DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Application filed on 5 August 2024.
Claims 1-48 are presented for examination.
Claim Objections
Claims 7, 23 and 39 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 7, 23 and 39 recite “and/or”. It is suggested to clarify with the use of words instead of “/”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6, 9-13, 17-22, 25-29, 33-38 and 41-45 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, 7-9, 11, 14-17 and 20 of U.S. Patent No. [11,398,886 B2], hereinafter Noh ‘886. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because 1-6, 9-13, 17-22, 25-29, 33-38 and 41-45 of the instant application merely broaden the scope of Claims 1-5, 7-9, 11, 14-17 and 20 of Noh ‘886.
Regarding Claim 1 of the instant application, Noh ‘886 discloses a method performed by a station (STA) operating in a wireless network, the method comprising:
determining a bandwidth of a frame to be transmitted by the STA;
generating a long training field for the frame, the long training field including a set of pilot tones located at a set of subcarrier positions, (See Claim 1, lines 1-7)
wherein in response to the bandwidth of the frame is 10 MHz, the set of subcarrier positions includes four subcarrier positions, and (See Claim 1, lines 8-10)
wherein in response to the bandwidth of the frame is 20 MHz, the set of subcarrier positions includes six subcarrier positions; and (See Claim 1, lines 13-15)
transmitting the frame with the long training field to a recipient. (See Claim 1, lines 18-19)
Regarding Claim 2 of the instant application, Noh ‘886 discloses the method, wherein the four subcarrier positions are set as {-21-α1,-7- α2,7+α3,21+α4} (See Claim 1, lines 9-11), wherein α1, α2, α3, and α4 are equal to a value of 1 (see Claim 3) and the six subcarrier positions are set as {–53-β1,–25-β2, –11-β3,11+β4,25+β5,53+β6}, wherein β1, β2, β3, β4, β5, and β6 are equal to a value of 1. (See Claim 1, lines 14-16)
Regarding Claim 3 of the instant application, Noh ‘886 discloses the method, wherein the values α1, α2, α3, and α4 are identical values. (See Claim 2)
Regarding Claim 4 of the instant application, Noh Noh ‘886 discloses the method, wherein the values α1, α2, α3, and α4 are each equal to one, three, or five. (See Claim 3)
Regarding Claim 5 of the instant application, Noh ‘886 discloses the method, wherein the values β1, β2, β3, β4, β5 and β6 are identical values. (See Claim 4)
Regarding Claim 6 of the instant application, Noh ‘886 discloses the method, wherein the values β1, β2, β3, β4, β5 and β6 are each equal to one (See Claim 5), three, or five. (See Claim 5)
Regarding Claim 9 of the instant application, Noh ‘886 discloses the method, wherein in response to the midamble indication includes a first value, a midamble is inserted in a data field of the frame after four data symbols. (See Claim 7)
Regarding Claim 10 of the instant application, Noh ‘886 discloses the method, wherein in response to the midamble indication includes a second value, a midamble is inserted in the data field of the frame after eight data symbols. (See Claim 8)
Regarding Claim 11 of the instant application, Noh ‘886 discloses the method, further comprising:
generating a signaling field for the frame by setting a modulation indication indicating a modulation for the frame, the frame including the signaling field and the signaling field including the modulation indication. (See Claim 9, lines 1-6)
Regarding Claim 12 of the instant application, Noh ‘886 discloses the method, wherein the modulation indication indicates a type of long training field sequence and the modulation for the frame. (See Claim 9, lines 7-9)
Regarding Claim 13 of the instant application, Noh ‘886 discloses the method, wherein the modulation indication indicates use of a repeated compressed long training field sequence based on use of one or more of a dual carrier modulation and a binary phase shift keying. (See Claim 11)
Regarding Claim 17 of the instant application, Noh ‘886 discloses a station (STA) configured to operate in a wireless network, the station comprising:
a memory device storing a set of instructions; and
a processor coupled to the memory device, wherein the set of instructions when executed by the processor cause the STA to:
determine a bandwidth of a frame to be transmitted by the station;
generate a long training field for the frame, wherein the long training field includes a set of pilot tones located at a set of subcarrier positions, (See Claim 14, lines 1-11)
wherein in response to the bandwidth of the frame is 10 MHz, the set of subcarrier positions includes four subcarrier positions, and (See Claim 14, lines 12-14)
wherein in response to the bandwidth of the frame is 20 MHz, the set of subcarrier positions includes six subcarrier positions; and (See Claim 14, lines 17-19)
transmit the frame with the long training field to a recipient. (See Claim 14, lines 22-23)
Regarding Claim 18 of the instant application, Noh ‘886 discloses the STA, wherein the four subcarrier positions are set as {-21-α1,-7- α2,7+α3,21+α4} (See Claim 14, lines 14-15), wherein α1, α2, α3, and α4 are equal to a value of 1 (See Claim 15, lines 1-2) and the six subcarrier positions are set as {–53-β1,–25-β2, –11-β3,11+β4,25+β5,53+β6} (See Claim 14, lines 18-20), wherein β1, β2, β3, β4, β5, and β6 are equal to a value of 1. (See Claim 15, lines 2-3)
Regarding Claim 19 of the instant application, Noh ‘886 discloses the STA (See Claim 14, line 1), wherein the values α1, α2, α3, and α4 are identical values. (See Claim 2)
Regarding Claim 20 of the instant application, Noh ‘886 discloses the STA (See Claim 14, line 1), wherein the values α1, α2, α3, and α4 are each equal to one, three, or five. (See Claim 15, lines 1-2)
Regarding Claim 21 of the instant application, Noh ‘886 discloses the STA (See Claim 14, line 1), wherein the values β1, β2, β3, β4, β5 and β6 are identical values (See Claim 4).
