DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
2 This instant Office Action is in response to Original Filing filed on 8/5/2024.
3. This Office Action is made Non-Final.
4. Claims 26-45 are pending.
5. Claims 1-25 are currently cancelled prior to examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
6. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/5/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claims 26-45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Choi et al. US 20250294574 hereafter Choi (Note the provisional 63/399,647 filed on 8/19/2022 includes support for the disclosure relied herein in particular the Title, pages 1-72).
As to Claim 26. (New) Choi discloses a method for wireless communication, performed by a wireless communication device [i.e. User Equipment-UE], comprising [Sections 0001, 0006: The present disclosure relates to a method and apparatus for use in a wireless communication system. In the present disclosure, is a method of monitoring a control signal by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system]:
receiving a configuration of a value [i.e. M or number of CC/cells] for a set of cells [Sections 0083, 0119, 0121: In CA (Carrier aggregation), the following may be configured/applied for m-cc DCI which is an arbitrary set of M cells, where M is an integer greater than or equal to 1. For Criterion 1, M represent the total number of CCs (i.e. cells see 0072) that may be scheduled via the m-cc DCI. The value for each CC (i.e. cell) may be predefined or configured (e.g., through higher layer signaling) based on the number of CCs],
and receiving a configuration of a search space [i.e. SS] of a multi-cell [i.e. M-CC DCI, see 0071] scheduling downlink control information (MC-DCI) [Sections 0100, 0101-0102: In the NR system, each cell is configured with the number of PDCCH candidates for each SS (i.e. Search Space) set through an SS set configuration, an SS for the scheduling cells are scheduled via m-cc (i.e. multi-cell) DCI. For multiple scheduled CCs (i.e. cells) scheduled through m-cc DCI, the reference unit for configuring an SS set may be based on the m-cc DCI configured for M cells. SS set #s (i.e. Search Space set) for m-cc DCI may be configured],
wherein: the set of cells is configured for multi-cell scheduling and at least one of the set of cells are scheduled by the MC-DCI on a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) candidate on a scheduling cell [Sections 0084, 0100, 0116: M-cc DCI defined to schedule cells M, here M refers to an integer greater than or equal to 2, Cell #m may be a scheduling cell that receives the m-cc DCI (PDCCH) or a scheduled cell that is scheduled by the m-cc DCI. In the NR system, each cell is configured with the number of PDCCH candidates for the scheduling cells are scheduled via m-cc (i.e. multi-cell) DCI. One of the following methods may be applied to configure the number of PDCCH candidates per AL n for each scheduled cell scheduled via m-cc DCI].
As to Claim 27. (New) Choi discloses the method according to claim 26, wherein: a user equipment-specific search space (USS) is not configured for a scheduled cell in the set of cells; and a calculation of a total candidate number excludes the scheduled cell [Sections 0110, 0113, 0149: M-cc DCI configured on SS set based on the sum (i.e. total) of the number of PDCCH candidates. Method of Calculating Number of PDCCH Candidates per AL n for each CC for m-cc DCI. If for the USS sets for scheduling on the primary cell the UE is not provided coresetPoolIndex, a UE does not expect to monitor PDCCH in a USS set].
As to Claim 28. (New) Choi discloses the method according to claim 27, wherein: the USS comprises [i.e. Section 0063: SearchSpaceType: this parameter/information indicates the SS type is the USS]: the USS of the MC-DCI and the USS of a single-cell scheduling downlink control information (SC-DCI) [Sections 0055, 0071, 0107: The SS set may be classified into a UE-specific search space (USS) set. In the proposed methods described, DCI for performing multi-cell scheduling denoted as m-cc DCI, and single-cell scheduling denoted as s-cc DCI is performed. In other words, the SS set (i.e. USS) configured for the m-cc DCI may be different from the SS set (i.e. USS) configured for s-CC DCI].
