Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Panas et al. (United States Patent Application Publication 20210286053 A1), hereinafter Panas.
Regarding claim 1, Panas teaches a light detection and ranging system ([0004] A Lidar system), comprising:
a transmitting system, a receiving system, a scanning system, a data processing system and a control unit, wherein an instantaneous field of view angle of the receiving system is non-uniform ([0034] The emitter/detector steering subsystem 26 may include one or more lasers 28 and a detector 30 having a photodiode array 30; [0035] The digital micromirror assembly 32 may have a plurality of independently, digitally controllable micromirrors 34; [0033] The controller 12 may receive information from a scanning compensation subsystem 18; [0042] The desired incoming communication light is all leaving the emitter/detector steering subsystem 26 detector micromirror array 34 b as a parallel set of beams 36 a, while the unwanted light will be reflected off the mirrors at non-zero angles corresponding to other locations in the field of view.).
Regarding claim 2, Panas teaches the light detection and ranging system of claim 1, wherein a maximum instantaneous field of view of the receiving system is more than 1.2 times a minimum instantaneous field of view ([0044] By “smaller scan area”, System A may zoom in by a factor of, for example 2-10, to create a significantly smaller field of view.).
Regarding claim 3, Panas teaches the light detection and ranging system of claim 1, wherein a maximum instantaneous field of view of the receiving system is 1.5 to 5 times a minimum instantaneous field of view ([0044] By “smaller scan area”, System A may zoom in by a factor of, for example 2-10, to create a significantly smaller field of view.).
Regarding claim 4, Panas teaches the light detection and ranging system of claim 1, wherein a maximum instantaneous field of view of the receiving system is 3 to 4 times a minimum instantaneous field of view ([0044] By “smaller scan area”, System A may zoom in by a factor of, for example 2-10, to create a significantly smaller field of view.).
Regarding claim 5, Panas teaches the light detection and ranging system of claim 1, wherein the instantaneous field of view gradually decreases from an edge field of view of the receiving system to a central field of view of the receiving system ([0072] Accordingly, as the aperture of the dynamic field stop 310 is reduced, then only light from an ever finer cone of angles off the micromirror array 302 can pass through the dynamic field stop 310 and make it to the sensor(s) of one or the other of the detectors 316 or 318.).
Regarding claim 6, Panas teaches the light detection and ranging system of claim 1, wherein the instantaneous field of view of the field of view where a long-distance target is located is smaller than the instantaneous field of view of other fields of view of the receiving system ([0074] Such a device would be put at the plane of the focused beam (i.e., at the plane of the dynamic field stop 310 shown in FIG. 9), then the transmissivity adjusted dynamically to form a transmissive field stop of the desired shape and extent. Still another option is a dynamic curvature approach that uses a reflective optical surface or variable optical phased array which can control its curvature (or effective curvature) to set a focal length that could be placed at a conjugate plane to the micromirror array 302. When curvature is applied to the dynamic focal length device, it changes and widens the angle of acceptance for each micromirror element 302 a of the micromirror array 302,).
Regarding claim 7, Panas teaches the light detection and ranging system of claim 1, wherein an entrance pupil area of the receiving system is variable ([0067] In one embodiment the aperture control subsystem 310 may comprise an electronically controlled dynamic field stop subsystem, which in this example is identical in construction to the dynamically variable field stop 31c2. .... A field stop may thus be understood, in a broad sense, as a device or system which sets the limiting aperture defining the angular range of acceptance for viewing, which is what the dynamic field stop 310 operates to do.).
Regarding claim 8, Panas teaches the light detection and ranging system of claim 7, wherein the entrance pupil area of the receiving system gradually increases from an edge field of view to a central field of view of the receiving system ([0067] In one embodiment the aperture control subsystem 310 may comprise an electronically controlled dynamic field stop subsystem, which in this example is identical in construction to the dynamically variable field stop 31c2. .... A field stop may thus be understood, in a broad sense, as a device or system which sets the limiting aperture defining the angular range of acceptance for viewing, which is what the dynamic field stop 310 operates to do.).
