DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This is the First Office Action on the merits.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending and addressed below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) filed on 1/12/2025 has been considered. An initialed copy of the IDS is enclosed herewith.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “a magnetometer…suspended in a housing at least 1.7 meters below the UAV”, and “a post-processor” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 7-8, 12, 15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 5, the claim recites “real-time sensor”. It is unclear to the Examiner from the teachings of the specification what the metes and bounds are of what can be considered a “real-time sensor”. For example, what sensor would not be considered as a “real-time sensor”?
As to claim 7, the claim recites “wherein the magnetometer is sufficiently separated from the electric motors”. It is unclear to the Examiner what constitutes “sufficiently” since there is no basis specified so as to ascertain what is not considered “sufficient”.
As to claim 8, the claim recites “a post-processor”. It is unclear to the Examiner what a “post-processor” in the system would be. The Examiner notes in view of the applicant’s specification or drawing(s), no mention is made of a post-processor or processor to clarify what a post-processor might be in the system.
As to claim 12, the claim recites “wherein the magnetometer produces a magnetometer output at about 1000Hz, which is down-sampled to about 1Hz”. The term “about” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “about” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
As to claim 15, the claim recites “ separating the magnetometer from the electric motors sufficient to permit a ground survey”. It is unclear to the Examiner what constitutes “sufficient” since there is no basis specified so as to ascertain what is not considered “sufficient”.
As to claim 20, the claim is rejected for the same reasons as mentioned in the rejection of claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alireza Malehmir et al. “The potential of rotary-wing UAV-based magnetic surveys for mineral exploration: A case study from central Sweden”, 2017, in view of Lee Sang Kun (KR 102068760 B1), in view of Priest (US 20190043368 A1), and further in view of Callum Walter et al. “Spectral Analysis of Magnetometer Swing in HighResolution UAV-borne Aeromagnetic Surveys”, 2019.
Regarding claim 1, Alireza Malehmir et al. discloses A unmanned aerial system, comprising:
a magnetometer having a sensitivity (Figure 2, page 553 “the rotary-wing UAV with one magnetometer having about 3 m distance from it. To avoid complications from the swinging of the magnetometer during flight”) an automated control unit for the UAV configured to guide the UAV along a serpentine flight plan (Figure 2, figure 4(a) and figure 5(a))
Alireza Malehmir et al. fails to explicitly disclose an above-ground level sensor, configured to determine an actual above-ground level of the UAV during flight; and an automated control unit for the UAV configured to guide the UAV along a serpentine flight plan at a predetermined above-ground level dependent on a predetermined Digital Obstacle Model (DOM) representing a computational model of obstacles at the predetermined above-ground level prior to flight,
Lee Sang Kun teaches an above-ground level sensor, configured to determine an actual above-ground level of the UAV during flight; and ([0095] “ the unmanned aerial vehicle 1001 according to an embodiment of the present invention includes a main body, a flight control unit 1010, an altitude measurement unit 1020”, and [0101] “The altitude measurement unit 1020 is electronically connected to the flight control unit 1010 and generates altitude data by measuring the distance from the surface to the main body in real time while the main body of the unmanned aerial vehicle 1001 is flying.”)
an automated control unit for the UAV, ([0099] “the flight control unit 1010 is the unmanned air vehicle 1001”) configured to guide the UAV along a (DOM) representing a computational model of obstacles at the predetermined above-ground level prior to flight, (Figure 3, [0019] “the unmanned air vehicle control device 1100 The unmanned aerial vehicle 1001 sets a route to fly the mine detection area and sets the flight altitude so as to detect the mine.”, [0020] “the unmanned air vehicle control device 1100 controls the unmanned air vehicle 1001 to fly the mine detection area along the set flight path while maintaining a constant distance from the ground surface according to the set flight altitude.”, and [0031] “The process of generating the flight control signal by the central control unit 1110…the terrain information processing unit 1120 detects the mine The flight altitude and flight path calculated by analyzing the function and performance of the mine detection sensor mounted on the terrain and unmanned aerial vehicle 1001 of the area are transmitted to the central control unit 1110, which is used as a flight control signal.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention with reasonable expectations of success to modify the invention of Alireza Malehmir et al. to incorporate predetermined flight altitude based on terrain information as taught by Lee Sang Kun for the purpose of allowing the UAV to avoid possible collisions while surveying.
Alireza Malehmir et al. in combination with Lee Sang Kun fails to explicitly disclose wherein the automated control unit is adapted to control the UAV to deviate from the predetermined above-ground level of the
Priest teaches wherein the automated control unit is adapted to control the UAV to deviate from the predetermined above-ground level of the obstruction not represented in the DOM. ([0134] “geographical terrain 1000 with static obstructions 1002, 1004, 1006. As described herein, static obstructions are at or near the ground and can be temporary or permanent. Again, since the UAVs 50 fly much lower than conventional aircraft, these obstructions need to be managed and communicated to the UAVs 50. A dynamic obstruction can include moving objects such as other UAVs 50, vehicles on the ground, etc. Management of dynamic obstructions besides other UAVs 50 is difficult in the UAV air traffic control system 300 due to their transient nature. In an embodiment, the UAVs 50 themselves can include local techniques to avoid detected dynamic obstructions.”, [0205] “The real-time course corrections and route optimization can include, for example: instructions to change direction, instructions to change flying lane(s), instruction to land and where the drone should target for landing, full route modification with an emphasis on route optimization while avoiding the negative impact of the weather event, instructions to speed up or slow down, instructions to change altitude” and [0208] “The changes can include instructions to change direction, instructions to change flying lane(s), instruction to land and where the drone should target for landing, full route modification with an emphasis on route optimization while avoiding the negative impact of the weather event, instructions to speed up or slow down, instructions to change altitude”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention with reasonable expectations of success to modify the invention of Alireza Malehmir et al. in combination with Lee Sang Kun to incorporate adjusting flying altitude based on real-time event (e.g. unplanned obstacles/obstructions) as taught by Priest for the purpose of avoiding possible collisions.
