DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for domestic benefit under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted has been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 13-17, 24-33, 36-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Singh USPN 2015/0115735.
Consider claim 13, Singh discloses a method of receiving data (read 106, 107) in a wireless power system that includes a wireless power transmitter (read as 110) and a wireless power receiver (read as 120) (see fig. 2), the method comprising: detecting, by the wireless power receiver or a wireless power transmitter, a perturbation in coupling of power transfer between the wireless power receiver and the wireless power transmitter (see [0059-0061]: “…one or more switches may be coupled to the capacitor-inductor network of the resonant tank 232 to enable and disable such switches. When coupling such a switch to an inductor, the switch may be coupled to the end of the inductor, or at an intermediate tapping point of the inductor (e.g., a center-tap inductor). As a result, the modulator 234 may be configured to adjust the complex impedance of the transmitter 112 and modulate the wireless power signal 105 to encode data therewith…no data is being transmitted over the wireless power signal 105, the output voltage (V.sub.RECT) is expected to be a relatively constant voltage. By modulating the wireless power signal 105 (e.g., through adjusting the impedance of the transmitter 112), the output voltage (V.sub.RECT) may fluctuate. As fluctuations in the output voltage (V.sub.RECT) are detected, the processor 246 may determine the presence of the particular bits and recover the message according to the encoding scheme for the data…”).
Consider claim 14 as applied to respective claim, Singh discloses the detecting of the perturbation comprises detecting a change in amplitude of a signal produced through the coupling (see [0059-0061]: “…one or more switches may be coupled to the capacitor-inductor network of the resonant tank 232 to enable and disable such switches. When coupling such a switch to an inductor, the switch may be coupled to the end of the inductor, or at an intermediate tapping point of the inductor (e.g., a center-tap inductor). As a result, the modulator 234 may be configured to adjust the complex impedance of the transmitter 112 and modulate the wireless power signal 105 to encode data therewith…no data is being transmitted over the wireless power signal 105, the output voltage (V.sub.RECT) is expected to be a relatively constant voltage. By modulating the wireless power signal 105 (e.g., through adjusting the impedance of the transmitter 112), the output voltage (V.sub.RECT) may fluctuate. As fluctuations in the output voltage (V.sub.RECT) are detected, the processor 246 may determine the presence of the particular bits and recover the message according to the encoding scheme for the data…”).
Consider claim 15 as applied to respective claim, Singh discloses the detecting of the change in amplitude comprises detecting an amplitude exceeding a threshold to produce a pulse, and providing the pulse to a monostable circuit to provide a second pulse of fixed width (see figs. 6B and 6C; [0067]: “…baseline voltage (e.g., 19V) may be adjusted up and down by a voltage difference (e.g., .+-.5V). Thus, the embodiment of FIG. 5 involves a physical change of the voltage input to the inverter 230. Adjusting the input voltage (V.sub.IN) may cause adjustments to the output voltage (V.sub.RECT) on the receiver 122 side, which may be monitored and demodulated…”).
Consider claim 16 as applied to respective claim, Singh discloses the detecting comprises detecting a change in frequency of a signal produced though the coupling (see figs. 3 and 6; [0051]: “…encode information onto the wireless power signal 105 through conversion gain modulation, the control signal 337 may indicate to the control logic 338 the change to be made. As either the switching frequency (F.sub.SW) or the duty cycle (D) is adjusted, the voltage and/or current through the transmit coil 114 may also be adjusted. Thus, the conversion gain is frequency dependent with respect to the switching frequency (F.sub.SW), and is also dependent on the duty cycle (D). As a result, as either the switching frequency (F.sub.SW) or the duty cycle (D) is modulated, the transfer function behavior (i.e., conversion gain) may also change. As a result, the modulator 234 may encode the wireless power signal 105 with a packet of data according to an encoding scheme that adjusts either the switching frequency (F.sub.SW) or the duty cycle (D) to represent the bits…”).
Consider claim 17 as applied to respective claim, Singh discloses the detecting of the change in frequency is performed at least in part by detecting signal amplitudes exceeding a threshold to produce pulses, and detecting an interval between the pulses (see figs. 3 and 6; [0051]: “…encode information onto the wireless power signal 105 through conversion gain modulation, the control signal 337 may indicate to the control logic 338 the change to be made. As either the switching frequency (F.sub.SW) or the duty cycle (D) is adjusted, the voltage and/or current through the transmit coil 114 may also be adjusted. Thus, the conversion gain is frequency dependent with respect to the switching frequency (F.sub.SW), and is also dependent on the duty cycle (D). As a result, as either the switching frequency (F.sub.SW) or the duty cycle (D) is modulated, the transfer function behavior (i.e., conversion gain) may also change. As a result, the modulator 234 may encode the wireless power signal 105 with a packet of data according to an encoding scheme that adjusts either the switching frequency (F.sub.SW) or the duty cycle (D) to represent the bits…”).
