DETAILED ACTION
Receipt is acknowledged of Applicant’s Response, dated 17 August 2026, which papers have been made of record.
Claims 1-2 and 4-13 are currently presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4-6
Claims 1 and 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent 11,395,439 to Mira et al. (hereinafter “Mira”) in view of United States Patent Application 2011/0277955 to Lee (hereinafter “Lee”) and further in view of United States Patent Application Publication 2020/0355444 to Chen (hereinafter “Chen”).
Regarding claim 1, Mira discloses a manufacturing method of a vapor chamber lid (200), the method comprising: forming a base plate (300), wherein the base plate comprises a plate body (body of 300; see Fig. 2E), a frame (walls at 302; see Fig. 3A) and a plurality of supporting pillars (306), and the frame surrounds the plate body (body of 300) to define a cooling space (interior volume; see Col. 5, lines 61-66), and the cooling space is configured to accommodate a working fluid (Col. 6, lines 7-17); forming a through hole (102; see Col. 6, lines 7-9) that penetrates through the frame (300) and communicated with the cooling space (see Fig. 1B; hole shown in communication with the interior volume); disposing a top plate (206) on the frame (body of 300; see Col. 5, lines 61-64), wherein an external sidewall (at flange 305) of the frame of the base plate (300) is coplanar with an external sidewall (unnumbered outer perimeter) of the top plate (206; see Col. 3, lines 61-67, components are flush); filling working fluid into the cooling space through the through hole and the pipeline (Col. 6, lines 7-9; working fluid filled into space via the fill port); and forming a chip accommodating portion (404; see Col. 4, lines 54-62 and Fig. 6H) on the plate body of the base plate (300), wherein the chip accommodating portion faces away from the cooling space (interior volume).
Mira does not explicitly disclose closing and compressing the through hole, however Mira teaches that the interior volume is sealed (see Col. 6, lines 7-8). Mira teaches that its vapor chamber components may be brazed or welded (Col. 3, line 67 – Col. 4, line 2), such that one having ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect that the components of Mira’s vapor chamber are formed of weldable materials.
It is well-known in the art of forming vapor chambers to close through holes to the cooling space.
For example, Lee teaches such closing. Lee teaches a method for forming a vapor chamber having a frame body (02) and a top plate (01). The vapor chamber is provided with a fluid injection port through hole (100; see paragraph [0053]), forming a semi-finished vapor chamber, and performing fluid injection (see paragraph [0055]). Lee teaches preparing a vacuum chamber with a vacuum pumping device (see paragraph [0021] and [0056]). After fluid injection has been completed, the fluid injection port through hole (100) is closed and compressed (see paragraph [0058] and [0059]; pressing the port 100 and sealing by welding) to form a closed vapor chamber.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method taught by Mira to include a conventional chamber sealing process, such as the closing and compressing process taught by Lee. (See MPEP 2143(1)(A)). The resulting method would predictably result in a sealed vapor chamber having been filled with a working fluid thought a fluid port. One having ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect that the chamber sealing technique of Lee would produce a sealed vapor chamber having the configuration of Mira because Lee teaches its sealing technique produces a sealed vapor chamber (paragraphs [0056]-[0059]).
The combination does not explicitly teach cutting off the pipeline.
It is known in the art of sealed vapor chambers to perform cutting of pipelines. For example, Chen teaches such vapor chamber manufacturing technique.
Chen teaches a method for forming a vapor chamber (100) including assembling a lower body portion (110) having a plurality of pillars (154) and an upper body portion (190) to form a vapor chamber body. The vapor chamber body is provided with a filling port (260; see paragraph [0055]-[0056]) which allows for working fluid to be delivered to the interior of the vapor chamber (paragraph [0056]). After the fluid is introduced, the pipe is sealed and then cut off (see paragraph [0056], final two sentences) at the edges 112.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method taught by the combination of Mira and Lee to includes a step for cutting off the pipeline for filling the working fluid, as taught by Chen. (See MPEP 2143(1)(A)). The resulting method would predictably produce a sealed vapor chamber containing a working fluid as taught by Mira. One having ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect that the vapor chamber produced by the method would be sealed in a conventional manner because Chen teaches its vapor chamber is suitably sealed following the cutting step, the sealed and cutoff pipeline being cut off at the edges of the plate such that no pipeline extends on the edges of the sidewall of the base plate.
