DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments
The amendment filed on 6/30/2026 has been entered.
Claims 1-3, 5-16 and 18-20 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3 and 5-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over USPGP# 20160353665 of Hummel et al. (henceforth Hummel).
Regarding claim 1, Hummel teaches
A baler implement (10) comprising:
a baling system (34) defining a baling chamber (36) operable to receive crop material therein and form the crop material into a bale (¶0034);
a wrap system (60) including a spool roller (76) positioned to direct a wrap material (66) from a supply roll (64) of the wrap material into the baling chamber;
wherein the spool roller includes an exterior surface (external surface of 76) for engaging the wrap material (¶0039);
wherein the exterior surface of the spool roller defines a cylindrical shape (see fig. 6) rotatable about an axis of rotation (A, fig. 7);
wherein the spool roller includes an annular groove (126) disposed about the axis of rotation of the spool roller and recessed below the exterior surface of the spool roller relative to the axis of rotation (fig. 8);
a material guide (112) having a first portion (portion of 116 that is inside the groove 126 as shown in annotated fig. 8) and a guide portion (114);
wherein the first portion of the material guide is disposed within the annular groove of the spool roller for positioning the material guide relative to the axis of rotation of the spool roller (fig. 6 and fig. 8); and
wherein the guide portion of the material guide is attached to the first portion and extends radially away from the axis of rotation of the spool roller to a distal end (fig. 6 and fig. 8) thereof spaced radially away from the exterior surface of the spool roller relative to the axis of rotation of the spool roller for guiding the wrap material away from the spool roller and into the baling chamber (¶0043-0044 fig. 6 and fug. 8).
Hummel teaches wherein the first portion of the material guide extends around the axis of rotation of the spool roller for securing the material guide relative to the spool roller (¶0048, i.e. securing the first portion of the material guide 16 and the spool roller 76 in order to reduce mechanical disturbances between the two element. Additionally, as described in para 0047, the first portion of 16 is secured within the groove 126 of spool roller which will inherently secure the material guide relative to the spool roller 76). Hummel does not explicitly teach wherein the first portion of the material guide extends more than one hundred eighty degrees (180°) around the axis of rotation of the spool roller.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to make the first portion of the material guide extends more than one hundred eighty degrees (180°) around the axis of rotation of the spool roller, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges, in order to ensure proper guiding of the wrap material while securing material guide and spool roller and preventing mechanical disturbances between the material guide and spool roller, involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Additionally, a skilled artisan would have recognized that the modification of Hummel to increase the engagement angle to more than 180° between the first portion and spool roller, involves no more than the predictable use of prior art elements (engagement fingers of material guide) according to their established functions (reduce mechanical disturbance and secure the material guide and to the spool roller). The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results. KSR, 550 U.S. at 416
Regarding claim 3, as shown in claim 1, Hummel teaches
wherein the first portion of the material guide is completely disposed radially inward of the exterior surface of the spool roller relative to the axis of rotation of the spool roller (see annotated fig. 8).
Should the applicant contend that Hummel does not teach the first portion of the material guide is completely disposed radially inward of the exterior surface of the first spool roller relative to the axis of rotation of the first spool roller.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to make the first portion of the material guide is completely disposed radially inward of the exterior surface of the first spool roller relative to the axis of rotation of the first spool roller, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges, in order to ensure the wrap material is guided properly without interfering with cooperating elements, involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 5, as shown in claim 1, Hummel teaches
a stationary member (96) fixed in position relative to the axis of rotation of the spool roller, and wherein the guide portion of the material guide is coupled to the stationary member to limit rotation of the material guide (¶0046).
Regarding claim 6, as shown in claim 5, Hummel teaches
wherein the stationary member defines an aperture (hole for 120, ¶0046), with the distal end of the guide portion of the material guide extending through the aperture (fig. 8).
Regarding claim 7, as shown in claim 5, Hummel teaches
a fastener (120) connecting the guide portion of the material guide to the stationary member (¶0046).
Regarding claim 8, as shown in claim 1, Hummel teaches
wherein the spool roller extends a length along the axis of rotation of the spool roller (fig. 6), wherein the annular groove includes a plurality of annular grooves (126 in fig. 6) spaced apart from each other along the axis of rotation of the spool roller, and wherein the material guide includes a plurality of material guides (116 in fig. ), with each one of the plurality of material guides disposed within a respective one of the plurality of annular grooves (see fig. 6).
