DETAILED ACTION
Claims filed 8-5-2024
Claim Objections
Claims 2-9 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2, line 1 “The shell module for packaging the electronic device as described in claim 1.
Claim 3, line 1 “The shell module for packaging the electronic device as described in claim 1.
Claim 4, line 1 “The shell module for packaging the electronic device as described in claim 1.
Claim 5, line 1 “The shell module for packaging the electronic device as described in claim 1.
Claim 6, line 1 “The shell module for packaging the electronic device as described in claim 1.
Claim 7, line 1 “The shell module for packaging the electronic device as described in claim 1.
Claim 8, line 1 “The shell module for packaging the electronic device as described in claim 1.
Claim 9, line 2 - - the shell module for packaging the electronic device as claimed in any one of claim 1. Should change to “The shell module for packaging an electronic device as described in claim 1” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hu CN115334387A
Regrading claim 1, Hu CN115334387A discloses a shell module for packaging an electronic device, the shell module (Figs 1-4, shell module/housing module 120, i.e., a housing module for packaging electronic devices, voice receiving device 100, cooking equipment 200 including a circuit board assembly 110, a housing 120, and a sound insulator 130, the circuit board assembly 110 includes a microphone 111. The circuit board assembly 110 is defined within a housing 120 (equivalent to a housing module for electronic device package, para [23-24, 29-43]) comprising:
a first shell (Fig 3, upper outer shell 122, para [48] i.e., a first housing including the first and second sides of the relative setup, including the top and side panels);
a second shell (Fig 3, a lower outer shell 123, para [24, 48]; i.e., a second housing, including the third and fourth sides of the relative setup); and
an engagement-locking structure through which the first shell and the second shell are connected to each other (fixing structure 160, the first fixed structure 160 includes a snap connection 161 (i.e., a locking structure) with a snap structure, para [48, 52-55]);
wherein the engagement-locking structure comprises at least one engagement portion and at least one locking portion that are engaged with each other, the at least one engagement portion is fixed to the first shell, the at least one locking portion is fixed to the second shell (para [54-56] The first fixed structure 160 includes a snap connection 161 (i. e., a locking structure) with a snap structure. The snap connection part 161 comprises a protruding part 162 (i.e., a snap joint) and a fastener 163 (i. e. , a locking portion). The protruding part 162 is provided in the upper shell 122 (that is, the snap part is fixed with the first shell and fixed on the outer surface of the side plate), the fastener 163 is provided in the lower shell 123 (that is, the locking part is fixed with the second shell), and the fastener 163 and the protruding part 162 are arranged accordingly),
the first shell comprises a first side and a second side that are opposite to each other, and the second shell comprises a third side and a fourth side that are opposite to each other (Figs 2-3 shows);
wherein the engagement portion on the first side of the first shell is correspondingly
engaged with the locking portion on the third side of the second shell, and the engagement
portion on the second side of the first shell is correspondingly engaged with the locking
portion on the fourth side of the second shell (Fig 3, upper outer shell 122 and lower outer shell 123 are connected by the first fixing structure 160, the protrusion 162 can pass through the buckle hole 1631 along the through hole direction of the buckle hole 1631 on the buckle hole 163 and be confined in the buckle hole 1631, so that the buckle hole 163 confines the protrusion 162 thereby confining the lower outer shell 123 to the upper outer shell 122, (Figs 2-3 The number of snap connection portions 161 is plural, and multiple snap connection portions 161 surround the housing 120 are arranged on the housing 120 (that is, the snap portion on the first side of the first housing corresponds to the locking portion on the third side of the second housing, and the clamping portion on the second side of the first housing corresponds to the locking portion on the third side of the second housing). In this way, the effect of fixed connection between the upper shell 122 and the lower shell 123 can be realized and Fig 3 shows the number and spacing of fasteners 163 on the opposite sides of the lower shell, that is, the third and fourth sides, are different, and only two fasteners 163 are provided on one side, that is, on the third side, and the spacing between the two is larger than that of the two fasteners on the fourth side. According to the corresponding settings of fastener 163 and protrusion 162, para [48, 54-57]),
