DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
-Applicant argued that the combination does not explicitly disclose:
“classify the two or more network paths into a plurality of groups based on the
latency attribute of each of the two or more network paths;
receive a traffic flow for the network device;
narrow a selection search to network paths in a target group selected from the plurality of groups in response to receiving the traffic flow; and route the traffic flow to the network device via the selected target group”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees:
Domin discloses preemptively grouping paths in to different latency groups based on measured latency attribute, and when traffic is received, the traffics latency sensitivity level is mapped to the latency class of the paths and a path is selected from the respective latency sensitivity group. Domin in [0011-0013] discloses, a method that is provided for routing traffic between a base station and a next network node in a cellular communication network over one of a plurality of paths between them, wherein at least some of the plurality of paths have mutually different latency levels. The path over which the traffic is routed is selected based on latency requirements of the traffic and the latency level of the path (narrowing search); Domin in [0013] discloses path for routing the traffic may be selected based on pre-existing knowledge regarding the latency levels of the path. In light of the instant application stated in [0117], this corresponds to narrowing search; Domin further in [0026] discloses latency level measurements that are performed on every path between the node-B and the RNC in order to determine on which of the paths each type of traffic should be routed. The latency, which is measured, may be the Round Trip Time (RTT) or the one-way delay; It further discloses in [0028] that based on the latency measurements, every path is classified into a latency category (pre-emptive classification for narrow searching in only corresponding class). It is possible to define categories based on the range of the latency; [0029] The following table shows an example of such a classification.
-Low latency path category (path group) with latency range of 0ms<RTT<10ms -Medium latency path category with latency range of 10ms<RT50ms
-High latency path category with latency range of 50mRTT;… [0032] Every service and/or user of traffic routed from or to the node-B is classified in a latency sensitivity category. This corresponds to narrowing the search. All paths are not searched. Only paths in latency category similar with the latency category of the traffic are searched to transmit the traffic.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-14 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matthews (US pat. No. 10355981), further in view of Domin (US pg. no. 20100271950).
Regarding claim 1. Matthews discloses a device (fig.2, 200), comprising:
a processor (fig. 2, 250 packet processor);
a transceiver (fig.2, 280, path assignment subsystem), wherein the device is coupled to a network device via two or more network paths (fig. 7 710, 745, and 755 discloses Block 710 comprises receiving a packet, such as a packet 205, at a network device (device), 745 assign the packet to primary path and 755 send the packet along assigned path that corresponds to the device is connected with other device via path) and each network path of the two or more network paths is associated with an attribute (col. 36, 30-41 discloses the path group is a group of optimal and/or topographically shortest path (attribute)); and
a memory communicatively coupled to the processor, wherein the memory comprises a routing logic that is configured to:
classify the two or more network paths into a plurality of groups based on attribute (col. 36, 30-41 discloses the path group is a group of optimal and/or topographically shortest path (attribute)).
receive a traffic flow for the network device (fig. 7 discloses receive packet at 710);
select from the plurality of groups, a target group in response to receiving the traffic flow; and route the traffic flow to the network device via the selected target group (fig. 7, 715 discloses identify a path group associated with the packet; col. 36, 29-41 discloses Block 715 comprises identifying a path group associated with the packet…block 720 comprises identifying a primary path for the packet from the path group using primary path selection logic).
But, Mathews does not explicitly disclose:
each network path of the two or more network paths is associated with a latency attribute;
classify the two or more network paths into a plurality of groups based on the latency attribute of each of the two or more network paths;
narrow a selection search to network paths in a target group selected from the plurality of groups , in response to receiving the traffic flow;
However, in the same field of endeavor, Domin discloses each network path of the two or more network paths is associated with a latency attribute ([0015] based on the measurements each of the paths is classified in a latency category. Every service and/or user of traffic that may be routed between the base station and the next network node is allocated to a latency sensitivity category. A path for routing traffic can then be selected based on the latency sensitivity category of the service/user thereof and the latency category of the path; [0028] Based on the latency measurements, every path is classified into a latency category. It is possible to define categories based on the range of the latency.
[0029] The following table shows an example of such a classification.
-Low latency path category (path group) with latency range of 0ms<RTT<10ms
-Medium latency path category with latency range of 10ms<RT50ms
-High latency path category with latency range of 50mRTT).
classify the two or more network paths into a plurality of groups based on attribute the latency attribute of each of the two or more network paths ([0015] based on the measurements each of the paths is classified in a latency category. Every service and/or user of traffic that may be routed between the base station and the next network node is allocated to a latency sensitivity category. A path for routing traffic can then be selected based on the latency sensitivity category of the service/user thereof and the latency category of the path; [0028] Based on the latency measurements, every path is classified into a latency category. It is possible to define categories based on the range of the latency.