Regarding claim 9, as shown in claim 1, Hummel teaches
wherein the guide portion of the material guide extends tangentially relative to the exterior surface of the spool roller (fig. 8).
Regarding claim 10, as shown in claim 1, Hummel teaches
wherein the first portion of the material guide includes a spring steel (¶0045).
Regarding claim 11, as shown in claim 10, Hummel teaches
wherein the guide portion of the material guide includes a spring steel (¶0045).
Regarding claim 12, as shown in claim 11, Hummel teaches
wherein the guide portion of the material guide is a linear projection (114, fig. 8) and extends tangentially relative to the exterior surface of the spool roller (see fig. 8).
Regarding claim 13, as shown in claim 10, Hummel teaches
wherein the guide portion of the material guide defines a shape defining a desired delivery path of the wrap material between the spool roller and the baling chamber (figs. 6-8).
Regarding claim 14, as shown in claim 1, Hummel teaches
wherein the spool roller is freely rotatable relative to the first portion of the material guide (¶0037).
Claims 2, 15-16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hummel in view of USPGP# 20230081287 of Kappelman et al. (henceforth Kappelman).
Regarding claim 2, as shown in claim 1, Hummel does not teach
wherein the spool roller includes an elastomer material defining the exterior surface.
Kappelman teaches
a similar baler implement (20) comprising
a baling system (30) defining a baling chamber (32) operable to receive crop material therein and form the crop material into a bale (¶0031);
a wrap system (50) including a spool roller (58) positioned to direct a wrap material (52) from a supply roll (68) of the wrap material into the baling chamber;
wherein the spool roller includes an exterior surface (70) for engaging the wrap material (¶0037);
wherein the exterior surface of the spool roller defines a cylindrical shape (¶0037) rotatable about an axis of rotation (62); and
wherein the spool roller (58) that includes an elastomer material (¶0040) defining the exterior surface.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the spool roller such that the exterior surface is made from elastomer material, as taught by Kappelman, in order to provide the predictable result of allowing easy coupling of the wrapping material to the spool roller thus allowing precise control over feeding of the wrap material into the baling chamber (Kappelman: ¶0010).
Regarding claim 15, Hummel teaches
A baler implement (10) comprising:
a baling system (34) defining a baling chamber (36) having an inlet (44, ¶0025) into the baling chamber, wherein the baling system is operable to receive crop material into the baling chamber through the inlet and form the crop material into a bale within the baling chamber (¶0025);
a wrap system (60) operable to insert a wrap material (66) into the baling chamber to wrap the bale, the wrap system including:
a first spool roller (76) and a corresponding belt (80) arranged in parallel and positioned to form a nip therebetween (nip between 76 and 80 as shown in fig. 4), wherein the first spool roller and the corresponding belt are configured to receive the wrap material from a supply roll (64) of the wrap material through an entrance side of the nip (right side of nip in fig. 4) and discharge the wrap material into the baling chamber through an outlet side of the nip (left side of nip in fig. 4);
wherein the first spool roller includes an exterior surface (exterior surface of 76) for engaging the wrap material (¶0039);
wherein the exterior surface of the first spool roller defines a cylindrical shape (see fig. 6) rotatable about a respective axis of rotation (A) of the first spool roller;
wherein the first spool roller includes an annular groove (126) disposed about the axis of rotation of the first spool roller and recessed below the exterior surface of the first spool roller relative to the axis of rotation of the first spool roller (fig. 6 and fig. 8);
a material guide (112) having a first portion (portion of 116 that is inside the groove 126 as shown in fig. 8) and a guide portion (114);
wherein the first portion of the material guide is disposed within the annular groove of the first spool roller for positioning the material guide relative to the axis of rotation of the first spool roller (fig. 6 and fig. 8); and
wherein the guide portion of the material guide is attached to the first portion and extends radially away from the axis of rotation of the first spool roller to a distal end of the guide portion (fig. 6 and fig. 8), with the distal end of the guide portion spaced radially away from the exterior surface of the first spool roller relative to the axis of rotation of the first spool roller for guiding the wrap material away from the first spool roller and into the baling chamber (¶0043-0044 fig. 6.)