However, Alireza Malehmir et al. in combination with Lee Sang Kun and Priest fails to
explicitly disclose A unmanned aerial system, comprising: a magnetometer having a sensitivity below 0.01 nT/Hz
Callum Walter et al. teaches A unmanned aerial system, comprising: a magnetometer
having a sensitivity below 0.01 nT/Hz suspended in a housing at least 1.7 meters below the UAV; (Section II. Materials and Method “The flight elevation used for each survey was approximately 35m above the ground. The magnetic sensor used throughout all tests was a GEM Systems Inc. GSMP-35U potassium vapor magnetometer…the magnetometer sensor, used to passively measure the TMI, was semi-rigidly mounted to the UAV and suspended ∼3−5 meters below each UAV platform”, and figure 1). Examiner Notes: The GSMP-35U potassium vapor magnetometer sensitivity is 0.0002 nT at 1 Hz.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention with reasonable expectations of success to modify the invention of Alireza Malehmir et al. in combination with Lee Sang Kun and Priest to incorporate a high-sensitivity magnetometer as taught by Callum Walter et al. for the purpose accurately obtaining survey data.
Regarding claim 2, Alireza Malehmir et al. in view of Lee Sang Kun, Priest, and Callum Walter
et al. discloses The system according to claim 1,
Alireza Malehmir et al. discloses wherein the (Page 554 “Flight lines were flown perpendicular to the strike of the geologic structures and mineralization, 10 m above the mine headframe and on average 70 m above the ground.”)
Lee Sang Kun teaches the predetermined above-ground level (Figure 3, [0019] “the unmanned air vehicle control device 1100 The unmanned aerial vehicle 1001 sets a route to fly the mine detection area and sets the flight altitude so as to detect the mine.”, [0020] “the unmanned air vehicle control device 1100 controls the unmanned air vehicle 1001 to fly the mine detection area along the set flight path while maintaining a constant distance from the ground surface according to the set flight altitude.”, and [0031] “The process of generating the flight control signal by the central control unit 1110…the terrain information processing unit 1120 detects the mine The flight altitude and flight path calculated by analyzing the function and performance of the mine detection sensor mounted on the terrain and unmanned aerial vehicle 1001 of the area are transmitted to the central control unit 1110, which is used as a flight control signal.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention with reasonable expectations of success to modify the invention of Alireza Malehmir et al. in combination with Lee Sang Kun, Priest, and Callum Walter et al. to incorporate predetermined flight altitude as taught by Lee Sang Kun for the purpose of allowing the drone to fly autonomously. Furthermore, it would have been obvious in the combination to set the predetermined flight altitude to below 100 meters for the purpose obtaining accurate survey data as taught by Alireza Malehmir et al.
Regarding claim 3, Alireza Malehmir et al. in view of Lee Sang Kun, Priest, and Callum Walter
et al. discloses The system according to claim 1,
Alireza Malehmir et al. discloses (“Data GPS antenna”, figure 2b, and page 555 “Suitable magnetic field data eventually started to be collected around 2 p.m., and the survey continued until 7 p.m. (October 2016). In total, 10 flight sorties were carried out, and more than 20 km-line data were recorded covering an area of approximately 2 km2. Data were then extracted from the recorder containing geodetic positions (easting, northing, and altitude) of the measuring points, GPS times, and total-field magnetic.”, and see at least figure 4a.
Callum Walter et al. teaches wherein the magnetometer comprises a magnetic gradiometer having a sensitivity below 1 pT/Hz, (Section II. Materials and Method “The flight elevation used for each survey was approximately 35m above the ground. The magnetic sensor used throughout all tests was a GEM Systems Inc. GSMP-35U potassium vapor magnetometer…the magnetometer sensor, used to passively measure the TMI, was semi-rigidly mounted to the UAV and suspended ∼3−5 meters below each UAV platform”, and figure 1). Examiner Notes: The GSMP-35U potassium vapor magnetometer sensitivity is 0.0002 nT at 1 Hz.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention with reasonable expectations of success to modify the invention of Alireza Malehmir et al. in combination with Lee Sang Kun, Priest, and Callum Walter et al. to incorporate a high-sensitivity magnetometer as taught by Callum Walter et al. for the purpose accurately obtaining survey data.
Regarding claim 4, Alireza Malehmir et al. in view of Lee Sang Kun, Priest, and Callum Walter
et al. discloses The system according to claim 1,
Priest teaches wherein the DOM is dependent on at least one of a Digital Surface Model
(DSM) and a Digital Elevation Model (DEM). (Figure 20, [0117] “a diagram illustrates geographical terrain 1000 with exemplary static obstructions 1002, 1004, 1006. As described herein, static obstructions are at or near the ground and can be temporary or permanent.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention with reasonable expectations of success to modify the invention of Alireza Malehmir et al. in combination with Lee Sang Kun, Priest, and Callum Walter et al. to incorporate a surface model as taught by Lee Sang Kun for the purpose of allowing the UAV to avoid possible collision while surveying.
Regarding claim 5, Alireza Malehmir et al. in view of Lee Sang Kun, Priest, and Callum Walter
et al. discloses The system according to claim 1,
Priest teaches further comprising at least one real-time sensor configured to detect at
least on obstruction. (Figure 23, [0128] “Referring to FIG. 23, in an exemplary embodiment, a block diagram illustrates functional components implemented in physical components in the UAV 50 for use with the air traffic control system 300, such as for dynamic and static obstruction detection. This exemplary embodiment in FIG. 23 can be used with any of the UAV 50 embodiments described herein. The UAV 50 can include a processing device 1100, flight components 1102, cameras 1104, radar 1106, wireless interfaces 1108, and a data store/memory 1110. These components can be integrated with, disposed on, associated with the body 82 of the UAV 50.”, and [0134] “For dynamic obstructions, the UAV 50 can determine movement characteristics such as from multiple images or video. The movement characteristics can include speed, direction, altitude, etc. and can be derived from analyzing the images of video over time. Based on these characteristics, the UAV 50 can locally determine how to avoid the detected dynamic obstructions.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention with reasonable expectations of success to modify the invention of Alireza Malehmir et al. in combination with Lee Sang Kun, Priest, and Callum Walter et al. to incorporate a plurality of sensors to a UAV as taught by Priest for the purpose of allowing the UAV to avoid detected dynamic obstructions.
