DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2 January 2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument due to the amended subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-11, 13-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2018/0182387 by Chua et al. (Chua hereinafter) in view of US 2009/0213698 by Ostrovsky et al. (Ostrovsky hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Chua discloses a control module [see at least Figure 1, (110); Figure 2, (202)] adapted to be implemented in a modular power adapter [see at least Figure 1, (112) component (156); Figure 2, (200)], the control module comprising: a plurality of contact elements [see at least Figure 2, (218)] adapted to be coupled to contact elements of a modular power adapter [see at least Figure 2, (216)], wherein the plurality of contact elements comprises a first contact element adapted to be coupled to receive power [see at least paragraph 0046, “a front unit connector 218 configured to align with the connector 216 for electrical power and/or data transfer”]; a control circuit [see at least Figure 1, (138)] adapted to control an application of power [see at least paragraph 0015, “may include control of lights (e.g., on, off, dim, etc.)”; paragraph 0023, “causing the corresponding action to be performed, such as causing a light 116 to be turned on”] to a load [see at least Figure 1, (116)] coupled to a modular power adapter [see at least paragraph 0016, “is communicatively coupled (e.g., wired or wireless connection) to internal and/or external devices”]; and a user interface coupled to the control circuit [see at least Figure 2, (220)].
Chua discloses programming the control module for a several types of functions [see at least paragraph 0015, “Environmental control may include control of lights (e.g., on, off, dim, etc.), temperature (e.g., air conditioning, heating, fan control, etc.), alarm systems, doors, windows, window shades, and/or various other environmental systems. Entertainment control may include control of visual displays, audio presentations, two-way communications, and the like.”; paragraph 0020, “a front unit may be programmed to cause a device to perform a certain action upon one or more conditions being met”], but fails to disclose wherein the user interface comprises a timer portion having a plurality of pre-programmed buttons adapted to control the application of power to a load; and wherein the plurality of pre-programmed buttons comprises a first pre-programmed button adapted to control a state of the power applied to a load and a second pre-programmed button adapted to control a state of the power applied to a load, wherein the second pre-programmed button enables a pre-programmed countdown time associated with a countdown function of the control module. However, Ostrovsky discloses a programmable timer switch [see at least Figure 4; Abstract] which has multiple buttons [see at least Figure 4, (412), (414), (416), (418)] including a first button [see at least Figure 4, (412)] and a second button [see at least Figure 4, (414)] which are programmed as timers with different countdown times [see at least paragraph 0030, “Shown in FIG. 4 are the time intervals 10, 20, 30, and 60 minutes”] that controls the on/off function of a load [see at least Figure 7, (STEP 706) to (STEP 709)].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to modify the programmable switch of Chua to include multiple timer buttons/functions as disclosed by Ostrovsky in order to simplify the installation of a timer switch, well blended with other switches and can be adjusted based on a user’s need as stated in paragraph 0003 of Ostrovsky. Thus, allowing users to easily install timer switches and program these switches to the user’s needs and thereby reducing power consumption of a device controlled by these switches by turning the device off after a period of time.
Regarding claim 2, Chua in view of Ostrovsky teaches the control module of claim 1.
Chua discloses wherein the plurality of contact elements comprises a second contact element to receive a neutral voltage [see at least paragraph 0040, the wires 206 may include one or more electrical wires (e.g., hot, ground, load, neutral).”].
Regarding claim 3, Chua in view of Ostrovsky teaches the control module of claim 1.
Ostrovsky discloses wherein the second pre-programmed button is adapted to control both an on state and an off state of the power applied to a load [see at least Figure 7, (STEP 706) to (STEP 709); this applies to any of the buttons].
Regarding claim 4, Chua in view of Ostrovsky teaches the control module of claim 1.
Ostrovsky discloses wherein the first pre-programmed button is adapted to control both an on state and an off state of the power adapter to a load [see at least Figure 7, (STEP 706) to (STEP 709); this applies to any of the buttons].
