DETAILED ACTION
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 6/2/26 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application, which would extend beyond the expiration date(s) of disclosed US patent(s) has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/5/24. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 2-6, 8-14, 16-18, 20-21, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (2) as being anticipated by Gao et al. [US 20200359260].
As per claim 2, Gao teaches:
A method (Abstract, ¶ 0010) of operating a terminal device to establish a radio connection with network infrastructure equipment in a wireless telecommunications network, wherein the terminal device is associated with a previously-allocated temporary identifier (e.g. previously used device’s own identity; ¶ 0063) that identifies the terminal device within the wireless telecommunications network; (e.g. identifies the terminal device; ¶ 63) the method comprising:
transmitting a first message to the network infrastructure equipment comprising an indication of a first portion of the temporary identifier; (e.g. the temporary identifier (e.g., the 5G-S-TMSI) is divided into two parts: the 40 least significant bits (“LSB”) and the 8 most significant bits (“MSB”). The wireless communication device transmits the 40 LSB via an RRC Connection Request message. The 40 LSB transmitted in the RRC Connection Request message; ¶ 30, 62) and
transmitting a second message, which is separate from the first message, to the network infrastructure equipment comprising an indication of a second portion of the temporary identifier. (e.g. The wireless communication device (e.g., UE) transmits the 8 MSB bits of the temporary identifier via an RRC Connection Setup Complete message. The 8 MSB transmitted in the RRC Connection Setup Complete message; ¶ 35, 65-66)
wherein the second message is transmitted as a RRC connection setup complete message. (e.g. connection setup complete message; ¶ 65-66, 24).
As per claim 3, Gao teaches:
A method according to claim 2, wherein the second message comprises a request for a service from a core network of the wireless telecommunications network. (e.g. a method for transmitting a temporary identifier involves a wireless communication device: transmitting a first portion of a temporary identifier of the wireless communication device to a radio access network in a first message; and transmitting a second portion of the temporary identifier to the radio access network in a second message; ¶ 10, 17, 24).
As per claim 4, Gao teaches:
A method according to claim 3, wherein the first message is transmitted as part of a random-access contention resolution procedure. (e.g. random access procedure; ¶ 21, 65-66).
As per claim 5, Gao teaches:
A method according to claim 2, wherein the second message is transmitted after the completion of a contention resolution procedure. (e.g. completion of a contention resolution; ¶ 65-66).
As per claim 6, Gao teaches:
A method according to claim 2, wherein the size of the first message is predetermined, and the size of the second message is greater than the size of the first message and is not predetermined. (e.g. a temporary identifier for a wireless communication device (e.g., a UE) is divided into two parts. The wireless communication device (“device”) transmits the first part (“first portion”) via RRC Connection Request message. The device transmits the second part (“second portion”) via RRC Connection Setup Complete message. Although examples of particular sizes for the first and second portions have been set forth herein, it is to be understood that other sizes may also be used; ¶ 24, 51-52).
As per claim 8, Gao teaches:
The method of claim 2, further comprising: determining an identity of an access and mobility management function (AMF) in a core network based on the indication of the first portion of the temporary identifier and the indication of the second portion of the temporary identifier. (e.g. AMF, the first, second portions of the temporary identifier; ¶ 51, 54, 24).
As per claim 9, Gao teaches:
A method according to claim 2, wherein the second message comprises a indication of a protocol data unit, PDU, session identity, and the indication of the second portion of the temporary identifier comprises the indication of a protocol data unit, PDU, session identity. (e.g. PDU; ¶ 21).
As per claim 10, Gao teaches:
A method according to claim 2, wherein the temporary identifier comprises at least 48 bits and includes an access and mobility management function (AMF) identifier portion. (e.g. larger than the 40 bits; ¶ 51, 57, 24).
As per claim 11, Gao teaches:
A method (Abstract, ¶ 0010) of operating a terminal device to establish a radio connection with network infrastructure equipment in a wireless telecommunications network, wherein the terminal device is associated with a previously-allocated temporary identifier (e.g. previously used device’s own identity; ¶ 0063) that identifies the terminal device within the wireless telecommunications network, (e.g. identifies the terminal device; ¶ 63) the method comprising:
transmitting a first message to the network infrastructure equipment, the first message including an indication of a first portion of the temporary identifier, (e.g. the temporary identifier (e.g., the 5G-S-TMSI) is divided into two parts: the 40 least significant bits (“LSB”) and the 8 most significant bits (“MSB”). The wireless communication device transmits the 40 LSB via an RRC Connection Request message. The 40 LSB transmitted in the RRC Connection Request message; ¶ 30, 62) wherein the size of the first message is predetermined; (e.g. a temporary identifier for a wireless communication device (e.g., a UE) is divided into two parts. The wireless communication device (“device”) transmits the first part (“first portion”) via RRC Connection Request message. The device transmits the second part (“second portion”) via RRC Connection Setup Complete message. Although examples of particular sizes for the first and second portions have been set forth herein, it is to be understood that other sizes may also be used; ¶ 24, 51-52) and
transmitting a second message, separate from the first message. to the network infrastructure equipment. the second message including an indication of a second portion of the temporary identifier, (e.g. the temporary identifier (e.g. The wireless communication device (e.g., UE) transmits the 8 MSB bits of the temporary identifier via an RRC Connection Setup Complete message. The 8 MSB transmitted in the RRC Connection Setup Complete message; ¶ 35, 65-66)) wherein a size of the second message is greater than a size of the first message and is not predetermined. (e.g. a temporary identifier for a wireless communication device (e.g., a UE) is divided into two parts. The wireless communication device (“device”) transmits the first part (“first portion”) via RRC Connection Request message. The device transmits the second part (“second portion”) via RRC Connection Setup Complete message. Although examples of particular sizes for the first and second portions have been set forth herein, it is to be understood that other sizes may also be used; ¶ 24, 51-52).