Examiner Note: See detailed rejection analysis of independent claim 13 for any remaining rejection of independent claims.
Consider claim 24, Singh discloses an apparatus for controlling transmitting data in a wireless power system, the apparatus comprising: a controller configured to control a power switch (read as 331A and 331B) of a wireless power transmitter or a wireless power receiver to create a perturbation that transmits information from the wireless power transmitter or wireless power receiver to the other of the wireless power transmitter and wireless power receiver (see figs. 2 and 3A-B; [0059-0061]: “…one or more switches may be coupled to the capacitor-inductor network of the resonant tank 232 to enable and disable such switches. When coupling such a switch to an inductor, the switch may be coupled to the end of the inductor, or at an intermediate tapping point of the inductor (e.g., a center-tap inductor). As a result, the modulator 234 may be configured to adjust the complex impedance of the transmitter 112 and modulate the wireless power signal 105 to encode data therewith…no data is being transmitted over the wireless power signal 105, the output voltage (V.sub.RECT) is expected to be a relatively constant voltage. By modulating the wireless power signal 105 (e.g., through adjusting the impedance of the transmitter 112), the output voltage (V.sub.RECT) may fluctuate. As fluctuations in the output voltage (V.sub.RECT) are detected, the processor 246 may determine the presence of the particular bits and recover the message according to the encoding scheme for the data…”).
Consider claim 25 as applied to respective claim, Singh discloses the controller is configured to modulate a power switch of a rectifier of the wireless power receiver (see [0055]: “…rectifier 242 may be configured as a synchronous rectifier controlled by switches (not shown). The driver 348 may control such switches. For example, the driver 348 may to drive switches of the rectifier 242 to be in sync with the frequency of the incoming wireless power signal 105 in order to rectify the incoming AC voltage to a DC voltage. Thus, the driver circuitry of the driver 348 may have the timing information (e.g., frequency, duty cycle of the wireless power signal 105) when the switches of the rectifier 242 are enabled. The frequency/duty cycle discriminator 349 may monitor the signals from the driver 348 and read this timing info to determine the incoming frequency and the duty cycle of the wireless power signal 105 to generate the demodulated signal 245 transmitted to the processor 246…”).
Consider claim 26 as applied to respective claim, Singh discloses the power switch is coupled in parallel with a diode of the rectifier (see fig. 4A; [0058]: “… impedance element 442 and the switch 444 may be coupled in parallel with the resonant tank 232…”).
Consider claim 27 as applied to respective claim, Singh discloses the controller is configured to modulate a power switch of an inverter of the wireless power transmitter to create the perturbation (see [0059-0061]: “…one or more switches may be coupled to the capacitor-inductor network of the resonant tank 232 to enable and disable such switches. When coupling such a switch to an inductor, the switch may be coupled to the end of the inductor, or at an intermediate tapping point of the inductor (e.g., a center-tap inductor). As a result, the modulator 234 may be configured to adjust the complex impedance of the transmitter 112 and modulate the wireless power signal 105 to encode data therewith…no data is being transmitted over the wireless power signal 105, the output voltage (V.sub.RECT) is expected to be a relatively constant voltage. By modulating the wireless power signal 105 (e.g., through adjusting the impedance of the transmitter 112), the output voltage (V.sub.RECT) may fluctuate. As fluctuations in the output voltage (V.sub.RECT) are detected, the processor 246 may determine the presence of the particular bits and recover the message according to the encoding scheme for the data…”).
Consider claim 28 as applied to respective claim, Singh discloses the controller is configured to stop switching of the power switch of the inverter to create the perturbation (see [0059-0061]: “…one or more switches may be coupled to the capacitor-inductor network of the resonant tank 232 to enable and disable such switches. When coupling such a switch to an inductor, the switch may be coupled to the end of the inductor, or at an intermediate tapping point of the inductor (e.g., a center-tap inductor). As a result, the modulator 234 may be configured to adjust the complex impedance of the transmitter 112 and modulate the wireless power signal 105 to encode data therewith…no data is being transmitted over the wireless power signal 105, the output voltage (V.sub.RECT) is expected to be a relatively constant voltage. By modulating the wireless power signal 105 (e.g., through adjusting the impedance of the transmitter 112), the output voltage (V.sub.RECT) may fluctuate. As fluctuations in the output voltage (V.sub.RECT) are detected, the processor 246 may determine the presence of the particular bits and recover the message according to the encoding scheme for the data…”).
