Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6, 9-11, 14, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Suraj Prabhakar Waghulde (US 2017/0212680).
Regarding Claims 9, 17, and 1, Graefe discloses an electronic device, comprising:
a processor and a memory in communication connection with the processor ([0036], Waghulde),
wherein the memory stores computer-executable instructions ([0036], Waghulde), and
the computer-executable instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to implement an information processing method applied to a key-value storage system for key-value separation, wherein a storage unit in the key-value storage system comprises a key partition and a plurality of storage partitions, the key partition is used for storing log-structured merge tree (LSMT) information, the plurality of storage partitions are used for storing key-value information, and the method comprises ([0059] and [0065], Waghulde):
selecting, according to the LSMT information in the key partition, a target storage partition with a highest invalid information rate from the plurality of storage partitions comprised in the storage unit, wherein the invalid information rate is used for representing a proportion of invalid key-value information to total key-value information in the storage partition ([0059], Waghulde);
detecting validity information corresponding to each key-value information in the target storage partition, and screening out valid key-value information from multiple key-value information stored in the target storage partition according to the validity information corresponding to each key-value information, wherein the validity information comprises being valid or being invalid ([0070]-[0071], Waghulde); and
transferring and storing the valid key-value information to a first storage partition except for the target storage partition, and erasing the multiple key-value information stored in the target storage partition ([0070]-[0071], Waghulde).
Regarding Claims 10, 18, and 2, Waghulde discloses an electronic device, wherein the LSMT information comprises multiple index information, the index information comprises key information and storage location information of key-value information corresponding to the key information ([0071]-[0071], Waghulde), and
selecting, according to the LSMT information in the key partition, the target storage partition with the highest invalid information rate from the plurality of storage partitions comprised in the storage unit comprises ([0071]-[0071], Waghulde):
in response to performing compression processing on the multiple index information comprised in the LSMT information, recording deleted key information in the multiple index information to obtain statistical information ([0071]-[0071], Waghulde);
for each storage partition in the storage unit, determining number of invalid key-value information in the storage partition according to the statistical information, wherein the invalid key-value information is key-value information corresponding to the deleted key information ([0071]-[0071], Waghulde); and
taking a ratio of the number of the invalid key-value information in the storage partition to a total number of key-value information stored in the storage partition as the invalid information rate of the storage partition, and selecting the target storage partition with the highest invalid information rate from the plurality of storage partitions ([0071]-[0071], Waghulde).
Regarding Claims 11, 19, and 3, Waghulde discloses an electronic device, wherein the LSMT information comprises multiple index information, the index information comprises key information and storage location information of key-value information corresponding to the key information, and
detecting the validity information corresponding to each key-value information in the target storage partition comprises ([0042] and [0070]-[0071], Waghulde):
for each key-value information, determining key information corresponding to the key-value information, wherein the key information comprises a key and a key identifier, and the key identifier is used for representing a version corresponding to the key ([0042] and [0070]-[0071], Waghulde);
determining, according to the key in the key information, a latest version of the key identifier corresponding to the key from the multiple index information, and determining whether the key identifier in the key information is identical to the latest version of the key identifier ([0042] and [0070]-[0071], Waghulde);
in response to the key identifier in the key information being identical to the latest version of the key identifier, determining that validity information corresponding to the key-value information is valid ([0042] and [0070]-[0071], Waghulde); and
in response to the key identifier in the key information being different from the latest version of the key identifier, determining that validity information corresponding to the key-value information is invalid ([0042] and [0070]-[0071], Waghulde).
Regarding Claims 14 and 6, Waghulde discloses an electronic device, wherein the LSMT information comprises multiple index information, and after transferring and storing the valid key-value information to the first storage partition except for the target storage partition, the method further comprises:
for each valid key-value information, acquiring target index information corresponding to the valid key-value information from the multiple index information ([0036] and [0044], “next available array index location,” Waghulde); and
determining migration path information of the valid key-value information transferred from the target storage partition to the first storage partition, and adding the migration path information to the target index information to obtain new index information corresponding to the valid key-value information ([0036] and [0044], merge operation, Waghulde).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5, 7-8, 12-13, 15-16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suraj Prabhakar Waghulde (US 2017/0212680).
Regarding Claims 12, 20, and 4, Waghulde discloses an electronic device, wherein types of the storage partitions comprise a first level storage partition, a second level storage partition, and a third level storage partition, a value of key-value information stored in the first level storage partition is greater than a value of key-value information stored in the second level storage partition, the value of the key-value information stored in the second level storage partition is greater than a value of key-value information stored in the third level storage partition, the value is used for representing updating times of key information corresponding to the key-value information ([0058]-[0059], Waghulde), and
before determining, according to the key in the key information, the latest version of the key identifier corresponding to the key from the multiple index information, the method further comprises:
determining a type of the target storage partition ([0036], Waghulde);
when the type of the target storage partition is the first level storage partition or the second level storage partition, determining whether the key identifier in the key information is the latest version of the key identifier in the target storage partition, determining that the validity information corresponding to the key-value information is valid in response to the key identifier in the key information being the latest version of the key identifier in the target storage partition, and determining that the validity information corresponding to the key-value information is invalid in response to the key identifier in the key information not the latest version of the key identifier in the target storage partition ([0042], Waghulde); and
when the type of the target storage partition is the third level storage partition, determining, according to the key in the key information, the latest version of the key identifier corresponding to the key from the multiple index information ([0042], Waghulde).