[0029] The following table shows an example of such a classification:
-Low latency path category (path group) with latency range of 0ms<RTT<10ms
-Medium latency path category with latency range of 10ms<RT50ms
-High latency path category with latency range of 50mRTT );
narrow a selection search to network paths in a target group selected from the plurality of groups , in response to receiving the traffic flow ([0011-0013] According to one embodiment, a method is provided for routing traffic between a base station and a next network node in a cellular communication network over one of a plurality of paths between them, wherein at least some of the plurality of paths have mutually different latency levels. The path over which the traffic is routed is selected based on latency requirements of the traffic and the latency level of the path; [0013] The path for routing the traffic may be selected based on pre-existing knowledge regarding the latency levels of the path. In light of the instant application stated in [0117], this corresponds to narrowing search; [0026] According to an exemplary implementation, latency level measurements are performed on every path between the node-B and the RNC in order to determine on which of the paths each type of traffic should be routed. The latency, which is measured, may be the Round Trip Time (RTT) or the one-way delay; [0028] Based on the latency measurements, every path is classified into a latency category (pre-emptive classification). It is possible to define categories based on the range of the latency; [0029] The following table shows an example of such a classification.
-Low latency path category (path group) with latency range of 0ms<RTT<10ms -Medium latency path category with latency range of 10ms<RT50ms
-High latency path category with latency range of 50mRTT;… [0032] Every service and/or user of traffic routed from or to the node-B is classified in a latency sensitivity category. This corresponds to narrowing the search. All paths are not searched. Only paths in latency category similar with the latency category of the traffic are searched to transmit the traffic).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was effectively filed to combine the teaching of Matthews with Domin. The modification would allow effective network system that ensures forwarding traffic on paths the ensure QoS level and a system where QoS requirements are satisfied on a differentiated and granular QoS requirement levels to effectively use resources to the level of QoS requirement only.
Regarding claim 2. The combination discloses device of claim 1.
Domin discloses, wherein the plurality of groups comprises at least a low latency group and a high latency group ([0028] Based on the latency measurements, every path is classified into a latency category. It is possible to define categories based on the range of the latency.
[0029] The following table shows an example of such a classification.
-Low latency path category (path group) with latency range of 0ms<RTT<10ms
-Medium latency path category with latency range of 10ms<RT50ms
-High latency path category with latency range of 50mRTT).
Regarding claim 3. The combination discloses device of claim 2.
Domin discloses , wherein the low latency group has lower transmission latency than the high latency group ([0028] Based on the latency measurements, every path is classified into a latency category. It is possible to define categories based on the range of the latency.
[0029] The following table shows an example of such a classification.
-Low latency path category (path group) with latency range of 0ms<RTT<10ms
-Medium latency path category with latency range of 10ms<RT50ms
-High latency path category with latency range of 50mRTT).
Regarding claim 4. The combination discloses device of claim 2.
Domin further discloses, wherein the plurality of groups further comprises a medium latency group ([0028] Based on the latency measurements, every path is classified into a latency category. It is possible to define categories based on the range of the latency.[0029] The following table shows an example of such a classification.
-Low latency path category (path group) with latency range of 0ms<RTT<10ms
-Medium latency path category with latency range of 10ms<RT50ms
-High latency path category with latency range of 50mRTT.
Regarding claim 5. The combination discloses device of claim 4.
Domin further discloses, wherein the medium latency group has lower transmission latency than the high latency group and higher transmission latency than the low latency group (([0028] Based on the latency measurements, every path is classified into a latency category. It is possible to define categories based on the range of the latency. [0029] The following table shows an example of such a classification.
-Low latency path category (path group) with latency range of 0ms<RTT<10ms
-Medium latency path category with latency range of 10ms<RT50ms
-High latency path category with latency range of 50mRTT).
Regarding claim 6. The combination discloses device of claim 1.
Domin further discloses, wherein each group of the plurality of groups is associated with a latency threshold range (([0028] Based on the latency measurements, every path is classified into a latency category. It is possible to define categories based on the range of the latency.
[0029] The following table shows an example of such a classification.
-Low latency path category (path group) with latency range of 0ms<RTT<10ms (latency threshold range)
-Medium latency path category with latency range of 10ms<RT50ms
-High latency path category with latency range of 50mRTT.
Regarding claim 7. The combination discloses device of claim 6.
Domin further discloses wherein to classify the two or more network paths into the plurality of groups, the routing logic is further configured to: compare the latency attribute of each of the two or more network paths with the latency threshold range of each of the plurality of groups, wherein the routing logic classifies a network path of the two or more network paths into one of the plurality of groups that is associated with the latency threshold range encompassing the latency attribute of the network path ([0028] Based on the latency measurements, every path is classified into a latency category. It is possible to define categories based on the range of the latency.
[0029] The following table shows an example of such a classification.