Thus, the combination of Mira, Lee, and Chen teaches the limitations of claim 1.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Mira, Lee, and Chen teaches the limitations of claim 1, and further Mira teaches forming a stepped part (at 202; best seen in profile views, see Fig. 2D) on the frame (walls at 302), such that the external sidewall (at flange 305) of the frame is located between the external sidewall (unnumbered external perimeter wall) of the top plate (206) and the stepped part of the frame (see Figs. 3B and 3C).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Mira, Lee, and Chen teaches the limitations of claim 1, and further Mira teaches that forming the chip accommodating portion (404) of the plate body of the base plate is performed by using chemical-mechanical planarization, milling (insert body 400 may be machined by milling; see claims 9 and 18), stamping, or etching.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Mira, Lee, and Chen teaches the limitations of claim 1, and further Mira teaches forming a cavity (see Annotated Figure) on each of the external sidewall (at flange portion 305) of the frame (at walls 302) of the base plate and on the external sidewall (unnumbered outer perimeter) of the top plate (206), wherein the two cavities completely overlap with each other (see Annotated Figure; indented portions defining cavities understood to have the same surface area).
Regarding claim 8, Mira discloses a manufacturing method of a vapor chamber lid (200), the method comprising: forming a base plate (300), wherein the base plate comprises a plate body (body of 300; see Fig. 2E), a frame (walls at 302; see Fig. 3A) and a plurality of supporting pillars (306), and the frame surrounds the plate body (body of 300) to define a cooling space (interior volume; see Col. 5, lines 61-66), and the cooling space is configured to accommodate a working fluid (Col. 6, lines 7-17); forming a through hole (102; see Col. 6, lines 7-9) that penetrates through the frame (300) oof the base plate and communicated with the cooling space (interior volume); disposing a pipeline (port 102) communicated with the through hole and the cooling space on a side of the frame facing away from the cooling space (interior volume); filling the working fluid into the cooling space through the through hole and the pipeline (Col. 6, lines 7-9; working fluid filled into space via the fill port); disposing a top plate (206) on the frame (body of 300; see Col. 5, lines 61-64), wherein an external sidewall (at flange 305) of the frame of the base plate (300) is coplanar with an external sidewall (unnumbered outer perimeter) of the top plate (206; see Col. 3, lines 61-67, components are flush); and forming a chip accommodating portion (404; see Col. 4, lines 54-62 and Fig. 6H) on the plate body of the base plate (300), wherein the chip accommodating portion faces away from the cooling space (interior volume).
Mira does not explicitly disclose closing and compressing the through hole, however Mira teaches that the interior volume is sealed (see Col. 6, lines 7-8). Mira teaches that its vapor chamber components may be brazed or welded (Col. 3, line 67 – Col. 4, line 2), such that one having ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect that the components of Mira’s vapor chamber are formed of weldable materials. Mira also does not explicitly disclose cutting off the pipeline.
It is well-known in the art of forming vapor chambers to close through holes to the cooling space.
For example, Lee teaches such closing. Lee teaches a method for forming a vapor chamber having a frame body (02) and a top plate (01). The vapor chamber is provided with a fluid injection port through hole (100; see paragraph [0053]), forming a semi-finished vapor chamber, and performing fluid injection (see paragraph [0055]). Lee teaches preparing a vacuum chamber with a vacuum pumping device (see paragraph [0021] and [0056]). After fluid injection has been completed, the fluid injection port through hole (100) is closed and compressed (see paragraph [0058] and [0059]; pressing the port 100 and sealing by welding) to form a closed vapor chamber.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method taught by Mira to include a conventional chamber sealing process, such as the closing and compressing process taught by Lee. (See MPEP 2143(1)(A)). The resulting method would predictably result in a sealed vapor chamber having been filled with a working fluid thought a fluid port. One having ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect that the chamber sealing technique of Lee would produce a sealed vapor chamber having the configuration of Mira because Lee teaches its sealing technique produces a sealed vapor chamber (paragraphs [0056]-[0059]).