Regarding claim 9, Panas teaches a light detection and ranging system ([0004] A Lidar system) comprising:
a transmitting system, a receiving system, a scanning system, a data processing system and a control unit, wherein a field of view angle corresponding to each pixel of a detector in the receiving system is variable ([0034] The emitter/detector steering subsystem 26 may include one or more lasers 28 and a detector 30 having a photodiode array 30; [0035] The digital micromirror assembly 32 may have a plurality of independently, digitally controllable micromirrors 34; [0033] The controller 12 may receive information from a scanning compensation subsystem 18; [0042] The lenses would then pass the image through the dynamically variable field stop 31 c 2 and reimage it to the pixel allocation micromirror array 30 b.).
Regarding claim 10, Panas teaches the light detection and ranging system of claim 9, wherein a maximum instantaneous field of view of the receiving system is more than 1.2 times a minimum instantaneous field of view ([0044] By “smaller scan area”, System A may zoom in by a factor of, for example 2-10, to create a significantly smaller field of view.).
Regarding claim 11, Panas teaches the light detection and ranging system of claim 9, wherein an entrance pupil area of the receiving system is variable ([0067] In one embodiment the aperture control subsystem 310 may comprise an electronically controlled dynamic field stop subsystem, which in this example is identical in construction to the dynamically variable field stop 31c2. .... A field stop may thus be understood, in a broad sense, as a device or system which sets the limiting aperture defining the angular range of acceptance for viewing, which is what the dynamic field stop 310 operates to do.).
Regarding claim 12, Panas teaches the light detection and ranging system of claim 11, wherein the entrance pupil area of the receiving system gradually increases from an edge field of view to a central field of view of the receiving system ([0067] In one embodiment the aperture control subsystem 310 may comprise an electronically controlled dynamic field stop subsystem, which in this example is identical in construction to the dynamically variable field stop 31c2. .... A field stop may thus be understood, in a broad sense, as a device or system which sets the limiting aperture defining the angular range of acceptance for viewing, which is what the dynamic field stop 310 operates to do.).
Regarding claim 13, Panas teaches a light detection and ranging system ([0004] A Lidar system) comprising:
a transmitting system, a receiving system, a scanning system, a data processing system and a control unit, wherein a number of pixels occupied by a target object is non-uniform ([0034] The emitter/detector steering subsystem 26 may include one or more lasers 28 and a detector 30 having a photodiode array 30; [0035] The digital micromirror assembly 32 may have a plurality of independently, digitally controllable micromirrors 34; [0033] The controller 12 may receive information from a scanning compensation subsystem 18; [0042] The lenses would then pass the image through the dynamically variable field stop 31 c 2 and reimage it to the pixel allocation micromirror array 30 b.).
Regarding claim 14, Panas teaches the light detection and ranging system of claim 13, wherein an entrance pupil area of the receiving system is variable ([0067] In one embodiment the aperture control subsystem 310 may comprise an electronically controlled dynamic field stop subsystem, which in this example is identical in construction to the dynamically variable field stop 31c2. .... A field stop may thus be understood, in a broad sense, as a device or system which sets the limiting aperture defining the angular range of acceptance for viewing, which is what the dynamic field stop 310 operates to do.).
Regarding claim 15, Panas teaches the light detection and ranging system of claim 14, wherein the entrance pupil area of the receiving system gradually increases from an edge field of view to a central field of view ([0067] In one embodiment the aperture control subsystem 310 may comprise an electronically controlled dynamic field stop subsystem, which in this example is identical in construction to the dynamically variable field stop 31c2. .... A field stop may thus be understood, in a broad sense, as a device or system which sets the limiting aperture defining the angular range of acceptance for viewing, which is what the dynamic field stop 310 operates to do.).
Conclusion
/ROBERT W VASQUEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/HELAL A ALGAHAIM/SPE , Art Unit 3645