DETAILED ACTION
In response to communication filed on 8/5/2024.
Claims 1-3 are pending.
Claims 1-3 are rejected.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/5/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,063,586. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Current Application
U.S. Patent No. 12,063,586
1. A mobile telecommunications system entity for a mobile telecommunications system including at least one anchor cell entity serving at least one user equipment, wherein the at least one entity and the at least one user equipment are located in a common system information area and wherein the at least one anchor cell entity transmits minimum system information to the at least one user equipment, comprising circuitry configured to:
19. Circuitry for a user equipment for a mobile telecommunications system including at least one entity serving the user equipment, wherein the at least one entity and the user equipment are in a common system information area that includes other entities, the circuitry configured to: receive minimum system information including system information area identifier information; compare a first unique identifier associated with the minimum system information to a second unique identifier associated with system information stored by the user equipment; determine, based on comparing the first unique identifier and the second unique identifier, whether a new system information area is entered; and
transmit at least one of other system information and scheduling information to the at least one user equipment.
receive, from the at least one entity, system information that is common with the other entities of the system information area.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the limitations of U.S. Patent No. 12,063,586 to broaden scope by omitting limitations regarding specific identifiers to arrive at the same claimed inventive concept. One would be motivated to do so to provide an obvious variation that would be apparent to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Current Application
U.S. Patent No. 12,063,586
2. A mobile telecommunications system entity for a mobile telecommunications system including at least one anchor cell entity serving at least one user equipment, wherein the at least one entity and the at least one user equipment are located in a common system information area and wherein the at least one anchor cell entity transmits minimum system information to the at least one user equipment, comprising circuitry configured to:
19. Circuitry for a user equipment for a mobile telecommunications system including at least one entity serving the user equipment, wherein the at least one entity and the user equipment are in a common system information area that includes other entities, the circuitry configured to: receive minimum system information including system information area identifier information; compare a first unique identifier associated with the minimum system information to a second unique identifier associated with system information stored by the user equipment; determine, based on comparing the first unique identifier and the second unique identifier, whether a new system information area is entered; and
transmit in a handover command at least one of a new system information area identifier, configuration information and an anchor entity identification.
receive, from the at least one entity, system information that is common with the other entities of the system information area.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the limitations of U.S. Patent No. 12,063,586 to alternatively limit the use of a handover command to convey the same information to arrive at the same claimed inventive concept. One would be motivated to do so to provide an obvious variation that would be apparent to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Current Application
U.S. Patent No. 12,063,586
3. Circuitry for a user equipment of a mobile telecommunications system including at least one entity serving the user equipment, wherein the at least one entity and the user equipment are located in a common system information area, the circuitry configured to:
19. Circuitry for a user equipment for a mobile telecommunications system including at least one entity serving the user equipment, wherein the at least one entity and the user equipment are in a common system information area that includes other entities, the circuitry configured to: receive minimum system information including system information area identifier information; compare a first unique identifier associated with the minimum system information to a second unique identifier associated with system information stored by the user equipment;
receive minimum system information including system information area identifier information; and
and receive, from the at least one entity, system information that is common with the other entities of the system information area.
determine, based on the received system information area identifier information, whether a new system information area is entered.
determine, based on comparing the first unique identifier and the second unique identifier, whether a new system information area is entered;
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the limitations of U.S. Patent No. 12,063,586 to broaden scope by omitting limitations regarding specific identifiers to arrive at the same claimed inventive concept. One would be motivated to do so to provide an obvious variation that would be apparent to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claims 1-3 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,026,159. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Current Application
U.S. Patent No. 11,026,159
1. A mobile telecommunications system entity for a mobile telecommunications system including at least one anchor cell entity serving at least one user equipment, wherein the at least one entity and the at least one user equipment are located in a common system information area and wherein the at least one anchor cell entity transmits minimum system information to the at least one user equipment, comprising circuitry configured to:
1. A mobile telecommunications system anchor entity for a mobile telecommunications system including at least one entity serving at least one user equipment, wherein the at least one entity and the at least one user equipment are located in a system information area, comprising circuitry configured to: transmit minimum system information to the at least one user equipment, wherein the minimum system information includes system information area identifier information,
transmit at least one of other system information and scheduling information to the at least one user equipment.
wherein the circuitry is further configured to transmit information about entities within the system information area on demand to the at least one user equipment, and the information about entities is transmitted based on at least one of moving speed and moving direction of the user equipment.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the limitations of U.S. Patent No. 11,026,159 to broaden scope by omitting limitations regarding moving speed and direction to arrive at the same claimed inventive concept. One would be motivated to do so to provide an obvious variation that would be apparent to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Current Application
U.S. Patent No. 11,026,159
2. A mobile telecommunications system entity for a mobile telecommunications system including at least one anchor cell entity serving at least one user equipment, wherein the at least one entity and the at least one user equipment are located in a common system information area and wherein the at least one anchor cell entity transmits minimum system information to the at least one user equipment, comprising circuitry configured to:
1. A mobile telecommunications system anchor entity for a mobile telecommunications system including at least one entity serving at least one user equipment, wherein the at least one entity and the at least one user equipment are located in a system information area, comprising circuitry configured to: transmit minimum system information to the at least one user equipment, wherein the minimum system information includes system information area identifier information,
transmit in a handover command at least one of a new system information area identifier, configuration information and an anchor entity identification.