Hummel teaches wherein the first portion of the material guide extends around the axis of rotation of the spool roller for securing the material guide relative to the spool roller (¶0048, i.e. securing the first portion of the material guide 16 and the spool roller 76 in order to reduce mechanical disturbances between the two element. Additionally, as described in para 0047, the first portion of 16 is secured within the groove 126 of spool roller which will inherently secure the material guide relative to the spool roller 76). Hummel does not explicitly teach wherein the first portion of the material guide extends more than one hundred eighty degrees (180°) around the axis of rotation of the spool roller.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to make the first portion of the material guide extends more than one hundred eighty degrees (180°) around the axis of rotation of the spool roller, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges, in order to ensure proper guiding of the wrap material while securing material guide and spool roller and preventing mechanical disturbances between the material guide and spool roller, involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Additionally, a skilled artisan would have recognized that the modification of Hummel to increase the engagement angle to more than 180° between the first portion and spool roller, involves no more than the predictable use of prior art elements (engagement fingers of material guide) according to their established functions (reduce mechanical disturbance and secure the material guide and to the spool roller). The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results. KSR, 550 U.S. at 416
Hummel uses a first spool roller (76) and a belt (80) for guiding the wrap material into the baling chamber and therefore does not teach
a second spool roller arranged in parallel and positioned to form a nip therebetween, wherein the first spool roller and the second spool roller are configured to receive the wrap material from a supply roll of the wrap material through an entrance side of the nip and discharge the wrap material into the baling chamber through an outlet side of the nip; and wherein the first spool roller includes an elastomer forming an exterior surface for engaging the wrap material.
Kappelman teaches
A baler implement (20) comprising:
a baling system (30) defining a baling chamber (32) having an inlet (46) into the baling chamber, wherein the baling system is operable to receive crop material into the baling chamber through the inlet and form the crop material into a bale within the baling chamber (¶0031);
a wrap system (50) operable to insert a wrap material (52) into the baling chamber to wrap the bale, the wrap system including:
a first spool roller (58) a second spool roller (60) arranged in parallel and positioned to form a nip (66) therebetween, wherein the first spool roller and the second spool roller are configured to receive the wrap material from a supply roll (68) of the wrap material through an entrance side of the nip (bottom side in fig. 2) and discharge the wrap material into the baling chamber through an outlet side of the nip (top side of nip in fig. 2, ¶0036)
wherein the first spool roller includes an exterior surface (70) for engaging the wrap material (¶0037);
wherein the exterior surface of the first spool roller defines a cylindrical shape (¶0037) rotatable about a respective axis of rotation (62) of the first spool roller;
and wherein the first spool roller includes an elastomer (¶0037, 0040) forming an exterior surface for engaging the wrap material (¶0040).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the feeding system of Hummel from a spool roller and belt system to two spool roller system and make the first spool roller such that the exterior surface is made from elastomer material, as taught by Kappelman, in order to provide the predictable result of allowing easy coupling of the wrapping material to the first spool roller and allowing for precise control over feeding of the wrap material into the baling chamber (Kappelman: ¶0010). This makes the baler implement easier to use.
Regarding claim 16, as shown in claim 15, the combination of Hummel and Kappelman teaches
wherein the first portion of the material guide is completely disposed radially inward of the exterior surface of the first spool roller relative to the axis of rotation of the first spool roller (Hummel: see annotated fig. 8).
Should the applicant contend that Hummel does not teach the first portion of the material guide is completely disposed radially inward of the exterior surface of the first spool roller relative to the axis of rotation of the first spool roller.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to make the first portion of the material guide is completely disposed radially inward of the exterior surface of the first spool roller relative to the axis of rotation of the first spool roller, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges, in order to ensure the wrap material is guided properly without interfering with cooperating components, involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 18, Hummel teaches
A baler implement (10) comprising:
a baling system (34) defining a baling chamber (36) having an inlet (44, ¶0025) into the baling chamber, wherein the baling system is operable to receive crop material into the baling chamber through the inlet and form the crop material into a bale within the baling chamber (¶0025);
a wrap system (60) operable to insert a wrap material (66) into the baling chamber to wrap the bale, the wrap system including:
a first spool roller (76) and a corresponding belt (80) arranged in parallel and positioned to form a nip therebetween (nip between 76 and 80 as shown in fig. 4), wherein the first spool roller and the corresponding belt are configured to receive the wrap material from a supply roll (64) of the wrap material through an entrance side of the nip (right side of nip in fig. 4) and discharge the wrap material into the baling chamber through an outlet side of the nip (left side of nip in fig. 4);
wherein the first spool roller includes an exterior surface (exterior surface of 76) for engaging the wrap material (¶0039);
wherein the exterior surface of the first spool roller defines a cylindrical shape (see fig. 6) rotatable about a respective axis of rotation (A) of the first spool roller;
wherein the first spool roller includes an annular groove (126) disposed about the axis of rotation of the first spool roller and recessed below the exterior surface of the first spool roller relative to the axis of rotation of the first spool roller (fig. 6 and fig. 8);
a material guide (112) having a first portion (portion of 116 that is inside the groove 126 as shown in fig. 8) and a guide portion (114, 120);
wherein the first portion of the material guide is disposed within the annular groove of the first spool roller for positioning the material guide relative to the axis of rotation of the first spool roller (fig. 6 and fig. 8); and
wherein the guide portion of the material guide is attached to the first portion and extends radially away from the axis of rotation of the first spool roller to a distal end of the guide portion (fig. 6 and fig. 8), with the distal end of the guide portion spaced radially away from the exterior surface of the first spool roller relative to the axis of rotation of the first spool roller for guiding the wrap material away from the first spool roller and into the baling chamber (¶0043-0044 fig. 6.
