DETAILED ACTION
Introduction
This office action is in response to communications filed 08/02/2024. Claims 1-20 are pending and likewise have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/03/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 6, 9-10, 12, 14, 17-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Leach et al (US 20240386046 A1).
Regarding Claim 1:
Leach teaches an information search method, comprising: in response to receiving a question message on an artificial intelligence (AI) dialogue interface, acquiring an aggregated answer result matching the question message(Para [0002], Ln 1-14, In response to a search query (“moving to Milwaukee”), a search engine may obtain search results responsive to that search query, select a set of responsive documents (e.g., top X number of search results) from the search results, and generate a plurality of themes (e.g., “neighborhoods”, “cost of living”, “things to do”, “pros and cons”, etc.) from the content of the responsive documents. See Fig 1B. Para [0050], Ln 9-16, A theme may include a phrase, generated by a language model, that describes a theme included in the responsive documents),
wherein the aggregated answer result is determined by content consumption modes corresponding to a message subject scope of the question message, the content consumption modes comprise a deep consumption mode and a broad consumption mode, and respective answer results in the aggregated answer result obtained in the broad consumption mode are capable of being consumed twice using the deep consumption mode(Para [0002], Ln 1-14, In response to a search query (“moving to Milwaukee”), a search engine may obtain search results responsive to that search query, select a set of responsive documents (e.g., top X number of search results) from the search results, and generate a plurality of themes (e.g., “neighborhoods”, “cost of living”, “things to do”, “pros and cons”, etc.). Para [0052], Ln 1-18, When a user selects a particular theme (e.g., “neighborhoods”), the search results page may display a portion of the search results that relate to (e.g., were arranged/organized into) the selected theme. In some examples, when a user selects a particular theme (e.g., “neighborhoods”), the system may generate a new (second) search query to refine the original (first) query (e.g., “moving to Denver” and “neighborhoods”), which causes the search engine to obtain new (second) search results. In some examples, at least a portion of the second search results is displayed with respect to the selected theme);
and displaying the respective answer results comprised in the aggregated answer result on the AI dialogue interface(Para [0052], Ln 1-18, When a user selects a particular theme (e.g., “neighborhoods”), the search results page may display a portion of the search results that relate to (e.g., were arranged/organized into) the selected theme. In some examples, when a user selects a particular theme (e.g., “neighborhoods”), the system may generate a new (second) search query to refine the original (first) query (e.g., “moving to Denver” and “neighborhoods”), which causes the search engine to obtain new (second) search results. In some examples, at least a portion of the second search results is displayed with respect to the selected theme. Examiner notes that alternatively, the displaying of the results before selection could read on the limitation as the claim does not specify clearly which it the case, Para [0002], Ln 1-14, In response to a search query (“moving to Milwaukee”), a search engine may obtain search results responsive to that search query, select a set of responsive documents (e.g., top X number of search results) from the search results, and generate a plurality of themes (e.g., “neighborhoods”, “cost of living”, “things to do”, “pros and cons”, etc.)).
Regarding Claim 2:
Leach teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein after displaying the respective answer results comprised in the aggregated answer result, the method further comprises: displaying a plurality of guiding icons below a target answer result, wherein different guiding icons are used for result consumption of the target answer result in different functional dimensions(See fig 3B, related search query and “more” button below thematic search result. Para [0107], Ln 1-5, 3A and 3B illustrate an example of a user interface 356 of a browser application that displays themes 330 and thematic search results. Para [0108], Ln 22-25, thematic search results 319a, 319b, and 319c may include one or more query suggestions 348 related to a respective theme of the themes).