Regarding Claim 22 of the instant application, Noh ‘886 discloses the STA (See Claim 14, line 1), wherein the values β1, β2, β3, β4, β5 and β6 are each equal to one, three, or five. (See Claim 5)
Regarding Claim 25 of the instant application, Noh ‘886 discloses the STA, wherein in response to the midamble indication includes a first value (See Claim 16, line 9), a midamble is inserted in a data field of the frame after four data symbols. (See Claim 16, lines 9-11)
Regarding Claim 26 of the instant application, Noh ‘886 discloses the STA, wherein in response to the midamble indication includes a second value, a midamble is inserted in the data field of the frame after eight data symbols. (See Claim 16, lines 12-14)
Regarding Claim 27 of the instant application, Noh ‘886 discloses the STA, further comprising:
generating a signaling field for the frame by setting a modulation indication indicating a modulation for the frame, the frame including the signaling field and the signaling field including the modulation indication. (See Claim 17, lines 3-7)
Regarding Claim 28 of the instant application, Noh ‘886 discloses the STA, wherein the modulation indication indicates a type of long training field sequence and the modulation for the frame. (See Claim 17, lines 8-10)
Regarding Claim 29 of the instant application, Noh ‘886 discloses the STA, wherein the modulation indication indicates use of a repeated compressed long training field sequence based on use of one or more of a dual carrier modulation and a binary phase shift keying. (See Claim 17, lines 14-17)
Regarding Claim 33 of the instant application, Noh ‘886 discloses a non-transitory machine readable medium that stores instructions, which when executed by a processor of a station (STA), causes the STA to perform:
determining a bandwidth of a frame to be transmitted by the STA;
generating a long training field for the frame, the long training field including a set of pilot tones located at a set of subcarrier positions, (See Claim 20, lines 1-8)
wherein in response to the bandwidth of the frame is 10 MHz, the set of subcarrier positions includes four subcarrier positions, and (See Claim 20, lines 9-11)
wherein in response to the bandwidth of the frame is 20 MHz, the set of subcarrier positions includes six subcarrier positions; and (See Claim 20, lines 14-16)
transmitting the frame with the long training field to a recipient. (See Claim 20, lines 19-20)
Regarding Claim 34 of the instant application, Noh ‘886 discloses the non-transitory machine readable medium (See Claim 20, line 1), wherein the four subcarrier positions are set as {-21-α1,-7- α2,7+α3,21+α4} (See Claim 20, lines 11-12), wherein α1, α2, α3, and α4 are equal to a value of 1 (See Claim 3) and the six subcarrier positions are set as {–53-β1,–25-β2, –11-β3,11+β4,25+β5,53+β6} (See Claim 20, lines 15-17), wherein β1, β2, β3, β4, β5, and β6 are equal to a value of 1. (See Claim 20, lines 17-18)
Regarding Claim 35 of the instant application, Noh ‘886 discloses the non-transitory machine readable medium (See Claim 20, line 1), wherein the values α1, α2, α3, and α4 are identical values. (See Claim 2)
Regarding Claim 36 of the instant application, Noh ‘886 discloses the non-transitory machine readable medium (See Claim 20, line 1), wherein the values α1, α2, α3, and α4 are each equal to one, three, or five. (See Claim 15, lines 1-2)
Regarding Claim 37 of the instant application, Noh ‘886 discloses the non-transitory machine readable medium (See Claim 20, line 1), wherein the values β1, β2, β3, β4, β5 and β6 are identical values (See Claim 4).
