DETAILED ACTION
1. Claim 16 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 6/15/2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement(s) filed on 8/5/2024 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, and has/have been considered and a copy/copies is/are enclosed with this Office action.
Foreign Priority
3. Acknowledgement is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C 119(a-d) based on JP 2020-093607, filed on 5/28/2020.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
‘acquisition unit’ in claim 17
‘training unit’ in claim 17
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 8-10, 13-15, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hu (US PGPub 2018/0157972) [hereafter Hu].
6. As to claim 8, Hu discloses a neural network training method (as shown in Figures 5-6) that is a computer-implemented method for training a neural network (neural network shown in Figures 1-2) that includes a common network (common portion 110) that is common to a plurality of classes and a plurality of single-class networks (task portions 120-150) that are connected to the common network and each of which has a single-class output layer (task output layers 124-154) for individually classifying each of the plurality of classes, the neural network training method comprising: an acquisition step of acquiring training data (training data sample) that includes ground truth data corresponding to at least one of the plurality of classes; and a training step of training the neural network by using the training data, wherein, when training is performed by using training data (second training data sample) that includes missing ground truth data corresponding to at least one of the plurality of classes (annotated ground truth labels for first inference tasks but not second inference tasks), the training step trains a single-class network corresponding to a class of which ground truth data is not missing and does not train the single-class network corresponding to the class of which ground truth data is missing (Paragraphs 0008, 0017, 0020-0029, 0035, 0040-0048, 0055-0072, a general purpose computing device (shown in Figure 7) includes a main memory computer-accessible medium configured to store program instructions that allow a processor to perform tasks of training a neural network having a common portion that performs convolutional operations to generate intermediate results as low-level features on input data representative of a plurality of classes that are transferred to specific task portions that have single class output layers for outputting classification identifiers for the input intermediate results generated by the common portion, wherein the neural network is trained by feeding training data sets including ground truth labels corresponding to the plurality of classes and computing respective loss function results and backpropagating gradient values through the networks in order to tune the neurons/layers of the neural networks, wherein training includes providing a training data sample that is annotated with ground truth labels for first task portions of the single-class neural networks and adjusting the parameters of the task portions corresponding to the ground truth labels but missing ground truth labels for second task portions of the single-class neural networks and consequently refrains from updating the parameters of the single-class neural networks associated with the second task operations).
7. As to claim 9, Hu discloses the training step trains the common network, irrespective of whether the training data has missing ground truth data (Paragraphs 0058-0062, the common network is trained even when a task does not contain any ground truth labels associated with a data set by setting a weighting coefficient of that particular task to 0).
8. As to claim 10, Hu discloses the training step calculates a loss value for output of each of the single-class output layers by using a different loss function (Paragraphs 0008, 0018, 0054, 0058, 0061, 0064-0066, different losses are calculated for each of the single-class/task output layers based on the training data samples and the corresponding ground truth labels in order to correctly update the individual single-class/task layers).
9. As to claim 13, Hu discloses based on a class that corresponds to ground truth data that the training data has, the training step determines a layer of which parameters are to be updated, the parameters being used when training is performed by using the training data (Paragraphs 0008, 0018, 0055, 0059, 0064-0066, based on the ground truth labels associated with the input training data sample, layers of the single-class/task portions and parameters thereof are updated).
10. As to claim 14, Hu discloses the training step groups training data based on a class that corresponds to ground truth data that the training data has, and performs training by selecting the training data on a group basis to be used in one epoch (Paragraph 0056, the first training data samples includes ground truth labels that are used to simultaneously train all of the single-class/task portions during one epoch).
11. As to claim 15, Hu discloses the training step performs training by selecting a group of training data including ground truth data corresponding to all the classes at the end of one epoch (Paragraph 0056, the first training data samples includes ground truth labels that are used to simultaneously train all of the single-class/task portions during one epoch).
12. As to claim 17, Hu discloses an image processing apparatus (computing device as shown in Figure 7) training a neural network (as shown in Figures 1-2) including a a common network (common portion 110) that is common to a plurality of classes and a plurality of single-class networks (task portions 120-150) that are connected to the common network and each of which has a single-class output layer (task output layers 124-154) for individually classifying each of the plurality of classes, the image processing apparatus comprising: an acquisition unit (processor) that acquires training data (training data sample) that includes ground truth data corresponding to at least one of the plurality of classes; and a training unit (processor) that trains the neural network by using the training data, wherein, when training is performed by using training data (second training data sample) that includes missing ground truth data corresponding to at least one of the plurality of classes (annotated ground truth labels for first inference tasks but not second inference tasks), the training unit trains a single-class network corresponding to a class of which ground truth data is not missing and does not train the single-class network corresponding to the class of which ground truth data is missing (Paragraphs 0008, 0017, 0020-0029, 0035, 0040-0048, 0055-0072, a general purpose computing device (shown in Figure 7) includes a main memory computer-accessible medium configured to store program instructions that allow a processor to perform tasks of training a neural network having a common portion that performs convolutional operations to generate intermediate results as low-level features on input data representative of a plurality of classes that are transferred to specific task portions that have single class output layers for outputting classification identifiers for the input intermediate results generated by the common portion, wherein the neural network is trained by feeding training data sets including ground truth labels corresponding to the plurality of classes and computing respective loss function results and backpropagating gradient values through the networks in order to tune the neurons/layers of the neural networks, wherein training includes providing a training data sample that is annotated with ground truth labels for first task portions of the single-class neural networks and adjusting the parameters of the task portions corresponding to the ground truth labels but missing ground truth labels for second task portions of the single-class neural networks and consequently refrains from updating the parameters of the single-class neural networks associated with the second task operations).
13. As to claim 18, Hu discloses a computer-readable storage medium (main memory) non-transitorily storing a program for causing a computer to execute each step of the method according to claim 8 (Paragraphs 0067, 0069, 0072).
Claim Objections
14. Claims 11-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
15. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MICHAEL S OSINSKI whose telephone number is (571) 270-3949. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday - Friday, 10:00am - 6:00pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Oneal Mistry can be reached on (313) 446-4912. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571)-273-8300.
MO
/MICHAEL S OSINSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2674
8/18/2026