As to Claim 29. (New) Choi discloses the method according to claim 27, wherein: the total candidate number comprises at least one of the following: M_total_µ indicating a total PDCCH candidates for a DL BWP with a SCS configuration, and C_total_µ indicating a total CCEs for a DL BWP with a SCS configuration [Table 10.1-2B (Table Depicts Max (i.e. total) number PDCCH candidates for DL BWP with SCS configuration, with µ =5 or 6), Table 10.1-3B (Table Depicts Max number PDCCH candidates of CCEs for DL BWP with SCS configuration, with µ =5 or 6), Tables 10.1-3 thru 3A, Sections 0137, 0139, 0153: More M PDCCH total µ candidates CCE per slot for each scheduled cell. And more M PDCCH candidates and C PDCCH total µ for CCEs, if a UE is configured with downlink cells. For each scheduled CC scheduled via m-CC DCI, similarly to conventional s-CC scheduling, M_total and C_total are determined using M_max and C_max configured for each CC, each scheduled CC has a different SCS].
As to Claim 30. (New) Choi discloses the method according to claim 26, wherein: a USS [Section 0055: The SS set may be classified into a UE-specific search space (USS) set] is configured for a scheduled cell in the set of cells; and a calculation of a total candidate number includes the scheduled cell [Sections 0082, 0113, 0151: For the methods described below, the proposed/calculated values in the number of PDCCH candidates for each scheduled cell is used. Methods described under the assumption of SS set (i.e. User specific SS) is configured by both s-CC DCI and m-cc DCI; and for Calculating Number of PDCCH Candidates. In 3GPP the UE check number of PDCCH candidates for each CC related to M Total].
As to Claim 31. (New) Choi discloses the method according to claim 30, wherein: the USS [i.e. Section 0063: SearchSpaceType: this parameter/information indicates the SS type is the USS] comprises at least one of the following: the USS of the MC-DCI and the USS of a SC-DCI [Sections 0055, 0071, 0107: The SS set may be classified into a UE-specific search space (USS) set. In the proposed methods described, DCI for performing multi-cell scheduling denoted as m-cc DCI, and single-cell scheduling denoted as s-cc DCI is performed. In other words, the SS set (i.e. USS) configured for the m-cc DCI may be different from the SS set (i.e. USS) configured for s-CC DCI].
As to Claim 32. (New) Choi discloses the method according to claim 30, wherein: the total candidate number comprises at least one of the following: M_total_µ indicating a total PDCCH candidates for a DL BWP with a SCS configuration, and C_total_µ indicating a total CCEs for a DL BWP with a SCS configuration [Table 10.1-2B (Table Depicts Max (i.e. total) number PDCCH candidates for DL BWP with SCS configuration, with µ =5 or 6), Table 10.1-3B (Table Depicts Max number PDCCH candidatesof CCEs for DL BWP with SCS configuration, with µ =5 or 6), Tables 10.1-3 thru 3A, Sections 0137, 0139, 0153: More M PDCCH total µ candidates CCE per slot for each scheduled cell. And more M PDCCH candidates and C PDCCH total µ for CCEs, if a UE is configured with downlink cells. For each scheduled CC scheduled via m-CC DCI, similarly to conventional s-CC scheduling, M_total and C_total are determined using M_max and C_max configured for each CC, each scheduled CC has a different SCS].
As to Claim 33. (New) Choi discloses the method according to claim 26, wherein: the value is used to determine CCE indexes of the search space corresponding to the PDCCH candidate, and the search space is configured on at least one of the following: the scheduling cell carrying
the MC-DCI or a scheduled cell in the set of cells [Table 10.1-2B, Sections 0132-0133, 0179, 0181: CCEs for PDCCH candidates correspond to: different CORESET indexes. In cross-carrier scheduling, SS set configured on a scheduled cell configured with SS set index (or I) based on the value. The methods described applied (independently) to each SS set index (or ID) configured on a scheduling cell for each set of co-scheduled cells for multi-cell scheduling m-cc DCI may be the same or different].