Regarding Claim 38 of the instant application, Noh ‘886 discloses the non-transitory machine readable medium (See Claim 20, line 1), wherein the values β1, β2, β3, β4, β5 and β6 are each equal to one, three, or five. (See Claim 5)
Regarding Claim 41 of the instant application, Noh ‘886 discloses the non-transitory machine readable medium (See Claim 20, line 1), wherein in response to the midamble indication includes a first value, a midamble is inserted in a data field of the frame after four data symbols. (See Claim 7)
Regarding Claim 42 of the instant application, Noh ‘886 discloses the non-transitory machine readable medium (See Claim 20, line 1), wherein in response to the midamble indication includes a second value, a midamble is inserted in the data field of the frame after eight data symbols. (See Claim 8)
Regarding Claim 43 of the instant application, Noh ‘886 discloses the non-transitory machine readable medium (See Claim 20, line 1), wherein the instructions further cause the STA to perform:
generating a signaling field for the frame by setting a modulation indication indicating a modulation for the frame, the frame including the signaling field and the signaling field including the modulation indication. (See Claim 9, lines 1-6)
Regarding Claim 44 of the instant application, Noh ‘886 discloses the non-transitory machine readable medium (See Claim 20, line 1), wherein the modulation indication indicates a type of long training field sequence and the modulation for the frame. (See Claim 9, lines 7-9)
Regarding Claim 45 of the instant application, Noh ‘886 discloses the non-transitory machine readable medium (See Claim 20, line 1), wherein the modulation indication indicates use of a repeated compressed long training field sequence based on use of one or more of a dual carrier modulation and a binary phase shift keying. (See Claim 11)
Claims 7, 23 and 39 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Noh ‘886 in view of Yun et al (US 2022/0224381 A1), hereinafter Yun.
Regarding Claim 7 of the instant application, Although Noh ‘886 discloses the method as set forth above,
Noh ‘886 does not explicitly disclose “wherein a sequence and/or a type of sequence used for the long training field are selected based on a type of modulation and coding and/or a type of the frame”.
However, Yun discloses the method, wherein a sequence and/or a type of sequence used for the long training field are selected based on a type of modulation and coding and/or a type of the frame (see Table 1 and Figures 10-11 and paragraph 71; wherein a type of sequence/(LTF type 1030 of Figure 10) used non-scrambled pattern to carry user data) used for the long training field/HE-LTF are selected based on a type of modulation and coding/(UL MCS 1140) is indicated in fields of the frame/Figure 10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein a sequence and/or a type of sequence used for the long training field are selected based on a type of modulation and coding and/or a type of the frame” as taught by Yun in the system of Noh ‘886 to improve efficiency of operating a wireless resource (see paragraph 100, lines 10-11 of Yun).
Regarding Claim 23 of the instant application, Although Noh ‘886 discloses the STA as set forth above,
Noh ‘886 does not explicitly disclose “wherein a sequence and/or a type of sequence used for the long training field are selected based on a type of modulation and coding and/or a type of the frame”.
However, Yun discloses the STA, wherein a sequence and/or a type of sequence used for the long training field are selected based on a type of modulation and coding and/or a type of the frame (see Table 1 and Figures 10-11 and paragraph 71; wherein a type of sequence/(LTF type 1030 of Figure 10) used non-scrambled pattern to carry user data) used for the long training field/HE-LTF are selected based on a type of modulation and coding/(UL MCS 1140) is indicated in fields of the frame/Figure 10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein a sequence and/or a type of sequence used for the long training field are selected based on a type of modulation and coding and/or a type of the frame” as taught by Yun in the system of Noh ‘886 to improve efficiency of operating a wireless resource (see paragraph 100, lines 10-11 of Yun).
Regarding Claim 39 of the instant application, Although Noh ‘886 discloses the non-transitory machine readable medium as set forth above,
Noh ‘886 does not explicitly disclose “wherein a sequence and/or a type of sequence used for the long training field are selected based on a type of modulation and coding and/or a type of the frame”.
However, Yun discloses the non-transitory machine readable medium, wherein a sequence and/or a type of sequence used for the long training field are selected based on a type of modulation and coding and/or a type of the frame (see Table 1 and Figures 10-11 and paragraph 71; wherein a type of sequence/(LTF type 1030 of Figure 10) used non-scrambled pattern to carry user data) used for the long training field/HE-LTF are selected based on a type of modulation and coding/(UL MCS 1140) is indicated in fields of the frame/Figure 10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein a sequence and/or a type of sequence used for the long training field are selected based on a type of modulation and coding and/or a type of the frame” as taught by Yun in the system of Noh ‘886 to improve efficiency of operating a wireless resource (see paragraph 100, lines 10-11 of Yun).
Claims 8, 24 and 40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claim 6 of Noh ‘886 in view of Yun.
Regarding Claim 8 of the instant application, Noh ‘886 discloses the method, further comprising:
generating a signaling field for the frame by setting a midamble indication that indicates a midamble periodicity for the frame (See Claim 6, lines 2-5).