wherein the first side of the first shell is further provided with an inserting portion that protrudes from the first side of the first shell, the inserting portion is located between two adjacent engagement portions on the first side of the first shell, an inserting space is formed between two adjacent locking portions that are on the third side of the second shell and nearest to the inserting portion, and a non-inserting space is formed between two adjacent locking portions that are on the fourth side of the second shell and nearest to the inserting portion (Figs 2-3 The number of snap connection portions 161 is plural, and multiple snap connection portions 161 surround the housing 120 are arranged on the housing 120 (that is, the snap portion on the first side of the first housing corresponds to the locking portion on the third side of the second housing, and the clamping portion on the second side of the first housing corresponds to the locking portion on the third side of the second housing). In this way, the effect of fixed connection between the upper shell 122 and the lower shell 123 can be realized and Fig 3 shows the number and spacing of fasteners 163 on the opposite sides of the lower shell, that is, the third and fourth sides, are different, and only two fasteners 163 are provided on one side, that is, on the third side, and the spacing between the two is larger than that of the two fasteners on the fourth side. According to the corresponding settings of fastener 163 and protrusion 162, para [48, 54-57]), and
wherein an orthographic projection of the inserting portion onto the inserting space
completely falls within the inserting space, and an orthographic projection of the inserting portion onto the non-inserting space is at least partially located outside the non-inserting space is an orthographic projection of the inserting space (Figs 2-3, when the upper shell 122 and the lower shell 123 through the first fixing structure 160 is connected, the convex piece 162 integrally can through hole direction through hole 1631 buckle hole 1631 through hole 1631 and is defined in the buckle hole 1631, so that the buckle hole piece 163 to the convex piece 162 is defined, so that the lower shell 123 to limit the upper shell 122. Therefore, it can realize the upper shell 122 and the lower shell 123 are fixedly connected with each other. The number of the buckle connecting part 161 is multiple, a plurality of buckle connecting part 161 around the shell 120 is set on the shell 120. Specifically, the convex piece 162 of the upper shell 122 is set around the periphery of the upper shell 122, the lower shell 123 of the buckle hole piece 163 around the periphery of the lower shell 123, and each convex piece 162 corresponding to a buckle hole piece 163, Fig 3 shows inserting portion inserted in inserting space is an orthographic projection).
Regrading claim 2, Hu CN115334387A discloses the shell module for packaging an electronic device as described in claim 1, wherein the first shell comprises a top plate and a side plate formed by bending and extending from an edge of the top plate towards the second shell, and the top plate is spaced apart from the second shell, and the side plate abuts against a surface of the second shell, and wherein the engagement portion is fixed to an outer surface of the side plate, the locking portion is fixed to a surface of the second shell abutting against the side plate, and the locking portion is located on an outer periphery of the side plate (Figs 2-3, the protruding member 162 protrudes on the surfaces of the upper housing 122 in the plate-like extension direction of the upper housing 122, the snap-fit hole member 163 is formed with a snap-fit hole1631 whose through-hole direction is substantially parallel to the plate-like extension direction of the lower housing 123; the butthole 163 and the projection 162 are provided correspondingly; when the upper housing 122 and lower housing 123 are connected by first securing structure 160, the entirely of tab 162 can penetrate and be defined within the snap-fit hole1631 along the through-hole of the snap-fit hole1631 on the snap-fit hole163 such that the snap-fit hole163 defines the tab 162 and the lower housing 123 defines the upper housing 122; in this ways, the effect of the fixed connection between the upper housing 122 and the lower housing 123; the snap connection 161 are a plurality, and a plurality of snap connections 161 are discloses around the periphery of the upper housing 122, a snap-fit hole163 located in the lower housing 123 is disposed around a periphery of the lower housing 123, and a snap-fit hole163 corresponding to each projection 162 (corresponding to the first housing comprising a top plate and a side plate that extend bent away from an edge of the top plate in a direction proximate to the second housing, the top plate being spaced being space relative to the second housing, the side plate abutting a surface of the housing, the catch portion being fixed to an outer surface of the side plate, the latch portion being fixed to a surface of the second housing abutting the side plate, and the latch portion being located at a periphery of the side plate; a detachable connection between the catch portion and the latch portion being located at a periphery of the side plate; a detachable connection between the catch portion and the latch portion, with the catch portion and the latch portion arranged in a one-one correspondence, Figs 2-3, para [52-58]).
