DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This is an initial office action in response to communication(s) filed on August 4, 2024.
Claims 1-10 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on August 5, 2024 and November 7, 2024 were filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inoue (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0336612 A1), and further in view of Lederer (U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0280646 A1).
With regard to claim 1, the claim a server providing a chat service is drawn to an image processing apparatus that can communicate with (see Inoue, i.e. in fig. 1, para. 35 and etc., disclose that “[0035] FIG. 1 is a diagram showing the entire configuration of an image processing system according to the present embodiment. The image processing system includes an MFP (Multifunction Peripheral) 110 and server apparatuses 120 and 130 providing cloud services on the internet. The MFP 110 is connected with the server apparatuses 120 and 130 so as to be capable of communication via the internet.”), comprising:
at least one memory storing instructions (see Inoue, i.e. in fig. 2, para. 37 and etc., disclose the ROM 212, RAM 213, HDD 214 and etc.); and
at least one processor that is in communication with the at least one memory and that, when executing the instructions, cooperates with the at least one memory to execute processing (see Inoue, i.e. in fig. 2, disclose the CPU 211, and in para. 38 and etc., disclose that “… The RAM 213 is used as a temporary storage area, such as a main memory and a work area, of the CPU 211. In present embodiment, the one CPU 211 performs each piece of processing shown in the flowchart, to be described later, by using one memory (RAM 213 or HDD 214), but the embodiment is not limited to this. For example, it may also be possible to perform each piece of processing by causing a plurality of CPUs and a plurality of RAMs or HDDs to cooperate with each other. The HDD 214 is a large-capacity storage unit configured to store image data and various programs. The operation unit I/F 215 is an interface that connects the operation unit 220 and the control unit 210. T…”), the processing including
obtaining image data of a digitalized document (see Inoue, i.e. in fig. 5, step S505, para. 52, and etc., disclose that “…In a case where a user who has completed the scan setting sets a scan-target document on the document table of the MFP 110 and presses down the “Start scan” button 801, the scan is performed (S505). Due to this, image data obtained by computerizing a paper document is generated. After the completion of the scan, the MFP 110 transmits the image data obtained by the scan to the MFP cooperative server 120 along with the analysis request thereof (S506)…”),
transmitting a character string obtained via character recognition processing on the image data to the server and receive a correction for the character string from the server (see Inoue, i.e. in fig. 5, step S511, and in para. 55, disclose that “… [0055] After receiving the processing completion response, the MFP 110 makes a request for the results of the image analysis processing to the MFP cooperative server 120 by using the URL indicating the storage destination of the image analysis results, which is included in the response (S511). As the URL in this case, there are “ocr ResultUrl” and “matchingResultUrl”. Upon receipt of the request, the request control unit 431 of the MFP cooperative server 120 returns results information on the image analysis processing…”, also see para. 67 and etc.,), and
correcting the character string according to the correction, and the character string is used in information for identifying a file including the image data from which the character string was extracted (Inoue, i.e. in fig. 5, disclose step S513, and in para. 56-58, disclose that “[0056] Then, the MFP 110 displays a UI screen (hereinafter, described as “File name setting screen”) for setting a file name by using the acquired results information (S512). FIG. 10 shows an example of a File name setting screen. In a case where a user sets a file name and presses down a Transmit button 1007, the MFP 110 first transmits a learning request including information (input information at the time of setting) relating to the input operation performed by a user at the time of setting the file name to the MFP cooperative server 120 (S513). FIG. 11 shows an example of the learning request. The learning contents are specified in “learningContent” and in which there are “rectInfoArray” relating to the character area used for the file name and “metadataArray” relating to metadata. In “rectInforArray”, the coordinate information on the character area used at the time of the file name setting is input. In “metadataArray”, the information on the character area corresponding to the character string used for the file name and the information on the separator attached to the character string are input. The example in FIG. 11 indicates that the file name configuration is such that the front is the character string of the character area of “fileRegion0”, the next is the separator, and the end is the character string of the character area of “fileRegion1” and these are arranged in this order. [0057] In the MFP cooperative server 120 having received the learning request, the request control unit 431 instructs the image processing unit 432 to perform business form learning processing (S514). Upon receipt of the instructions, the image processing unit 432 saves the arrangement information on each character area existing in the scanned image and the input information (file name configuration information) at the time of the file name setting included in the learning request received at S513…”).