Although Noh ‘886 discloses generating a signaling field for the frame by setting a midamble indication that indicates a midamble periodicity for the frame as set forth above,
Noh ‘886 does not explicitly disclose “wherein the frame includes the signaling field and the signaling field includes a modulation indication”.
However, Yun discloses the method, further comprising:
generating a signaling field for the frame by setting a midamble indication that indicates a midamble periodicity for the frame (see Figure 10 and Table 2; generating a signaling field/(the signaling field is at the end of Figure 10 B23 to B25) for the frame/(Figure 10) by setting a midamble/mid-amble indication/indication that indicates a midamble periodicity/(mid-amble periodicity) for the frame/Figure 10), wherein the frame includes the signaling field and the signaling field includes a modulation indication (see Figures 7 and 10 and Table 2 and paragraph 74; wherein the frame/(Figure 10) includes the signaling field/(the signaling field is at the end of Figure 10 B23 to B25) and the signaling field/(the signaling field is at the end of Figure 10 B23 to B25) includes a modulation indication/an indication field regarding whether the HE-SIG-B is modulated by a dual subcarrier modulation technique for MCS).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein the frame includes the signaling field and the signaling field includes a modulation indication” as taught by Yun in the system of Noh ‘886 to improve efficiency of operating a wireless resource (see paragraph 100, lines 10-11 of Yun).
Regarding Claim 24 of the instant application, Noh ‘886 discloses the STA, further comprising:
generating a signaling field for the frame by setting a midamble indication that indicates a midamble periodicity for the frame (See Claim 16, lines 3-6).
Although Noh ‘886 discloses generating a signaling field for the frame by setting a midamble indication that indicates a midamble periodicity for the frame as set forth above,
Noh ‘886 does not explicitly disclose “wherein the frame includes the signaling field and the signaling field includes a modulation indication”.
However, Yun discloses the STA, further comprising:
generating a signaling field for the frame by setting a midamble indication that indicates a midamble periodicity for the frame (see Figure 10 and Table 2; generating a signaling field/(the signaling field is at the end of Figure 10 B23 to B25) for the frame/(Figure 10) by setting a midamble/mid-amble indication/indication that indicates a midamble periodicity/(mid-amble periodicity) for the frame/Figure 10), wherein the frame includes the signaling field and the signaling field includes a modulation indication (see Figures 7 and 10 and Table 2 and paragraph 74; wherein the frame/(Figure 10) includes the signaling field/(the signaling field is at the end of Figure 10 B23 to B25) and the signaling field/(the signaling field is at the end of Figure 10 B23 to B25) includes a modulation indication/an indication field regarding whether the HE-SIG-B is modulated by a dual subcarrier modulation technique for MCS).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “generating a signaling field for the frame by setting a midamble indication that indicates a midamble periodicity for the frame, wherein the frame includes the signaling field and the signaling field includes a modulation indication” as taught by Yun in the system of Noh ‘886 to improve efficiency of operating a wireless resource (see paragraph 100, lines 10-11 of Yun).
Regarding Claim 40 of the instant application, Noh ‘886 discloses the non-transitory machine readable medium, wherein the instructions further cause the STA to perform:
generating a signaling field for the frame by setting a midamble indication that indicates a midamble periodicity for the frame (See Claim 6, lines 2-5).
Although Noh ‘886 discloses generating a signaling field for the frame by setting a midamble indication that indicates a midamble periodicity for the frame as set forth above,
Noh ‘886 does not explicitly disclose “wherein the frame includes the signaling field and the signaling field includes a modulation indication”.
However, Yun discloses the non-transitory machine readable medium, wherein the instructions further cause the STA to perform:
generating a signaling field for the frame by setting a midamble indication that indicates a midamble periodicity for the frame (see Figure 10 and Table 2; generating a signaling field/(the signaling field is at the end of Figure 10 B23 to B25) for the frame/(Figure 10) by setting a midamble/mid-amble indication/indication that indicates a midamble periodicity/(mid-amble periodicity) for the frame/Figure 10), wherein the frame includes the signaling field and the signaling field includes a modulation indication (see Figures 7 and 10 and Table 2 and paragraph 74; wherein the frame/(Figure 10) includes the signaling field/(the signaling field is at the end of Figure 10 B23 to B25) and the signaling field/(the signaling field is at the end of Figure 10 B23 to B25) includes a modulation indication/an indication field regarding whether the HE-SIG-B is modulated by a dual subcarrier modulation technique for MCS).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein the frame includes the signaling field and the signaling field includes a modulation indication” as taught by Yun in the system of Noh ‘886 to improve efficiency of operating a wireless resource (see paragraph 100, lines 10-11 of Yun).
Claims 14, 30 and 46 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Noh ‘886 in view of Suh et al (US 2019/0182095 A1), hereinafter Suh.
