DETAILED ACTION
Receipt is acknowledged of Applicant’s Response, dated 26 February 2026, which papers have been made of record.
Claims 1-13 are currently presented for examination.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 18/045,469, filed on 11 October 2022.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites “forming a convex part of the frame” at line 2. The Specification as filed appears to identify the convex part as element 115, which is shown in Figure 4A as being a step or stepped member. To the best of the examiner’s understanding, the term “convex” refers to a shape or outline curved in the manner of an exterior of a circle or sphere. It is unclear how one having ordinary skill in the art would find that the illustrated stepped portion 115 is curved and thus convex, as claimed.
Claim 10 recites “forming a convex part of the frame” at line 2. The Specification as filed appears to identify the convex part as element 115, which is shown in Figure 4A as being a step or stepped member. To the best of the examiner’s understanding, the term “convex” refers to a shape or outline curved in the manner of an exterior of a circle or sphere. It is unclear how one having ordinary skill in the art would find that the illustrated stepped portion 115 is curved and thus convex, as claimed.
Claim 10 recites “forming a convex part of the frame” at line 2. Claim 8, from which claim 10 depends, recites “forming a through hole that penetrates through a frame” at line 4 and “a frame of the base plate” at lines 10-11. It is unclear to which previously recited frame claim 10 refers.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4-6
Claims 1 and 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent 11,395,439 to Mira et al. (hereinafter “Mira”) in view of United States Patent Application 2011/0277955 to Lee (hereinafter “Lee”).
Regarding claim 1, Mira discloses a manufacturing method of a vapor chamber lid (200), the method comprising: forming a base plate (300), wherein the base plate comprises a plate body (body of 300; see Fig. 2E), a frame (walls at 302; see Fig. 3A) and a plurality of supporting pillars (306), and the frame surrounds the plate body (body of 300) to define a cooling space (interior volume; see Col. 5, lines 61-66), and the cooling space is configured to accommodate a working fluid (Col. 6, lines 7-17); forming a through hole (102; see Col. 6, lines 7-9) that penetrates through the frame (300); disposing a top plate (206) on the frame (body of 300; see Col. 5, lines 61-64), wherein an external sidewall (at flange 305) of the frame of the base plate (300) is coplanar with an external sidewall (unnumbered outer perimeter) of the top plate (206; see Col. 3, lines 61-67, components are flush); and forming a chip accommodating portion (404; see Col. 4, lines 54-62 and Fig. 6H) on the plate body of the base plate (300), wherein the chip accommodating portion faces away from the cooling space (interior volume).
Mira does not explicitly disclose closing and compressing the through hole, however Mira teaches that the interior volume is sealed (see Col. 6, lines 7-8). Mira teaches that its vapor chamber components may be brazed or welded (Col. 3, line 67 – Col. 4, line 2), such that one having ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect that the components of Mira’s vapor chamber are formed of weldable materials.
It is well-known in the art of forming vapor chambers to close through holes to the cooling space.
For example, Lee teaches such closing. Lee teaches a method for forming a vapor chamber having a frame body (02) and a top plate (01). The vapor chamber is provided with a fluid injection port through hole (100; see paragraph [0053]), forming a semi-finished vapor chamber, and performing fluid injection (see paragraph [0055]). After fluid injection has been completed, the fluid injection port through hole (100) is closed and compressed (see paragraph [0058] and [0059]; pressing the port 100 and sealing by welding) to form a closed vapor chamber.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method taught by Mira to include a conventional chamber sealing process, such as the closing and compressing process taught by Lee. (See MPEP 2143(1)(A)). The resulting method would predictably result in a sealed vapor chamber having been filled with a working fluid thought a fluid port. One having ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect that the chamber sealing technique of Lee would produce a sealed vapor chamber having the configuration of Mira because Lee teaches its sealing technique produces a sealed vapor chamber (paragraphs [0056]-[0059]).
Thus, the combination of Mira and Lee teaches the limitations of claim 1.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Mira and Lee teaches the limitations of claim 1, and further Mira teaches forming a convex part (at 202; best seen in profile views, see Fig. 2D) on the frame (walls at 302), such that the external sidewall (at flange 305) of the frame is located between the external sidewall (unnumbered external perimeter wall) of the top plate (206) and the convex part of the frame (see Figs. 3B and 3C).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Mira and Lee teaches the limitations of claim 1, and further Mira teaches that forming the chip accommodating portion (404) of the plate body of the base plate is performed by using chemical-mechanical planarization, milling (insert body 400 may be machined by milling; see claims 9 and 18), stamping, or etching.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Mira and Lee teaches the limitations of claim 1, and further Mira teaches forming a cavity (see Annotated Figure) on each of the external sidewall (at flange portion 305) of the frame (at walls 302) of the base plate and on the external sidewall (unnumbered outer perimeter) of the top plate (206), wherein the two cavities completely overlap with each other (see Annotated Figure; indented portions defining cavities understood to have the same surface area).
