DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment/Argument
This office action is in response to the amendment filed on 05/12/2026.
Claims 1-20 are presented for further examination.
Applicant's argument concerning newly added claim limitation is not taught in the cited prior art has been fully considered but moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection as set forth below. It is noted that Applicant's arguments are directed towards limitations newly added via amendments.
Applicant's amendments overcome Claim Rejections on claims 2-3 based on 35 USC § 101.
Applicant argues that the claims is to an “improvement in computer technology”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees and submits that regarding claims 5, 8-10, and 12-13, the “improvement in computer technology” is reliance on mathematical formula, calculation, and/or relationship.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 5, 8-10, and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1: See MPEP 2106.03 II. Eligibility step 1.
claim(s) 5 and 13 recite performing the mixture model analysis comprises using an expectation-maximization algorithm on the memory access information, wherein the one or more scores correspond to a maximum a posteriori estimate based on the expectation-maximization algorithm.
Claim(s) 12 recites calculating the one or more scores comprises: training, in parallel, a first Gaussian and a second Gaussian.
Claim(s) 8 recites setting a threshold value; and comparing output of the mixture model with the threshold value to determine a distribution value.
Claim(s) 9 recites calculating a first score based on a frequency value and second score from the mixture model; and comparing the first score with the threshold value.
Claim(s) 10 recites the threshold value relates to a size of the memory media.
Thus, the claim is directed to a process, one of the four statutory categories (process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter).
Step 2A - Prong 1: Regarding Eligibility step 2A. See MPEP 2106.04.11.
Next the claim is analyzed to determine whether it is directed to a judicial exception.
Claims 5, 8-10, and 12-13 recite a mathematical concept because the claims explicitly recite mathematical formula, calculation, and/or relationship. Thus, claims recite abstract ideas (i.e., mental processes combined with mathematical concept).
Step 2A - Prong 2:
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
Applicant’s solutions rely on mathematical with the additional elements that are insignificant extra solution activities (e.g., loading and removing portion of memory) and generic components, the claims being evaluated as a whole do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because the insignificant extra solution activities and/or generic components do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract ideas.
Step 2B:
The claim 5, 8-10, and 12-13 do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Therefore, the above additional elements are insignificant extra-solution activities.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-7, 11, and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 12,007,893; hereinafter Kim) in view of Falik et al. (US2016/0351195; hereinafter Falik), further in view of Cai et al. (US 2014/0089559; hereinafter Cai).
Regarding independent claim(s) 1, 6 and 17, taking claim 1 as exemplary analysis, Kim teaches A device, comprising: memory media configured as cache media; and one or more circuits configured to perform operations (claim 11, A computing device, comprising: a cache memory; and a processor connected to the cache memory and configured to execute at least one computer readable program for controlling the cache memory; claim 11, a device; claim 1, method; col. 7, ll. 32-33, FIG. 2 is a configuration diagram of a computing device for an adaptive cache pool management method) comprising:
receiving memory access information (Fig. 11, step S1110 & col. 15, ll. 25-29, The processor may receive the monitoring information on the cache memories divided into a plurality of cache pools, at S1110. Here, the monitoring information {memory access information} may include at least one of an access log to an address associated with each of a plurality of cache pools, or a cache hit-rate);
performing a mixture model analysis (col. 10, ll. 15-40, The analysis module 332 may input the monitoring information to a machine learning model and acquire a memory access pattern for each workload output from the machine learning model... The analysis module 332 may apply the clustering algorithm to the monitoring information to estimate a memory access pattern for each of a plurality of workloads. For example, the analysis module 332 may use the K-means clustering algorithm, Mean-Shift Clustering algorithm, Gaussian Mixture Model (GMM), and Density-Based Spatial Clustering of Applications with Noise (BSCAN), etc. to estimate the memory access patterns for each of a plurality of workloads) based on the memory access information to produce one or more access probability or frequency (col. 15, ll. 30-37, the memory access pattern for each of a plurality of workloads may be estimated by inputting at least some of the monitoring information to a machine learning model. As another example, the processor may estimate an access probability or frequency {scores} for each main memory address for each of a plurality of workloads based on at least some of the monitoring information);
Although Kim does not expressly teach scores, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made, to interoperate the access probability or frequency as scores for the motivation that probability, frequency and scores are quantitative values that can be compare with reference values.