The combination of Mira and Lee does not explicitly teach cutting off a pipeline, however it is known in the art of sealed vapor chambers to perform cutting of the pipelines. For example, Chen teaches such vapor chamber manufacturing technique.
Chen teaches a method for forming a vapor chamber (100) including assembling a lower body portion (110) having a plurality of pillars (154) and an upper body portion (190) to form a vapor chamber body. The vapor chamber body is provided with a filling port (260; see paragraph [0055]-[0056]) which allows for working fluid to be delivered to the interior of the vapor chamber (paragraph [0056]). After the fluid is introduced, the pipe is sealed and then cut off (see paragraph [0056], final two sentences).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method taught by the combination of Mira and Lee to includes a step for cutting off the pipeline for filling the working fluid, as taught by Chen. (See MPEP 2143(1)(A)). The resulting method would predictably produce a sealed vapor chamber containing a working fluid as taught by Mira. One having ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect that the vapor chamber produced by the method would be sealed in a conventional manner because Chen teaches its vapor chamber is suitably sealed following the cutting step.
Thus, the combination of Mira, Lee, and Chen teaches the limitations of claim 8.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Mira, Lee, and Chen teaches the limitations of claim 8, and further Mira teaches forming a stepped part (at 202; best seen in profile views, see Fig. 2D) on the frame (walls at 302), such that the external sidewall (at flange 305) of the frame is located between the external sidewall (unnumbered external perimeter wall) of the top plate (206) and the stepped part of the frame (see Figs. 3B and 3C).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Mira, Lee, and Chen teaches the limitations of claim 8, and further Mira teaches that forming the chip accommodating portion (404) of the plate body of the base plate is performed by using chemical-mechanical planarization, milling (insert body 400 may be machined by milling; see claims 9 and 18), stamping, or etching.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Mira, Lee, and Chen teaches the limitations of claim 8, and further Mira teaches forming a cavity (see Annotated Figure) on each of the external sidewall (at flange portion 305) of the frame (at walls 302) of the base plate and on the external sidewall (unnumbered outer perimeter) of the top plate (206), wherein the two cavities completely overlap with each other (see Annotated Figure; indented portions defining cavities understood to have the same surface area).
Claim 2
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Mira, Lee, and Chen, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of United States Patent Application Publication 2016/0288277 to Yang (hereinafter “Yang”).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Mira, Lee, and Chen teaches the limitations of claim 1, and further Lee teaches that the through hole (port 100) is compressed by welding (spot welding; see paragraph [0059]).
Lee does not explicitly disclose that the spot welding is resistance welding, ultrasonic welding, or high-frequency welding, however it is known in the art to perform spot welding by performing resistance welding or ultrasonic welding.
For example, Yang teaches a method for assembling a vapor chamber. Yang teaches that a heat transfer unit (1) may be welded to a vapor chamber frame (2; paragraph [0032]). The spot welding may be resistance welding, ultrasonic welding, or laser spot welding (paragraph [0032]). Yang teaches that such welding effectively reduces the steps for assembling the components and production costs, but also reduces assembling tolerance problems (see paragraph [0032]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method taught by the combination of Mira, Lee, and Chen to includes a conventional welding technique for sealing components, such as resistance welding or ultrasonic welding, as taught by Yang. (See MPEP 2143(1)(C)). The resulting method would advantageously reduce the production costs for assembling the vapor chamber.
Thus, the combination of Mira, Lee, Chen, and Yang teaches the limitations of claim 2.