As per claim 12, Gao teaches:
The method of claim 11 wherein the second message comprises a request for a service from a core network of the wireless telecommunications network. (e.g. a method for transmitting a temporary identifier involves a wireless communication device: transmitting a first portion of a temporary identifier of the wireless communication device to a radio access network in a first message; and transmitting a second portion of the temporary identifier to the radio access network in a second message; ¶ 10, 17).
As per claim 13, Gao teaches:
The method of claim 11 wherein the first message is transmitted as part of a random-access contention resolution procedure. (e.g. random access procedure; ¶ 21, 65-66).
As per claim 14, Gao teaches:
The method of claim 11 wherein the second message is transmitted after the completion of a contention resolution procedure. (e.g. completion of a contention resolution; ¶ 65-66).
As per claim 16, Gao teaches:
The method of claim 11, further comprising: determining an identity of an access and mobility management function (AMF) in a core network based on the indication of the first portion of the temporary identifier and the indication of the second portion of the temporary identifier. (e.g. AMF, the first, second portions of the temporary identifier; ¶ 51, 54, 24).
As per claim 17, Gao teaches:
The method of claim 11, wherein the second message comprises an indication of a protocol data unit (PDU) session identity, and the indication of the second portion of the temporary identifier comprises the indication of a PDU session identity. (e.g. PDU; ¶ 21).
As per claim 18, Gao teaches:
The method of claim 11 wherein the temporary identifier comprises at least 48 bits and includes an access and mobility management function (AMF) identifier portion. (e.g. larger than the 40 bits; ¶ 51, 57, 24).
As per claim 20, Gao teaches:
Circuitry (¶ 0020) for a network infrastructure equipment for establishing a radio connection with a terminal device in a wireless telecommunications network, wherein the terminal device is associated with a previously-allocated temporary identifier (e.g. previously used device’s own identity; ¶ 0063) that identifies the terminal device within the wireless telecommunications network, (e.g. identifies the terminal device; ¶ 63) the circuitry configured to:
receive a first message from the terminal device including an indication of a first portion of the temporary identifier; (e.g. the temporary identifier (e.g., the 5G-S-TMSI) is divided into two parts: the 40 least significant bits (“LSB”) and the 8 most significant bits (“MSB”). The wireless communication device transmits the 40 LSB via an RRC Connection Request message. The 40 LSB transmitted in the RRC Connection Request message; ¶ 30, 62) and
receive a second message, separate from the first message, from the terminal device including an indication of a second portion of the temporary identifier. (e.g. The wireless communication device (e.g., UE) transmits the 8 MSB bits of the temporary identifier via an RRC Connection Setup Complete message. The 8 MSB transmitted in the RRC Connection Setup Complete message; ¶ 35, 65-66).
As per claim 21, Gao teaches:
The circuitry of claim 20, wherein the first message is received as part of a random-access contention resolution procedure. (e.g. random access procedure; ¶ 21, 65-66).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 15, 19 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached form PTO-892 for cited references and the prior art made of record.
YOUN et al. (US 20170339609 A1) discloses:
Disclosed are a method and apparatus for determining a PDU session identity in a wireless communication system. A method for determining, by a session management function (SMF) node, a packet data network (PDU) session identity during handover of user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, may include receiving a request message for requesting the establishment of a PDU session for the UE from an access and mobility management function (AMF) node, wherein a handover for the UE from a first wireless communication system to a second wireless communication system has been determined, determining a PDU session identity for the PDU session established for the UE when the request message is received, and sending a response message including the determined PDU session identity to the AMF node in response to the request message.
Qiao et al. (US 20190150081 A1) discloses:
A radio access network (RAN) receives a first registration request from a wireless device. The RAN sends a first message to a network repository function in response to receiving the first registration request. The first message comprises at least one single network slice selection assistance information of at least one network slice. The first message comprises network slice isolation information for the at least one single network slice selection assistance information. The network repository function selects an access and mobility management function based on the network slice isolation information. The RAN receives a second message from the network repository function. The second message comprises an Internet protocol address of the access and mobility management function. The RAN sends a second message to the access and mobility management function. The second registration request may be for the first registration request.
/SHARAD RAMPURIA/
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2641