Regarding Claim 4:
Leach teaches the method according to claim 2, wherein the guiding icons comprise a second icon having an information recommendation function(Para [0130], Ln 1-14, In response to selection of a particular theme 1330 (e.g., theme 1330a), the search results page 1360 may display thematic search results 1319a pertaining to theme 1330a. In some examples, the thematic search results 1319a may include one or more query suggestions 1348 that are related to the theme 1330a);
after displaying the plurality of guiding icons, the method further comprises: in response to triggering the second icon, acquiring a plurality of recommended question messages associated with the target answer result, wherein the recommended question messages are generated using an AI model according to the target answer result and the question message(Para [0108], Ln 22-28, the query suggestions 348 included within a respective thematic search results are generated by the thematic search engine. Para [0064], Ln 1-8, theme generator 168 may use a language model 128. Para [0130], Ln 1-14, In response to selection of a particular theme 1330 (e.g., theme 1330a), the search results page 1360 may display thematic search results 1319a pertaining to theme 1330a. In some examples, the thematic search results 1319a may include one or more query suggestions 1348 that are related to the theme 1330a);
and displaying the plurality of recommended question messages(Para [0130], Ln 1-14, In response to selection of a particular theme 1330 (e.g., theme 1330a), the search results page 1360 may display thematic search results 1319a pertaining to theme 1330a. In some examples, the thematic search results 1319a may include one or more query suggestions 1348 that are related to the theme 1330a);
and after displaying the plurality of recommended question messages, the method further comprises: displaying any recommended question message that is triggered as a new question message on the AI dialogue interface, and displaying a new aggregated answer result matching the new question message(See Fig 3b, element 348. Para [0108], Ln 22-28, the query suggestions 348 included within a respective thematic search results are generated by the thematic search engine. Para [0002], Ln 1-14, In response to a search query (“moving to Milwaukee”), a search engine may obtain search results responsive to that search query, select a set of responsive documents (e.g., top X number of search results) from the search results, and generate a plurality of themes (e.g., “neighborhoods”, “cost of living”, “things to do”, “pros and cons”, etc.) from the content of the responsive documents. See Fig 1B. Para [0050], Ln 9-16, A theme may include a phrase, generated by a language model, that describes a theme included in the responsive documents).
Regarding Claim 6:
Leach teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the aggregated answer result is determined by the following steps: determining a scope index for indicating the message subject scope of the question message according to information semantics of the question message using an AI model;(Para [0062], Ln 1-29, a search query 142 for “dogs” would have a broad breadth and may include search results 118 on various breeds of dogs, dog training, dog care, etc. In contrast, some answer-type search queries (“what is the capital of France”) may have a narrow breadth in which the user is looking for a single (or few) right search result(s) 118. In some examples, the thematic search engine 120 may compute a breadth value for a search query 142, where the breadth value may represent a level of broadness or narrowness of the search query 142. If the breadth value is above a threshold value, the thematic search engine 120 may be configured to compute thematic data 138 for the search query 142, and, if the breadth value is below the threshold value, the thematic search engine 120 may not compute thematic data 138 for the search query. In some examples, the thematic search engine 120 is configured to attempt to generate thematic data 138 for every search query 142, but if no themes 130 are detected or the number of themes 130 is equal to or less than a threshold value (e.g., one, two, etc.), the thematic data 138 is not displayed in the search results page 160. Para [0064], Ln 1-6, The thematic search engine 120 includes a theme generator 168 that generates themes 130 from the set 124 of responsive documents 126. In some examples, the theme generator 168 may use a language model. Abstract, Ln 1-14, where the thematic data includes the plurality of themes and thematic search results)
and in response to the scope index being less than a preset index, aggregating answer results matching the question message from a plurality of information source channels according to the information semantics of the question message, to obtain the aggregated answer result(Para [0062], Ln 1-29, the thematic search engine 120 may compute a breadth value for a search query 142, where the breadth value may represent a level of broadness or narrowness of the search query 142. If the breadth value is above a threshold value, the thematic search engine 120 may be configured to compute thematic data 138 for the search query 142, and, if the breadth value is below the threshold value, the thematic search engine 120 may not compute thematic data 138 for the search query. In some examples, the thematic search engine 120 is configured to attempt to generate thematic data 138 for every search query 142, but if no themes 130 are detected or the number of themes 130 is equal to or less than a threshold value (e.g., one, two, etc.), the thematic data 138 is not displayed in the search results page 160).
