DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/5/2024 was considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 3 and 4 are objected to because of the following informalities: both claim 3 and claim 4 contain illegible claim language. Appropriate correction is required. For examination purposes, examiner assumes that the claim language should have been written:
wherein mean sphere is defined as
Double Patenting
Claim 2 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2 and 17 of co-pending Application No. 18/794,182 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because as shown below.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Instant Application (18/794,193)
Co-pending Application (18/794,182)
2. A lens element intended to be worn in front of an eye of a wearer comprising: a first refraction area having a refractive power based on a prescription for said eye of the wearer; and
a plurality of optical elements disposed in a second area separate from the first refraction area,
wherein the second area surrounds the first refraction area and
a ratio between a sum of areas of optical elements located inside said second area and a second refractive area inside of said second area is between 20% and 70%.
2. A lens element intended to be worn in front of an eye of a wearer comprising: a first refraction area having a refractive power based on a prescription for said eye of the wearer;
a second refraction area having the refractive power based on the prescription for said eye of the wearer; and
a plurality of optical elements that are disposed separate from the first refraction area,
at least one optical element of the plurality of optical elements operating to not focus an image on a retina of the eye of the wearer, wherein an average power of the at least one of the optical elements is greater than 3D compared to the refractive power.
17. The lens element according to claim 2, wherein for a circular zone having a radius comprised between 2 and 4 mm comprising a geometrical center, the geometrical center being located at a distance equal to the radius +5 mm from an optical center of the lens element that faces a pupil of a user gazing straight ahead in standard wearing conditions,
a ratio between a sum of areas of parts of optical elements located inside the circular zone and a total area of said circular zone is comprised between 20% and 70%.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 2-4, 6, 7, 11, 12, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by To et al. (US 2017/0131567).
Regarding Claim 2, To discloses a lens element intended to be worn in front of an eye of a wearer comprising:
a first refraction area having a refractive power based on a prescription for said eye of the wearer (Fig. 1 and Fig. 4, area 1, Paragraph 0050, 8-10);
a plurality of optical elements disposed in a second area separate from the first refraction area (Fig. 1 and Fig. 4, refractive areas 2, Paragraph 0050, lines 10-12),
wherein the second area surrounds the first refraction area and a ratio between a sum of areas of optical elements located inside said second area and a second refractive area inside of said second area is between 20% and 70% (Paragraph 0053, lines 8-12, ratio of the second areas and the first area 20% - 60%).
Regarding Claim 3, To discloses a lens wearable in front of an eye, comprising:
a base lens element including a refraction area having a refractive power based on a prescription corresponding to the eye (Fig. 1 and Fig. 4, area 1, Paragraph 0050, 8-10); and
a first optical element (Fig. 4, area 1, Paragraph 0050, 8-10) and a second optical element (Fig. 4, refractive areas 2, Paragraph 0050, lines 10-12) formed as part of the base lens element,
wherein an average mean sphere of the first optical element is different from an average mean sphere of the second optical element (Fig. 5, the mean sphere of area 1 brings image light to a focus at the retina, Fig. 6, the mean sphere areas 2 bring image light to a focal point to a position in front of the retina, so the mean spheres are different),
wherein mean sphere is defined as
wherein the average mean sphere of an optical element corresponds to an average of the mean sphere of points on the optical element (Fig. 5, the mean sphere of area 1 brings image light to a focus at the retina, Fig. 6, the mean sphere areas 2 bring image light to a focal point to a position in front of the retina, so the mean spheres are different, wherein all the points on the optical elements are contributing to the respective focal points).
Regarding Claim 4, To discloses a lens wearable in front of an eye, comprising:
a base lens element having at least one surface and including a refraction area having a refractive power based on a prescription corresponding to the eye (Fig. 1 and Fig. 4, area 1, Paragraph 0050, 8-10); and
a first optical element (Fig. 4, area 1, Paragraph 0050, 8-10) and a second optical element (Fig. 4, refractive areas 2, Paragraph 0050, lines 10-12) formed as part of the base lens element,
wherein an average mean sphere of the first optical element is different from an average mean sphere of the second optical element (Fig. 5, the mean sphere of area 1 brings image light to a focus at the retina, Fig. 6, the mean sphere areas 2 bring image light to a focal point to a position in front of the retina, so the mean spheres are different),
wherein mean sphere is defined as
wherein the average mean sphere of an optical element corresponds to an average of the mean sphere of points on the optical element (Fig. 5, the mean sphere of area 1 brings image light to a focus at the retina, Fig. 6, the mean sphere areas 2 bring image light to a focal point to a position in front of the retina, so the mean spheres are different, wherein all the points on the optical elements are contributing to the respective focal points).
Regarding Claim 6, To discloses a lens wearable in front of an eye, comprising:
a base lens element including a refraction area having a refractive power based on a prescription corresponding to the eye (Fig. 1 and Fig. 4, area 1, Paragraph 0050, 8-10); and
at least one optical element formed as part of the base lens element (Fig. 1 and Fig. 4, refractive areas 2, Paragraph 0050, lines 10-12),
wherein a difference of an average mean sphere over a central zone (Marked first refractive area in annotated Fig. 1, below) of the optical element and of an average mean sphere over an annular zone of the optical element (Marked elements 2 within the second refractive area in annotated Fig. 1, below) surrounding the central zone is greater than 0.25 D (Paragraph 0051, lines 6-8, the second refractive power is larger than the first refractive area power by 2.00D to 5.00 D, the mathematical relation is therefore met).