Claim 7
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Mira, Lee, and Chen as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of United States Patent Application Publication 2021/0289669 to Yurchenko et al. (hereinafter “Yurchenko”).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Mira, Lee, and Chen teaches the limitations of claim 1, but the combination does not explicitly disclose disposing a first structural plate, wherein bottom portions of a plurality of supporting pillars are surrounded by the first structural plate, and disposing a second structural plate, wherein top portions of the supporting pillars are surrounded by the second structural plate. Lee teaches that a cavity of the vapor chamber may be filled with a supporting structure (see paragraphs [0067] and [0081]), advantageously dispersing pressure applied to the vapor chamber for better performance.
Yurchenko teaches a vapor chamber (100) having an upper plate (13) and a lower plate (12) with a plurality of support pillars (120) extending between the plates within a cavity (11) of the vapor chamber. A first capillary structure (151) is positioned at the lower plate portion (see paragraph [0043] and surrounds the pillars (120) while a second capillary structure (153) is positioned at the upper plate portion (13) and also surrounds the pillars (120; see Fig. 2). Yurchenko teaches that the capillary structure increases thermal resistance of the vapor chamber (see paragraph [0048]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method taught by the combination of Mira, Lee, and Chen to include providing a plurality of capillary structures at the upper and lower portions of the support pillars, as taught by Yurchenko. (See MPEP 2143(1)(C)). Advantageously, the capillary structures would increase thermal resistance of the manufactured vapor chamber.
Thus, the combination of Mira, Lee, Chen, and Yurchenko teaches the limitations of claim 7.
Claim 9
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Mira, Lee, and Chen as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of United States Patent Application Publication 2016/0288277 to Yang (hereinafter “Yang”).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Mira, Lee, and Chen teaches the limitations of claim 8, and further Lee teaches that the through hole (port 100) is compressed by welding (spot welding; see paragraph [0059]).
Lee does not explicitly disclose that the spot welding is resistance welding, ultrasonic welding, or high-frequency welding, however it is known in the art to perform spot welding by performing resistance welding or ultrasonic welding.
For example, Yang teaches a method for assembling a vapor chamber. Yang teaches that a heat transfer unit (1) may be welded to a vapor chamber frame (2; paragraph [0032]). The spot welding may be resistance welding, ultrasonic welding, or laser spot welding (paragraph [0032]). Yang teaches that such welding effectively reduces the steps for assembling the components and production costs, but also reduces assembling tolerance problems (see paragraph [0032]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method taught by the combination of Mira, Lee, and Chen to includes a conventional welding technique for sealing components, such as resistance welding or ultrasonic welding, as taught by Yang. (See MPEP 2143(1)(C)). The resulting method would advantageously reduce the production costs for assembling the vapor chamber.
Thus, the combination of Mira, Lee, Chen, Yang teaches the limitations of claim 9.
Claim 13
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Mira, Lee, and Chen as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of United States Patent Application Publication 2021/0289669 to Yurchenko et al. (hereinafter “Yurchenko”).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Mira, Lee, and Chen teaches the limitations of claim 8, but the combination does not explicitly disclose disposing a first structural plate, wherein bottom portions of a plurality of supporting pillars are surrounded by the first structural plate, and disposing a second structural plate, wherein top portions of the supporting pillars are surrounded by the second structural plate. Lee teaches that a cavity of the vapor chamber may be filled with a supporting structure (see paragraphs [0067] and [0081]), advantageously dispersing pressure applied to the vapor chamber for better performance.
Yurchenko teaches a vapor chamber (100) having an upper plate (13) and a lower plate (12) with a plurality of support pillars (120) extending between the plates within a cavity (11) of the vapor chamber. A first capillary structure (151) is positioned at the lower plate portion (see paragraph [0043] and surrounds the pillars (120) while a second capillary structure (153) is positioned at the upper plate portion (13) and also surrounds the pillars (120; see Fig. 2). Yurchenko teaches that the capillary structure increases thermal resistance of the vapor chamber (see paragraph [0048]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method taught by the combination of Mira, Lee, and Chen to include providing a plurality of capillary structures at the upper and lower portions of the support pillars, as taught by Yurchenko. (See MPEP 2143(1)(C)). Advantageously, the capillary structures would increase thermal resistance of the manufactured vapor chamber.