Regarding Claim 9:
Leach teaches a computer device, comprising a processor and a memory, wherein the memory stores machine-readable instructions executable by the processor, the processor is configured to execute the machine-readable instructions stored in the memory, and when the machine-readable instructions are executed by the processor, the processor performs an information search method, which comprises(Para [0004], Ln 1-10, techniques described herein relate to an apparatus including: at least one processor; and a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing executable instructions that cause the at least one processor to: in response to a search query for web content, obtain search results):
in response to receiving a question message on an artificial intelligence (AI) dialogue interface, acquiring an aggregated answer result matching the question message(Para [0002], Ln 1-14, In response to a search query (“moving to Milwaukee”), a search engine may obtain search results responsive to that search query, select a set of responsive documents (e.g., top X number of search results) from the search results, and generate a plurality of themes (e.g., “neighborhoods”, “cost of living”, “things to do”, “pros and cons”, etc.) from the content of the responsive documents. See Fig 1B. Para [0050], Ln 9-16, A theme may include a phrase, generated by a language model, that describes a theme included in the responsive documents),
wherein the aggregated answer result is determined by content consumption modes corresponding to a message subject scope of the question message, the content consumption modes comprise a deep consumption mode and a broad consumption mode, and respective answer results in the aggregated answer result obtained in the broad consumption mode are capable of being consumed twice using the deep consumption mode(Para [0002], Ln 1-14, In response to a search query (“moving to Milwaukee”), a search engine may obtain search results responsive to that search query, select a set of responsive documents (e.g., top X number of search results) from the search results, and generate a plurality of themes (e.g., “neighborhoods”, “cost of living”, “things to do”, “pros and cons”, etc.). Para [0052], Ln 1-18, When a user selects a particular theme (e.g., “neighborhoods”), the search results page may display a portion of the search results that relate to (e.g., were arranged/organized into) the selected theme. In some examples, when a user selects a particular theme (e.g., “neighborhoods”), the system may generate a new (second) search query to refine the original (first) query (e.g., “moving to Denver” and “neighborhoods”), which causes the search engine to obtain new (second) search results. In some examples, at least a portion of the second search results is displayed with respect to the selected theme);
and displaying the respective answer results comprised in the aggregated answer result on the AI dialogue interface(Para [0052], Ln 1-18, When a user selects a particular theme (e.g., “neighborhoods”), the search results page may display a portion of the search results that relate to (e.g., were arranged/organized into) the selected theme. In some examples, when a user selects a particular theme (e.g., “neighborhoods”), the system may generate a new (second) search query to refine the original (first) query (e.g., “moving to Denver” and “neighborhoods”), which causes the search engine to obtain new (second) search results. In some examples, at least a portion of the second search results is displayed with respect to the selected theme. Examiner notes that alternatively, the displaying of the results before selection could read on the limitation as the claim does not specify clearly which it the case, Para [0002], Ln 1-14, In response to a search query (“moving to Milwaukee”), a search engine may obtain search results responsive to that search query, select a set of responsive documents (e.g., top X number of search results) from the search results, and generate a plurality of themes (e.g., “neighborhoods”, “cost of living”, “things to do”, “pros and cons”, etc.)).