Claim 2
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Mira and Lee as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of United States Patent Application Publication 2016/0288277 to Yang (hereinafter “Yang”).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Mira and Lee teaches the limitations of claim 1, and further Lee teaches that the through hole (port 100) is compressed by welding (spot welding; see paragraph [0059]).
Lee does not explicitly disclose that the spot welding is resistance welding, ultrasonic welding, or high-frequency welding, however it is known in the art to perform spot welding by performing resistance welding or ultrasonic welding.
For example, Yang teaches a method for assembling a vapor chamber. Yang teaches that a heat transfer unit (1) may be welded to a vapor chamber frame (2; paragraph [0032]). The spot welding may be resistance welding, ultrasonic welding, or laser spot welding (paragraph [0032]). Yang teaches that such welding effectively reduces the steps for assembling the components and production costs, but also reduces assembling tolerance problems (see paragraph [0032]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method taught by the combination of Mira and Lee to includes a conventional welding technique for sealing components, such as resistance welding or ultrasonic welding, as taught by Yang. (See MPEP 2143(1)(C)). The resulting method would advantageously reduce the production costs for assembling the vapor chamber.
Thus, the combination of Mira, Lee, and Yang teaches the limitations of claim 2.
Claim 3, 8, and 10-12
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Mira and Lee as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of United States Patent Application Publication 2020/0355444 to Chen (hereinafter “Chen”).
Claims 8 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent 11,395,439 to Mira et al. (hereinafter “Mira”) in view of United States Patent Application 2011/0277955 to Lee (hereinafter “Lee”) and further in view of United States Patent Application Publication 2020/0355444 to Chen (hereinafter “Chen”).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Mira and Lee teaches the limitations of claim 1, and further Mira teaches disposing a pipeline (port 102) communicated with the through hole and the cooling space on a side of the frame facing away from the cooling space (interior volume); filling the working fluid into the cooling space through the through hole and the pipeline (Col. 6, lines 7-9; working fluid filled into space via the fill port). Mira does not explicitly teach cutting off the pipeline.
It is known in the art of sealed vapor chambers to perform cutting of the pipelines. For example, Chen teaches such vapor chamber manufacturing technique.
Chen teaches a method for forming a vapor chamber (100) including assembling a lower body portion (110) having a plurality of pillars (154) and an upper body portion (190) to form a vapor chamber body. The vapor chamber body is provided with a filling port (260; see paragraph [0055]-[0056]) which allows for working fluid to be delivered to the interior of the vapor chamber (paragraph [0056]). After the fluid is introduced, the pipe is sealed and then cut off (see paragraph [0056], final two sentences).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method taught by the combination of Mira and Lee to includes a step for cutting off the pipeline for filling the working fluid, as taught by Chen. (See MPEP 2143(1)(A)). The resulting method would predictably produce a sealed vapor chamber containing a working fluid as taught by Mira. One having ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect that the vapor chamber produced by the method would be sealed in a conventional manner because Chen teaches its vapor chamber is suitably sealed following the cutting step.
Thus, the combination of Mira, Lee, and Chen teaches the limitations of claim 3.
Regarding claim 8, Mira discloses a manufacturing method of a vapor chamber lid (200), the method comprising: forming a base plate (300), wherein the base plate comprises a plate body (body of 300; see Fig. 2E), a frame (walls at 302; see Fig. 3A) and a plurality of supporting pillars (306), and the frame surrounds the plate body (body of 300) to define a cooling space (interior volume; see Col. 5, lines 61-66), and the cooling space is configured to accommodate a working fluid (Col. 6, lines 7-17); forming a through hole (102; see Col. 6, lines 7-9) that penetrates through the frame (300); disposing a pipeline (port 102) communicated with the through hole and the cooling space on a side of the frame facing away from the cooling space (interior volume); filling the working fluid into the cooling space through the through hole and the pipeline (Col. 6, lines 7-9; working fluid filled into space via the fill port); disposing a top plate (206) on the frame (body of 300; see Col. 5, lines 61-64), wherein an external sidewall (at flange 305) of the frame of the base plate (300) is coplanar with an external sidewall (unnumbered outer perimeter) of the top plate (206; see Col. 3, lines 61-67, components are flush); and forming a chip accommodating portion (404; see Col. 4, lines 54-62 and Fig. 6H) on the plate body of the base plate (300), wherein the chip accommodating portion faces away from the cooling space (interior volume).