Regrading claim 3, Hu CN115334387A discloses the shell module for packaging an electronic device as described in claim 1, wherein the at least one engagement portion are detachably connected to the at least one locking portion, and the at least one engagement portion one-to-one corresponds to the at least one locking portion (the lower shell 123 are detachable connected, and the upper shell 122 can be connected to each other by means of a first fixed structure 160. The first fixed structure 160 includes a snap connection 161 (i.e., a locking structure) with a snap structure. The snap connection part 161 comprises a protruding part 162 (i.e., a snap joint) and a fastener 163 (i.e., a locking portion). The protruding part 162 is provided in the upper shell 122 (that is, the snap part is fixed on the outer surface of the side plate), the fastener 163 is provided in the lower shell 123 (that is, the locking part is fixed with the second shell), and the fastener 163 and the protruding part 162 are arrange accordingly and further see claim 2, Figs 2-3, para [48, 52-58]).
Regrading claim 4, Hu CN115334387A discloses the shell module for packaging an electronic device as described in claim 1, wherein only one inserting portion is provided (Fig 3 shows multiple inserting portions).
Referred to applicant’s specification para [0038] states that only one inserting portion 110 is provided. However, more than one inserting portion 110 may also be provided according to actual requirement.
Hu CN115334387A discloses the claimed invention except for the shell module for packaging the electronic device as described in claim 1, wherein only one inserting portion is provided. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the application to have the shell module for packaging an electronic device as described in claim 1, wherein only one inserting portion is provided is matter of design choice. Since it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together. The motivation for this would have yielded predictable resulted.
Regrading claim 5, Hu CN115334387A discloses the shell module for packaging an electronic device as described in claim 1, wherein the inserting portion (Fig 3 shows inserting portion is between two elements 164), the at least one engagement portion and the first shell are formed into one piece (Fig 3, engagement portion via as the fixing structure 160 includes a snap-fit connection portion 161 with a snap-fit structure. The snap-fit connection part 161 includes a protrusion 162 and a snap-fit hole 163. The protruding part 162 is provided on the upper cover shell 122, para [52-53]).
Regrading claim 6, Hu CN115334387A discloses the shell module for packaging an electronic device as described in claim 1, wherein the inserting portion is a U-shaped rib comprising a bottom edge and two side edges that are at two ends of the bottom edge and spaced apart from each other, and the two side edges and the bottom edge together form a U-shaped structure (Fig 3, the upper shell 122 and lower shell 123 are snapped, the projected fits with the gaps between adjacent two hole fasteners 163, the insert portion of top shell 122 inserting into inserting space of lower shell 123 form a U-shaped structure); and wherein after assembly is completed, the two side edges abut against two locking portions located at two sides of the inserting space (Fig 3, the upper housing 122 includes a receiving recess 164 partially disposed about the projection 162, the receiving notch 164 is capable of receiving a partial protrusion structure 1632 of the snap-fit hole163; the overall structure of the snap-fit hole163 is provided as a ring-like structure, while a side of the ring-like structure distal from the lower housing 123 forms a partial protruding structure 1632 of the snap-fit hole163; when the upper housing 122 and the lower housing 123 are connected by the first fixing structure 160, the projection 162 is defined within the snap-fit hole1631, and the partial protrusion structure 1632 of the snap-fit hole163 is proximate to and receivable in a recessed manner within the receiving recess 164, such that upon completion, the snap-fit structure formed by the projection 162 and the snap-fit hole163, the inwardly recessed receiving recesses 164 form protrusions therebetween, when the upper shell 122 and the lower shell 123 are snapped, the projection fits with the gap between adjacent two-hole fasteners 163, which has a U-shaped bead comprising a bottom edge and two side edges at opposite ends of the bottom edge, the side edges cooperating with the bottom edge to enclose a U-shaped structure, the side edges abutting two locking portions located on either side of the space after assembly).
