DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed May 11, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive in view of the new grounds of rejection set forth below addressing the amendments to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 11-14, 16-19, 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Silverman (US 3589356).
Regarding claim 1, Silverman discloses an inverting swab sleeve device for use with a swab actuator, the device comprising: an inverting swab sleeve (21) comprising an inverted tube (21) of material having a first closed end (end over engagement cap is ‘closed’ since it does not allow anything to pass therethrough) and an open second end (at reference number 24 or 53) configured to be freely slidable over the inverted tube (figure 1) and fit into an ear canal (C:1, L:10-25, cavities, pipes, and openings of all types, sizes shapes and dimensions), a cuff (11) coupled to the second open end and configured to move over the inverted tube during actuation (figure 1) and an engagement cap (see image below, 35, 39, 40a, 44) coupled to a first end of the inverting swab sleeve, wherein the inverted tube is inverted over the engagement cap so that the engagement cap is within the inverted tube, further wherein the engagement cap is configured to engage with the swab actuator (17, or other arbitrary actuator to advance member 22 since the actuator is not positively claimed).
Regarding claim 2, Silverman discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 1, the inverting swab sleeve comprises an absorbent material (absorbent porous powder 54, C:5, L:20-36, C:6, L:16-25).
Regarding claim 3, Silverman discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 1, wherein the inverting swab sleeve comprises a non-absorbent material (plastic tubing 21, C:5, L:20-36).
Regarding claim 4, Silverman discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 1, wherein the inverting swab sleeve comprises an inverted tube of absorbent material (C:5, L:30-36, C:6, L:16-25, porous powder is on the surface of the tube and inverted and thus creates an inverted tube).
Regarding claim 5, Silverman discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 1, wherein the inverting swab sleeve comprises an inverted tube of non-absorbent material (plastic tubing 21).
Regarding claim 11, Silverman discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 1, further comprising a loading tube (10, 14, 16, 17, 18) covering the inverting swab sleeve.
Regarding claim 12, Silverman discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 11, wherein the loading tube (10, 14, 16,17) comprises a centering securement (15, 16, 17, 18) configured to releasably hold the engagement cap in a radially centered region of the loading tube (figure 1, 3, 4).
Regarding claim 13, Silverman discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 12, wherein the centering securement comprises (15, 16, 17, 18) a projection configured to hold the engagement cap in the radially centered region of the loading tube (18).
Regarding claim 14, Silverman discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 12, wherein the centering securement comprises (15, 16, 17, 18) a tapered distal end region (see image below) configured to hold the engagement cap in the radially centered region of the loading tube (figure 1).
Regarding claim 16, Silverman discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 1, wherein the engagement cap comprises a bullet shape (see image below).
Regarding claim 17, Silverman discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 1, wherein the engagement cap comprises a plurality of projections on an outer surface of the engagement cap (see image below).
Regarding claim 18, Silverman discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 17, wherein the plurality of projections comprise one or more of: ridges, bumps, rings, or dimples (figure 4, see image above).
Regarding claim 19, Silverman discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 1, further comprising a cuff (13 or 12) at a second end of the inverted tube of material.
Regarding claim 21, Silverman discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 19, wherein the cuff (12) comprises a tapered and funnel-shaped inner diameter (figure 1, smooth tapered cylindrical shape) .
Regarding claim 22, Silverman discloses an inverting swab sleeve device for use with a swab actuator, the device comprising: an inverting swab sleeve (21) comprising an inverted tube (21) of absorbent material (absorbent porous powder 54, C:5, L:20-36, C:6, L:16-25) having a first closed end (end over engagement cap is ‘closed’ since it does not allow anything to pass therethrough) and an open second end (at reference number 24 or 53) configured to be freely slidable over the inverted tube (figure 1), an engagement cap (see image above, 40a, 41, 39, 35, 36, 45, 44) coupled to the closed end of the inverting swab sleeve, wherein the inverted tube is inverted over the engagement cap so that the engagement cap is within the inverted tube and wherein the engagement cap comprises a friction interface that is configured to removably engage with the swab actuator (under BRI any structure can be a ‘friction interface’ since any surface will inherently have friction with another surface and the swab actuator is not positively recited ); and a cuff (11) at the second end of the inverted tube of absorbent material configured to hold the open second end open and to move over the inverted tube during actuation.