The teachings of Inoue does not explicitly disclose the aspect relating to “a server providing a chat service”.
However, Lederer discloses an analogous invention relates to a method and a device for managing communication activities. More specifically, in Lederer, i.e. in para. 52 and etc., disclose that “[0052] Although the present invention has been described and illustrated based on an exemplary embodiment that refers to electronic message traffic (e-mails), the present invention is also applicable or expandable to other communication processes. For example, telephone messages that are exchanged via a telephone network not illustrated in detail, VoIP messages or chat entries that are exchanged via the internet 202, fax messages that are exchanged via the telephone network or the like can be mirrored into the virtual mailbox 252. For this purpose, the mail server 202 may include respective services such as a speech recognition service for converting spoken messages into text, a VoIP service, a chat service, an OCR service for recognizing text content and an image digitizing service for recognizing image content in fax messages, or the like. In particular the invention can also be applied to unified communication systems that integrate other communication data in addition to electronic message traffic. For example, a user could already receive information about the person with whom the external person E had the last conversation, or who in the company XYZ had called the external person, before making a call…”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Inoue to include the limitation(s) discussed and also taught by Lederer, with the aspect(s) relating to server with a chat service, as the cited prior arts are at least considered to be analogous arts if not also in the same field of endeavor relating to image and/or document processing arts. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Inoue by the teachings of Lederer, and to incorporate the limitation(s) discussed and also taught by Lederer, thereby to expand the communication process (see Lederer, i.e.in para. 52 and etc.).
With regard to claim 2, the claim is drawn to the image processing apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising: a scanner that digitalizes documents (see Inoue, i.e. in para; 38 and etc., disclose that “[0038] FIG. 2 is a block diagram showing the hardware configuration of the MFP 110. The MFP 110 includes a control unit 210, an operation unit 220, a printer unit 221, a scanner unit 222, and a modem 223…”).
With regard to claim 3, the claim is drawn to the image processing apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising: a user interface, wherein a user selects to transmit the character string to the server via the user interface, and the character string is transmitted to the server according to the selection (see Inoue, i.e. in fig. 4, para. 43 and etc., disclose that “[0043] The display control unit 421 displays a user interface screen (UI screen) for receiving various user operations on a touch panel of the operation unit 220. The various user operations include, for example, inputting of log-in authentication information for accessing the MFP cooperative server 120, scan setting, giving of scan start instructions, file name setting, giving of file save instructions, and the like.”).
With regard to claim 4, the claim is drawn to the image processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processing further includes extracting a character string of an attribute according to a convention designated in advance and generating a new character string according to the convention on a basis of the character string obtained via extraction (see Inoue, i.e. in para. 124 and etc., disclose that “[0124] In a case where the initial file name in accordance with the file name configuration of the similar business form is automatically input in the file name input field 1001 at S1805 (display of operation guidance) described above, it may also be possible to display the operation guidance so as not to overlap the character area of the character string used for the initial file name. At this time, a case is considered where a plurality of character strings used for the initial file name exists and it is difficult to display the operation guidance so as not to overlap those character areas. In the case such as this, it may also be possible to give priority to the character area of the character string located at the top of the initial file name and display the operation guidance so as to overlap part or the whole of the character area of the character string located at the end. Further, in a case where a document property other than the initial file name, for example, metadata is set, it may also be possible to determine the character area that should be avoided from being overlapped by the operation guidance in accordance with the type of the document property and determine the display position of the operation guidance. For example, in a case where a value is set to the document property whose type is date, the operation guidance is displayed so as not to overlap the character area of the date in the target document. At this time, whether the character string corresponding to each character area is a date is determined by determining whether the character string extracted from the scanned image corresponds to a specific character array. For example, in a case where figures are input to “yy”, “mm”, and “dd” respectively in the format of yy/mm/dd, it is possible to determine that the character string is a date…”).