Regarding Claim 10:
Claim 10 contains similar limitations as Claim 2 and is therefore rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding Claim 12:
Claim 12 contains similar limitations as Claim 4 and is therefore rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding Claim 14:
Claim 14 contains similar limitations as Claim 6 and is therefore rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding Claim 17:
Leach teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, storing a computer program, wherein when the computer program is executed by a computer device, the computer device performs an information search method, which comprises(Para [0004], Ln 1-10, techniques described herein relate to an apparatus including: at least one processor; and a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing executable instructions that cause the at least one processor to: in response to a search query for web content, obtain search results):
in response to receiving a question message on an artificial intelligence (AI) dialogue interface, acquiring an aggregated answer result matching the question message(Para [0002], Ln 1-14, In response to a search query (“moving to Milwaukee”), a search engine may obtain search results responsive to that search query, select a set of responsive documents (e.g., top X number of search results) from the search results, and generate a plurality of themes (e.g., “neighborhoods”, “cost of living”, “things to do”, “pros and cons”, etc.) from the content of the responsive documents. See Fig 1B. Para [0050], Ln 9-16, A theme may include a phrase, generated by a language model, that describes a theme included in the responsive documents),
wherein the aggregated answer result is determined by content consumption modes corresponding to a message subject scope of the question message, the content consumption modes comprise a deep consumption mode and a broad consumption mode, and respective answer results in the aggregated answer result obtained in the broad consumption mode are capable of being consumed twice using the deep consumption mode(Para [0002], Ln 1-14, In response to a search query (“moving to Milwaukee”), a search engine may obtain search results responsive to that search query, select a set of responsive documents (e.g., top X number of search results) from the search results, and generate a plurality of themes (e.g., “neighborhoods”, “cost of living”, “things to do”, “pros and cons”, etc.). Para [0052], Ln 1-18, When a user selects a particular theme (e.g., “neighborhoods”), the search results page may display a portion of the search results that relate to (e.g., were arranged/organized into) the selected theme. In some examples, when a user selects a particular theme (e.g., “neighborhoods”), the system may generate a new (second) search query to refine the original (first) query (e.g., “moving to Denver” and “neighborhoods”), which causes the search engine to obtain new (second) search results. In some examples, at least a portion of the second search results is displayed with respect to the selected theme);
and displaying the respective answer results comprised in the aggregated answer result on the AI dialogue interface(Para [0052], Ln 1-18, When a user selects a particular theme (e.g., “neighborhoods”), the search results page may display a portion of the search results that relate to (e.g., were arranged/organized into) the selected theme. In some examples, when a user selects a particular theme (e.g., “neighborhoods”), the system may generate a new (second) search query to refine the original (first) query (e.g., “moving to Denver” and “neighborhoods”), which causes the search engine to obtain new (second) search results. In some examples, at least a portion of the second search results is displayed with respect to the selected theme. Examiner notes that alternatively, the displaying of the results before selection could read on the limitation as the claim does not specify clearly which it the case, Para [0002], Ln 1-14, In response to a search query (“moving to Milwaukee”), a search engine may obtain search results responsive to that search query, select a set of responsive documents (e.g., top X number of search results) from the search results, and generate a plurality of themes (e.g., “neighborhoods”, “cost of living”, “things to do”, “pros and cons”, etc.)).
Regarding Claim 18:
Claim 18 contains similar limitations as Claim 2 and is therefore rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding Claim 20:
Claim 20 contains similar limitations as Claim 4 and is therefore rejected for the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 11 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leach as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Hudetz et al. (US 20240370479 A1).
Regarding Claim 3:
Leach teaches the method according to claim 2, but does not teach wherein the guiding icons comprise a first icon having a result content interpretation function; and after displaying the plurality of guiding icons, the method further comprises: acquiring result content interpretation information matching the first icon, wherein the result content interpretation information is generated using an AI model according to the target answer result, and is used for parsing the target answer result; and displaying the result content interpretation information.
In the same field of document searching, Hudetz teaches wherein the guiding icons comprise a first icon having a result content interpretation function(Para [0276], Ln 1-12, user device 1802, via the UI 1806, may be configured to retrieve one or more electronic documents…..Once the electronic document is retrieved, the user may use one or more electronically selectable elements (e.g., buttons, sliders, links, etc.) to request the system 1800 to generate an abstractive summary of the electronic document);
and after displaying the plurality of guiding icons, the method further comprises: acquiring result content interpretation information matching the first icon, wherein the result content interpretation information is generated using an AI model according to the target answer result, and is used for parsing the target answer result(Para [0276], Ln 1-12, user device 1802, via the UI 1806, may be configured to retrieve one or more electronic documents…..Once the electronic document is retrieved, the user may use one or more electronically selectable elements (e.g., buttons, sliders, links, etc.) to request the system 1800 to generate an abstractive summary of the electronic document. Para [0160], Ln 1-21, Abstractive summaries are particularly useful for summarizing long and complex documents…By generating a new summary that captures the most important information and ideas from the original content in a more readable format, abstractive summaries can help readers quickly understand and digest the key takeaways without having to read the entire document);
and displaying the result content interpretation information(Para [0234], Ln 1-8, presenting the abstractive summary on various output devices of a client device 212, such as an electronic display).