Thus, the combination of Mira, Lee, Chen, and Yurchenko teaches the limitations of claim 13.
Response to Arguments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Applicant’s arguments, see Response, filed 17 August 2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 4 and 10 under 35 USC 112 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The Rejection of 2 June 2026 has been withdrawn.
The examiner notes that the Specification has been amended to replace the term “convex” with “stepped” and accepts the replacement as matching the examiner’s previous understanding of the structures being described.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Applicant’s arguments, see Response, filed 17 August 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 4-6 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of the combination of Mira, Lee, and Chen.
Claims 1 and 4-6 were previously rejected over the combination of Mira and Lee.
Claim 2 was previously rejected over the combination of Mira, Lee, and Yang.
Claims 3, 8, and 10-12 were previously rejected over the combination of Mira, Lee, and Chen.
Claim 7 was previously rejected over the combination of Mira, Lee, and Yurchenko.
Claim 9 was previously rejected over the combination of Mira, Lee, Chen, and Yang.
Claim 13 was previously rejected over the combination of Mira, Lee, Chen, and Yurchenko.
Applicant asserts that claim 1 has been amended to recite “cutting off the pipeline such that there is no pipeline on the external sidewall of the frame of the base plate.” Applicant asserts that the amended feature is not disclosed or suggested to the prior art.
The examiner agrees that Mira and Lee do not disclose the amended feature. However, the amended feature of cutting off the pipeline is a variant of previously claimed claim 3, which was rejected over the combination of Mira, Lee, and Chen. Chen teaches that the pipe used to fill its cooling plate is which extends from the edges of the plate is trimmed. The examiner understands this trimming to remove the pipeline which is used to fill the cooling plate such that there would be no pipeline extending beyond the external sidewall of the plate.
Applicant further argues that “the combination of Mira and Lee fails to disclose or teach that the pipeline is cut after filling, nor does the combination disclose[] or teach[] the final frame structure without pipeline on the external sidewall. In addition, the metal tube 1 of Lee is capable of performing functions such as vacuuming, working fluid filling, and sealing.” Applicant contends that Lee must supply the motivation to provide the pipeline and to improve its metal tube.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Mira already teaches a pipeline (102). Lee is not relied upon for teaching the pipeline. It may be that Applicant is interpreting the fluid injection port 100 described in paragraph [0053] of Lee as being a metal tube 1. Nevertheless, Lee is relied upon in the combination for teaching that fluid passages into the cooling plate are closed and sealed. Mira teaches that a sealed interior is desirable (see Abstract) as does Lee. However, Mira also teaches a pipeline in its fill port 102 (see Fig. 3B; port illustrated as a pipe extending from the chamber wall). Cutting off the pipeline at the edges of the plate, as suggested by Chen, is also understood to produce a sealed vapor chamber. As argued by Applicant in the Response (see Response at page 15), the combination would produce a vapor chamber “without pipeline on the external sidewall that is not only capable of improving space utilization efficiency” and “also reduces the risk of impact damage to exposed tube.” The combination of Mira, Lee, and Chen need not bodily incorporate the passage of Lee to produce the alleged results.
For completeness, the examiner notes that it is unclear from where in Applicant’s disclosure the alleged improved space utilization efficiency or assembly flexibility find support. A review of Applicant’s specification for “space utilization” and “flexibility” yield no results.
Regarding previously presented claim 3, Applicant asserts “Claim 3 has been cancelled, and thus the rejection of claim[] 3 is now moot.”
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Amended claim 1 appears to incorporate a variant of previous claim 3, and the rejection over Mira, Lee, and Chen is substantially maintained.
Regarding dependent claims 2, 8, 10-12, 7, 9, and 13, Applicant alleges that each is allowable for depending from claim 1, directly or indirectly.
Claim 1 stands rejected.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DARRELL C FORD/Examiner, Art Unit 3726