28 and paragraphs 6 and 43-45.).
For claim 5, Shafin, Wang and CHERIAN further teach the first STA of claim 1, wherein the first STA is an owner of a P2P group that includes the first STA and the one or more second STAs (CHERIAN, Fig. 4 and paragraphs 76-81.).
For claim 6, Shafin, Wang and CHERIAN further teach the first STA of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to cause: receiving, from at least one second STA, an assistance request from the second AP; and including the assistance request to the assistance request frame (Shafin, Fig. 19 and paragraphs 123-128.).
For claim 7, Shafin, Wang and CHERIAN further teach the first STA of claim 1, wherein the first STA is associated with the first AP (CHERIAN, Fig. 4 and paragraphs 76-81.).
For claim 8, Shafin, Wang and CHERIAN further teach the first STA of claim 1, wherein the first STA is not associated with the first AP, and the first STA and the one or more second STAs form an independent basic service set (IBSS) (Wang, Fig. 3 and paragraphs 48-49. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in Shafin, Wang and CHERIAN to have the first STA is not associated with the first AP, and the first STA and the one or more second STAs form an independent basic service set (IBSS), as all components were active areas of 802.11be/802.11bn standardization).
For claim 9, Shafin teaches a first access point (AP) in a wireless network (Shafin, Fig. 1 item 101.), comprising:
a memory (Shafin, Fig. 2A item 229.); and
a processor (Shafin, Fig. 2A item 224.) coupled to the memory, the processor configured to cause:
receiving, from a first station (STA), an assistance request frame requesting that the first AP coordinates with a second AP to reduce interference (Shafin, Fig. 19 and paragraphs 123-128.), wherein a first basic service set (BSS) corresponding to the first AP and a second BSS corresponding to the second AP partially overlap (Shafin, Fig. 8 and paragraphs 95-98.);
coordinating with the second AP to reduce the interference (Shafin, Fig. 19 and paragraphs 123-128.); and
transmitting, to the first STA, an assistance response frame indicating an assistance provided by the second AP (Shafin, Fig. 19 and paragraphs 123-128.).
Wang also teaches transmitting, to a first access point (AP), report for the first AP coordinates with a second AP to reduce interference from the second AP (Wang, Fig. 6 and paragraph 53.), wherein a first basic service set (BSS) corresponding to the first AP and a second BSS corresponding to the second AP partially overlap (Wang, Fig. 7 and paragraph 54.);
receiving, from the first AP, a trigger indicating an assistance provided by the second AP in response to the report (Wang, Fig. 6 and paragraph 53.).
CHERIAN further teaches a STA in a wireless network establishing one or more P2P links with one or more second STAs, the STA works as a P2P group owner to communicates with a first AP (CHERIAN, Fig. 4 and paragraphs 76-81.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in Shafin and Wang with a STA in a wireless network establishing one or more P2P links with one or more second STAs, the STA works as a P2P group owner to communicates with a first AP taught in CHERIAN to have receiving, from a first station (STA), an assistance request frame requesting that the first AP coordinates with a second AP to protect peer-to-peer (P2P) communication between the first STA and one or more second STAs, wherein a first basic service set (BSS) corresponding to the first AP and a second BSS corresponding to the second AP partially overlap; coordinating with the second AP to protect the P2P communication; and transmitting, to the first STA, an assistance response frame indicating an assistance provided by the second AP, as all components were active areas of 802.11be/802.11bn standardization.
For claim 10, Shafin, Wang and CHERIAN further the first AP of claim 9, wherein the assistance provided by the second AP is associated with a power control performed by the second AP (Shafin, Fig. 8 and paragraphs 4 and 7.).
For claim 11, Shafin, Wang and CHERIAN further teach the first AP of claim 9, wherein the assistance provided by the second AP is associated with reduction of interference to the P2P communication (Shafin, Fig. 9 and paragraphs 82 and 99.).
For claim 12, Shafin, Wang and CHERIAN further teach the first AP of claim 9, wherein the assistance provided by the second AP is associated with spatial reuse operation (Wang, Fig. 28 and paragraphs 6 and 43-45.).