wherein the circuitry is further configured to transmit information about entities within the system information area on demand to the at least one user equipment, and the information about entities is transmitted based on at least one of moving speed and moving direction of the user equipment.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the limitations of U.S. Patent No. 11,026,159 to alternatively limit the use of a handover command to convey the same information to arrive at the same claimed inventive concept. One would be motivated to do so to provide an obvious variation that would be apparent to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Current Application
U.S. Patent No. 11,026,159
3. Circuitry for a user equipment of a mobile telecommunications system including at least one entity serving the user equipment, wherein the at least one entity and the user equipment are located in a common system information area, the circuitry configured to:
1. A mobile telecommunications system anchor entity for a mobile telecommunications system including at least one entity serving at least one user equipment, wherein the at least one entity and the at least one user equipment are located in a system information area, comprising circuitry configured to:
receive minimum system information including system information area identifier information; and
transmit minimum system information to the at least one user equipment, wherein the minimum system information includes system information area identifier information,
determine, based on the received system information area identifier information, whether a new system information area is entered.
wherein the circuitry is further configured to transmit information about entities within the system information area on demand to the at least one user equipment, and the information about entities is transmitted based on at least one of moving speed and moving direction of the user equipment.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the limitations of U.S. Patent No. 11,026,159 to broaden scope by omitting limitations regarding moving speed and direction to arrive at the same claimed inventive concept. One would be motivated to do so to provide an obvious variation that would be apparent to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kubota et al. (US Pub. 2016/0234736).
Regarding claim 1, K1 teaches a mobile telecommunications system entity for a mobile telecommunications system (i.e. network)[paragraph 0104] including at least one anchor cell entity (i.e. base station)[refer Fig. 2; 105a] serving at least one user equipment [refer Fig. 7][paragraph 0100], the at least one entity and the at least one user equipment are located in a common system information area (i.e. coverage area)[paragraph 0104] and the at least one anchor cell entity transmits minimum (i.e. on-demand) system information to the at least one user equipment [paragraph 0084], comprising circuitry configured to:
transmit at least one of other system information and scheduling information to the at least one user equipment [paragraph 0085].
Regarding claim 3, K1 teaches a circuitry for a user equipment [refer Fig. 7][paragraph 0151] of a mobile telecommunications system (i.e. network)[paragraph 0104] including at least one entity (i.e. base station)[refer Fig. 2; 105a] serving the user equipment [paragraph 0100], the at least one entity and the user equipment are located in a common system information area (i.e. coverage area)[paragraph 0104], the circuitry configured to:
receive minimum (i.e. on-demand) system information [paragraph 0084] including system information area identifier information (a master system information block (MSIB) is on demand [paragraph 0107] in which the MSIB includes information identifying an access network cell or zone [paragraph 0111]; and
determine, based on the received system information area identifier information, whether a new system information area is entered (a UE can initiate an update of its stored system information upon the occurrence of a determination that the UE has moved into a new area)[paragraph 0087].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kubota et al. (US Pub. 2016/0234736) in view of Kim et al. (US Pub. 2019/0069220)(K2 hereafter).
Regarding claim 2, K1 teaches a mobile telecommunications system entity for a mobile telecommunications system (i.e. network)[paragraph 0104] including at least one anchor cell entity (i.e. base station)[refer Fig. 2; 105a] serving at least one user equipment [refer Fig. 7][paragraph 0100], the at least one entity and the at least one user equipment are located in a common system information area (i.e. coverage area)[paragraph 0104] and the at least one anchor cell entity transmits minimum (i.e. on-demand) system information to the at least one user equipment [paragraph 0084], comprising circuitry configured to:
transmit at least one of a new system information area identifier (i.e. cell identifier) and configuration information (the MISB indicates information to which a UE can establish a connection with an access network, including multiple identifiers and random access channel information)[paragraph 0111].
However, K1 fails to disclose transmitting the at least one of a new system information area identifier, configuration information and an anchor entity identification in a handover command.
K2, in the same field of endeavor for receiving on-demand system information [refer Abstract], discloses that a selection of a random access preamble from a random access preamble set can be indicated via system information or a handover command [paragraph 0079].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of K1 to explicitly incorporate the use of a handover command to convey information as taught by K2. One would be motivated to do so to provide the use of a known technique in the field of endeavor to yield predictable results.
Conclusion
Ryan Kavleski
/R. K./
Examiner, Art Unit 2412
/CHARLES C JIANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2412