Detail Action
This office action is a response to an application filed on 08/25/2024.
Claims 1- 20 are pending for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/05/2024 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 08/25/2024. These drawings are acceptable for examination proceedings.
Double Patenting
Claims 1- 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness- type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12082047 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims of the application are an obvious variant of the claims of the Patent. It is clear that all the elements of the application claim 1- 20 are to be found in patent claims and recite language that a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize as substantially identical subject matter. The reasons for concluding that the invention defined in the independent claim 1 of application would have been an obvious variation to have modified by claim 1 of conflicting patent, and thus, it is not patentably distinct from claims of the patent.
Instant Claim 1 of 18/794168
Conflicting Claim 1 of US 12,082047 B2
1. A device, comprising:
a processing system including a processor; and
a memory that stores executable instructions that, when executed by the processing system, facilitate performance of operations, the operations comprising:
A device, comprising:
a processing system including a processor; and
a memory that stores executable instructions that, when executed by the processing system, facilitate performance of operations, the operations comprising:
obtaining data pertaining to traffic conveyed in a home network via a first gateway;
obtaining data pertaining to traffic conveyed in a home network via a first gateway;
analyzing the data to generate information, the information identifying characteristics of the traffic, the home network, or a combination thereof;
analyzing the data to generate information, the information identifying characteristics of the traffic, the home network, or a combination thereof, and the characteristics involving performance, quality, load, sensitivities, or any combination thereof;
identifying, based on the information, at least one action to be performed, the at least one action including reallocating a portion of a processing load from the first gateway to a second gateway that is remote from the home network; and
causing the at least one action to be performed.
identifying, based on the information, one or more actions to be performed in respect of: at least one communication device included in the home network, a second gateway included in a cloud network that is remote from the home network, or a combination thereof, resulting in at least one identified action; and
causing the at least one identified action to be performed.
.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 10- 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paczkowski et al. (US 20220264685 A1), hereinafter “Paczkowski”; and in further view of Ijntema et al. (US 20210345357 A1), hereinafter “Ijntema”.
Regarding claim 1, Paczkowski teaches A device, comprising:
a processing system including a processor; and a memory that stores executable instructions that, when executed by the processing system, facilitate performance of operations, the operations comprising [Fig. 7; device 380 Par. 65]: analyzing the data to generate information, the information identifying characteristics of the traffic, the home network, or a combination thereof; identifying, based on the information, at least one action to be performed [Par. 23- 24 teaches determining that the data channel , the at least one action including reallocating a portion of a processing load from the first gateway to a second gateway [Par. 23- 24 teaches move the data channel (first portion) to the second network slice] that is remote from the home network [Par. 6 remote device manager and method can be received by remote device manager establish connection using 5G]; and causing the at least one action to be performed [Fig. 2; step 208 in response to the command, the remote device manger initiates establishment of connection].
However, Paczkowski does not teach obtaining data pertaining to traffic conveyed in a home network via a first gateway.
Nevertheless, Ijntema, in the similar field of endeavor, teaches obtaining data pertaining to traffic conveyed in a home network via a first gateway;
[[0062-65, 89]: receiving, from a network services node, the data indicating changes in network resources available for maintaining instantiated network slices in a communication network].
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to utilize the teachings of Ijntema to obtaining network resources/ data. One in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Ijntema in the Paczkowski system with a motivation to make this modification in order to indicate receiving data available for network (Ijntema, Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 2, the combined Paczkowski in view of Ijntema teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Paczkowski in view of Ijntema further teaches wherein the causing of the at least one action to be performed comprises causing the second gateway to be instantiated in a cloud network for communicating with the first gateway [Paczkowski: Par. 56 teaches hosted in cloud data center].
Regarding claim 3, the combined Paczkowski in view of Ijntema teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 2. Paczkowski in view of Ijntema further teaches wherein the second gateway is instantiated as a virtual function in the cloud network [Paczkowski: Par. 5A].
Regarding claim 10, the combined Paczkowski in view of Ijntema teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Paczkowski in view of Ijntema further teaches wherein the at least one action comprises a modification of a modulation scheme that is utilized by the first gateway to change from a first modulation scheme to a second modulation scheme that is different from the first modulation scheme [Paczkowski: Par. 54]
Regarding claim 11, the combined Paczkowski in view of Ijntema teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Paczkowski in view of Ijntema further teaches wherein the at least one action comprises a modification of an encryption scheme that is utilized by the first gateway to change from a first encryption scheme to a second encryption scheme that is different from the first encryption scheme [Paczkowski: Par. 60].
Regarding claim 12, the combined Paczkowski in view of Ijntema teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Paczkowski in view of Ijntema further teaches wherein the at least one action comprises enabling an application on a first user equipment communicatively coupled to the first gateway as part of the home network [Paczkowski: Par. 60 application function 592, which may be located outside of the core network 558, exposes the application layer for interacting with the core network 558. In an embodiment, the application function 592 may be execute on an application server 559 located geographically proximate to the UE 552 in an “edge computing” deployment mode].
Regarding claim 13, the combined Paczkowski in view of Ijntema teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Paczkowski in view of Ijntema further teaches wherein the at least one action comprises modifying an application that is executed by a first user equipment communicatively coupled to the first gateway as part of the home network from a first version to a second version that is different from the first version [Paczkowski: Par. 60 application function 592, which may be located outside of the core network 558, exposes the application layer for interacting with the core network 558. In an embodiment, the application function 592 may be execute on an application server 559 located geographically proximate to the UE 552 in an “edge computing” deployment mode].
Regarding claim 14, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 1.
Regarding claim 15, the combined Paczkowski in view of Ijntema teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 14. Paczkowski in view of Ijntema further teaches wherein the communication service involves a second user equipment [Paczkowski: Fig. 5A].