a stationary member (96) fixed in position relative to the axis of rotation of the first spool roller, and wherein the stationary member defines an aperture (hole for 120, ¶0046), with the distal end of the guide portion of the material guide extending through the aperture (120 which is interpreted to be part of the guide portion extends through the aperture in part 100 of 96 as shown in fig. 8 and described in ¶0046).
Hummel teaches wherein the first portion of the material guide extends around the axis of rotation of the spool roller for securing the material guide relative to the spool roller (¶0048, i.e. securing the first portion of the material guide 16 and the spool roller 76 in order to reduce mechanical disturbances between the two element. Additionally, as described in para 0047, the first portion of 16 is secured within the groove 126 of spool roller which will inherently secure the material guide relative to the spool roller 76). Hummel does not explicitly teach wherein the first portion of the material guide extends more than one hundred eighty degrees (180°) around the axis of rotation of the spool roller.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to make the first portion of the material guide extends more than one hundred eighty degrees (180°) around the axis of rotation of the spool roller, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges, in order to ensure proper guiding of the wrap material while securing material guide and spool roller and preventing mechanical disturbances between the material guide and spool roller, involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Additionally, a skilled artisan would have recognized that the modification of Hummel to increase the engagement angle to more than 180° between the first portion and spool roller, involves no more than the predictable use of prior art elements (engagement fingers of material guide) according to their established functions (reduce mechanical disturbance and secure the material guide and to the spool roller). The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results. KSR, 550 U.S. at 416
Hummel uses a first spool roller (76) and a belt (80) for guiding the wrap material into the baling chamber and therefore does not teach
a second spool roller arranged in parallel and positioned to form a nip between the first and second spool roller, wherein the first spool roller and the second spool roller are configured to receive the wrap material from a supply roll of the wrap material through an entrance side of the nip and discharge the wrap material into the baling chamber through an outlet side of the nip; and wherein the first spool roller includes an elastomer forming an exterior surface for engaging the wrap material.
Kappelman teaches
A baler implement (20) comprising:
a baling system (30) defining a baling chamber (32) having an inlet (46) into the baling chamber, wherein the baling system is operable to receive crop material into the baling chamber through the inlet and form the crop material into a bale within the baling chamber (¶0031);
a wrap system (50) operable to insert a wrap material (52) into the baling chamber to wrap the bale, the wrap system including:
a first spool roller (58) a second spool roller (60) arranged in parallel and positioned to form a nip (66) therebetween, wherein the first spool roller and the second spool roller are configured to receive the wrap material from a supply roll (68) of the wrap material through an entrance side of the nip (bottom side in fig. 2) and discharge the wrap material into the baling chamber through an outlet side of the nip (top side of nip in fig. 2, ¶0036)
wherein the first spool roller includes an exterior surface (70) for engaging the wrap material (¶0037);
wherein the exterior surface of the first spool roller defines a cylindrical shape (¶0037) rotatable about a respective axis of rotation (62) of the first spool roller;
and wherein the first spool roller includes an elastomer (¶0037, 0040) forming an exterior surface for engaging the wrap material (¶0040).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the feeding system of Hummel from a spool roller and belt system to two spool roller system and make the first spool roller such that the exterior surface is made from elastomer material, as taught by Kappelman, in order to provide the predictable result of allowing easy coupling of the wrapping material to the first spool roller and allowing for precise control over feeding of the wrap material into the baling chamber (Kappelman: ¶0010). This makes the baler implement easier to use.