Regarding Claim 14 of the instant application, Although Noh ‘886 discloses the method as set forth above,
Noh ‘886 does not explicitly disclose “wherein only one of a midamble indication and a modulation indication are present in the frame”.
However, Suh discloses the method, wherein only one of a midamble indication and are present in the frame (see Figure 7 and paragraphs 51 and 53; wherein only one of a midamble indication/(mid-amble 714) are present in the frame/frame 700).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein only one of a midamble indication are present in the frame” as taught by Suh in the system of Noh ‘886 so the STA can perform channel estimation (see paragraph 53 of Suh).
Regarding Claim 30 of the instant application, Although Noh ‘886 discloses the STA as set forth above,
Noh ‘886 does not explicitly disclose “wherein only one of a midamble indication and a modulation indication are present in the frame”.
However, Suh discloses the STA, wherein only one of a midamble indication and are present in the frame (see Figure 7 and paragraphs 51 and 53; wherein only one of a midamble indication/(mid-amble 714) are present in the frame/frame 700).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein only one of a midamble indication are present in the frame” as taught by Suh in the system of Noh ‘886 so the STA can perform channel estimation (see paragraph 53 of Suh).
Regarding Claim 46 of the instant application, Although Noh ‘886 discloses the non-transitory machine readable medium as set forth above,
Noh ‘886 does not explicitly disclose “wherein only one of a midamble indication and a modulation indication are present in the frame”.
However, Suh discloses the non-transitory machine readable medium, wherein only one of a midamble indication are present in the frame (see Figure 7 and paragraphs 51 and 53; wherein only one of a midamble indication/(mid-amble 714) are present in the frame/frame 700).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein only one of a midamble indication are present in the frame” as taught by Suh in the system of Noh ‘886 so the STA can perform channel estimation (see paragraph 53 of Suh).
Claims 15, 31 and 47 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 13, 19 and 20 of Noh ‘886 in view of Suh et al (US 2019/0182095 A1), hereinafter Suh.
Regarding Claim 15 of the instant application, Noh ‘886 discloses the method, further comprising:
generating a data field for the frame (See Claim 13, lines 1-2).
Although Noh ‘886 discloses generating a data field for the frame as set forth above,
Noh ‘886 does not explicitly disclose “the frame including one or more data symbols and one or more midambles”.
However, Suh discloses the method, further comprising:
generating a data field for the frame (see Figure 7 and paragraphs 51 and 53; generating a data field/(data 712) for the frame/frame 700), the frame including one or more data symbols and one or more midambles (see Figure 7 and paragraphs 51 and 53; the frame/(frame 700) including one or more data symbols/symbols and one or more midambles/mid-amble 714).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “generating a data field for the frame, the frame including one or more data symbols and one or more midambles” as taught by Suh in the system of Noh ‘886 so the STA can perform channel estimation (see paragraph 53 of Suh).
Regarding Claim 31 of the instant application, Noh ‘886 discloses the STA, further comprising:
generating a data field for the frame (See Claim 19, line 3).
Although Noh ‘886 discloses generating a data field for the frame as set forth above,
Noh ‘886 does not explicitly disclose “the frame including one or more data symbols and one or more midambles”.
However, Suh discloses the STA, further comprising:
generating a data field for the frame (see Figure 7 and paragraphs 51 and 53; generating a data field/(data 712) for the frame/frame 700), the frame including one or more data symbols and one or more midambles (see Figure 7 and paragraphs 51 and 53; the frame/(frame 700) including one or more data symbols/symbols and one or more midambles/mid-amble 714).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “generating a data field for the frame, the frame including one or more data symbols and one or more midambles” as taught by Suh in the system of Noh ‘886 so the STA can perform channel estimation (see paragraph 53 of Suh).
Regarding Claim 47 of the instant application, Noh ‘886 discloses the non-transitory machine readable medium (See Claim 20, line 1), further comprising:
generating a data field for the frame (See Claim 13, lines 1-2).
Although the combination of Noh ‘886 discloses the non-transitory machine readable medium as set forth above,
The combination of Noh ‘886 does not explicitly disclose “generating a data field for the frame, the frame including one or more data symbols and one or more midambles”.
