DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claims recite both a system and a process within the same claim. Please see MPEP 2106.03. Independent claim 1 recites:
A system for nanorobots (The preamble indicates that this is a system claim which would fall under machine) comprising:
a fabrication method (process);
a power generator (machine);
electrically controlled proteins (composition of matter);
sensors (machine);
and a method of killing an organism's cells (process);
wherein a nanorobot is fabricated, put into the organism, powered, uses sensors to determine whether to kill the organism's cells, and selectively kills the organism's cells (method steps).
A single claim cannot be both a system and a process of making and using the system. Because it is unclear whether infringement occurs when the device is made, when the proteins are provide, or only when the nanorobot itself is inserted and used to kill cells, the claim as a whole is not directed to a process, a machine, a manufacture, or a composition of matter. Claims 2 – 18 depend from claim 1 and do not cure the deficiencies of independent claim 1. Claims 19 and 20 use similar language and are similarly rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As discussed above, it is unclear whether the claim as a whole is directed to a process, a machine, a manufacture, or a composition of matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shykind et al. (US PGPUB 2020/0319165).
Regarding claim 1, Shykind discloses a system for nanorobots(e.g. ¶ 33) comprising: a fabrication method (e.g. ¶ 33); a power generator (e.g. Fig. 19 and ¶ 147); electrically controlled proteins (e.g. ¶ 7, 17, 23); sensors (e.g. ¶ 7, 8, 23); and a method of killing an organism's cells (e.g. ¶ 4, 24 – 26); wherein a nanorobot is fabricated, put into the organism, powered, uses sensors to determine whether to kill the organism's cells, and selectively kills the organism's cells (e.g. ¶ 6, 34).
Regarding claim 2, Shykind discloses the fabrication method uses thin film transistors detached from their substrate (e.g. ¶ 101).
Regarding claim 3, Shykind discloses the fabrication method fabricates the nanorobot on a silicon wafer and removes the excess silicon (e.g. Fig. 22 and ¶ 124).
Regarding claims 4 – 7, Shykind discloses the power generator absorbs energy emitted from an outside device as claimed (e.g. ¶ 147).
Regarding claim 8, Shykind discloses the power generator uses chemical processes to produce electric power (e.g. ¶ 124).
Regarding claims 9 – 13, Shykind discloses the electrically controlled proteins are functionally disabled through controlled electrostatic inhibition as claimed (e.g. ¶ 148).
Regarding claims 14 – 16, Shykind discloses the sensors are capable of detecting chemical properties of the nanorobot's surroundings as claimed (e.g. ¶ 131 – 133).
Regarding claims 17 and 18, Shykind discloses the method of killing the organism's cells is performed by heating the nanorobot and/or by emitting ionizing radiation (e.g. ¶ 154).
Regarding claim 19¸ Shykind discloses the system as previously mentioned, and further discloses the nanorobots can communicate with an outside device (e.g. ¶ 6).
Regarding claim 20, Shykind discloses the system as previously mentioned, and further discloses nanorobots can release drugs (e.g. ¶ 121).
Conclusion
/JOSEPH M DIETRICH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796