Mira does not explicitly disclose closing and compressing the through hole, however Mira teaches that the interior volume is sealed (see Col. 6, lines 7-8). Mira teaches that its vapor chamber components may be brazed or welded (Col. 3, line 67 – Col. 4, line 2), such that one having ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect that the components of Mira’s vapor chamber are formed of weldable materials. Mira also does not explicitly disclose cutting off the pipeline.
It is well-known in the art of forming vapor chambers to close through holes to the cooling space.
For example, Lee teaches such closing. Lee teaches a method for forming a vapor chamber having a frame body (02) and a top plate (01). The vapor chamber is provided with a fluid injection port through hole (100; see paragraph [0053]), forming a semi-finished vapor chamber, and performing fluid injection (see paragraph [0055]). After fluid injection has been completed, the fluid injection port through hole (100) is closed and compressed (see paragraph [0058] and [0059]; pressing the port 100 and sealing by welding) to form a closed vapor chamber.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method taught by Mira to include a conventional chamber sealing process, such as the closing and compressing process taught by Lee. (See MPEP 2143(1)(A)). The resulting method would predictably result in a sealed vapor chamber having been filled with a working fluid thought a fluid port. One having ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect that the chamber sealing technique of Lee would produce a sealed vapor chamber having the configuration of Mira because Lee teaches its sealing technique produces a sealed vapor chamber (paragraphs [0056]-[0059]).
The combination of Mira and Lee does not explicitly teach cutting off a pipeline, however it is known in the art of sealed vapor chambers to perform cutting of the pipelines. For example, Chen teaches such vapor chamber manufacturing technique.
Chen teaches a method for forming a vapor chamber (100) including assembling a lower body portion (110) having a plurality of pillars (154) and an upper body portion (190) to form a vapor chamber body. The vapor chamber body is provided with a filling port (260; see paragraph [0055]-[0056]) which allows for working fluid to be delivered to the interior of the vapor chamber (paragraph [0056]). After the fluid is introduced, the pipe is sealed and then cut off (see paragraph [0056], final two sentences).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method taught by the combination of Mira and Lee to includes a step for cutting off the pipeline for filling the working fluid, as taught by Chen. (See MPEP 2143(1)(A)). The resulting method would predictably produce a sealed vapor chamber containing a working fluid as taught by Mira. One having ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect that the vapor chamber produced by the method would be sealed in a conventional manner because Chen teaches its vapor chamber is suitably sealed following the cutting step.
Thus, the combination of Mira, Lee, and Chen teaches the limitations of claim 8.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Mira, Lee, and Chen teaches the limitations of claim 8, and further Mira teaches forming a convex part (at 202; best seen in profile views, see Fig. 2D) on the frame (walls at 302), such that the external sidewall (at flange 305) of the frame is located between the external sidewall (unnumbered external perimeter wall) of the top plate (206) and the convex part of the frame (see Figs. 3B and 3C).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Mira, Lee, and Chen teaches the limitations of claim 8, and further Mira teaches that forming the chip accommodating portion (404) of the plate body of the base plate is performed by using chemical-mechanical planarization, milling (insert body 400 may be machined by milling; see claims 9 and 18), stamping, or etching.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Mira, Lee, and Chen teaches the limitations of claim 8, and further Mira teaches forming a cavity (see Annotated Figure) on each of the external sidewall (at flange portion 305) of the frame (at walls 302) of the base plate and on the external sidewall (unnumbered outer perimeter) of the top plate (206), wherein the two cavities completely overlap with each other (see Annotated Figure; indented portions defining cavities understood to have the same surface area).
Claim 7
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Mira and Lee as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of United States Patent Application Publication 2021/0289669 to Yurchenko et al. (hereinafter “Yurchenko”).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Mira and Lee Chen teaches the limitations of claim 1, but the combination does not explicitly disclose disposing a first structural plate, wherein bottom portions of a plurality of supporting pillars are surrounded by the first structural plate, and disposing a second structural plate, wherein top portions of the supporting pillars are surrounded by the second structural plate. Lee teaches that a cavity of the vapor chamber may be filled with a supporting structure (see paragraphs [0067] and [0081]), advantageously dispersing pressure applied to the vapor chamber for better performance.