Consider claim 29 as applied to respective claim, Singh discloses the controller is configured to turn on one or more low-side power switches of the rectifier or inverter to create the perturbation (see [0059]: “…one or more switches may be coupled to the capacitor-inductor network of the resonant tank 232 to enable and disable such switches. When coupling such a switch to an inductor, the switch may be coupled to the end of the inductor, or at an intermediate tapping point of the inductor (e.g., a center-tap inductor). As a result, the modulator 234 may be configured to adjust the complex impedance of the transmitter 112 and modulate the wireless power signal 105 to encode data therewith…”).
Consider claim 30 as applied to respective claim, Singh discloses the controller is configured to hold one or more power switches of the rectifier or inverter in an existing state past a point in time of an alternating current waveform at which the one or more power switches switch when no perturbation is created (see [0060-0061]: “… detection scheme on the receiver 122 side, the demodulator 244 is coupled to receive and process the output voltage (V.sub.RECT) to generate the demodulated signal 245 received by the processor 246. The output voltage (V.sub.RECT) may be the time varying signal generated by the receive coil 240 (e.g., AC signal 241) prior to being rectified, or the output signal generated by the rectifier (e.g., DC signal 243). In other words, the demodulator may receive the back-channel signal for demodulation from either the AC side of the rectifier 242…When no data is being transmitted over the wireless power signal 105, the output voltage (V.sub.RECT) is expected to be a relatively constant voltage…”).
Consider claim 31 as applied to respective claim, Singh discloses the controller is configured to vary a duration between perturbations or a duration of the perturbation based on information regarding one or more system parameters (see [0055]: “…driver 348 may control such switches. For example, the driver 348 may to drive switches of the rectifier 242 to be in sync with the frequency of the incoming wireless power signal 105 in order to rectify the incoming AC voltage to a DC voltage. Thus, the driver circuitry of the driver 348 may have the timing information (e.g., frequency, duty cycle of the wireless power signal 105) when the switches of the rectifier 242 are enabled. The frequency/duty cycle discriminator 349 may monitor the signals from the driver 348 and read this timing info to determine the incoming frequency and the duty cycle of the wireless power signal 105 to generate the demodulated signal 245 transmitted to the processor 246. Thus, as the transmitter 112 modulates the conversion gain (by adjusting the switching frequency (F.sub.SW) or the duty cycle (D)) of the wireless power signal 105, the processor 246 may compare the demodulated signal 245 to the expected baseline frequency and/or duty cycle in order to detect the changes in the demodulated signal 245 to analyze and otherwise process the data…”).
Consider claim 32 as applied to respective claim, Singh discloses the one or more system parameters comprises power level, magnetic coupling and/or an error signal (see [0061]: “…modulating the wireless power signal 105 (e.g., through adjusting the impedance of the transmitter 112), the output voltage (V.sub.RECT) may fluctuate. As fluctuations in the output voltage (V.sub.RECT) are detected, the processor 246 may determine the presence of the particular bits and recover the message according to the encoding scheme for the data…”).
Consider claim 33 as applied to respective claim, Singh discloses the controller is configured to vary a duration between perturbations or a duration of the perturbation to encode information in a duration of the perturbation or a duration between perturbations (see [0061]: “…modulating the wireless power signal 105 (e.g., through adjusting the impedance of the transmitter 112), the output voltage (V.sub.RECT) may fluctuate. As fluctuations in the output voltage (V.sub.RECT) are detected, the processor 246 may determine the presence of the particular bits and recover the message according to the encoding scheme for the data…”).
Consider claim 36 Singh discloses an apparatus for receiving data in a wireless power system that includes a wireless power transmitter and a wireless power receiver, the apparatus comprising: a data receiver configured to detect a perturbation in a coupling between the wireless power receiver and the wireless power transmitter (see figs. 2 and 3A-B; [0059-0061]: “…one or more switches may be coupled to the capacitor-inductor network of the resonant tank 232 to enable and disable such switches. When coupling such a switch to an inductor, the switch may be coupled to the end of the inductor, or at an intermediate tapping point of the inductor (e.g., a center-tap inductor). As a result, the modulator 234 may be configured to adjust the complex impedance of the transmitter 112 and modulate the wireless power signal 105 to encode data therewith…no data is being transmitted over the wireless power signal 105, the output voltage (V.sub.RECT) is expected to be a relatively constant voltage. By modulating the wireless power signal 105 (e.g., through adjusting the impedance of the transmitter 112), the output voltage (V.sub.RECT) may fluctuate. As fluctuations in the output voltage (V.sub.RECT) are detected, the processor 246 may determine the presence of the particular bits and recover the message according to the encoding scheme for the data…”).