With regard to claim 5, the claim is drawn to the image processing apparatus according to claim 4, wherein the character string obtained via the extraction is a character string of an attribute according to a convention designated in advance, and a new character string is generated according to the convention on a basis of the character string extracted, and when the server receives the character string extracted in a case where a character string of an attribute has been unable to be extracted according to the convention, a message is displayed prompting for input of the character string that was unable to be extracted (see Inoue, i.e. in para. 124 and etc., disclose that “[0124] In a case where the initial file name in accordance with the file name configuration of the similar business form is automatically input in the file name input field 1001 at S1805 (display of operation guidance) described above, it may also be possible to display the operation guidance so as not to overlap the character area of the character string used for the initial file name. At this time, a case is considered where a plurality of character strings used for the initial file name exists and it is difficult to display the operation guidance so as not to overlap those character areas. In the case such as this, it may also be possible to give priority to the character area of the character string located at the top of the initial file name and display the operation guidance so as to overlap part or the whole of the character area of the character string located at the end. Further, in a case where a document property other than the initial file name, for example, metadata is set, it may also be possible to determine the character area that should be avoided from being overlapped by the operation guidance in accordance with the type of the document property and determine the display position of the operation guidance. For example, in a case where a value is set to the document property whose type is date, the operation guidance is displayed so as not to overlap the character area of the date in the target document. At this time, whether the character string corresponding to each character area is a date is determined by determining whether the character string extracted from the scanned image corresponds to a specific character array. For example, in a case where figures are input to “yy”, “mm”, and “dd” respectively in the format of yy/mm/dd, it is possible to determine that the character string is a date…”).
see Inoue, i.e. in fig. 12, steps S1206-S1209 and etc.; further in fig. 23 and para. 98, discloses that “… FIG. 23 shows the state where a message 2301 as the operation guidance is displayed in an overlapping manner at the upper portion of the preview area 1002 in the File name setting screen 1000 shown in FIG. 10. The operation guidance such as this is not necessary for a user who already knows the operation method, and therefore, the operation guidance is set to nondisplay at the point in time of detection of some user operation, such as touch operation and the swipe operation…”).
With regard to claim 6, the claim is drawn to the image processing apparatus according to claim 4, wherein the character string obtained via the extraction is a character string of an attribute according to a convention designated in advance, and a new character string is generated according to the convention on a basis of the character string extracted, and in a case where all of character strings of attributes has been extracted according to the convention, the server does not accept input of a correction for the character string and does not display the character string (see Inoue, i.e. in fig. 12, steps S1206-S1209 and etc.; further in fig. 23 and para. 98, discloses that “… FIG. 23 shows the state where a message 2301 as the operation guidance is displayed in an overlapping manner at the upper portion of the preview area 1002 in the File name setting screen 1000 shown in FIG. 10. The operation guidance such as this is not necessary for a user who already knows the operation method, and therefore, the operation guidance is set to nondisplay at the point in time of detection of some user operation, such as touch operation and the swipe operation…”).
With regard to claim 7, the claim is drawn to the image processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the server displays an attribute of the character string displayed as an option and accepts input of a correction for a character string of a selected attribute (see Inoue, i.e. illustration of fig. 23 and etc.).