Yurchenko teaches a vapor chamber (100) having an upper plate (13) and a lower plate (12) with a plurality of support pillars (120) extending between the plates within a cavity (11) of the vapor chamber. A first capillary structure (151) is positioned at the lower plate portion (see paragraph [0043] and surrounds the pillars (120) while a second capillary structure (153) is positioned at the upper plate portion (13) and also surrounds the pillars (120; see Fig. 2). Yurchenko teaches that the capillary structure increases thermal resistance of the vapor chamber (see paragraph [0048]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method taught by the combination of Mira and Lee to include providing a plurality of capillary structures at the upper and lower portions of the support pillars, as taught by Yurchenko. (See MPEP 2143(1)(C)). Advantageously, the capillary structures would increase thermal resistance of the manufactured vapor chamber.
Thus, the combination of Mira, Lee, and Yurchenko teaches the limitations of claim 7.
Claim 9
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Mira, Lee, and Chen as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of United States Patent Application Publication 2016/0288277 to Yang (hereinafter “Yang”).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Mira, Lee, and Chen teaches the limitations of claim 8, and further Lee teaches that the through hole (port 100) is compressed by welding (spot welding; see paragraph [0059]).
Lee does not explicitly disclose that the spot welding is resistance welding, ultrasonic welding, or high-frequency welding, however it is known in the art to perform spot welding by performing resistance welding or ultrasonic welding.
For example, Yang teaches a method for assembling a vapor chamber. Yang teaches that a heat transfer unit (1) may be welded to a vapor chamber frame (2; paragraph [0032]). The spot welding may be resistance welding, ultrasonic welding, or laser spot welding (paragraph [0032]). Yang teaches that such welding effectively reduces the steps for assembling the components and production costs, but also reduces assembling tolerance problems (see paragraph [0032]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method taught by the combination of Mira, Lee, and Chen to includes a conventional welding technique for sealing components, such as resistance welding or ultrasonic welding, as taught by Yang. (See MPEP 2143(1)(C)). The resulting method would advantageously reduce the production costs for assembling the vapor chamber.
Thus, the combination of Mira, Lee, Chen, Yang teaches the limitations of claim 9.
Claim 13
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Mira, Lee, and Chen as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of United States Patent Application Publication 2021/0289669 to Yurchenko et al. (hereinafter “Yurchenko”).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Mira, Lee, and Chen teaches the limitations of claim 8, but the combination does not explicitly disclose disposing a first structural plate, wherein bottom portions of a plurality of supporting pillars are surrounded by the first structural plate, and disposing a second structural plate, wherein top portions of the supporting pillars are surrounded by the second structural plate. Lee teaches that a cavity of the vapor chamber may be filled with a supporting structure (see paragraphs [0067] and [0081]), advantageously dispersing pressure applied to the vapor chamber for better performance.
Yurchenko teaches a vapor chamber (100) having an upper plate (13) and a lower plate (12) with a plurality of support pillars (120) extending between the plates within a cavity (11) of the vapor chamber. A first capillary structure (151) is positioned at the lower plate portion (see paragraph [0043] and surrounds the pillars (120) while a second capillary structure (153) is positioned at the upper plate portion (13) and also surrounds the pillars (120; see Fig. 2). Yurchenko teaches that the capillary structure increases thermal resistance of the vapor chamber (see paragraph [0048]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method taught by the combination of Mira, Lee, and Chen to include providing a plurality of capillary structures at the upper and lower portions of the support pillars, as taught by Yurchenko. (See MPEP 2143(1)(C)). Advantageously, the capillary structures would increase thermal resistance of the manufactured vapor chamber.
Thus, the combination of Mira, Lee, Chen, and Yurchenko teaches the limitations of claim 13.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
United State Patent 10,739,081 to Zhou et al. teaches a method for making a vapor chamber having a plurality of support pillars and a pipeline for filling the vapor chamber with working fluid.
United States Patent Application Publication 2018/0372419 to Liu et al. a method for making a vapor chamber having a plurality of support pillars and a pipeline for filling the vapor chamber with working fluid and a plurality of capillary members (wick structures 120a and 130a) positionable within the vapor chamber.
/DARRELL C FORD/Examiner, Art Unit 3726