-Low latency path category (path group) with latency range of 0ms<RTT<10ms
-Medium latency path category with latency range of 10ms<RT50ms
-High latency path category with latency range of 50mRTT. The component that measures the path latency and classifying the paths in one of the three categories corresponds to routing logic; [0026] According to an exemplary implementation, latency level measurements are performed on every path between the node-B and the RNC in order to determine on which of the paths each type of traffic should be routed. The latency, which is measured, may be the Round Trip Time (RTT) or the one-way delay)
Regarding claim 8. The combination discloses device of claim 1.
Domin further discloses, wherein the traffic flow is associated with a service parameter ([0015] based on the measurements each of the paths is classified in a latency category. Every service (service parameter) traffic that may be routed between the base station and the next network node is allocated to a latency sensitivity category (service parameter). A path for routing traffic can then be selected based on the latency sensitivity category of the service thereof and the latency category (path group) of the path; [0032-0033] [0032] Every service and/or user of traffic routed from or to the node-B is classified in a latency sensitivity category the table in [0033] discloses service parameter requirements for each service. Service A needs less than 50ms (service parameter) latency, service B needs less than 20ms latency and service C need less than 100 ms latency. A latency category path is selected based on the service parameter).
Regarding claim 9. The combination discloses device of claim 8.
Domin discloses, wherein the routing logic selects, from the plurality of groups, the target group that satisfies the service parameter ([0015] based on the measurements each of the paths is classified in a latency category. Every service and/or user of traffic that may be routed between the base station and the next network node is allocated to a latency sensitivity category. A path for routing traffic can then be selected based on the latency sensitivity category of the service/user thereof and the latency category of the path).
Regarding claim 10. The combination discloses device of claim 9.
Domin discloses, wherein the service parameter is configured to indicate a latency requirement associated with the traffic flow ([0032-0033] [0032] Every service and/or user of traffic routed from or to the node-B is classified in a latency sensitivity category the table in [0033] discloses service parameter requirements for each service. Service A needs less than 50ms (service parameter) latency, service B needs less than 20ms latency and service C need less than 100 ms latency. A latency category path is selected based on the service parameter) .
Regarding claim 11. The combination discloses device of claim 8.
Domin discloses, wherein the routing logic is further configured to maintain a routing table comprising the plurality of groups, each group of the plurality of groups being mapped to a corresponding latency threshold range in the routing table ( [0017] Each latency sensitivity category may be mapped to a path that is selected first for routing the traffic and a further path that is selected for routing in case of congestion on the first selected path. [0036] disclose The packet scheduler of the node-B/RNC maps the THP/ARP combination to a path and routes the corresponding traffic over this selected path).
Regarding claim 12. The combination discloses device of claim 11.
Domin discloses, wherein the routing logic is further configured to look up in the routing table based on the service parameter, and wherein the routing logic selects from the plurality of groups, the target group having the corresponding latency threshold range that satisfies the service parameter ([0015] According to an embodiment of the present invention, based on the measurements each of the paths is classified in a latency category (the category information stored corresponds to table). Every service and/or user of traffic that may be routed between the base station and the next network node is allocated to a latency sensitivity category (allocation is performed by mapping the service traffic to category level). A path for routing traffic can then be selected based on the latency sensitivity category (service parameter) of the service/user thereof and the latency category of the path (path group); [0017] Each latency sensitivity category may be mapped to a path that is selected first for routing the traffic and a further path that is selected for routing in case of congestion on the first selected path).
Regarding claim 13. The combination discloses device of claim 1.
Domin discloses , wherein each of the plurality of groups comprises a set of network paths, of the two or more network paths, classified into corresponding group (([0015] based on the measurements each of the paths is classified in a latency category. Every service and/or user of traffic that may be routed between the base station and the next network node is allocated to a latency sensitivity category. A path for routing traffic can then be selected based on the latency sensitivity category of the service/user thereof and the latency category of the path; [0028] Based on the latency measurements, every path is classified into a latency category. It is possible to define categories based on the range of the latency.
[0029] The following table shows an example of such a classification:
-Low latency path category (path group) with latency range of 0ms<RTT<10ms
-Medium latency path category with latency range of 10ms<RT50ms
-High latency path category with latency range of 50mRTT).
Regarding claim 14. The combination discloses device of claim 13.
Domin discloses, wherein to route the traffic flow via the target group, the routing logic is further configured to execute load balancing among the set of network paths classified into the target group ([0026] According to an exemplary implementation, latency level measurements are performed on every path between the node-B and the RNC in order to determine on which of the paths each type of traffic should be routed. [0017] in case that the selected path is congested a further path is selected (load balancing) for routing the traffic having a different latency level than the selected path).
Regarding claim 17. The combination discloses device of claim 1.