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alireza Malehmir et al. “The potential of rotary-wing UAV-based magnetic surveys for mineral exploration: A case study from central Sweden”, 2017, in view of Lee Sang Kun (KR 102068760 B1), in view of Priest (US 20190043368 A1), in view of Callum Walter et al. “Spectral Analysis of Magnetometer Swing in HighResolution UAV-borne Aeromagnetic Surveys”, 2019, and further in view of Kunzi et al. (US 20160125746 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Alireza Malehmir et al. in view of Lee Sang Kun, Priest, and Callum Walter
et al. discloses The system according to claim 1,
Alireza Malehmir et al. discloses the serpentine flight plan (Figure 4 (a))
Lee Sang Kun teaches predetermined above-ground level of the …flight plan (Figure 3, [0019] “the unmanned air vehicle control device 1100 The unmanned aerial vehicle 1001 sets a route to fly the mine detection area and sets the flight altitude so as to detect the mine.”, [0020] “the unmanned air vehicle control device 1100 controls the unmanned air vehicle 1001 to fly the mine detection area along the set flight path while maintaining a constant distance from the ground surface according to the set flight altitude.”, and [0031] “The process of generating the flight control signal by the central control unit 1110…the terrain information processing unit 1120 detects the mine The flight altitude and flight path calculated by analyzing the function and performance of the mine detection sensor mounted on the terrain and unmanned aerial vehicle 1001 of the area are transmitted to the central control unit 1110, which is used as a flight control signal.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention with reasonable expectations of success to modify the invention of Alireza Malehmir et al. in combination with Lee Sang Kun, Priest, and Callum Walter et al. to incorporate predetermined flight altitude as taught by Lee Sang Kun for the purpose of allowing the drone to fly autonomously.
Priest teaches wherein the automated control unit comprises an autonomous guidance
system, responsive to the at least one obstruction, configured to perform the deviation from the predetermined above-ground level of the comprising an avoidance maneuver and ([0134] “geographical terrain 1000 with static obstructions 1002, 1004, 1006. As described herein, static obstructions are at or near the ground and can be temporary or permanent. Again, since the UAVs 50 fly much lower than conventional aircraft, these obstructions need to be managed and communicated to the UAVs 50. A dynamic obstruction can include moving objects such as other UAVs 50, vehicles on the ground, etc. Management of dynamic obstructions besides other UAVs 50 is difficult in the UAV air traffic control system 300 due to their transient nature. In an embodiment, the UAVs 50 themselves can include local techniques to avoid detected dynamic obstructions.”, [0205] “The real-time course corrections and route optimization can include, for example: instructions to change direction, instructions to change flying lane(s), instruction to land and where the drone should target for landing, full route modification with an emphasis on route optimization while avoiding the negative impact of the weather event, instructions to speed up or slow down, instructions to change altitude” and [0208] “The changes can include instructions to change direction, instructions to change flying lane(s), instruction to land and where the drone should target for landing, full route modification with an emphasis on route optimization while avoiding the negative impact of the weather event, instructions to speed up or slow down, instructions to change altitude”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention with reasonable expectations of success to modify the invention of Alireza Malehmir et al. in combination with Lee Sang Kun, Priest, and Callum Walter et al. to incorporate adjusting flying altitude based on real-time event (e.g. unplanned obstacles/obstructions) as taught by Priest for the purpose of avoiding possible collision.
However, Alireza Malehmir et al. in combination with Lee Sang Kun, Priest, and Callum
Walter et al. fails to explicitly disclose a return to the
Kunzi et al. teaches a return to the
ground level. ([0032] “upon detection of collision threats (e.g., unanticipated obstacles 122), the dynamic collision-avoidance system may instruct the aerial vehicle, based on measurements received from, for example, a plurality of sensors, to override any commands from the autopilot or pilot (e.g., via the flight-control system) to avoid the unanticipated obstacles 122 and ultimately return to a navigational path.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date
of the claimed invention with reasonable expectations of success to modify the invention of Alireza Malehmir et al. in combination with Lee Sang Kun, Priest, and Callum Walter et al. to incorporate automatically returning the UAV after obstacle avoidance as taught by Kunzi et al. for the purpose of allowing the UAV to complete its path/assigned task(s).
Regarding claim 7, Alireza Malehmir et al. in view of Lee Sang Kun, Priest, and Callum
Walter et al. discloses The system according to claim 1,
Alireza Malehmir et al. discloses wherein the UAV (Figures 2(a) – 2(d), and page 553 “GEM 19 GW system equipped with a GPS antenna and data recorder was reassembled in such a manner that it could be lifted by the rotary-wing UAV with one magnetometer having about 3 m distance from it”, figure 4(a) and figure 5(a) “Total-field magnetic data as acquired by the rotary-wing UAV system”)
Lee Sang Kun teaches predetermined above-ground level (Figure 3, [0019] “the unmanned air vehicle control device 1100 The unmanned aerial vehicle 1001 sets a route to fly the mine detection area and sets the flight altitude so as to detect the mine.”, [0020] “the unmanned air vehicle control device 1100 controls the unmanned air vehicle 1001 to fly the mine detection area along the set flight path while maintaining a constant distance from the ground surface according to the set flight altitude.”, and [0031] “The process of generating the flight control signal by the central control unit 1110…the terrain information processing unit 1120 detects the mine The flight altitude and flight path calculated by analyzing the function and performance of the mine detection sensor mounted on the terrain and unmanned aerial vehicle 1001 of the area are transmitted to the central control unit 1110, which is used as a flight control signal.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention with reasonable expectations of success to modify the invention of Alireza Malehmir et al. in combination with Lee Sang Kun, Priest, and Callum Walter et al. to incorporate predetermined flight altitude as taught by Lee Sang Kun for the purpose of allowing the drone to fly autonomously.