Regarding Claim 7, To discloses a lens wearable in front of an eye, comprising:
a base lens element including a refraction area having a refractive power based on a prescription corresponding to an eye (Fig. 1 and Fig. 4, area 1, Paragraph 0050, 8-10); and
at least one optical element formed as part of the base lens element (Fig. 1 and Fig. 4, refractive areas 2, Paragraph 0050, lines 10-12),
wherein a difference of an average mean sphere over a central zone (Marked first refractive area in annotated Fig. 1, above) of the optical element and of an average mean sphere over an annular zone of the optical element (Marked elements 2 within the second refractive area in annotated Fig. 1, above) surrounding the central zone is greater than 0.3 D (Paragraph 0051, lines 6-8, the second refractive power is larger than the first refractive area power by 2.00D to 5.00 D, the mathematical relation is therefore met).
Regarding Claims 11 and 12, To discloses as is set forth above and further discloses wherein the central zone and the annular zone have the same geometrical center (Marked first refractive area in annotated Fig. 1, above and Marked elements 2 within the second refractive area in annotated Fig. 1, above, are concentric with respect to the geometric center of the lens).
Regarding Claims 13 and 14, To discloses as is set forth above and further discloses wherein the central zone and the optical element have the same geometrical center (Paragraph 0016, lines 1-4, and Paragraph 0017, lines 1-4).
Claims 5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over To et al. (US 2017/0131567) in view of Toyoshima (US 2021/0387430).
Regarding Claims 5 and 8, To discloses as is set forth above but doesn’t specifically disclose wherein the optical element includes a base material and a coating.
However, Toyoshima, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the optical element includes a base material and a coating (Fig. 4D, both the central area and the periphery, which includes the optical elements 6, comprise of a main body 2, made of a resin, and the hardcoat layer 8 and the antireflection film 10), for the purpose of providing resilient eyewear that can mitigate the progression of myopia.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the lens element of To with the wherein the optical element includes a base material and a coating, of Toyoshima, for the purpose of providing resilient eyewear that can mitigate the progression of myopia.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over To et al. (US 2017/0131567), in view of Lau et al. (US 2016/0377884), further in view of Toyoshima (US 2021/0387430).
Regarding Claim 17, To discloses a spectacle optical lens, comprising:
a refraction area having a refractive power based on a prescription corresponding to an eye of a person (Fig. 1 and Fig. 4, area 1, Paragraph 0050, 8-10); and
a plurality of optical elements disposed located on a surface of the spectacle optical lens (Fig. 1 and Fig. 4, refractive areas 2, Paragraph 0050, lines 10-12).
To discloses as is set forth above but doesn’t specifically disclose at least one of the plurality of optical elements having a non-spherical optical function, wherein the refraction area and the plurality of optical elements include a base material and a coating.
However, Lau, in the same field of endeavor discloses wherein at least one of the plurality of optical elements having a non-spherical optical function (Paragraph 0021, lines1-14, Claim 18), for the purpose of preventing myopia progression for a patient while reducing optical aberrations.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the lens element of To with the wherein at least one of the plurality of optical elements having a non-spherical optical function, of Lau, for the purpose of preventing myopia progression for a patient while reducing optical aberrations.
Additionally, Toyoshima, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the refraction area and the plurality of optical elements include a base material and a coating.(Fig. 4D, both the central area and the periphery, which includes the optical elements 6, comprise of a main body 2, made of a resin, and the hardcoat layer 8 and the antireflection film 10), for the purpose of providing resilient eyewear that can mitigate the progression of myopia.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the lens element of To in view of Lau with the wherein the refraction area and the plurality of optical elements include a base material and a coating, of Toyoshima, for the purpose of providing resilient eyewear that can mitigate the progression of myopia.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9, 10, 15, and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: with respect to the allowable subject matter, none of the prior art either alone or in combination disclose or teach of the claimed combination of limitations to warrant a rejection under 35 USC 102 or 103.
Specifically, with respect to claims 9 and 10, none of the prior art either alone or in combination disclose or teach a lens including, as the distinguishing feature(s) in combination with the other limitations, wherein the central zone is a disk with a diameter of 0.5 mm and the annular zone having an inner diameter comprised between 0.5 mm and 0.7 mm and an outer diameter comprised between 0.7 mm and 0.90 mm.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. To et al. (US 10,268,050), To et al. (US 2006/0082729), Hones et al. (US 10,884,264), Hones et al. (US 2019/0235279), Back (US 2012/0194780), Phillips (US 2008/0218687), Bakaraju et al. (US 2022/0373824), Bakaraju et al. (US 2022/0342234), Sankaridurg et al. (US 2020/0183185), Martinez et al. (US 2017/0146824), and Buehren (US 2014/0375949) are cited to show similar lens elements.
/WILLIAM R ALEXANDER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872