Regarding claim 23, Silverman discloses an inverting swab sleeve device for use with a swab actuator, the device comprising: an inverting swab sleeve (21) having a first closed end (end over engagement cap is ‘closed’ since it does not allow anything to pass therethrough) and an open second end (at reference number 24 or 53) configured to be freely slidable and comprising an inverted tube of absorbent material (absorbent porous powder 54, C:5, L:20-36, C:6, L:16-25) having a closed first end and an open second end configured to be freely slidable over the inverted tube configured to fit into an ear canal (C:1, L:10-25, cavities, pipes, and openings of all types, sizes shapes and dimensions) and an engagement cap (see image below, 40a, 41, 39, 35, 36, 45, 44) coupled to first end of the inverting swab sleeve, wherein the inverted tube is inverted over the engagement cap so that the engagement cap is within the inverted tube (figures 1-4), further wherein the engagement cap is configured to releasably engage with the swab actuator (any arbitrary swab actuator can be configured such that it engages the engagement cap in a ‘releasable’ manner and meet the claim limitations since the swab actuator is not positively recited) with the swab actuator (17, or other arbitrary actuator to advance member 22 since the actuator is not positively claimed) ; and a cuff (11) at a second end of the inverted tube of absorbent material (figure 1) configured to move over the inverted tube during actuation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 8, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Silverman (US 3589356) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Heaton et al (US 6200288).
Regarding claims 6 and 8, Silverman discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 1, but does not disclose the inverting swab sleeve comprises an inverted tube of a cellulose fiber material. Heaton et al (hereafter Heaton) teaches an inverting toroid device (1) for insertion into a body cavity comprising an inverting swab sleeve comprising an inverted tube of a cellulose fiber or woven synthetic material (C:3, L:60) to provide suitable flexibility and inverting characteristics. Therefore, it would have been within the level of one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to make the inverting swab sleeve of Silverman further comprise a cellulose fiber or a woven material, as taught as a known material in the art at the time of the invention for inverting swab sleeves by Heaton, in order to provide suitable flexibility and inverting characteristics since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claims 9 and 10, Silverman discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 1, wherein the invention can be used in openings, cavities, and pipes of all types, sizes, shapes and dimensions, but does not disclose the dimensions of the inverting swab sleeve. However, Heaton teaches an inverting toroid device for insertion into a body cavity comprising an inverting swab sleeve comprising an inverted tube (1), wherein the inverting swab sleeve has a diameter of between 2 to about 30mm, or 6-8mm, and a length that is about 5-40 times the diameter, which could result in a device between 1.5-15 cm long. Therefore, it would have been within the level of one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to configure the swab sleeve of Silverman to have a diameter of between 3mm and 10mm and be between 1.5 and 15 cm long, as taught as known dimensions in the art at the time of the invention by Heaton, depending on the specific cavity into which it is inserted since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Silverman (US 3589356) as applied to claim 19 above, and further in view of Wallace et al (US 20190343538).
Regarding claim 7, Silverman discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 1, but does not teach the inverting swab sleeve comprises an inverted tube of knitted material. However, Wallace et al (hereafter Wallace) teaches an inverting tube for the introduction into body lumens, wherein Wallace teaches it was known in the art at the time of the invention that woven, braided, and knitted materials were known materials for flexible inverting tubes at the time of the invention (paragraph 0041). Therefore, it would have been obvious to make the inverting swab sleeve comprise an inverted tube of knitted material in the device of Silverman, as taught as a known material by Wallace, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Silverman (US 3589356).
Regarding claim 15, Silverman discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 1, but does not disclose the engagement cap (40a) comprises a rubber material. However, Silverman discloses that the tube (which includes engagement cap 40a on a distal end thereof) is flexible to bend around the twists and turns of the body cavity (C:4, L:20-32). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to make the engagement cap 40a on the distal end of the tube (40) of Silverman out of a rubber material as a known material for flexible tubing for medical devices, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Silverman (US 3589356) as applied to claim 19 above, and further in view of Place (US 5482039).
Regarding claim 20, Silverman discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 19, but does not disclose the material of the cuff (12). Place teaches that it was known in the art at the time of the invention to make devices for insertion into body cavities and lumens relatively soft and flexible for purposes of comfort and merely sufficient rigidity to facilitate insertion (C:5, L:51-60). Therefore, it would have been within the level of one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to make the outer cuff (12) for insertion in the device of Silverman to comprise a low durometer material, as taught as known in the art at the time of the invention for devices inserted into the body by Place, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANH T DANG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771