However, Alireza Malehmir et al. in combination with Lee Sang Kun, Priest, and
Callum Walter et al. fails to explicitly disclose the UAV has a plurality of electric motors providing lift
Kunzi et al. teaches the UAV has a plurality of electric motors providing lift ([0053] “For
other aerial vehicles, such as a helicopter, the steering mechanism 304 may include a number of rotors, which may be fixed rotors or steerable rotors, along with foils and other control surfaces. The steering mechanism 304 may also include articulated, electric motors employing vectored-thrust control to directly change the thrust vector.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention with reasonable expectations of success to implement/modify the invention of Alireza Malehmir et al. in combination with Lee Sang Kun, Priest, and Callum Walter et al. to incorporate electric motors as taught by Kunzi et al. for the purpose of allowing the drone to fly.
Claims 9, and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alireza Malehmir et al. “The potential of rotary-wing UAV-based magnetic surveys for mineral exploration: A case study from central Sweden”, 2017, in view of Lee Sang Kun (KR 102068760 B1), in view of Priest (US 20190043368 A1), and further in view of Kunzi et al. (US 20160125746 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Alireza Malehmir et al. discloses A method of conducting a magnetic
survey, comprising: suspending a magnetometer below the UAV; (Figure 2, page 553 “the rotary-wing UAV with one magnetometer having about 3 m distance from it. To avoid complications from the swinging of the magnetometer during flight”) guiding the UAV, with an automated controller, along a serpentine flight plan (Figure 2, figure 4(a) and figure 5(a))
Alireza Malehmir et al. fails to explicitly disclose guiding the UAV, with an automated controller, along a
Lee Sang Kun teaches guiding the UAV, with an automated controller, ([0099] “the flight control unit 1010 is the unmanned air vehicle 1001”) along a (DOM) representing a computational model of obstacles at the predetermined above-ground level prior to flight, (Figure 3, [0019] “the unmanned air vehicle control device 1100 The unmanned aerial vehicle 1001 sets a route to fly the mine detection area and sets the flight altitude so as to detect the mine.”, [0020] “the unmanned air vehicle control device 1100 controls the unmanned air vehicle 1001 to fly the mine detection area along the set flight path while maintaining a constant distance from the ground surface according to the set flight altitude.”, and [0031] “The process of generating the flight control signal by the central control unit 1110…the terrain information processing unit 1120 detects the mine The flight altitude and flight path calculated by analyzing the function and performance of the mine detection sensor mounted on the terrain and unmanned aerial vehicle 1001 of the area are transmitted to the central control unit 1110, which is used as a flight control signal.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention with reasonable expectations of success to modify the invention of Alireza Malehmir et al. to incorporate predetermined flight altitude based on terrain information as taught by Lee Sang Kun for the purpose of allowing the UAV to avoid possible collision while surveying.
Alireza Malehmir et al. in combination with Lee Sang Kun fails to explicitly disclose wherein the automated controller further controls the UAV to deviate from the predetermined above-ground level of the
Priest teaches wherein the automated controller further controls the UAV to deviate from the predetermined above-ground level of the ([0134] “geographical terrain 1000 with static obstructions 1002, 1004, 1006. As described herein, static obstructions are at or near the ground and can be temporary or permanent. Again, since the UAVs 50 fly much lower than conventional aircraft, these obstructions need to be managed and communicated to the UAVs 50. A dynamic obstruction can include moving objects such as other UAVs 50, vehicles on the ground, etc. Management of dynamic obstructions besides other UAVs 50 is difficult in the UAV air traffic control system 300 due to their transient nature. In an embodiment, the UAVs 50 themselves can include local techniques to avoid detected dynamic obstructions.”, [0205] “The real-time course corrections and route optimization can include, for example: instructions to change direction, instructions to change flying lane(s), instruction to land and where the drone should target for landing, full route modification with an emphasis on route optimization while avoiding the negative impact of the weather event, instructions to speed up or slow down, instructions to change altitude” and [0208] “The changes can include instructions to change direction, instructions to change flying lane(s), instruction to land and where the drone should target for landing, full route modification with an emphasis on route optimization while avoiding the negative impact of the weather event, instructions to speed up or slow down, instructions to change altitude”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention with reasonable expectations of success to modify the invention of Alireza Malehmir et al. in combination with Lee Sang Kun to incorporate adjusting flying altitude based on real-time event (e.g. unplanned obstacles/obstructions) as taught by Priest for the purpose of avoiding possible collision.
However, Alireza Malehmir et al. in combination with Lee Sang Kun and Priest fails to
explicitly disclose providing an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) comprising a plurality of electric motors, a power source;
Kunzi et al. teaches providing an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) comprising a plurality of
electric motors, a power source; ([0046] “the electronics module 300 as being used to house, or otherwise contain, the vehicle's flight-control system 306, power supply 336 (e.g., a propulsion battery)”, and [0053] “For other aerial vehicles, such as a helicopter, the steering mechanism 304 may include a number of rotors, which may be fixed rotors or steerable rotors, along with foils and other control surfaces. The steering mechanism 304 may also include articulated, electric motors employing vectored-thrust control to directly change the thrust vector.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention with reasonable expectations of success to implement/modify the invention of Alireza Malehmir et al. in combination with Lee Sang Kun, and Priest to incorporate electric motors and power source/supply as taught by Kunzi et al. for the purpose of allowing the drone/UAV to fly.
Regarding claim 14, Alireza Malehmir et al. in view of Lee Sang Kun, Priest, and Kunzi et al.
discloses The method of according to claim 9,
Alireza Malehmir et al. discloses the serpentine flight plan (Figure 4 (a))
Lee Sang Kun teaches predetermined above-ground level of the …flight plan (Figure 3, [0019] “the unmanned air vehicle control device 1100 The unmanned aerial vehicle 1001 sets a route to fly the mine detection area and sets the flight altitude so as to detect the mine.”, [0020] “the unmanned air vehicle control device 1100 controls the unmanned air vehicle 1001 to fly the mine detection area along the set flight path while maintaining a constant distance from the ground surface according to the set flight altitude.”, and [0031] “The process of generating the flight control signal by the central control unit 1110…the terrain information processing unit 1120 detects the mine The flight altitude and flight path calculated by analyzing the function and performance of the mine detection sensor mounted on the terrain and unmanned aerial vehicle 1001 of the area are transmitted to the central control unit 1110, which is used as a flight control signal.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention with reasonable expectations of success to modify the invention of Alireza Malehmir et al. in combination with Lee Sang Kun, Priest, and Kunzi et al. to incorporate predetermined flight altitude as taught by Lee Sang Kun for the purpose of allowing the drone to fly autonomously.
