DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
This application contains claims directed to the following patentably distinct species
A) Species of Fig. 7A/B
B) Species of Fig. 12A/B
The species are independent or distinct because the claims to the different species recite the mutually exclusive characteristics of such species.
Species A is directed towards an image processing apparatus/method reversing degradation of the input image based on the noise amount and the fluctuation amount utilizing the figures 7 method.
Species B is directed towards an image processing apparatus/method to control exposure of the imaging device based on the noise amount and the fluctuation amount utilizing the figures 12 method.
In addition, these species are not obvious variants of each other based on the current record.
Applicant is required under 35 U.S.C. 121 to elect a single disclosed species, or a single grouping of patentably indistinct species, for prosecution on the merits to which the claims shall be restricted if no generic claim is finally held to be allowable. Currently, no claim is generic.
There is a search and/or examination burden for the patentably distinct species as set forth above because at least the following reason(s) apply:
The species require a different field of search (e.g., searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search queries); and/or the prior art applicable to one species would not likely be applicable to another species; and/or the species are likely to raise different non-prior art issues under 35 U.S.C 101 and/or 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph.
Applicant is advised that the reply to this requirement to be complete must include (i) an election of a species to be examined even though the requirement may be traversed (37 CFR 1.143) and (ii) identification of the claims encompassing the elected species or grouping of patentably indistinct species, including any claims subsequently added. An argument that a claim is allowable or that all claims are generic is considered nonresponsive unless accompanied by an election.
The election may be made with or without traverse. To preserve a right to petition, the election must be made with traverse. If the reply does not distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the election of species requirement, the election shall be treated as an election without traverse. Traversal must be presented at the time of election in order to be considered timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are added after the election, applicant must indicate which of these claims are readable on the elected species or grouping of patentably indistinct species.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the species, or groupings of patentably indistinct species from which election is required, are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing them to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the species unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other species.
Upon the allowance of a generic claim, applicant will be entitled to consideration of claims to additional species which depend from or otherwise require all the limitations of an allowable generic claim as provided by 37 CFR 1.141.
Claims 7-9, 11 and 13 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected elected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply over the phone on 3/27/2028.
Applicant's election with traverse is acknowledged. No argument was presented for the traversal. This is not found persuasive. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) submitted on is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“estimation unit” in claim(s) 1-7, 12 and 13.
“restoration unit” in claim(s) 1 and 12.
“control unit” in claim(s) 7-8 and 13.
“unit” in claim(s) 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 10 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hu et al (US 20230080693 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hu teaches An image processing apparatus (Fig. 9) comprising:
an estimation unit configured to estimate a noise amount of an input image and a fluctuation amount of luminance of the input image caused by noise or developing (para. 0073: “The noise intensity of the image to be processed may be predicted by a neural network model”; para. 0175: “a brightness adjustment intensity prediction network may be used to predict a brightness enhancement parameter map of the image to be processed”); and
a restoration unit configured to reverse degradation of the input image based on the noise amount and the fluctuation amount (Figs. 6C, 7; paras. 0364: “image quality enhancement schemes include image denoising, image tone adjustment and image texture enhancement… wherein the image tone enhancement includes image brightness adjustment and/or image color enhancement”).
Regarding claim 2, Hu teaches the image processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the estimation unit estimates the noise amount using a trained CNN for estimating the noise amount (para. 0073: “The noise intensity of the image to be processed may be predicted by a neural network model”; para. 0121: convolutional neural network).
Regarding claim 3, Hu teaches the image processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the estimation unit estimates the fluctuation amount using a trained CNN for estimating the fluctuation amount (Fig. 4A; para. 0175: “a brightness adjustment intensity prediction network may be used to predict a brightness enhancement parameter map of the image to be processed”; para. 0185: “a neural network (i.e., a local brightness estimation network) may be used to obtain the local brightness information of the image to be processed”).
Regarding claim 4, Hu teaches the image processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the estimation unit estimates the noise amount and the fluctuation amount using a trained CNN for estimating the noise amount and the fluctuation amount (as taught in claims 2-3).
Regarding claim 6, Hu teaches the image processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the estimation unit estimates a fluctuation amount of luminance caused by fading of a black color, darkening of a white color (Figs. 4A, 5E; estimated by brightness adjustment model 405), and a magenta cast (Fig. 4A; estimated by color adjustment model 407).
Regarding claim 10, claim 10 reciting features corresponding to claim 1 is also rejected for the same reason above.
Regarding claim 12, Hu teaches A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (paras. 0366-0368) storing a computer program for causing a computer to function as: (features corresponding to claim 1 is also rejected for the same reason above).
Claim(s) 1, 5 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakada et al (US 5278638 A).
Regarding claim 1, Nakada teaches An image processing apparatus (Fig. 3; col. 1, line 5: “a noise-in-image-signal reducing circuit used in video disk players, video tape recorders, and television receivers”) comprising:
an estimation unit configured to estimate a noise amount (A-B) of an input image and a fluctuation amount (K(A-B)) of luminance of the input image caused by noise or developing (Fig. 3); and
a restoration unit configured to reverse degradation of the input image based on the noise amount and the fluctuation amount (Figs. 3, 5; col. 4; “The compensation signal calculator 5 receives the signal (A-B) and reads the corresponding compensation signal K(A-B) from the table 501 (see FIG. 8). The signal K(A-B) is directed as a noise reduction signal to the switch 502”).
Regarding claim 5, Nakada teaches image processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the noise amount and the fluctuation amount are in a proportional relationship (K(A-B) relationship), and the estimation unit estimates a fluctuation amount of luminance caused by processing for fitting the noise amount within a range of unsigned integers that can be stored at a predetermined bit depth (Figs. 3, 5; col. 4; “The compensation signal calculator 5 receives the signal (A-B) and reads the corresponding compensation signal K(A-B) from the table 501 (see FIG. 8). The signal K(A-B) is directed as a noise reduction signal to the switch 502”).
Regarding claim 10, claim 10 reciting features corresponding to claim 1 is also rejected for the same reason above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Hu et al (US 20230080693 A1) or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Barron (US 20160350900 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Hu teaches the image processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the estimation unit estimates a fluctuation amount of luminance caused by fading of a black color, darkening of a white color (Figs. 4A, 5E; estimated by brightness adjustment model 405), and a magenta cast (Fig. 4A; estimated by color adjustment model 407).
Or, in the alternative, Hu fails to teach
estimates a fluctuation amount of luminance caused by a magenta cast.
However, in the same field of endeavor Barron teaches
estimates a fluctuation amount of luminance caused by a magenta cast (Fig. 7; paras. 0101-0104; “Block 702 may involve, possibly based on colors of the input image, generating a two-dimensional chrominance histogram of the input image” as estimating a fluctuation amount of luminance caused by a magenta cast, “Block 704 may involve convolving the two-dimensional chrominance histogram with a filter to create a two-dimensional heat map. Entries in the two-dimensional heat map may represent respective estimates of how close respective tints corresponding to the respective entries are to the white point of the input image”; para. 0054: “one camera produces images that are consistently tinted cyan, and another camera produces images that are consistently tinted purple”: magenta cast; para. 0104: “tinting the input image to form an output image… the output image may be more white-balanced than the input image”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use the teachings as taught by Barron in Hu to have estimates a fluctuation amount of luminance caused by a magenta cast for obtaining better white-balanced output image with removed magenta cast yielding a predicted result.
Prior arts
Sun et al (CN-108765319-A) teaches “step 8, according to step 7 to obtain the noise strength, selects parameters for generating network. step 9, the image to be processed as network input, so as to obtain the image after denoising”.
Conclusion
/Quan Pham/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2637