However, Suh discloses the non-transitory machine readable medium, further comprising:
generating a data field for the frame (see Figure 7 and paragraphs 51 and 53; generating a data field/(data 712) for the frame/frame 700), the frame including one or more data symbols and one or more midambles (see Figure 7 and paragraphs 51 and 53; the frame/(frame 700) including one or more data symbols/symbols and one or more midambles/mid-amble 714).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “generating a data field for the frame, the frame including one or more data symbols and one or more midambles” as taught by Suh in the system of Noh ‘886 so the STA can perform channel estimation (see paragraph 53 of Suh).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 17 and 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al (US 9,628,310 B2), hereinafter Lee, in view of Lim et al (KR 10-2019-0051162), hereinafter Lim, where English Language of the convenient translation of (US 2022/0271980 A1), per MPEP 901.05, and further in view of Jia et al (CN 201810910307.3), hereinafter Jia, where English Language of the convenient translation of (US 2021/0168773 A1), per MPEP 901.05
Regarding Claim 1, Lee discloses a method performed by a station (STA) operating in a wireless network, the method comprising:
determining a bandwidth of a frame to be transmitted by the STA (see Figure 46, step S4601 and column 55, lines 10-16; determining/determine a bandwidth/(channel bandwidth) of a frame/(HE PPDU) to be transmitted/transmission by the STA/station);
generating a long training field for the frame (see Figure 46, step and column 55, lines 10-11 and 17-19; generating/transmission a long training field/(HE-LTF mode) for the frame/HE PPDU), the long training field including a set of pilot tones located at a set of subcarrier positions (see Column 15, lines 44-47 and 59-65; the long training field/(HE-LTF mode) including a set of pilot tones/(pilot tones) located at a set of subcarrier positions/subcarrier index),
transmitting the frame with the long training field to a recipient (see Figure 46, step S4607 and column 57, lines 15-21; transmitting/transmits the frame/(HE PPDU) with the long training field/(HE-LTF mode) to a recipient/reception by a station).
Although Lee discloses the frame as set forth above,
Lee does not explicitly disclose wherein in response to the bandwidth” of the frame “is 10 MHz, the set of subcarrier positions includes four subcarrier positions”.
However, Lim discloses a method performed by a station (STA) operating in a wireless network, the method comprising:
wherein in response to the bandwidth of the frame is 10 MHz (see paragraph 334; wherein in response to the bandwidth/bandwidth of the frame/frame is 10 MHz/10 MHz), the set of subcarrier positions includes four subcarrier positions (see paragraph 334; the set of subcarrier positions/tones includes four/(-28, -27, 27, 28 are four tone indexes) subcarrier positions/tones).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in response to the bandwidth” of the frame “is 10 MHz, the set of subcarrier positions includes four subcarrier positions” as taught by Lim in the system of Lee to provide a method for configuring a frame in a WLAN system (see page 1, paragraph 2 of Lim).
Although the combination of Lee and Lim discloses a method performed by a station (STA) operating in a wireless network as set forth above,
The combination of Lee and Lim does not explicitly disclose “wherein in response to the bandwidth of the frame is 20 MHz, the set of subcarrier positions includes six subcarrier positions”.
However, Jia discloses a method performed by a station (STA) operating in a wireless network, the method comprising:
wherein in response to the bandwidth of the frame is 20 MHz (see paragraph 103; wherein in response to the bandwidth/bandwidth of the frame is 20 MHz/20 MHz), the set of subcarrier positions includes six subcarrier positions (see paragraph 103; the set of subcarrier positions/subcarrier includes six/six subcarrier positions/subcarrier).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein in response to the bandwidth of the frame is 20 MHz, the set of subcarrier positions includes six subcarrier positions” as taught by Jia in the combined system of Lee and Lim to perform flexible resource assignment and improve spectrum utilization (see page 1, paragraph 6 of Jia).
Regarding Claim 17, Lee discloses a station (STA) configured to operate in a wireless network (see Figure 2 and column 4, lines 42-67; station (STA)/wireless communication device 200), the station comprising:
a memory device storing a set of instructions (see Figure 2 and column 4, lines 53-55; a memory device/(memory 240) storing/store a set of instructions/software); and
a processor coupled to the memory device (see Figure 2 and column 4, lines 50-55; a processor/(baseband processor 211) coupled to the memory device/memory 240), wherein the set of instructions when executed by the processor cause the STA (see Figure 2 and column 4, lines 50-60; wherein the set of instructions/software when executed/executes by the processor/(baseband processor 211) cause the STA/wireless communication device 200) to:
determine a bandwidth of a frame to be transmitted by the station (see Figure 46, step S4601 and column 55, lines 10-16; determine/determine a bandwidth/(channel bandwidth) of a frame/(HE PPDU) to be transmitted/transmission by the STA/station);
generate a long training field for the frame (see Figure 46, step and column 55, lines 10-11 and 17-19; generate/transmission a long training field/(HE-LTF mode) for the frame/HE PPDU), wherein the long training field includes a set of pilot tones located at a set of subcarrier positions (see Column 15, lines 44-47 and 59-65; wherein the long training field/(HE-LTF mode) includes a set of pilot tones/(pilot tones) located at a set of subcarrier positions/subcarrier index),
transmit the frame with the long training field to a recipient (see Figure 46, step S4607 and column 57, lines 15-21; transmitting/transmits the frame/(HE PPDU) with the long training field/(HE-LTF mode) to a recipient/reception by a station).