Regarding claim 19, as shown in claim 15, the combination of Hummel and Kappelman teaches
a stationary member (Hummel: 96) fixed in position relative to the axis of rotation of the first spool roller, and a fastener (Hummel:120) connecting the guide portion of the material guide to the stationary member (¶0046).
Regarding claim 20, Hummel teaches
A spool roller (76, 112) for a wrap system (60) of a baler implement (10), the spool roller comprising:
a core structure (76) defining an axis of rotation (A, fig. 7) for rotation thereabout;
the core structure and defining an exterior surface (external surface of 76) having a cylindrical shape (see fig. 6);
an annular groove (126) disposed about the axis of rotation and recessed below the exterior surface relative to the axis of rotation (fig. 8);
a material guide (112) having a first portion (portion of 116 that is inside the groove 126 as shown in annotated fig. 8) and a guide portion (114);
wherein the first portion of the material guide is disposed within the annular groove for positioning the material guide relative to the axis of rotation (fig. 6 and fig. 8); and
wherein the guide portion of the material guide is attached to the first portion and extends radially away from the axis of rotation to a distal end, with the distal end of the guide portion spaced radially away from the exterior surface relative to the axis of rotation for guiding a wrap material (66) away from the exterior surface ((¶0043-0044 fig. 6 and fig. 8).
Hummel teaches wherein the first portion of the material guide extends around the axis of rotation of the spool roller for securing the material guide relative to the spool roller (¶0048, i.e. securing the first portion of the material guide 16 and the spool roller 76 in order to reduce mechanical disturbances between the two element. Additionally, as described in para 0047, the first portion of 16 is secured within the groove 126 of spool roller which will inherently secure the material guide relative to the spool roller 76). Hummel does not explicitly teach wherein the first portion of the material guide extends more than one hundred eighty degrees (180°) around the axis of rotation of the spool roller.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to make the first portion of the material guide extends more than one hundred eighty degrees (180°) around the axis of rotation of the spool roller, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges, in order to ensure proper guiding of the wrap material while securing material guide and spool roller and preventing mechanical disturbances between the material guide and spool roller, involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Additionally, a skilled artisan would have recognized that the modification of Hummel to increase the engagement angle to more than 180° between the first portion and spool roller, involves no more than the predictable use of prior art elements (engagement fingers of material guide) according to their established functions (reduce mechanical disturbance and secure the material guide and to the spool roller). The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results. KSR, 550 U.S. at 416
Hummel does not teach
an elastomer disposed on an outer circumference of the core structure.
Kappelman teaches
A spool roller (58) for a wrap system (50) of a baler implement (20), the spool roller comprising:
a core structure (58) defining an axis of rotation (62) for rotation thereabout;
an elastomer (¶0037) disposed on an outer circumference of the core structure and defining an exterior surface (70) having a cylindrical shape (¶0037).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the spool roller such that the exterior surface is made from elastomer material, as taught by Kappelman, in order to provide the predictable result of allowing easy coupling of the wrapping material to the spool roller thus allowing precise control over feeding of the wrap material into the baling chamber (Kappelman: ¶0010).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 6/30/2026 have been fully considered:
Applicant’s arguments regarding claims 1, 15 and 20, have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Regarding claims 1, 15 and 20, Applicant states that “The first portion of the material guide disclosed in the Hummel reference that is disposed within the groove of the spool roller is NOT close to the specific angular limitation recited in claim 1. As such, it is improper to assert that it is obvious to optimize the Hummel disclosure to provide a function that does not even exist in the Hummel reference.”
Hummel teaches in para 0047-0048 that it is desirable to align and secure the material guide 112 to the spool roller 76 in order to prevent mechanical disturbances such as shaking. shuddering and rattling. Hummel additionally teaches, the above goal can be accomplished by the first portion (part of finger 16) of material guide 112 being secured in a groove 126 of the spool roller 76. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a skilled artisan that the modification of Hummel to increase the engagement angle to more than 180° between the first portion and spool roller, involves no more than the predictable use of prior art elements (engagement fingers of material guide) according to their established functions (reduce mechanical disturbance and secure the material guide and to the spool roller). The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results. In other words, the increase in size of fingers 116 that cooperate with the groove 126 of the spool roller 76 would yield the predictable result of increased engagement and therefore reduced chance of mechanical vibration between the two parts.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.A./
Examiner, Art Unit 3731
/VERONICA MARTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731