Priest teaches performing the deviation from the
the ([0134] “geographical terrain 1000 with static obstructions 1002, 1004, 1006. As described herein, static obstructions are at or near the ground and can be temporary or permanent. Again, since the UAVs 50 fly much lower than conventional aircraft, these obstructions need to be managed and communicated to the UAVs 50. A dynamic obstruction can include moving objects such as other UAVs 50, vehicles on the ground, etc. Management of dynamic obstructions besides other UAVs 50 is difficult in the UAV air traffic control system 300 due to their transient nature. In an embodiment, the UAVs 50 themselves can include local techniques to avoid detected dynamic obstructions.”, [0205] “The real-time course corrections and route optimization can include, for example: instructions to change direction, instructions to change flying lane(s), instruction to land and where the drone should target for landing, full route modification with an emphasis on route optimization while avoiding the negative impact of the weather event, instructions to speed up or slow down, instructions to change altitude” and [0208] “The changes can include instructions to change direction, instructions to change flying lane(s), instruction to land and where the drone should target for landing, full route modification with an emphasis on route optimization while avoiding the negative impact of the weather event, instructions to speed up or slow down, instructions to change altitude”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention with reasonable expectations of success to modify the invention of Alireza Malehmir et al. in combination with Lee Sang Kun, Priest, and Kunzi et al. to incorporate adjusting flying altitude based on real-time event (e.g. unplanned obstacles/obstructions) as taught by Priest for the purpose of avoiding possible collision.
Kunzi et al. teaches and returning to the ([0032] “upon detection of collision threats (e.g., unanticipated obstacles 122), the dynamic collision-avoidance system may instruct the aerial vehicle, based on measurements received from, for example, a plurality of sensors, to override any commands from the autopilot or pilot (e.g., via the flight-control system) to avoid the unanticipated obstacles 122 and ultimately return to a navigational path.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date
of the claimed invention with reasonable expectations of success to modify the invention of Alireza Malehmir et al. in combination with Lee Sang Kun, Priest, and Kunzi et al. to incorporate automatically returning the UAV after obstacle avoidance as taught by Kunzi et al. for the purpose of allowing the UAV to complete its path/assigned task(s).
Regarding claim 15, Alireza Malehmir et al. in view of Lee Sang Kun, Priest, and Kunzi et al.
discloses The method according to claim 9,
Alireza Malehmir et al. discloses wherein the UAV (Figures 2(a) – 2(d), and page 553 “GEM 19 GW system equipped with a GPS antenna and data recorder was reassembled in such a manner that it could be lifted by the rotary-wing UAV with one magnetometer having about 3 m distance from it”, figure 4(a) and figure 5(a) “Total-field magnetic data as acquired by the rotary-wing UAV system”)
Lee Sang Kun teaches predetermined above-ground level (Figure 3, [0019] “the unmanned air vehicle control device 1100 The unmanned aerial vehicle 1001 sets a route to fly the mine detection area and sets the flight altitude so as to detect the mine.”, [0020] “the unmanned air vehicle control device 1100 controls the unmanned air vehicle 1001 to fly the mine detection area along the set flight path while maintaining a constant distance from the ground surface according to the set flight altitude.”, and [0031] “The process of generating the flight control signal by the central control unit 1110…the terrain information processing unit 1120 detects the mine The flight altitude and flight path calculated by analyzing the function and performance of the mine detection sensor mounted on the terrain and unmanned aerial vehicle 1001 of the area are transmitted to the central control unit 1110, which is used as a flight control signal.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention with reasonable expectations of success to modify the invention of Alireza Malehmir et al. in combination with Lee Sang Kun, Priest, and Kunzi et al. to incorporate predetermined flight altitude as taught by Lee Sang Kun for the purpose of allowing the drone to fly autonomously.
Kunzi et al. teaches the UAV has a plurality of electric motors providing lift ([0053] “For
other aerial vehicles, such as a helicopter, the steering mechanism 304 may include a number of rotors, which may be fixed rotors or steerable rotors, along with foils and other control surfaces. The steering mechanism 304 may also include articulated, electric motors employing vectored-thrust control to directly change the thrust vector.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention with reasonable expectations of success to implement/modify the invention of Alireza Malehmir et al. in combination with Lee Sang Kun, Priest, and Kunzi et al. to incorporate electric motors as taught by Kunzi et al. for the purpose of allowing the drone to fly.
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alireza Malehmir et al. “The potential of rotary-wing UAV-based magnetic surveys for mineral exploration: A case study from central Sweden”, 2017, in view of Lee Sang Kun (KR 102068760 B1), in view of Priest (US 20190043368 A1), in view of Kunzi et al. (US 20160125746 A1), and further in view of Callum Walter et al. “Spectral Analysis of Magnetometer Swing in HighResolution UAV-borne Aeromagnetic Surveys”, 2019.
Regarding claim 10, Alireza Malehmir et al. in view of Lee Sang Kun, Priest, and Kunzi et al.
discloses The method of according to claim 9,
Alireza Malehmir et al. discloses wherein: (Figure 2, page 553 “the rotary-wing UAV with one magnetometer having about 3 m distance from it. To avoid complications from the swinging of the magnetometer during flight”) and the (Page 554 “Flight lines were flown perpendicular to the strike of the geologic structures and mineralization, 10 m above the mine headframe and on average 70 m above the ground.”)