Although Lee discloses the frame as set forth above,
Lee does not explicitly disclose wherein in response to the bandwidth” of the frame “is 10 MHz, the set of subcarrier positions includes four subcarrier positions”.
However, Lim discloses a station (STA) configured to operate in a wireless network, the station comprising:
wherein in response to the bandwidth of the frame is 10 MHz (see paragraph 334; wherein in response to the bandwidth/bandwidth of the frame/frame is 10 MHz/10 MHz), the set of subcarrier positions includes four subcarrier positions (see paragraph 334; the set of subcarrier positions/tones includes four/(-28, -27, 27, 28 are four tone indexes) subcarrier positions/tones).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in response to the bandwidth” of the frame “is 10 MHz, the set of subcarrier positions includes four subcarrier positions” as taught by Lim in the system of Lee to provide a method for configuring a frame in a WLAN system (see page 1, paragraph 2 of Lim).
Although the combination of Lee and Lim discloses a station (STA) configured to operate in a wireless network as set forth above,
The combination of Lee and Lim does not explicitly disclose “wherein in response to the bandwidth of the frame is 20 MHz, the set of subcarrier positions includes six subcarrier positions”.
However, Jia discloses a station (STA) configured to operate in a wireless network, the station comprising:
wherein in response to the bandwidth of the frame is 20 MHz (see paragraph 103; wherein in response to the bandwidth/bandwidth of the frame is 20 MHz/20 MHz), the set of subcarrier positions includes six subcarrier positions (see paragraph 103; the set of subcarrier positions/subcarrier includes six/six subcarrier positions/subcarrier).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein in response to the bandwidth of the frame is 20 MHz, the set of subcarrier positions includes six subcarrier positions” as taught by Jia in the combined system of Lee and Lim to perform flexible resource assignment and improve spectrum utilization (see page 1, paragraph 6 of Jia).
Regarding Claim 33, Lee discloses a non-transitory machine readable medium that stores instructions, which when executed by a processor of a station (STA), causes the STA to perform:
determining a bandwidth of a frame to be transmitted by the STA (see Figure 46, step S4601 and column 55, lines 10-16; determining/determine a bandwidth/(channel bandwidth) of a frame/(HE PPDU) to be transmitted/transmission by the STA/station);
generating a long training field for the frame (see Figure 46, step and column 55, lines 10-11 and 17-19; generating/transmission a long training field/(HE-LTF mode) for the frame/HE PPDU), the long training field including a set of pilot tones located at a set of subcarrier positions (see column 15, lines 44-47 and 59-65; the long training field/(HE-LTF mode) including a set of pilot tones/(pilot tones) located at a set of subcarrier positions/subcarrier index),
transmitting the frame with the long training field to a recipient (see Figure 46, step S4607 and column 57, lines 15-21; transmitting/transmits the frame/(HE PPDU) with the long training field/(HE-LTF mode) to a recipient/reception by a station).
Although Lee discloses the frame as set forth above,
Lee does not explicitly disclose wherein in response to the bandwidth” of the frame “is 10 MHz, the set of subcarrier positions includes four subcarrier positions”.
However, Lim discloses a method performed by a station (STA) operating in a wireless network, the method comprising:
wherein in response to the bandwidth of the frame is 10 MHz (see paragraph 334; wherein in response to the bandwidth/bandwidth of the frame/frame is 10 MHz/10 MHz), the set of subcarrier positions includes four subcarrier positions (see paragraph 334; the set of subcarrier positions/tones includes four/(-28, -27, 27, 28 are four tone indexes) subcarrier positions/tones).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in response to the bandwidth” of the frame “is 10 MHz, the set of subcarrier positions includes four subcarrier positions” as taught by Lim in the system of Lee to provide a method for configuring a frame in a WLAN system (see page 1, paragraph 2 of Lim).
Although the combination of Lee and Lim discloses a non-transitory machine readable medium that stores instructions as set forth above,
The combination of Lee and Lim does not explicitly disclose “wherein in response to the bandwidth of the frame is 20 MHz, the set of subcarrier positions includes six subcarrier positions”.
However, Jia discloses a non-transitory machine readable medium that stores instructions, cause the STA to perform:
wherein in response to the bandwidth of the frame is 20 MHz (see paragraph 103; wherein in response to the bandwidth/bandwidth of the frame is 20 MHz/20 MHz), the set of subcarrier positions includes six subcarrier positions (see paragraph 103; the set of subcarrier positions/subcarrier includes six/six subcarrier positions/subcarrier).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein in response to the bandwidth of the frame is 20 MHz, the set of subcarrier positions includes six subcarrier positions” as taught by Jia in the combined system of Lee and Lim to perform flexible resource assignment and improve spectrum utilization (see page 1, paragraph 6 of Jia).