As to Claim 34. (New) Choi discloses a wireless communication device [i.e. Wireless Device/User Equipment (UE)-100] comprising: a memory storing instructions; and at least one processor [processor(s)-102] in communication with the memory [memory(s)-104], wherein, when the at least one processor executes the instructions, the at least one processor is configured to cause the wireless communication device to perform [Fig. 6. Sections 0237: The wireless device-100 include one or more processors and one or more memories; processor(s) control the memory(s) 104 and configured to implement the descriptions, functions, procedures, proposals, methods, and operation flowcharts disclosed in this document; processor process information in the memory(s) and store information in the memory; for example, the memory store software code including instructions for performing all or a part of processes controlled by the processor]:
receiving a configuration of a value [i.e. M or number of CC/cells] for a set of cells [Sections 0083, 0119, 0121: In CA (Carrier aggregation), the following may be configured/applied for m-cc DCI which is an arbitrary set of M cells, where M is an integer greater than or equal to 1. For Criterion 1, M represent the total number of CCs (i.e. cells see 0072) that may be scheduled via the m-cc DCI. The value for each CC (i.e. cell) may be predefined or configured (e.g., through higher layer signaling) based on the number of CCs],
and receiving a configuration of a search space [i.e. SS] of a multi-cell [i.e. M-CC DCI, see 0071] scheduling downlink control information (MC-DCI) [Sections 0100, 0101-0102: In the NR system, each cell is configured with the number of PDCCH candidates for each SS (i.e. Search Space) set through an SS set configuration, an SS for the scheduling cells are scheduled via m-cc (i.e. multi-cell) DCI. For multiple scheduled CCs (i.e. cells) scheduled through m-cc DCI, the reference unit for configuring an SS set may be based on the m-cc DCI configured for M cells. SS set #s (i.e. Search Space set) for m-cc DCI may be configured],
wherein: the set of cells is configured for multi-cell scheduling and at least one of the set of cells are scheduled by the MC-DCI on a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) candidate on a scheduling cell [Sections 0084, 0100, 0116: M-cc DCI defined to schedule cells M, here M refers to an integer greater than or equal to 2, Cell #m may be a scheduling cell that receives the m-cc DCI (PDCCH) or a scheduled cell that is scheduled by the m-cc DCI. In the NR system, each cell is configured with the number of PDCCH candidates for the scheduling cells are scheduled via m-cc (i.e. multi-cell) DCI. One of the following methods may be applied to configure the number of PDCCH candidates per AL n for each scheduled cell scheduled via m-cc DCI].
As to Claim 35. (New) The wireless communication device according to claim 34, wherein: a user equipment-specific search space (USS) is not configured for a scheduled cell in the set of cells; and a calculation of a total candidate number excludes the scheduled cell [See Claim 27 because both claims are similar therefore same rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 36. (New) The wireless communication device according to claim 35, wherein: the USS comprises the USS of the MC-DCI and the USS of a SC-DCI [See Claim 28 because both claims are similar therefore same rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 37. (New) The wireless communication device according to claim 35, wherein: the total candidate number comprises at least one of the following: M_total_µ indicating a total PDCCH candidates for a downlink (DL) bandwidth part (BWP) with a subcarrier spacing (SCS) configuration, and C_total_µ indicating a total control channel elements (CCEs) for a DL BWP with a SCS configuration [See Claim 29 because both claims are similar therefore same rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 38. (New) The wireless communication device according to claim 34, wherein: a USS is configured for a scheduled cell in the set of cells; and a calculation of a total candidate number includes the scheduled cell [See Claim 30 because both claims are similar therefore same rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 39. (New) The wireless communication device according to claim 38, wherein: the USS comprises at least one of the following: the USS of the MC-DCI and the USS of a SC-DCI [See Claim 31 because both claims are similar therefore same rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 40. (New) The wireless communication device according to claim 38, wherein: the total candidate number comprises at least one of the following: M_total_µ indicating a total PDCCH candidates for a DL BWP with a SCS configuration, and C_total_µ indicating a total CCEs for a DL BWP with a SCS configuration [See Claim 32 because both claims are similar therefore same rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 41. (New) The wireless communication device according to claim 34, wherein: the value is used to CCE indexes of the search space corresponding to the PDCCH candidate, and the search space is configured on at least one of the following: the scheduling cell carrying