Lee Sang Kun teaches predetermined above-ground level (Figure 3, [0019] “the unmanned air vehicle control device 1100 The unmanned aerial vehicle 1001 sets a route to fly the mine detection area and sets the flight altitude so as to detect the mine.”, [0020] “the unmanned air vehicle control device 1100 controls the unmanned air vehicle 1001 to fly the mine detection area along the set flight path while maintaining a constant distance from the ground surface according to the set flight altitude.”, and [0031] “The process of generating the flight control signal by the central control unit 1110…the terrain information processing unit 1120 detects the mine The flight altitude and flight path calculated by analyzing the function and performance of the mine detection sensor mounted on the terrain and unmanned aerial vehicle 1001 of the area are transmitted to the central control unit 1110, which is used as a flight control signal.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention with reasonable expectations of success to modify the invention of Alireza Malehmir et al. in combination with Lee Sang Kun, Priest, and Kunzi et al. to incorporate predetermined flight altitude as taught by Lee Sang Kun for the purpose of allowing the drone to fly autonomously.
However, Alireza Malehmir et al. in combination with Lee Sang Kun, Priest, and Kunzi et al. fails to explicitly disclose the magnetometer has a sensitivity below 0.01 nT/Hz;
Callum Walter et al. teaches the magnetometer has a sensitivity below 0.01 nT/Hz; (Section II. Materials and Method “The flight elevation used for each survey was approximately 35m above the ground. The magnetic sensor used throughout all tests was a GEM Systems Inc. GSMP-35U potassium vapor magnetometer…the magnetometer sensor, used to passively measure the TMI, was semi-rigidly mounted to the UAV and suspended ∼3−5 meters below each UAV platform”, and figure 1). Examiner Notes: The GSMP-35U potassium vapor magnetometer sensitivity is 0.0002 nT at 1 Hz.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention with reasonable expectations of success to modify the invention of Alireza Malehmir et al. in combination with Lee Sang Kun, Priest, and Kunzi et al. to incorporate a high-sensitivity magnetometer as taught by Callum Walter et al. for the purpose accurately obtaining survey data.
Regarding claim 11, Alireza Malehmir et al. in view of Lee Sang Kun, Priest, and Kunzi et al.
discloses The method of according to claim 9,
Lee Sang Kun teaches the automated controller controls the UAV dependent on signals
received from a global navigation satellite system (GNSS) receiver. ([0082] “The positioning system used here is GNSS, which can be GPS, GLONASS, Galileo or Beidou.”, [0083] “the first position measuring unit 1140 further includes a first real-time moving positioning unit 1141, and the first real-time moving positioning unit 1141 is positioned using a real-time moving positioning (RTK) method. Position correction data including a correction signal is generated.”, and [0090] “The first telemetry communication unit 1150 is electronically connected to the central control unit 1110 and the first position measurement unit 1140, and the flight control signal and the first position measurement unit 1140 generated by the central control unit 1110 are The generated position correction signal is transmitted to the unmanned aerial vehicle 1001 and the flight, location, altitude data, and land mine detection result data generated from the unmanned aerial vehicle 1001 are received.”)
However, Alireza Malehmir et al. in combination with Lee Sang Kun, Priest, and Kunzi et al. fails to explicitly disclose the magnetometer has a sensitivity below 1 pT/Hz;
Callum Walter et al. teaches the magnetometer has a sensitivity below 1 pT/Hz; (Section II. Materials and Method “The flight elevation used for each survey was approximately 35m above the ground. The magnetic sensor used throughout all tests was a GEM Systems Inc. GSMP-35U potassium vapor magnetometer…the magnetometer sensor, used to passively measure the TMI, was semi-rigidly mounted to the UAV and suspended ∼3−5 meters below each UAV platform”, and figure 1). Examiner Notes: The GSMP-35U potassium vapor magnetometer sensitivity is 0.0002 nT at 1 Hz.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention with reasonable expectations of success to modify the invention of Alireza Malehmir et al. in combination with Lee Sang Kun, Priest, and Kunzi et al. to incorporate a high-sensitivity magnetometer as taught by Callum Walter et al. for the purpose accurately obtaining survey data.
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alireza Malehmir et al. “The potential of rotary-wing UAV-based magnetic surveys for mineral exploration: A case study from central Sweden”, 2017, in view of Lee Sang Kun (KR 102068760 B1), and further in view of Priest (US 20190043368 A1).
Regarding claim 17, Alireza Malehmir et al. discloses A nontransitory computer readable
medium for controlling an Unmanned Aerial Vehicle (UAV) having a suspended magnetometer to survey a region comprising: (Figure 2, page 553 “the rotary-wing UAV with one magnetometer having about 3 m distance from it. To avoid complications from the swinging of the magnetometer during flight”) instructions for guiding the UAV, with an automated controller, along a serpentine flight plan (Figure 2, figure 4(a) and figure 5(a))
Alireza Malehmir et al. fails to explicitly disclose instructions for determining a geolocation of the UAV with a global navigation satellite system (GNSS) receiver; instructions for determining an above-ground level of the UAV during flight with an above-ground level sensor; instructions for guiding the UAV along a
Lee Sang Kun teaches instructions for determining a geolocation of the UAV with a global navigation satellite system (GNSS) receiver; ([0082] “The positioning system used here is GNSS, which can be GPS, GLONASS, Galileo or Beidou.”, [0083] “the first position measuring unit 1140 further includes a first real-time moving positioning unit 1141, and the first real-time moving positioning unit 1141 is positioned using a real-time moving positioning (RTK) method. Position correction data including a correction signal is generated.”, and [0090] “The first telemetry communication unit 1150 is electronically connected to the central control unit 1110 and the first position measurement unit 1140, and the flight control signal and the first position measurement unit 1140 generated by the central control unit 1110 are The generated position correction signal is transmitted to the unmanned aerial vehicle 1001 and the flight, location, altitude data, and land mine detection result data generated from the unmanned aerial vehicle 1001 are received.”) instructions for determining an above-ground level of the UAV during flight with an above-ground level sensor; ([0095] “ the unmanned aerial vehicle 1001 according to an embodiment of the present invention includes a main body, a flight control unit 1010, an altitude measurement unit 1020”, and [0101] “The altitude measurement unit 1020 is electronically connected to the flight control unit 1010 and generates altitude data by measuring the distance from the surface to the main body in real time while the main body of the unmanned aerial vehicle 1001 is flying.”)