However, Waghulde does not expressly disclose that the level storage partition is a heat level storage partition and that the value is a heat value.
However, these differences are only found in the nonfunctional descriptive material and is not functionally involved in the steps recited. The multiple determining steps would be performed the same regardless of the type data or type of value. Thus, this descriptive material will not distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art in terms of patentability, see In re Gulack, 703 F.2d 1381, 1385, 217 USPQ 401, 404 (Fed. Cir. 1983); In re Lowry, 32 F.3d 1579, 32 USPQ2d 1031 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include any type data or value because such data or value does not functionally relate to the steps in the method claimed and because the subjective interpretation of the information/data does not patentably distinguish the claimed invention.
Regarding Claims 13 and 5, Waghulde discloses an electronic device, wherein transferring and storing the valid key-value information to the first storage partition except for the target storage partition comprises:
determining the first storage partition with a same type as the target storage partition from the plurality of storage partitions except for the target storage partition ([0070]-[0071], Waghulde); and
transferring and storing the valid key-value information to the first storage partition ([0070]-[0071], Waghulde).
Regarding Claims 15 and 7, Waghulde discloses an electronic device, wherein the key-value storage system further comprises set information, the set information comprises average updating times of key information and updating times of key information corresponding to each index information, and the method further comprises:
in response to receiving key-value information to be written, acquiring, from the set information, updating times corresponding to key information in the key-value information, minimum updating times of key information in the set information, and average updating times of key information in the set information ([0041]-[0042] and [0071]-[0072], Waghulde);
according to the updating times, the average updating times, and the minimum updating times, determining a value level of the key-value information, and determining a second storage partition matched with the value level from the plurality of storage partitions ([0041]-[0042] and [0071]-[0072], Waghulde); and
storing the key-value information into the second storage partition ([0041]-[0042] and [0071]-[0072], Waghulde).
However, Waghulde does not expressly disclose that heat set information and heat value.
However, these differences are only found in the nonfunctional descriptive material and is not functionally involved in the steps recited. The acquiring, determining, and storing steps would be performed the same regardless of the type of information or type of value. Thus, this descriptive material will not distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art in terms of patentability, see In re Gulack, 703 F.2d 1381, 1385, 217 USPQ 401, 404 (Fed. Cir. 1983); In re Lowry, 32 F.3d 1579, 32 USPQ2d 1031 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include any type of information or value because such information or value does not functionally relate to the steps in the method claimed and because the subjective interpretation of the information/data does not patentably distinguish the claimed invention.
Regarding Claims 16 and 8, Waghulde discloses an electronic device, wherein types of the storage partitions comprise a first level storage partition, a second level storage partition, and a third level storage partition, a value of key-value information stored in the first level storage partition is greater than a value of key-value information stored in the second level storage partition, the value of the key-value information stored in the second level storage partition is greater than a value of key-value information stored in the third level storage partition, the value is used for representing updating times of key information corresponding to the key-value information ([0041]-[0042] and [0071]-[0072], Waghulde), and
according to the updating times, the average updating times, and the minimum updating times, determining the value level of the key-value information, and determining the second storage partition matched with the value level from the plurality of storage partitions comprises ([0041]-[0042] and [0071]-[0072], Waghulde):
in response to the updating times being greater than the average updating times, determining the value level of the key-value information as a first level, and determining the first level storage partition from the plurality of storage partitions as the second storage partition ([0041]-[0042] and [0071]-[0072], Waghulde);
in response to the updating times being less than or equal to the average updating times and greater than the minimum updating times, determining the value level of the key-value information as a second level, and determining the second level storage partition from the plurality of storage partitions as the second storage partition ([0041]-[0042] and [0071]-[0072], Waghulde); and
in response to the updating times being less than or equal to the minimum updating times, determining the value level of the key-value information as a third level, and determining the third level storage partition from the plurality of storage partitions as the second storage partition ([0041]-[0042] and [0071]-[0072], Waghulde).
However, Waghulde does not expressly disclose heat level and heat value.
However, these differences are only found in the nonfunctional descriptive material and is not functionally involved in the steps recited. The multiple determining steps would be performed the same regardless of the type data or type of value. Thus, this descriptive material will not distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art in terms of patentability, see In re Gulack, 703 F.2d 1381, 1385, 217 USPQ 401, 404 (Fed. Cir. 1983); In re Lowry, 32 F.3d 1579, 32 USPQ2d 1031 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include any type data or value because such data or value does not functionally relate to the steps in the method claimed and because the subjective interpretation of the information/data does not patentably distinguish the claimed invention.
Conclusion
/GIOVANNA B COLAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2165 November 6, 2025