Domin discloses, wherein prior to classifying the two or more network paths, the routing logic is further configured to determine the latency attribute associated with each of the two or more network paths ([0015] based on the measurements each of the paths is classified in a latency category. Every service and/or user of traffic that may be routed between the base station and the next network node is allocated to a latency sensitivity category. A path for routing traffic can then be selected based on the latency sensitivity category of the service/user thereof and the latency category of the path; [0028] Based on the latency measurements, every path is classified into a latency category. It is possible to define categories based on the range of the latency.
[0029] The following table shows an example of such a classification:
-Low latency path category (path group) with latency range of 0ms<RTT<10ms
-Medium latency path category with latency range of 10ms<RT50ms
-High latency path category with latency range of 50mRTT.
Regarding claim 18. The combination discloses a device comprising:
each network path of the two or more network paths is associated with one or more service attributes ([0015] based on the measurements each of the paths is classified in a latency category. Every service and/or user of traffic that may be routed between the base station and the next network node is allocated to a latency sensitivity category. A path for routing traffic can then be selected based on the latency sensitivity category of the service/user thereof and the latency category of the path; [0028] Based on the latency measurements, every path is classified into a latency category. It is possible to define categories based on the range of the latency[0029] The following table shows an example of such a classification.
-Low latency path category (path group) with latency range of 0ms<RTT<10ms
-Medium latency path category with latency range of 10ms<RT50ms
-High latency path category with latency range of 50mRTT).
classify the two or more network paths into a plurality of groups based on at least one of the one or more service attributes ([0015] based on the measurements each of the paths is classified in a latency category. Every service and/or user of traffic that may be routed between the base station and the next network node is allocated to a latency sensitivity category. A path for routing traffic can then be selected based on the latency sensitivity category of the service/user thereof and the latency category of the path; [0028] Based on the latency measurements, every path is classified into a latency category. It is possible to define categories based on the range of the latency.
[0029] The following table shows an example of such a classification:
-Low latency path category (path group) with latency range of 0ms<RTT<10ms
-Medium latency path category with latency range of 10ms<RT50ms
-High latency path category with latency range of 50mRTT );
All other limitations of claim 18 are similar with the limitations of claim 1 and are rejected on the analysis of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 19. The combination discloses device of claim 18.
Domin discloses, wherein prior to classifying the two or more network paths, the routing logic is further configured to determine the one or more service attributes associated with each of the two or more network paths ([0014] A plurality of measurements (service attributes) may be performed on each of the paths (prior to classification) and the variation of the latency level thereon may be determined. It may be useful to take the variation of the latency level into account for routing traffic, which is sensitive to jitter. [0015] According to an embodiment of the present invention, based on the measurements each of the paths is classified in a latency category; ([0028] Based on the latency measurements, every path is classified into a latency category. It is possible to define categories based on the range of the latency.
[0029] The following table shows an example of such a classification.
-Low latency path category (path group) with latency range of 0ms<RTT<10ms (service attribute)
-Medium latency path category with latency range of 10ms<RT50ms
-High latency path category with latency range of 50mRTT. The component that measures the path latency and classifying the paths in one of the three categories corresponds to routing logic).
Regarding claim 20. A routing method, comprising:
All other limitations of claim 18 are similar with the limitations of claim 1 and are rejected on the analysis of claim 1 above.
Claim(s) 15 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Matthews (US pat. No. 10355981), and Domin (US pg. no. 2010271950), further in view of (Clearing Confusion about Distributed Disaggregated Chassis for AI), herein after DSF.
Regarding claim 15. The combination discloses device of claim 1.
But, the combination does not explicitly disclose: wherein the device is a leaf switch in a disaggregated scheduled fabric.
However, in the same field of endeavor, DSF discloses wherein the device is a leaf switch in a disaggregated scheduled fabric wherein the device is a leaf switch in a disaggregated scheduled fabric ((The figure discloses a leaf-spine of a disaggregated schedule fabric topology designed for high performance, large scale cluster AI/ML cluster). The leaf of the DSF corresponds to leaf).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was effectively filed to combine the teaching of the combination with DSF. The modification would allow traffic allocation and forwarding in high performance, large scale cluster AI/ML cluster that ensures the QoS requirements of the flow.
Regarding claim 16. The combination discloses device of claim 1.
The combination does not explicitly disclose: wherein the traffic flow is associated with an AI/ML workflow.
However, in the same field of endeavor, DSF discloses wherein the traffic flow is associated with an AI/ML workflow ((The figure discloses a leaf-spine of a disaggregated schedule fabric topology designed for high performance, large scale cluster AI/ML cluster). The leaf of the DSF corresponds to leaf).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was effectively filed to combine the teaching of the combination with DSF. The modification would allow traffic allocation and forwarding in high performance, large scale cluster AI/ML cluster that ensures the QoS requirements of the flow.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
-US pg. no. 20240031292
-US pg. no. 20210297925, fig. 11, [0114-0118].
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MESSERET F GEBRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2445