Regarding claim 16, the combined Paczkowski in view of Ijntema teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 14. Paczkowski in view of Ijntema further teaches wherein the performing of the action comprises reducing an amount of data associated with the second user equipment as part of the communication service from a first level to a second level that is less than the first level [Paczkowski: Par. 21- 22 determine status of data and reduce the total load].
Regarding claim 17, the combined Paczkowski in view of Ijntema teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 14. Paczkowski in view of Ijntema further teaches wherein the action comprises distributing at least a portion of the processing load to a second gateway that is instantiated at a location that is remote from the first gateway [Paczkowski: Par. 68].
Regarding claim 18, the combined Paczkowski in view of Ijntema teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Paczkowski in view of Ijntema further teaches wherein the second gateway and the first gateway are communicatively coupled via a fiber link [Paczkowski: Par. 68].
Regarding claim 19, Paczkowski teaches A method, comprising:
facilitating, by a processing system including a processor, a first data session involving a first user equipment[Fig. 7; device 380 Par. 65]:
analyzing, by the processing system, first data associated with the first data session and second data associated with the second data session relative to a computational capacity of the processing system [Par. 59 teaches SMF handle session management]; and [Par. 23- 24 teaches determining that the data channel , [Par. 23- 24 teaches move the data channel (first portion) to the second network slice] [Par. 6 remote device manager and method can be received by remote device manager establish connection using 5G]; and modifying, by the processing system, or a combination thereof [Fig. 2; step 208 in response to the command, the remote device manger initiates establishment of connection].
However, Paczkowski does not teaches modifying, by the processing system and based on the analyzing, the first data session, the second data session.
Nevertheless, Ijntema, in the similar field of endeavor, teaches modifying, by the processing system and based on the analyzing, the first data session, the second data session [[0062-66, 89]: modify allocation of network resources, and receiving, from a network services node, the data indicating changes in network resources available for maintaining instantiated network slices in a communication network].
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to utilize the teachings of Ijntema to obtaining network resources/ data. One in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Ijntema in the Paczkowski system with a motivation to make this modification in order to indicate receiving data available for network (Ijntema, Fig. 7).
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paczkowski et al. (US 20220264685 A1), hereinafter “Paczkowski”; and in further view of Ijntema et al. (US 20210345357 A1), hereinafter “Ijntema”; and in further view of Chen et al. (US 20120020231 A1), herein after "Chen”.
Regarding claim 8, the combined Paczkowski in view of Ijntema teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. However, Paczkowski in view of Ijntema
does not teach wherein the at least one action comprises a modification of a frequency band that is utilized by the first gateway to change from a first frequency band to a second frequency band that is different from the first frequency band.
Nevertheless, Chen, in the similar field of endeavor, teaches wherein the at least one action comprises a modification of a frequency band that is utilized by the first gateway to change from a first frequency band to a second frequency band that is different from the first frequency band[Chen: Figs. 1, 5; Par. 36 teaches change of supported frequency bands to mitigate interference].
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to utilize the teachings of Chen to change frequency bands. One in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Chen in the Paczkowski/ Ijntema system with a motivation to make this modification in order to avoid interference (Chen: Par. 12).
Regarding claim 9, the combined Paczkowski in view of Ijntema teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. However, Paczkowski in view of Ijntema
does not teach wherein the at least one action comprises a modification of a frequency band that is utilized by a first user equipment communicatively coupled to the first gateway as part of the home network to change from a first frequency band to a second frequency band that is different from the first frequency band.
Nevertheless, Chen, in the similar field of endeavor, teaches wherein the at least one action comprises a modification of a frequency band that is utilized by a first user equipment communicatively coupled to the first gateway as part of the home network to change from a first frequency band to a second frequency band that is different from the first frequency band [Chen: Figs. 1, 5; Par. 36 teaches change of supported frequency bands to mitigate interference].
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to utilize the teachings of Chen to change frequency bands. One in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Chen in the Paczkowski/ Ijntema system with a motivation to make this modification in order to avoid interference (Chen: Par. 12).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4- 7, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowable subject matter:
A full search was conducted and the features of the instant Claims 4- 7, and 20 were not found to be in any reasonable combination of the closest prior art in combination of Paczkowski/ Ijntema and Chen.
With respect to exemplary, the prior arts in above teach of method and devices for data connection recovery in cloud network [Paczkowski: Figs. 1, 5; Par. 22- 24) and modifying and allocating resources [Ijntema: Par. 62- 68] and changing frequency bands based on the information [Chen: Figs. 1- 5].
However, the combined Paczkowski/ Ijntema/ in view of Chen does not disclose, suggest or render obvious the limitations of the instant claim 20 reciting;
“modifying, by the processing system, a first communication parameter associated with the processing system;
modifying, by the processing system, a second communication parameter associated with the second user equipment;
transferring, by the processing system, a portion of a processing load accommodated by the processing system to a second processing system for processing by the second processing system; and
obtaining, by the processing system and from the second processing system, a result of the processing of the portion of the processing load by the second processing system; and
modifying, by the processing system and based on the obtaining of the result, a third communication parameter associated with the first user equipment”
In addition, the combined Paczkowski/ Ijntema/ in view of Chen does not disclose, suggest or render obvious the limitations of the instant claims 4-7 reciting;
“wherein the at least one action comprises a modification of a transmission power level of the first gateway to change from a first power level to a second power level that is different from the first power level.”
Therefore, Claims 4- 7, and 20 are indicated as containing allowable subject matter and allowed over the closest Prior Art references.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record (see attached PTO-892) and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/KYAW Z SOE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412 /CHARLES C JIANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2412