Kim further teaches updating the memory media based on the one or more scores (Fig. 11, step S1120 & col. 15, ll. 30-37, The processor may adjust a cache region associated with at least one of a plurality of cache pools based on the monitoring information, at S1120. The processor may estimate a memory access pattern for each of a plurality of workloads based on the monitoring information, and adjust the cache region associated with at least one of a plurality of cache pools based on the estimated memory access pattern for each of the plurality of workloads).
Kim does not expressly disclose that the memory access information comprises an order of access and one or more corresponding physical addresses on the memory media.
In an analogous art of memory management, Falik teaches monitoring and processing memory accesses associated with physical memory addresses (
Falik discloses that linear addresses are translated through page tables and memory-management units into physical memory addresses, wherein physical memory is organized into pages. See Falik [0035]-[0036]. Falik further teaches DMA channels maintaining current addresses, next addresses, prefetch addresses, burst information, and access sequences for memory operations. See Falik [0032]-[0033], [0048]-[0049], [0052]-[0053], [0057], [0061]-[0063], Fig. 2.
Accordingly, Falik teaches memory access information comprising both: corresponding physical memory addresses and ordering or sequencing information associated with memory accesses, including current addresses, next addresses, sequential accesses, and non-sequential ordering.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to utilize the address-ordering information and corresponding physical-address information taught by Falik as part of the memory access information analyzed by Kim’s disclosed GMM-based memory-access prediction system because physical address locality and access ordering were known indicators of memory-access behavior and cache performance. Incorporating such information into Kim’s machine-learning analysis would have predictably improved the accuracy of access-pattern estimation and cache-management decisions.
Thus, the combination of Kim and Falik teaches wherein the memory access information comprises an order of access and one or more corresponding physical addresses on the memory media.
Kim does not expressly teach replacing one or more pages on the memory media based on the cache policy.
In an analogous art of cache management, Cai teaches replacing one or more pages on the memory media based on the cache policy ([0029], Based on evaluation logic 210 identifying metric value 215, policy parameter logic 230 may determine a parameter value 235 of a cache replacement policy. Based on determined parameter value 235, policy parameter logic 230 may generate a signal 240 indicating the replacement policy to be applied for managing a cache of the computer system. In an embodiment, signal 240 specifies parameter value 235 to a cache replacement unit, where the cache replacement determines a cache replacement policy to implement based on specification of parameter value 235 with signal 240).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made, with the teachings of Kim and Cai before them, to incorporate Cai’s updating cache policy based on evaluated metric value and replacing one or more pages on the memory media based on the cache policy with Kim’s adjusting a cache region based on the monitoring information for the motivation that selects an optimized cache replacement policy to enhance cache performance.
Thus, the combination of Kim, Falik and Cai teaches updating a cache policy on the memory media based on the one or more scores and replacing one or more pages on the memory media based on the cache policy.
Regarding independent claim(s) 17, Claim recites substantially the same limitations as in claim 1, and is therefore rejected for the same reasons set forth in the analysis of claim 1.
Kim additionally teaches A system, comprising: a host device comprising one or more applications, and a storage device comprising memory media, wherein the storage device is configured to perform operations comprising: determining memory access information corresponding to the one or more applications (col. 8, line 64 – col. 9, line 4, the computer program 260 may include one or more instructions associated with an application. The first processor 220 may execute one or more instructions associated with the application so as to execute and control the application. The main memory address range to which the cache is allocated or the storage region (capacity) of the cache memory may be determined based on the type of application);
training a mixture model using the memory access information…; determining one or more memory locations based on the mixture model; and updating the memory media using the one or more memory locations ( col. 10, ll. 15-40, The analysis module 332 may input the monitoring information to a machine learning model and acquire a memory access pattern for each workload output from the machine learning model... The analysis module 332 may apply the clustering algorithm to the monitoring information to estimate a memory access pattern for each of a plurality of workloads. For example, the analysis module 332 may use the K-means clustering algorithm, Mean-Shift Clustering algorithm, Gaussian Mixture Model (GMM);
col. 7, ll. 3-5, The memory access pattern may include an access probability/frequency {scores} to the address range of main memory for each workload (see FIG. 10 ). As illustrated in FIG. 1 , cache regions (Region_#0 and Region_#1) allocated to the cache pools 110 and 120 may be adjusted based on the memory access pattern for each workload after a period t1).