the MC-DCI or a scheduled cell in the set of cells [See Claim 33 because both claims are similar therefore same rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 42. (New) Choi discloses a method for wireless communication, performed by a wireless communication node [i.e. Base Station/Network Node], comprising [Fig. 6, Sections 0034: In a wireless communication system, a user equipment (UE) receives information from a base station (BS) in downlink (DL); information exchanged between the BS and UE includes data and various control information, and various physical channels/signals are present]:
sending a configuration of a value [i.e. M or number of CC/cells] for a set of cells to a user equipment (UE) [Sections 0083, 0119, 0121: In CA (Carrier aggregation), the following may be configured/applied for m-cc DCI which is an arbitrary set of M cells, where M is an integer greater than or equal to 1. For Criterion 1, M represent the total number of CCs (i.e. cells see 0072) that may be scheduled via the m-cc DCI. The value for each CC (i.e. cell) may be predefined or configured (e.g., through higher layer signaling) based on the number of CCs],
and sending a configuration of a search space [i.e. SS] of a multi-cell [i.e. M-CC DCI, see 0071] scheduling downlink control information (MC-DCI) to the UE [Sections 0100, 0101-0102: In the NR system, each cell is configured with the number of PDCCH candidates for each SS (i.e. Search Space) set through an SS set configuration, an SS for the scheduling cells are scheduled via m-cc (i.e. multi-cell) DCI. For multiple scheduled CCs (i.e. cells) scheduled through m-cc DCI, the reference unit for configuring an SS set may be based on the m-cc DCI configured for M cells. SS set #s (i.e. Search Space set) for m-cc DCI may be configured],
wherein: the set of cells is configured for multi-cell scheduling and at least one of the set of cells are scheduled by the MC-DCI on a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) candidate on a scheduling cell [Sections 0084, 0100, 0116: M-cc DCI defined to schedule cells M, here M refers to an integer greater than or equal to 2, Cell #m may be a scheduling cell that receives the m-cc DCI (PDCCH) or a scheduled cell that is scheduled by the m-cc DCI. In the NR system, each cell is configured with the number of PDCCH candidates for the scheduling cells are scheduled via m-cc (i.e. multi-cell) DCI. One of the following methods may be applied to configure the number of PDCCH candidates per AL n for each scheduled cell scheduled via m-cc DCI].
As to Claim 43. (New) Choi discloses the method according to claim 42, wherein: a USS [Section 0055: The SS set may be classified into a UE-specific search space (USS) set] is configured for a scheduled cell in the set of cells; and a calculation of a total candidate number includes the scheduled cell [Sections 0082, 0113, 0151: For the methods described below, the proposed/calculated values in the number of PDCCH candidates for each scheduled cell is used. Methods described under the assumption of SS set (i.e. User specific SS) is configured by both s-CC DCI and m-cc DCI; and for Calculating Number of PDCCH Candidates. In 3GPP the UE check number of PDCCH candidates for each CC related to M Total],
wherein: the USS comprises at least one of the following: the USS of the MC-DCI and the USS of a SC-DCI [Sections 0055, 0071, 0107: The SS set may be classified into a UE-specific search space (USS) set. In the proposed methods described, DCI for performing multi-cell scheduling denoted as m-cc DCI, and single-cell scheduling denoted as s-cc DCI is performed. In other words, the SS set (i.e. USS) configured for the m-cc DCI may be different from the SS set (i.e. USS) configured for s-CC DCI],
and the total candidate number comprises at least one of the following: M_total_µ indicating a total PDCCH candidates for a DL BWP with a SCS configuration, and C_total_µ indicating a total CCEs for a DL BWP with a SCS configuration [Table 10.1-2B (Table Depicts Max (i.e. total) number PDCCH candidates for DL BWP with SCS configuration, with µ =5 or 6), Table 10.1-3B (Table Depicts Max number PDCCH candidatesof CCEs for DL BWP with SCS configuration, with µ =5 or 6), Tables 10.1-3 thru 3A, Sections 0137, 0139, 0153: More M PDCCH total µ candidates CCE per slot for each scheduled cell. And more M PDCCH candidates and C PDCCH total µ for CCEs, if a UE is configured with downlink cells. For each scheduled CC scheduled via m-CC DCI, similarly to conventional s-CC scheduling, M_total and C_total are determined using M_max and C_max configured for each CC, each scheduled CC has a different SCS].