Regrading claim 9, Hu CN115334387A discloses an electronic device (Fig 3, a speech receiving device 100 equivalent to an electronic device), comprising: the shell module for packaging the electronic device as claimed in any one of claim 1;
a circuit board (circuit board assembly 110 includes a microphone 111, the circuit board assembly 110 is defined within the housing 120); and at least one electronic component,
wherein the first shell (Fig 3, 122, para [48-49]) and the second shell (123) together define an accommodating space (first shell 122 and second shell 123 cooperatively enclosing a receiving space, the circuit board and the electronic component are housed in the housing space), the circuit board (Fig 3, circuit board assembly 110) and the electronic component (microphone 111) are accommodated in the accommodating space (Fig 3, housing 120),
the circuit board is connected to an external power supply through a wire, and the electronic component is mounted to the circuit board and electrically connected to the circuit board (Figs 1-3, a voice receiving device 100 for a cooking device 200 including a circuit board assembly 110, a housing 120, and a sound insulator 130. The circuit board assembly 100 includes a microphone 111; the circuit board assembly 110 is defined within the housing 120; the housing 120 includes a first sound guide hole 121; the sound insulator member is disposed on the circuit board assembly 110 on a side facing the first sound guide hole 121; the sound insulating member 130 includes a second sound guiding hole 131; the second sound guide hole 131 communicates with the first sound guide hole 121; the microphone is disposed directly to the second sound guide hole 131 (equivalent to the first housing and the second housing cooperatively enclosing a receiving space, the circuit board and the electronic component are housed in the housing space, the circuit board being connected to an external power source by wire, and the electronic component being mounted on the circuit board and being electrically connected to the circuit board).
Regrading claim 10, Hu CN115334387A discloses the electronic device as described in claim 9, wherein the electronic component is an MEMS device, the shell module for packaging the electronic device is provided with a sound outlet hole the in communication with the outside at a position corresponding to a sound outlet of the MEMS device, and the sound generated by the MEMS device propagates outward through the sound outlet hole (Figs 2-3, the circuit board assembly 110 includes a microphone 111, the circuit board assembly 110 is defined within the housing 120; the housing 120 includes a first sound guide hole 121, the sound insulator 130 is disposed on the circuit board assembly 110 on a side facing the first sound guide hole 121; the sound insolating member 130 includes a second sound guiding hole 131; second sound guiding hole 131 communicates with first sound hole 121, the microphone 111 is disposed directly to the second sound guide hole 131 (equivalent to the electronic component being a MEMS device, the housing module for the electronic device package being provided with an acoustic exit hole in communication with the outside through which sound generated by the MEMS device propagates outward corresponding to the position where the MEMS device sounds).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu CN115334387A
Regrading claim 7, Hu CN115334387A discloses the shell module for packaging an electronic device as described in claim 1, wherein the inserting portion of upper shell 122 and inserting space of lower shell 123 are snapped and form a U-shaped structure, The U-shaped structure comprising a bottom edge and two side edges at opposite ends of the bottom edges cooperating with the bottom edge to enclose a U-shaped structure, the side edges abutting two locking portion located on either side of the space after assembly.
Hu CN115334387A discloses the claimed invention except for the shell module for packaging an electronic device as described in claim 1, wherein the inserting portion is a cylindrical protrusion, two sides of the cylindrical protrusion abut against two locking portions located at two sides of the inserting space, and the cylindrical protrusion has a diameter not greater than a minimum width of the inserting space.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the application to have made the inserting portion is a cylindrical protrusion, two sides of the cylindrical protrusion abut against two locking portions located at two sides of the inserting space, and the cylindrical protrusion has a diameter not greater than a minimum width of the inserting space is matter of design choice. Since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine in the art. The motivation for this would have yielded predictable resulted.
Claim(s) 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu CN115334387A in view of Stanley 2013/0050909
Regrading claim 8, Hu CN115334387A discloses wherein the inserting portion and locking portion.
Hu CN115334387A does not explicitly disclose the shell module for packaging an electronic device as described in claim 1, wherein the inserting portion comprises at least one group of bumps spaced apart in a horizontal direction, each group of bumps comprises two bumps, and the two bumps abut against two locking portions located at two sides of the inserting space.
Stanley 2013/0050909 teaches in Fig 17, interlocking feature (snaps) such as protrusions 84 and 86/bumps, para [48].
Stanley teaches the claim invention except for wherein the inserting portion comprises at least one group of bumps spaced apart in a horizontal direction, each group of bumps comprises two bumps, and the two bumps abut against two locking portions located at two sides of the inserting space. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the application to have wherein the inserting portion comprises at least one group of bumps spaced apart in a horizontal direction, each group of bumps comprises two bumps, and the two bumps abut against two locking portions located at two sides of the inserting space is matter of design choice. Since it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together. The motivation for this would have yielded predictable resulted.
generic Conclusion
/JULIE X DANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2692
/CAROLYN R EDWARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2692