DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 2-21 are pending. Claim 1 is canceled. Claims 1, 4, 9, and 15 have been amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 2-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 2-4, 6-10, 12-15, and 17-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gaugler et al. (2,772,542), hereafter referred to as “Gaugler.”
Regarding Claim 2: Gaugler teaches an ice maker (evaporator of the refrigeration system not shown, Column 3, lines 24-31) comprising: a tray (25) configured to form at least a portion of an ice chamber (Column 3, lines 51-59) for making ice (Column 3, lines 51-59); and a cover (35, 36, 37, 56) configured to support the tray (25, Column 4, lines 12-21), wherein the tray (25) comprises a stopper (34) configured to restrict a movement displacement of the tray (25) relative to the cover (37) in a state in which the tray (25) and the cover (35, 36, 37, 56) are coupled with each other (to create a maximum twist by stopping movement once in locked position).
Regarding Claim 3: Gaugler teaches wherein the tray (25) further comprises an extension (26, 33) contacting a first surface (at 35) of the cover (35, 36, 37, 56), and wherein the stopper (34) is provided at a side of the extension (26, 33), and contacts a second surface of the cover (in grooves 43, 44, 48, 52, 49, 46), the second surface intersecting with the first surface (the grooves are within 36, 37).
Regarding Claim 4: Gaugler teaches wherein the tray (25) further comprises a tray body (body of 25) configured to form at least the portion of the ice chamber (see Figure 2), wherein the extension (26, 33) extends from the tray body (see Figure 6, Column 4, lines 6-11), and wherein the stopper (34) is provided on an end of the extension (see Figure 6, Column 4, lines 6-11).
Regarding Claim 6: Gaugler teaches wherein the extension (26, 33) extends from the tray body (body of 25) in a first direction (see Figure 6), and the stopper (34) extends in a second direction intersecting the first direction (see Figure 6).
Regarding Claim 7: Gaugler teaches wherein the cover (35, 36, 37, 56) comprises: a case (56) disposed on a first side of the tray (56 under 25); and a support (flat horizontal of 37) disposed on a second side of the tray (above 25), the second side being opposite to the first side (see Figure 7), and wherein at least a portion of the extension (26, 33) is disposed between the case and the support (see Figure 7).
Regarding Claim 8: Gaugler teaches wherein the extension (26, 33) comprises a first surface (bottom of 33, curve of 26) facing the case (56) and a second surface (top of 33, vertical end of 26) facing the support (flat horizontal of 37), and wherein a portion of the stopper (34) protrudes beyond the first surface of the extension on the first side (34 has a greater diameter than 33), and another portion of the stopper protrudes beyond the second surface of the extension on the second side (34 has a greater diameter than 33, see Figure 8).
Regarding Claim 9: Gaugler teaches an ice maker (evaporator of the refrigeration system not shown, Column 3, lines 24-31) comprising: a tray (25) configured to form at least a portion of an ice chamber for making ice (Column 3, lines 51-59); and a cover (35, 36, 37, 56) configured to support the tray (via 36, 37; 25, Column 4, lines 12-21), wherein the cover (35, 36, 37, 56) comprises a first surface (at 35) and a second surface intersecting with the first surface (the grooves 43, 44, 48, 52, 49, 46, are within 36, 37), and wherein the tray (25) comprises (i) an extension (26, 33) configured to remain in contact with the first surface of the cover (see Figure 4, Column 4, lines 29-32), and (ii) a stopper (34) configured to remain in contact with the second surface of the cover (the grooves 43, 44, 48, 52, 49, 46, are within 36, 37).
Regarding Claim 10: Gaugler teaches wherein the tray (25) further comprises a tray body (body of 25) configured to form at least the portion of the ice chamber (see Figure 2), wherein the extension (26, 33) extends from the tray body (see Figure 6, Column 4, lines 6-11).
Regarding Claim 12: Gaugler teaches wherein the extension (26, 33) extends from the tray body (body of 25) in a first direction (see Figure 6), and the stopper (34) extends in a second direction intersecting the first direction (see Figure 6).
Regarding Claim 13: Gaugler teaches wherein the cover (35, 36, 37, 56) comprises: a case (56) disposed on a first side of the tray (56 under 25); and a support (37) disposed on a second side of the tray (above 25), the second side being opposite to the first side (see Figure 7), and wherein at least a portion of the extension (26, 33) is disposed between the case and the support (see Figure 7).
Regarding Claim 14: Gaugler teaches wherein the extension (26, 33) comprises a first surface (bottom of 33, curve of 26) facing the case (56) and a second surface (top of 33, vertical end of 26) facing the support (flat horizontal of 37), and wherein a portion of the stopper (34) protrudes beyond the first surface of the extension on the first side (34 has a greater diameter than 33), and another portion of the stopper protrudes beyond the second surface of the extension on the second side (34 has a greater diameter than 33, see Figure 8).
Regarding Claim 15: Gaugler teaches an ice maker (evaporator of the refrigeration system not shown, Column 3, lines 24-31) comprising: a tray (25) configured to form at least a portion of an ice chamber for making ice (Column 3, lines 51-59); and a cover (35, 36, 37, 56) configured to support the tray (via 36, 37; 25, Column 4, lines 12-21), wherein the tray (25) comprises: a tray body (body of 25) configured to form at least the portion of the ice chamber (Column 4, lines 12-21), an extension (26, 33) extending from the tray body in a first direction and a stopper (34) projecting from the extension (end of 33) in a second direction intersecting the first direction (see Figure 6, Column 4, lines 6-11).
Regarding Claim 17: Gaugler teaches wherein the cover (35, 36, 37, 56) comprises: a case (56) disposed on a first side of the tray (56 under 25); and a support (37) disposed on a second side of the tray (above 25), the second side being opposite to the first side (see Figure 7), and wherein at least a portion of the extension (26, 33) is disposed between the case and the support (see Figure 7).
Regarding Claim 18: Gaugler teaches wherein the extension (26, 33) comprises a first surface (bottom of 33, curve of 26) facing the case (56) and a second surface (top of 33, vertical end of 26) facing the support (flat horizontal of 37), and wherein a portion of the stopper (34) protrudes beyond the first surface of the extension on the first side (34 has a greater diameter than 33), and another portion of the stopper protrudes beyond the second surface of the extension on the second side (34 has a greater diameter than 33, see Figure 8).
Regarding Claim 19: Gaugler teaches a refrigerator (15) comprising the ice maker (24) of claim 2.
Regarding Claim 20: Gaugler teaches a refrigerator (15) comprising the ice maker (24) of claim 9.
Regarding Claim 21: Gaugler teaches a refrigerator (15) comprising the ice maker (24) of claim 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 11, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gaugler et al. (2,772,542), hereafter referred to as “Gaugler.”
Regarding Claim 5: Gaugler fails to teach wherein a length of the stopper is greater than a thickness of the extension. However, absent evidence of criticality, change in shape and/or size is merely design choice and would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art would before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See MPEP 2144.04 IV A. and B.
Regarding Claim 11: Gaugler fails to teach wherein a length of the stopper is greater than a thickness of the extension. However, absent evidence of criticality, change in shape and/or size is merely design choice and would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art would before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See MPEP 2144.04 IV A. and B.
Regarding Claim 16: Gaugler fails to teach wherein a length of the stopper in the second direction is greater than a thickness of the extension. However, absent evidence of criticality, change in shape and/or size is merely design choice and would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art would before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See MPEP 2144.04 IV A. and B.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Oike (5,172,556).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KIRSTIN U OSWALD/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/ERIC S RUPPERT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763