For claim 13, Shafin, Wang and CHERIAN further teach the first AP of claim 9, wherein the first STA is an owner of a P2P group that includes the first STA and the one or more second STAs (CHERIAN, Fig. 4 and paragraphs 76-81.).
For claim 14, Shafin, Wang and CHERIAN further teach the first AP of claim 9, wherein the assistance request frame includes one or more assistance requests from one or more second STAs (Shafin, Fig. 19 and paragraphs 123-128.).
For claim 15, Shafin, Wang and CHERIAN further teach the first AP of claim 9, wherein the first STA is associated with the first AP (CHERIAN, Fig. 4 and paragraphs 76-81.).
For claim 16, Shafin, Wang and CHERIAN further teach the first AP of claim 9, wherein the first STA is not associated with the first AP, and the first AP and the one or more second STAs are members of an independent service set (IBSS) (Wang, Fig. 3 and paragraphs 48-49. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in Shafin, Wang and CHERIAN to have the first STA is not associated with the first AP, and the first STA and the one or more second STAs form an independent basic service set (IBSS), as all components were active areas of 802.11be/802.11bn standardization).
For claim 17, Shafin teaches a first access point (AP) in a wireless network (Shafin, Fig. 1 item 103.), comprising:
a memory (Shafin, Fig. 2A item 229.); and
a processor (Shafin, Fig. 2A item 224.) coupled to the memory, the processor configured to cause:
receiving, from a second AP, a first frame requesting the first AP to reduce interference (Shafin, Fig. 19 and paragraphs 123-128.), wherein a first basic service set (BSS) corresponding to the first AP and a second BSS corresponding to the second AP partially overlap (Shafin, Fig. 8 and paragraphs 95-98.);
transmitting, to the second AP, a second frame indicating an assistance that the first AP is able to provide (Shafin, Fig. 19 and paragraphs 123-128.); and
performing the assistance indicated in the second frame (Shafin, Fig. 19 and paragraphs 123-128.).
Wang also teaches transmitting, to a first access point (AP), report for the first AP coordinates with a second AP to reduce interference from the second AP (Wang, Fig. 6 and paragraph 53.), wherein a first basic service set (BSS) corresponding to the first AP and a second BSS corresponding to the second AP partially overlap (Wang, Fig. 7 and paragraph 54.);
receiving, from the first AP, a trigger indicating an assistance provided by the second AP in response to the report (Wang, Fig. 6 and paragraph 53.).
CHERIAN further teaches a STA in a wireless network establishing one or more P2P links with one or more second STAs, the STA works as a P2P group owner to communicates with a first AP (CHERIAN, Fig. 4 and paragraphs 76-81.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in Shafin and Wang with a STA in a wireless network establishing one or more P2P links with one or more second STAs, the STA works as a P2P group owner to communicates with a first AP taught in CHERIAN to have receiving, from a second AP, a first frame requesting the first AP to assist in protecting peer-to-peer (P2P) communication between a first STA and one or more second STAs, wherein a first basic service set (BSS) corresponding to the first AP and a second BSS corresponding to the second AP partially overlap; transmitting, to the second AP, a second frame indicating an assistance that the first AP is able to provide; and performing the assistance indicated in the second frame, as all components were active areas of 802.11be/802.11bn standardization.
For claim 18, Shafin, Wang and CHERIAN further teach the first AP of claim 17, wherein the assistance provided by the second AP is associated with a power control performed by the second AP (Shafin, Fig. 8 and paragraphs 4 and 7.).
For claim 19, Shafin, Wang and CHERIAN further teach the first AP of claim 17, wherein the assistance provided by the second AP is associated with reduction of interference to the P2P communication (Shafin, Fig. 9 and paragraphs 82 and 99.).
For claim 20, Shafin, Wang and CHERIAN further teach the first AP of claim 17, wherein the assistance provided by the second AP is associated with spatial reuse operation (Wang, Fig. 28 and paragraphs 6 and 43-45.).
Conclusion
/WILL W LIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412