instructions for guiding the UAV ([0099] “the flight control unit 1010 is the unmanned air vehicle 1001”) along a (Figure 3, [0019] “the unmanned air vehicle control device 1100 The unmanned aerial vehicle 1001 sets a route to fly the mine detection area and sets the flight altitude so as to detect the mine.”, [0020] “the unmanned air vehicle control device 1100 controls the unmanned air vehicle 1001 to fly the mine detection area along the set flight path while maintaining a constant distance from the ground surface according to the set flight altitude.”, and [0031] “The process of generating the flight control signal by the central control unit 1110…the terrain information processing unit 1120 detects the mine The flight altitude and flight path calculated by analyzing the function and performance of the mine detection sensor mounted on the terrain and unmanned aerial vehicle 1001 of the area are transmitted to the central control unit 1110, which is used as a flight control signal.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention with reasonable expectations of success to modify the invention of Alireza Malehmir et al. to incorporate positioning the location of the UAV and setting predetermined flight altitude based on terrain information as taught by Lee Sang Kun for the purpose of allowing the UAV to avoid possible collision while surveying.
However, Alireza Malehmir et al. in combination with Lee Sang Kun fails to explicitly disclose instructions for deviating from the predetermined above-ground level of the
Priest teaches instructions for deviating from the predetermined above-ground level of the ([0134] “geographical terrain 1000 with static obstructions 1002, 1004, 1006. As described herein, static obstructions are at or near the ground and can be temporary or permanent. Again, since the UAVs 50 fly much lower than conventional aircraft, these obstructions need to be managed and communicated to the UAVs 50. A dynamic obstruction can include moving objects such as other UAVs 50, vehicles on the ground, etc. Management of dynamic obstructions besides other UAVs 50 is difficult in the UAV air traffic control system 300 due to their transient nature. In an embodiment, the UAVs 50 themselves can include local techniques to avoid detected dynamic obstructions.”, [0205] “The real-time course corrections and route optimization can include, for example: instructions to change direction, instructions to change flying lane(s), instruction to land and where the drone should target for landing, full route modification with an emphasis on route optimization while avoiding the negative impact of the weather event, instructions to speed up or slow down, instructions to change altitude” and [0208] “The changes can include instructions to change direction, instructions to change flying lane(s), instruction to land and where the drone should target for landing, full route modification with an emphasis on route optimization while avoiding the negative impact of the weather event, instructions to speed up or slow down, instructions to change altitude”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention with reasonable expectations of success to modify the invention of Alireza Malehmir et al. in combination with Lee Sang Kun to incorporate adjusting flying altitude based on real-time event (e.g. unplanned obstacles/obstructions) as taught by Priest for the purpose of avoiding possible collision.
Regarding claim 18, Alireza Malehmir et al. in view of Lee Sang Kun and Priest discloses The
nontransitory computer readably medium according to claim 17,
Alireza Malehmir et al. discloses the serpentine flight plan… and a horizontal projection of serpentine flight plan remains unperturbed ((Figure 2, figure 4(a) “Aerial photo of the study area and the flight magnetic lines (white points) as surveyed by the UAV system.” and figure 5(a) “Total-field magnetic data as acquired by the rotary-wing UAV system”, )
Priest teaches wherein the deviation from the predetermined above-ground level of the ([0134] “geographical terrain 1000 with static obstructions 1002, 1004, 1006. As described herein, static obstructions are at or near the ground and can be temporary or permanent. Again, since the UAVs 50 fly much lower than conventional aircraft, these obstructions need to be managed and communicated to the UAVs 50. A dynamic obstruction can include moving objects such as other UAVs 50, vehicles on the ground, etc. Management of dynamic obstructions besides other UAVs 50 is difficult in the UAV air traffic control system 300 due to their transient nature. In an embodiment, the UAVs 50 themselves can include local techniques to avoid detected dynamic obstructions.”, [0205] “The real-time course corrections and route optimization can include, for example: instructions to change direction, instructions to change flying lane(s), instruction to land and where the drone should target for landing, full route modification with an emphasis on route optimization while avoiding the negative impact of the weather event, instructions to speed up or slow down, instructions to change altitude” and [0208] “The changes can include instructions to change direction, instructions to change flying lane(s), instruction to land and where the drone should target for landing, full route modification with an emphasis on route optimization while avoiding the negative impact of the weather event, instructions to speed up or slow down, instructions to change altitude”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention with reasonable expectations of success to modify the invention of Alireza Malehmir et al. in combination with Lee Sang Kun and Priest to incorporate adjusting flying altitude based on real-time event (e.g. unplanned obstacles/obstructions) as taught by Priest for the purpose of avoiding possible collision.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alireza Malehmir et al. “The potential of rotary-wing UAV-based magnetic surveys for mineral exploration: A case study from central Sweden”, 2017, in view of Lee Sang Kun (KR 102068760 B1), in view of Priest (US 20190043368 A1), and further in view of Qian et al. (CN 110196454 A).