Consider claim 37 as applied to respective claim, Singh discloses the data receiver is configured to detect a change in amplitude of a signal produced through the coupling (see [0059-0061]: “…one or more switches may be coupled to the capacitor-inductor network of the resonant tank 232 to enable and disable such switches. When coupling such a switch to an inductor, the switch may be coupled to the end of the inductor, or at an intermediate tapping point of the inductor (e.g., a center-tap inductor). As a result, the modulator 234 may be configured to adjust the complex impedance of the transmitter 112 and modulate the wireless power signal 105 to encode data therewith…no data is being transmitted over the wireless power signal 105, the output voltage (V.sub.RECT) is expected to be a relatively constant voltage. By modulating the wireless power signal 105 (e.g., through adjusting the impedance of the transmitter 112), the output voltage (V.sub.RECT) may fluctuate. As fluctuations in the output voltage (V.sub.RECT) are detected, the processor 246 may determine the presence of the particular bits and recover the message according to the encoding scheme for the data…”).
Consider claim 38 as applied to respective claim, Singh discloses the data receiver is configured to detect an amplitude exceeding a threshold to produce a pulse, and provide the pulse to a monostable circuit to provide a second pulse of fixed width (see figs. 6B and 6C; [0067]: “…baseline voltage (e.g., 19V) may be adjusted up and down by a voltage difference (e.g., .+-.5V). Thus, the embodiment of FIG. 5 involves a physical change of the voltage input to the inverter 230. Adjusting the input voltage (V.sub.IN) may cause adjustments to the output voltage (V.sub.RECT) on the receiver 122 side, which may be monitored and demodulated…”).
Consider claim 39 as applied to respective claim, Singh discloses the data receiver is configured to detect a change in frequency of a signal produced though the coupling (see figs. 3 and 6; [0051]: “…encode information onto the wireless power signal 105 through conversion gain modulation, the control signal 337 may indicate to the control logic 338 the change to be made. As either the switching frequency (F.sub.SW) or the duty cycle (D) is adjusted, the voltage and/or current through the transmit coil 114 may also be adjusted. Thus, the conversion gain is frequency dependent with respect to the switching frequency (F.sub.SW), and is also dependent on the duty cycle (D). As a result, as either the switching frequency (F.sub.SW) or the duty cycle (D) is modulated, the transfer function behavior (i.e., conversion gain) may also change. As a result, the modulator 234 may encode the wireless power signal 105 with a packet of data according to an encoding scheme that adjusts either the switching frequency (F.sub.SW) or the duty cycle (D) to represent the bits…”).
Consider claim 40 as applied to respective claim, Singh discloses the data receiver is configured to detect the change in frequency at least in part by detecting signal amplitudes exceeding a threshold to produce pulses, and detecting an interval between the pulses (see figs. 3 and 6; [0051]: “…encode information onto the wireless power signal 105 through conversion gain modulation, the control signal 337 may indicate to the control logic 338 the change to be made. As either the switching frequency (F.sub.SW) or the duty cycle (D) is adjusted, the voltage and/or current through the transmit coil 114 may also be adjusted. Thus, the conversion gain is frequency dependent with respect to the switching frequency (F.sub.SW), and is also dependent on the duty cycle (D). As a result, as either the switching frequency (F.sub.SW) or the duty cycle (D) is modulated, the transfer function behavior (i.e., conversion gain) may also change. As a result, the modulator 234 may encode the wireless power signal 105 with a packet of data according to an encoding scheme that adjusts either the switching frequency (F.sub.SW) or the duty cycle (D) to represent the bits…”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See Notice of Reference Cited for state of the art in wireless power transfer and data communication.
Any response to this Office Action should be faxed to (571) 273-8300 or mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
Examiner should be directed to Fayyaz Alam whose telephone number is (571) 270-1102. The Examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday from 9:30am to 7:00pm.
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Jeanette Parker can be reached on (571) 270-3647. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist/customer service whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
Fayyaz Alam
July 21, 2026
/FAYYAZ ALAM/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646