Regarding claim(s) 2, the combination of Kim, Falik and Cai further teaches wherein updating the cache policy on the memory media comprises: determining that at least one of the one or more scores is above a threshold, wherein the one or more scores corresponds to a likelihood of a portion of memory being accessed; and replacing the one or more pages on the memory media comprises: loading the portion of the memory corresponding to the at least one of the one or more scores to the memory media (
Kim teaches that the machine-learning analysis produces an “access probability or frequency” for memory addresses. Kim, col. 15, ll. 41-44.
An access probability inherently corresponds to a likelihood that memory associated with the address will be accessed. A person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that cache-allocation decisions are made for memory regions, cache regions, pages, or other portions of memory rather than isolated bits of storage. Thus Kim’s disclosed access probability corresponds to a likelihood of a portion of memory being accessed.
Kim, col. 10, ll. 53-62, the cache pool control module 334 may adjust a cache region associated with at least one of the plurality of cache pools based on the determined address range for each workload. In this case, the cache pool control module 334 may perform instructions for widening/narrowing the main memory range for the cache pool, and/or instructions for allocating more/less of a predetermined cache memory capacity to a specific cache pool, so as to adjust the cache region associated with the specific cache pool; col. 15, ll. 21-24, the cache pool adjustment based on the memory access patterns may be performed immediately if the cache hit-rate is less than or equal to a predetermined threshold;
Cai, [0037], generating a signal based on the parameter value determined at 320, the signal indicating a replacement policy. In an embodiment, based on the signal generated at 330, a line of cache memory is selected for an eviction according to the indicated replacement policy;
Falik teaches memory accesses corresponding to physical memory pages and physical address regions through page-based memory management and address translation mechanisms. Falik [0035]-[0036].
It would have been obvious to determine whether Kim’s disclosed access-probability score exceeds a threshold as taught by Cai and, responsive to the score exceeding the threshold, load into cache the memory page or memory region corresponding to the highly probable access location identified through the address-based memory-access information of Kim and Falik. Such modification merely applies known threshold-based cache-management techniques to the predicted access probabilities generated by Kim’s machine-learning model and would have predictably improved cache-hit performance).
Regarding claim(s) 3 and 15, taking claim 3 as exemplary analysis, the combination of Kim, Falik and Cai further teaches wherein updating the cache policy of the memory media comprises: determining that at least one of the one or more scores is below a threshold, wherein the one or more scores corresponds to a likelihood of a portion of memory being accessed; and replacing the one or more pages on the memory media comprises removing the portion of the memory corresponding to the at least one of the one or more scores from the memory media (
Kim teaches that the machine-learning analysis produces an “access probability or frequency” for memory addresses. Kim, col. 15, ll. 41-44.
An access probability inherently corresponds to a likelihood that memory associated with the address will be accessed. A person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that cache-allocation decisions are made for memory regions, cache regions, pages, or other portions of memory rather than isolated bits of storage. Thus Kim’s disclosed access probability corresponds to a likelihood of a portion of memory being accessed.
Kim, col. 10, ll. 53-62, the cache pool control module 334 may adjust a cache region associated with at least one of the plurality of cache pools based on the determined address range for each workload. In this case, the cache pool control module 334 may perform instructions for widening/narrowing the main memory range for the cache pool, and/or instructions for allocating more/less of a predetermined cache memory capacity to a specific cache pool, so as to adjust the cache region associated with the specific cache pool; col. 15, ll. 21-24, the cache pool adjustment based on the memory access patterns may be performed immediately if the cache hit-rate is less than or equal to a predetermined threshold;
Cai, [0037], generating a signal based on the parameter value determined at 320, the signal indicating a replacement policy. In an embodiment, based on the signal generated at 330, a line of cache memory is selected for an eviction according to the indicated replacement policy).