With regard to claim 8, the claim is drawn to the image processing apparatus according to claim 7, wherein of the character strings extracted from the image data, the server displays the character string of the attribute selected as an option and accepts a selected character string as input of a correction for the character string displayed (see Inoue, i.e. in fig. 14, para. 77 and etc., discloses that “… FIG. 14 shows an example of a File name condition setting screen. A checkbox 1401 within a File name condition setting screen 1400 is used by a user for selecting whether or not to automatically input a file name by using the information on the character area used at the time of file name setting of a scanned image before. In a setting field 1402, the separator that is inserted between character strings is set among alternatives (underscore, hyphen, and the like) displayed in a pull-down list in a case where a plurality of character strings corresponding to a plurality of character areas is used for the file name. Here, the underscore is selected. A setting field 1403 is brought into the input state in advance at the time of initial display of the File name setting screen (FIG. 10) and the character string (initial file name) that is presented to a user as the candidate of the file name is set. The contents that are set on this File name condition setting screen 1400 are stored in the data management unit 434 and referred to in a case where the response at the time of completion of the processing is created.”).
With regard to claim 9, the claim is drawn to a control method for an image processing apparatus that can communicate with a server providing a chat service (see Inoue, i.e. in fig. 1, para. 35 and etc., disclose that “[0035] FIG. 1 is a diagram showing the entire configuration of an image processing system according to the present embodiment. The image processing system includes an MFP (Multifunction Peripheral) 110 and server apparatuses 120 and 130 providing cloud services on the internet. The MFP 110 is connected with the server apparatuses 120 and 130 so as to be capable of communication via the internet.”), comprising:
obtaining image data of a digitalized document (see Inoue, i.e. in fig. 5, step S505, para. 52, and etc., disclose that “…In a case where a user who has completed the scan setting sets a scan-target document on the document table of the MFP 110 and presses down the “Start scan” button 801, the scan is performed (S505). Due to this, image data obtained by computerizing a paper document is generated. After the completion of the scan, the MFP 110 transmits the image data obtained by the scan to the MFP cooperative server 120 along with the analysis request thereof (S506)…”),
transmitting a character string extracted from the image data to the server and receiving a correction for the character string from the server (see Inoue, i.e. in fig. 5, step S511, and in para. 55, disclose that “… [0055] After receiving the processing completion response, the MFP 110 makes a request for the results of the image analysis processing to the MFP cooperative server 120 by using the URL indicating the storage destination of the image analysis results, which is included in the response (S511). As the URL in this case, there are “ocr ResultUrl” and “matchingResultUrl”. Upon receipt of the request, the request control unit 431 of the MFP cooperative server 120 returns results information on the image analysis processing…”, also see para. 67 and etc.,), and
correcting the character string according to the correction, wherein the character string is used in information for identifying a file including the image data from which the character string was extracted (Inoue, i.e. in fig. 5, disclose step S513, and in para. 56-58, disclose that “[0056] Then, the MFP 110 displays a UI screen (hereinafter, described as “File name setting screen”) for setting a file name by using the acquired results information (S512). FIG. 10 shows an example of a File name setting screen. In a case where a user sets a file name and presses down a Transmit button 1007, the MFP 110 first transmits a learning request including information (input information at the time of setting) relating to the input operation performed by a user at the time of setting the file name to the MFP cooperative server 120 (S513). FIG. 11 shows an example of the learning request. The learning contents are specified in “learningContent” and in which there are “rectInfoArray” relating to the character area used for the file name and “metadataArray” relating to metadata. In “rectInforArray”, the coordinate information on the character area used at the time of the file name setting is input. In “metadataArray”, the information on the character area corresponding to the character string used for the file name and the information on the separator attached to the character string are input. The example in FIG. 11 indicates that the file name configuration is such that the front is the character string of the character area of “fileRegion0”, the next is the separator, and the end is the character string of the character area of “fileRegion1” and these are arranged in this order. [0057] In the MFP cooperative server 120 having received the learning request, the request control unit 431 instructs the image processing unit 432 to perform business form learning processing (S514). Upon receipt of the instructions, the image processing unit 432 saves the arrangement information on each character area existing in the scanned image and the input information (file name configuration information) at the time of the file name setting included in the learning request received at S513…”).