Claim(s) 7-8, 11-12, 23-24, 27-28, 39-40 and 43-44 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Lim and further in view of Jia, and further in view of Yun et al (US 2022/0224381 A1), hereinafter Yun.
Regarding Claim 7, Although the combination of Lee, Lim and Jia discloses the method as set forth above,
The combination of Lee, Lim and Jia does not explicitly disclose “wherein a sequence and/or a type of sequence used for the long training field are selected based on a type of modulation and coding and/or a type of the frame”.
However, Yun discloses the method, wherein a sequence and/or a type of sequence used for the long training field are selected based on a type of modulation and coding and/or a type of the frame (see Table 1 and Figures 10-11 and paragraph 71; wherein a type of sequence/(LTF type 1030 of Figure 10) used non-scrambled pattern to carry user data) used for the long training field/HE-LTF are selected based on a type of modulation and coding/(UL MCS 1140) is indicated in fields of the frame/Figure 10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein a sequence and/or a type of sequence used for the long training field are selected based on a type of modulation and coding and/or a type of the frame” as taught by Yun in the combined system of Lee, Lim and Jia to improve efficiency of operating a wireless resource (see paragraph 100, lines 10-11 of Yun).
Regarding Claim 8, Although the combination of Lee, Lim and Jia discloses the method as set forth above,
The combination of Lee, Lim and Jia does not explicitly disclose “generating a signaling field for the frame by setting a midamble indication that indicates a midamble periodicity for the frame, wherein the frame includes the signaling field and the signaling field includes a modulation indication”.
However, Yun discloses the method, further comprising:
generating a signaling field for the frame by setting a midamble indication that indicates a midamble periodicity for the frame (see Figure 10 and Table 2; generating a signaling field/(the signaling field is at the end of Figure 10 B23 to B25) for the frame/(Figure 10) by setting a midamble/mid-amble indication/indication that indicates a midamble periodicity/(mid-amble periodicity) for the frame/Figure 10), wherein the frame includes the signaling field and the signaling field includes a modulation indication (see Figures 7 and 10 and Table 2 and paragraph 74; wherein the frame/(Figure 10) includes the signaling field/(the signaling field is at the end of Figure 10 B23 to B25) and the signaling field/(the signaling field is at the end of Figure 10 B23 to B25) includes a modulation indication/an indication field regarding whether the HE-SIG-B is modulated by a dual subcarrier modulation technique for MCS).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “generating a signaling field for the frame by setting a midamble indication that indicates a midamble periodicity for the frame, wherein the frame includes the signaling field and the signaling field includes a modulation indication” as taught by Yun in the combined system of Lee, Lim and Jia to improve efficiency of operating a wireless resource (see paragraph 100, lines 10-11 of Yun).
Regarding Claim 11, Although the combination of Lee, Lim and Jia discloses the method as set forth above,
The combination of Lee, Lim and Jia does not explicitly disclose “generating a signaling field for the frame by setting a modulation indication indicating a modulation for the frame, the frame including the signaling field and the signaling field including the modulation indication”.
However, Yun discloses the method, further comprising:
generating a signaling field for the frame by setting a modulation indicating a modulation for the frame (see Figure 10 and Table 2 and paragraph 74; generating a signaling field/(the signaling field is at the end of Figure 10 B23 to B25) for the frame/(Figure 10) by setting a modulation/modulation indicating a modulation for the frame/Figure 10), the frame including the signaling field and the signaling field including the modulation indication (see Figures 7 and 10 and Table 2 and paragraph 74; the frame/(Figure 10) including the signaling field/(the signaling field is at the end of Figure 10 B23 to B25) and the signaling field/( the signaling field is at the end of Figure 10 B23 to B25) including the modulation indication/(an indication field regarding whether the HE-SIG-B is modulated by a dual subcarrier modulation technique for MCS).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “generating a signaling field for the frame by setting a modulation indication indicating a modulation for the frame, the frame including the signaling field and the signaling field including the modulation indication” as taught by Yun in the combined system of Lee, Lim and Jia to improve efficiency of operating a wireless resource (see paragraph 100, lines 10-11 of Yun).
Regarding Claim 12, Although the combination of Lee, Lim and Jia discloses the method as set forth above,
The combination of Lee, Lim and Jia does not explicitly disclose “wherein the modulation indication indicates a type of long training field sequence and the modulation for the frame”.
However, Yun discloses the method, wherein the modulation indication indicates a type of long training field sequence and the modulation for the frame (see Figure 10 and Table 2 and paragraph 74; wherein the modulation indication indicates a type of long training field sequence/(HE-LTF) and the modulation/(an indication field regarding whether the HE-SIG-B is modulated by a dual subcarrier modulation