Regarding claim(s) 4 and 16, taking claim 4 as exemplary analysis, Kim further teaches wherein the memory access information is first access information, and wherein the one or more circuits is further configured to perform operations comprising: receiving second access information; and updating the mixture model analysis based on the second access information to produce the one or more scores (col. 8, ll. 11-19, FIG. 8 illustrates a method for outputting a memory access pattern 820 output through a machine learning model 800. The machine learning model 800 illustrated in FIG. 8 may be a model repeatedly trained a predetermined number of times or more. As illustrated in FIG. 8 , monitoring information 810 (including first access information and second access information) may be input to the machine learning model 800, and the machine learning model 800 may output the memory access pattern 820 for each workload based on the monitoring information 810).
Regarding claim(s) 7 and 18, taking claim 7 as exemplary analysis, the combination of Kim, Falik and Cai teaches wherein and the one or more corresponding physical addresses are input to the mixture model (
Kim's GMM receives memory access information, and Falik supplies the explicit disclosure that such memory access information includes address sequence information and corresponding physical addresses
Falik discloses that linear addresses are translated through page tables and memory-management units into physical memory addresses, wherein physical memory is organized into pages. See Falik [0035]-[0036]. Falik further teaches DMA channels maintaining current addresses, next addresses, prefetch addresses, burst information, and access sequences for memory operations. See Falik [0032]-[0033], [0048]-[0049], [0052]-[0053], [0057], [0061]-[0063], Fig. 2.
Kim, col. 15, ll. 27-33 & 38-40, the monitoring information may include at least one of an access log to an address associated with each of a plurality of cache pools, or a cache hit-rate. The processor may adjust a cache region associated with at least one of a plurality of cache pools based on the monitoring information … the memory access pattern for each of a plurality of workloads may be estimated by inputting at least some of the monitoring information to a machine learning model).
Regarding claim(s) 11, Kim further teaches wherein the mixture model is a Gaussian mixture model (GMM) (col. 10, ll. 15-40, the analysis module 332 may use the K-means clustering algorithm, Mean-Shift Clustering algorithm, Gaussian Mixture Model (GMM), and Density-Based Spatial Clustering of Applications with Noise (BSCAN), etc. to estimate the memory access patterns for each of a plurality of workloads).
Regarding claim(s) 14, Kim further teaches writing data to the memory media based on the one or more scores (col. 2, ll. 6-11, each of the plurality of cache pools may be allocated a different workload, each workload may be associated with a different data structure, and the adjusting the cache region may include estimating a memory access pattern for each workload associated with the different data structure based on the monitoring information; col. 2, ll. 28-31, The estimating the memory access pattern may include estimating an access probability or frequency {scores} for each main memory address for each of the plurality of workloads based on at least some of the monitoring information).
Regarding claim(s) 19, Kim further teaches wherein updating the memory media using the one or more memory locations comprises: writing data to the memory media based on the one or more memory locations (col. 10, ll. 50-61, the cache pool control module 334 may determine an address range for each workload based on the memory access pattern. In addition, the cache pool control module 334 may adjust a cache region associated with at least one of the plurality of cache pools based on the determined address range for each workload. In this case, the cache pool control module 334 may perform instructions for widening/narrowing the main memory range for the cache pool, and/or instructions for allocating more/less of a predetermined cache memory capacity to a specific cache pool, so as to adjust the cache region associated with the specific cache pool).
Regarding claim(s) 20, Kim further teaches wherein updating the memory media using the one or more memory locations comprises: removing data from the memory media based on the one or more memory locations (col. 10, ll. 50-61, the cache pool control module 334 may determine an address range for each workload based on the memory access pattern. In addition, the cache pool control module 334 may adjust a cache region associated with at least one of the plurality of cache pools based on the determined address range for each workload. In this case, the cache pool control module 334 may perform instructions for widening/narrowing the main memory range for the cache pool, and/or instructions for allocating more/less of a predetermined cache memory capacity to a specific cache pool, so as to adjust the cache region associated with the specific cache pool).
Conclusion
/TRACY C CHAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2138