The teachings of Inoue does not explicitly disclose the aspect relating to “a server providing a chat service”.
However, Lederer discloses an analogous invention relates to a method and a device for managing communication activities. More specifically, in Lederer, i.e. in para. 52 and etc., disclose that “[0052] Although the present invention has been described and illustrated based on an exemplary embodiment that refers to electronic message traffic (e-mails), the present invention is also applicable or expandable to other communication processes. For example, telephone messages that are exchanged via a telephone network not illustrated in detail, VoIP messages or chat entries that are exchanged via the internet 202, fax messages that are exchanged via the telephone network or the like can be mirrored into the virtual mailbox 252. For this purpose, the mail server 202 may include respective services such as a speech recognition service for converting spoken messages into text, a VoIP service, a chat service, an OCR service for recognizing text content and an image digitizing service for recognizing image content in fax messages, or the like. In particular the invention can also be applied to unified communication systems that integrate other communication data in addition to electronic message traffic. For example, a user could already receive information about the person with whom the external person E had the last conversation, or who in the company XYZ had called the external person, before making a call…”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Inoue to include the limitation(s) discussed and also taught by Lederer, with the aspect(s) relating to server with a chat service, as the cited prior arts are at least considered to be analogous arts if not also in the same field of endeavor relating to image and/or document processing arts. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Inoue by the teachings of Lederer, and to incorporate the limitation(s) discussed and also taught by Lederer, thereby to expand the communication process (see Lederer, i.e.in para. 52 and etc.).
With regard to claim 10, the claim is drawn to a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program that causes a computer that can communicate with a server providing a chat service to execute processing when loaded and executed on the computer (see Inoue, i.e. in fig. 1, para. 35 and etc., disclose that “[0035] FIG. 1 is a diagram showing the entire configuration of an image processing system according to the present embodiment. The image processing system includes an MFP (Multifunction Peripheral) 110 and server apparatuses 120 and 130 providing cloud services on the internet. The MFP 110 is connected with the server apparatuses 120 and 130 so as to be capable of communication via the internet.”; in addition, in para. 127, disclose that “[0127] Embodiment(s) of the present invention can also be realized by a computer of a system or apparatus that reads out and executes computer executable instructions (e.g., one or more programs) recorded on a storage medium (which may also be referred to more fully as a ‘non-transitory computer-readable storage medium’) to perform the functions of one or more of the above-described embodiment(s) and/or that includes one or more circuits (e.g., application specific integrated circuit (ASIC)) for performing the functions of one or more of the above-described embodiment(s), and by a method performed by the computer of the system or apparatus by, for example, reading out and executing the computer executable instructions from the storage medium to perform the functions of one or more of the above-described embodiment(s) and/or controlling the one or more circuits to perform the functions of one or more of the above-described embodiment(s). The computer may comprise one or more processors (e.g., central processing unit (CPU), micro processing unit (MPU)) and may include a network of separate computers or separate processors to read out and execute the computer executable instructions. The computer executable instructions may be provided to the computer, for example, from a network or the storage medium. The storage medium may include, for example, one or more of a hard disk, a random-access memory (RAM), a read only memory (ROM), a storage of distributed computing systems, an optical disk (such as a compact disc (CD), digital versatile disc (DVD), or Blu-ray Disc (BD)™), a flash memory device, a memory card, and the like.”), the processing including:
obtaining image data of a digitalized document (see Inoue, i.e. in fig. 5, step S505, para. 52, and etc., disclose that “…In a case where a user who has completed the scan setting sets a scan-target document on the document table of the MFP 110 and presses down the “Start scan” button 801, the scan is performed (S505). Due to this, image data obtained by computerizing a paper document is generated. After the completion of the scan, the MFP 110 transmits the image data obtained by the scan to the MFP cooperative server 120 along with the analysis request thereof (S506)…”),