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, at the effective time of filling, to modify Leach with the summary generation of Hudetz, as it improves the users experience by making it easier to understand the documents(Para [0160], Ln 1-21).
Regarding Claim 11:
Claim 11 contains similar limitations as Claim 3 and is therefore rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding Claim 19:
Claim 19 contains similar limitations as Claim 3 and is therefore rejected for the same reasons.
Claim(s) 5 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leach as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Hintz et al. (US 20210406723 A1).
Regarding Claim 5:
Leach teaches the method according to claim 2, but does not teach wherein the guiding icons comprise a third icon having a result deletion function; and after displaying the plurality of guiding icons, the method further comprises: in response to triggering the third icon, deleting the target answer result, and updating display positions of respective answer results, other than the target answer result, in the aggregated answer result; or in response to triggering the third icon, deleting the target answer result and a corresponding associated answer result, and updating display positions of respective answer results, other than the target answer result and the associated answer result, in the aggregated answer result, wherein the associated answer result is an answer result in the aggregated answer result that has a result relevance greater than a preset relevance with the target answer result.
In the same field of Search, Hintz teaches wherein the guiding icons comprise a third icon having a result deletion function; and after displaying the plurality of guiding icons, the method further comprises: in response to triggering the third icon, deleting the target answer result, and updating display positions of respective answer results, other than the target answer result, in the aggregated answer result(Para [0071], Ln 1-9, FIG. 4C illustrates example view 430 in which search result 408 is removed from the canvas in response to actuation of irrelevant training control element 422. Accordingly, the display of search results 410-416 is updated to shift search results 410-416 to fill the region previously occupied by search result. See Fig 4C);
or in response to triggering the third icon, deleting the target answer result and a corresponding associated answer result, and updating display positions of respective answer results, other than the target answer result and the associated answer result, in the aggregated answer result, wherein the associated answer result is an answer result in the aggregated answer result that has a result relevance greater than a preset relevance with the target answer result(optional limitation).
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, at the effective time of filling to modify Leach with the feedback system of Hintz, as it can help improve the search system by making results more relevant(Para [0072], Ln 11-22).
Regarding Claim 13:
Claim 13 contains similar limitations as Claim 5 and is therefore rejected for the same reasons.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-8 and 15-16 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 7:
Leach teaches the method according to claim 6, but does not teach further comprising: in response to the scope index being greater than or equal to the preset index, determining respective consumption directions corresponding to the question message according to the information semantics of the question message; generating, for any consumption direction, an answer result matching the consumption direction according to the information semantics; and determining the aggregated answer result according to answer results matching the respective consumption directions.
The prior art of record alone or in combination does not teach the above limitations.
Claim 15 contains similar limitations as Claim 7, and therefore also contains allowable subject matter.
Claims 8 and 16 depend on a claim containing allowable subject matter and therefore also contain allowable subject matter.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yoon et al. (US 10866976 B1)
Determination of broad and narrow search queries using browse nodes.
Mital et al. (US 20200159856 A1)
Recommendation of additional search queries, generated by machine learning model.
Lai et al. (US 20170147710 A1)
Search user interface with summary and specific modes and switching between modes.
Ware et al. (US 9607100 B1)
Search suggestions creation based on user search strings and related user’s searches.
/ALEXANDER G MARLOW/ Assistant Examiner, Art Unit 2658
/RICHEMOND DORVIL/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2658