Regarding claim 19, Alireza Malehmir et al. in view of Lee Sang Kun and Priest discloses The
nontransitory computer readably medium according to claim 17,
Alireza Malehmir et al. the serpentine flight plan ((Figure 2, figure 4(a) “Aerial photo of the study area and the flight magnetic lines (white points) as surveyed by the UAV system.” and figure 5(a) “Total-field magnetic data as acquired by the rotary-wing UAV system”, )
Priest teaches wherein the DOM models a height of the obstacles, and an obstruction sensor determines presence of the at least one obstruction in real time to cause the deviation comprising a vertical deviation from the predetermined above-ground level of the ([0134] “geographical terrain 1000 with static obstructions 1002, 1004, 1006. As described herein, static obstructions are at or near the ground and can be temporary or permanent. Again, since the UAVs 50 fly much lower than conventional aircraft, these obstructions need to be managed and communicated to the UAVs 50. A dynamic obstruction can include moving objects such as other UAVs 50, vehicles on the ground, etc. Management of dynamic obstructions besides other UAVs 50 is difficult in the UAV air traffic control system 300 due to their transient nature. In an embodiment, the UAVs 50 themselves can include local techniques to avoid detected dynamic obstructions.”, [0205] “The real-time course corrections and route optimization can include, for example: instructions to change direction, instructions to change flying lane(s), instruction to land and where the drone should target for landing, full route modification with an emphasis on route optimization while avoiding the negative impact of the weather event, instructions to speed up or slow down, instructions to change altitude” and [0208] “The changes can include instructions to change direction, instructions to change flying lane(s), instruction to land and where the drone should target for landing, full route modification with an emphasis on route optimization while avoiding the negative impact of the weather event, instructions to speed up or slow down, instructions to change altitude”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention with reasonable expectations of success to modify the invention of Alireza Malehmir et al. in combination with Lee Sang Kun and Priest to incorporate adjusting flying altitude based on real-time event (e.g. unplanned obstacles/obstructions) as taught by Priest for the purpose of avoiding possible collision.
However, Alireza Malehmir et al. in combination with Lee Sang Kun and Priest fails to explicitly disclose wherein the predetermined above-ground level of the
Qian et al. teaches wherein the predetermined above-ground level of the (Figure 2, page 7 lines 16-20 “the solid line is the terrain 230, and the dotted line above the solid line is the flight path 220 of the drone, and the same abscissa, no one. The flight path 220 of the machine 210 is perpendicular to the terrain 230 in the vertical direction by h, h is used to indicate a preset undulating flight altitude, and v is the flight speed of the drone. Here, the undulating flight data is used to 20 indicate the data of the terrain undulating flight represented by the drone along the current geological data, and the undulating flight data may include the flight attitude, flight speed or flight direction of the drone at the next moment or the next time period.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention with reasonable expectations of success to modify the invention of Alireza Malehmir et al. in combination with Lee Sang Kun and Priest to incorporate a preset flight altitude that was beneath a peak height of the terrain as taught by Qian et al. for the purpose of “improving the geological survey accuracy of the drone”. (Qian et al., page 8 lines 15-16)
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alireza Malehmir et al. “The potential of rotary-wing UAV-based magnetic surveys for mineral exploration: A case study from central Sweden”, 2017, in view of Lee Sang Kun (KR 102068760 B1), in view of Priest (US 20190043368 A1), and further in view of Vladislav Kaminski et al. “Geophysical helicopter-based magnetic methods for locating wells”, 2018.
Regarding claim 20, Alireza Malehmir et al. in view of Lee Sang Kun and Priest discloses The
nontransitory computer readably medium according to claim 17,
However, Alireza Malehmir et al. in combination with Lee Sang Kun and Priest fails to
explicitly disclose further comprising: instructions for removing dropouts in the related to at least one of sensor errors and polar dead zones; instructions for down-sampling data from the magnetometer to about 1 Hz, and appending Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) geolocation data to the down-sampled data; instructions for diurnally correcting total field magnetic data sets with data from a magnetic base station; instructions for correcting heading errors with a statistical line leveling algorithm; instructions for determining a residual total magnetic intensity (TMI); instructions for converting the residual TMI to a raster grid using kriging interpolation; instructions for low-pass filtering the raster grid using an unweighted moving average kernel convolution; instructions for removing an effect of a local geomagnetic-field direction with a reduction to the pole filter (RTP) to create a TMI RTP raster; instructions for creating a TMI RTP map to locate peak amplitudes; and instructions for plotting the peak amplitudes over a topographic map.
Vladislav Kaminski et al. teaches further comprising: instructions for removing dropouts in
the related to at least one of sensor errors and polar dead zones; (See page 7,
Results section “By inverting the observed airborne magnetic data sets into a 3D susceptibility
volume and comparing this with well casing topologies, we could lessen type I errors in which
other materials and their associated magnetic anomalies could be mistaken for well casing-
related features.)
instructions for down-sampling data from the magnetometer to about 1 Hz, and (See
Abstract “3D inversion of a small subset of data to investigate the successful recovery of well-related magnetic susceptibility distribution and estimate subsurface well topology.”)
appending Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) geolocation data to the down-
sampled data; instructions for diurnally correcting total field magnetic data sets with data from a magnetic base station; (See page 2, Data Acquisition section “The data provider produced leveled, diurnally corrected TMF data sets, measured at the center of the airborne platform. In all surveys, a laser altimeter system mounted on the helicopter provided relative altitude information. Aircraft magnetic noise and geomagnetic drift were removed using a helicopter-mounted flux-gate magnetometer and a continuously recording magnetic base station.”)
instructions for correcting heading errors with a statistical line leveling algorithm; (See
page 7, Results Section)
instructions for determining a residual total magnetic intensity (TMI); (See page 5, Analytic Signal Interpretation section “In our calculations, we used 3 × 3 and 9 × 9 Laplacian filters to produce a residual filtered TMI RTP input grid”)
instructions for converting the residual TMI to a raster grid using kriging interpolation; (See Methodology Section)
instructions for low-pass filtering the raster grid using an unweighted moving average kernel convolution; (See Methodology Section)
instructions for removing an effect of a local geomagnetic-field direction with a reduction to the pole filter (RTP) to create a TMI RTP raster; (See Methodology Section)
instructions for creating a TMI RTP map to locate peak amplitudes; and instructions for plotting the peak amplitudes over a topographic map. (See page 4 and figure 2(a))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention with reasonable expectations of success to modify the invention of Alireza Malehmir et al. in combination with Lee Sang Kun and Priest to incorporate removing dropouts, downsampling data, associating geolocation with the data, diurnally correcting magnetic field data, correcting errors, determining TMI, converting TMI using kriging interpolation, removing an effect of a local geomagnetic-field direction to create a TMI RTP raster, and creating/plotting a TMI RTP map as taught by Vladislav Kaminski et al. for the purpose of data processing to have readable data on the survey area.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13 and 16 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 8 and 12 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/MISA H NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/ANNE MARIE ANTONUCCI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666