transmitting a character string extracted from the image data to the server and receiving a correction for the character string from the server (see Inoue, i.e. in fig. 5, step S511, and in para. 55, disclose that “… [0055] After receiving the processing completion response, the MFP 110 makes a request for the results of the image analysis processing to the MFP cooperative server 120 by using the URL indicating the storage destination of the image analysis results, which is included in the response (S511). As the URL in this case, there are “ocr ResultUrl” and “matchingResultUrl”. Upon receipt of the request, the request control unit 431 of the MFP cooperative server 120 returns results information on the image analysis processing…”, also see para. 67 and etc.,), and
correcting the character string according to the correction, wherein the character string is used in information for identifying a file including the image data from which the character string was extracted (Inoue, i.e. in fig. 5, disclose step S513, and in para. 56-58, disclose that “[0056] Then, the MFP 110 displays a UI screen (hereinafter, described as “File name setting screen”) for setting a file name by using the acquired results information (S512). FIG. 10 shows an example of a File name setting screen. In a case where a user sets a file name and presses down a Transmit button 1007, the MFP 110 first transmits a learning request including information (input information at the time of setting) relating to the input operation performed by a user at the time of setting the file name to the MFP cooperative server 120 (S513). FIG. 11 shows an example of the learning request. The learning contents are specified in “learningContent” and in which there are “rectInfoArray” relating to the character area used for the file name and “metadataArray” relating to metadata. In “rectInforArray”, the coordinate information on the character area used at the time of the file name setting is input. In “metadataArray”, the information on the character area corresponding to the character string used for the file name and the information on the separator attached to the character string are input. The example in FIG. 11 indicates that the file name configuration is such that the front is the character string of the character area of “fileRegion0”, the next is the separator, and the end is the character string of the character area of “fileRegion1” and these are arranged in this order. [0057] In the MFP cooperative server 120 having received the learning request, the request control unit 431 instructs the image processing unit 432 to perform business form learning processing (S514). Upon receipt of the instructions, the image processing unit 432 saves the arrangement information on each character area existing in the scanned image and the input information (file name configuration information) at the time of the file name setting included in the learning request received at S513…”).
The teachings of Inoue does not explicitly disclose the aspect relating to “a server providing a chat service”.
However, Lederer discloses an analogous invention relates to a method and a device for managing communication activities. More specifically, in Lederer, i.e. in para. 52 and etc., disclose that “[0052] Although the present invention has been described and illustrated based on an exemplary embodiment that refers to electronic message traffic (e-mails), the present invention is also applicable or expandable to other communication processes. For example, telephone messages that are exchanged via a telephone network not illustrated in detail, VoIP messages or chat entries that are exchanged via the internet 202, fax messages that are exchanged via the telephone network or the like can be mirrored into the virtual mailbox 252. For this purpose, the mail server 202 may include respective services such as a speech recognition service for converting spoken messages into text, a VoIP service, a chat service, an OCR service for recognizing text content and an image digitizing service for recognizing image content in fax messages, or the like. In particular the invention can also be applied to unified communication systems that integrate other communication data in addition to electronic message traffic. For example, a user could already receive information about the person with whom the external person E had the last conversation, or who in the company XYZ had called the external person, before making a call…”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Inoue to include the limitation(s) discussed and also taught by Lederer, with the aspect(s) relating to server with a chat service, as the cited prior arts are at least considered to be analogous arts if not also in the same field of endeavor relating to image and/or document processing arts. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Inoue by the teachings of Lederer, and to incorporate the limitation(s) discussed and also taught by Lederer, thereby to expand the communication process (see Lederer, i.e.in para. 52 and etc.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kobayashi et al. (U.S. Pat/Pub No. 2021/0329135 A1)) disclose an invention relates to information processing device and non-transitory computer readable medium storing program.
The Art Unit (or Workgroup) location of your application in the USPTO has changed. To aid in correlating any papers for this application, all further correspondence regarding this application should be directed to Art Unit 2681.
/JACKY X ZHENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2681