As to Claim 44. (New) Choi discloses a wireless communication node [i.e. Base Station/Network Node-200] comprising [Section 0034: In a wireless communication system, a user equipment (UE) receives information from a base station (BS) in downlink (DL); information exchanged between the BS and UE includes data and various control information, and various physical channels/signals are present]: a memory [Memory(s)-204] storing instructions; and at least one processor [processor(s)-202] in communication with the memory, wherein, when the at least one processor executes the instructions, the at least one processor is configured to cause the wireless communication node to perform [Fig. 6, Sections 0238: The device 200 include one or more processors 202 and one or more memories 204; the processor control the memory and process information in the memory; the memory(s) 204 store software code including instructions for performing all or a part of processes controlled by the processor(s)]:
sending a configuration of a value [i.e. M or number of CC/cells] for a set of cells to a user equipment (UE) [Sections 0083, 0119, 0121: In CA (Carrier aggregation), the following may be configured/applied for m-cc DCI which is an arbitrary set of M cells, where M is an integer greater than or equal to 1. For Criterion 1, M represent the total number of CCs (i.e. cells see 0072) that may be scheduled via the m-cc DCI. The value for each CC (i.e. cell) may be predefined or configured (e.g., through higher layer signaling) based on the number of CCs],
and sending a configuration of a search space [i.e. SS] of a multi-cell [i.e. M-CC DCI, see 0071] scheduling downlink control information (MC-DCI) to the UE [Sections 0100, 0101-0102: In the NR system, each cell is configured with the number of PDCCH candidates for each SS (i.e. Search Space) set through an SS set configuration, an SS for the scheduling cells are scheduled via m-cc (i.e. multi-cell) DCI. For multiple scheduled CCs (i.e. cells) scheduled through m-cc DCI, the reference unit for configuring an SS set may be based on the m-cc DCI configured for M cells. SS set #s (i.e. Search Space set) for m-cc DCI may be configured],
wherein: the set of cells is configured for multi-cell scheduling and at least one of the set of cells are scheduled by the MC-DCI on a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) candidate on a scheduling cell [Sections 0084, 0100, 0116: M-cc DCI defined to schedule cells M, here M refers to an integer greater than or equal to 2, Cell #m may be a scheduling cell that receives the m-cc DCI (PDCCH) or a scheduled cell that is scheduled by the m-cc DCI. In the NR system, each cell is configured with the number of PDCCH candidates for the scheduling cells are scheduled via m-cc (i.e. multi-cell) DCI. One of the following methods may be applied to configure the number of PDCCH candidates per AL n for each scheduled cell scheduled via m-cc DCI].
As to Claim 45. (New) The wireless communication node according to claim 44, wherein: a USS is configured for a scheduled cell in the set of cells; and a calculation of a total candidate number includes the scheduled cell, wherein: the USS comprises at least one of the following: the USS of the MC-DCI and the USS of a SC-DCI, and the total candidate number comprises at least one of the following: M_total_µ indicating a total PDCCH candidates for a DL BWP with a SCS configuration, and C_total_µ indicating a total CCEs for a DL BWP with a SCS configuration [See Claim 43 because both claims are similar therefore same rejection applies herein].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: MolavianJazi et al. US 20230354331 and Ye et al. US 20260089735.
Furthermore, each additional prior arts cited on PTO-892 but not applied in rejection contains a disclosed description related to the claimed subject matter found either in the Figures, description summary and/or disclosure.
June 25, 2026
/JAEL M ULYSSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477