DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Japan on 8/8/23. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the JP2023-129062 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The applicant’s claim now recites the first and second housings “enclose” claimed features. The term requires entirely surrounding the claimed elements which is not originally provided in the applicant’s specification or shown in the applicant’s drawings. The term “enclose” or variant thereof doesn’t appear in the applicant’s specification at all.
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The applicant’s amendment requiring the enclosed aspects relating to the paper guide and roll paper are not clearly understood. As noted above, the applicant’s originally disclosure fails to provide detail and the term requires a complete surrounding of the claimed elements. For the purpose of examination the “enclosed” elements are merely required to be within the claimed feature requiring the enclosure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki et al (US Pat No 8,061,914) in view of Taki et al (JP2013-212689).
Regarding claims 1 and 9, as best understood, Sasaki discloses an information terminal device, comprising:
a roll paper printer having a second housing (shown in figure 1) and being configured to pull out paper from paper roll (P), perform printing (1), and cut the paper (26), the roll paper printer being enclosed by the first housing;
a paper guide (8) configured to guide the paper; and
an issue port (identified by arrow of B) through which the paper is discharged, wherein
the paper guide includes
a first guide (108a) for guiding a first surface of the paper,
a roller (108b) for guiding a second surface of the paper being a surface opposite to the first surface at a position facing the first guide, and
a support portion (linkage including 108c) permitted to movably support a shaft of the roller.
It is noted that Sasaki fails to explicitly disclose a first housing. However, Taki discloses a similar device for printing on roller paper having multiple housings wherein a second housing (13) is provided within a first housing (10). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have modified Sasaki with the teachings of Taki to achieve the predictable result of providing a end product which can easily and safely be used which can hold each and every component in the desired place.
Regarding claim 2, Sasaki discloses the paper guide includes a second guide (102a) disposed on a side opposite to the first guide with the roller interposed, and the support portion is provided at the first guide or the second guide.
Regarding claim 6, Sasaki discloses the roll paper printer, by transporting a first sheet of paper before being cut, is permitted to move a second sheet of paper that is cut and located between the first guide and the roller.
Regarding claim 7, Sasaki discloses the paper guide includes a first opening through which the paper discharged from the roll paper printer is permitted to enter, and a second opening that is in communication with the first opening and through which the paper is permitted to be put out to the issue port (e.g. how a sheet feeds through the guide).
Regarding claim 8, Sasaki discloses along with the structure recited in claim 1, Sasaki discloses a platen roller (see column 7, line 37 column 8, line 6) configured to pull out the paper from roll paper and configured to transport the paper to the issue port via the paper guide; a head (14) configured to perform printing on the paper at a position facing the platen roller; and a cutter (26) configured to cut the paper, wherein the combination discloses the platen roller, head, and cutter are provided in a second housing.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 8 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Patrick Cicchino/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619