Regarding claim 5, Chua in view of Ostrovsky teaches the control module of claim 1.
Ostrovsky discloses further comprising a third pre-programmed button [see at least Figure 4, (416)] adapted to control both an on state and an off state of the power applied to a load [see at least Figure 7, (STEP 706) to (STEP 709); this applies to any of the buttons].
Regarding claim 7, Chua in view of Ostrovsky teaches the control module of claim 1.
Chua discloses wherein the control module is adapted to be received in a recess of a modular power adapter [see at least Figure 2, (200); a recess is clearly shown for which (202) is inserted].
Regarding claim 8, Chua discloses a control module [see at least Figure 1, (110); Figure 2, (202)] adapted to be implemented in a modular power adapter [see at least Figure 1, (112) component (156); Figure 2, (200)], the control module comprising: a plurality of contact elements [see at least Figure 2, (218)] adapted to be coupled to contact elements of a modular power adapter [see at least Figure 2, (216)], wherein the plurality of contact elements comprises a first contact element adapted to be coupled to receive power [see at least paragraph 0046, “a front unit connector 218 configured to align with the connector 216 for electrical power and/or data transfer”]; a control circuit [see at least Figure 1, (138)] adapted to control an application of power [see at least paragraph 0015, “may include control of lights (e.g., on, off, dim, etc.)”; paragraph 0023, “causing the corresponding action to be performed, such as causing a light 116 to be turned on”] to a load [see at least Figure 1, (116)] to a load [see at least Figure 1, (116)] coupled to a modular power adapter [see at least paragraph 0016, “is communicatively coupled (e.g., wired or wireless connection) to internal and/or external devices”]; a first pre-programmed button [see at least Figure 2, (220)] coupled to the control circuit [see at least paragraph 0052, “mechanical switch 220 can determine various functionalities of the front unit (202)”], wherein the first pre-programmed button is adapted to control at least one of an on or off state of the power applied [see at least paragraph 0052, “the mechanical switch may be a light switch configured to cause a light to turn on and off”] to a load [see at least Figure 1, (116)].
Chua discloses programming the control module for a several types of functions [see at least paragraph 0015, “Environmental control may include control of lights (e.g., on, off, dim, etc.), temperature (e.g., air conditioning, heating, fan control, etc.), alarm systems, doors, windows, window shades, and/or various other environmental systems. Entertainment control may include control of visual displays, audio presentations, two-way communications, and the like.”; paragraph 0020, “a front unit may be programmed to cause a device to perform a certain action upon one or more conditions being met”], but fails to disclose a second pre-programmed button coupled to the control circuit, wherein the second pre-programmed button enables a selection of a countdown time associated with a countdown function of the control module. However, Ostrovsky discloses a programmable timer switch [see at least Figure 4; Abstract] which has multiple buttons [see at least Figure 4, (412), (414), (416), (418)] including a first button [see at least Figure 4, (412)] and a second button [see at least Figure 4, (414)] which are programmed as timers with different countdown times [see at least paragraph 0030, “Shown in FIG. 4 are the time intervals 10, 20, 30, and 60 minutes”] that controls the on/off function of a load [see at least Figure 7, (STEP 706) to (STEP 709)].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to modify the programmable switch of Chua to include multiple timer buttons/functions as disclosed by Ostrovsky in order to simplify the installation of a timer switch, well blended with other switches and can be adjusted based on a user’s need as stated in paragraph 0003 of Ostrovsky. Thus, allowing users to easily install timer switches and program these switches to the user’s needs and thereby reducing power consumption of a device controlled by these switches by turning the device off after a period of time.
Regarding claim 9, Chua in view of Ostrovsky teaches the control module of claim 8.
Chua discloses wherein the plurality of contact elements comprises a second contact element to receive a neutral voltage [see at least paragraph 0040, the wires 206 may include one or more electrical wires (e.g., hot, ground, load, neutral).”].
Regarding claim 10, Chua in view of Ostrovsky teaches the control module of claim 8.
Chua discloses wherein the first pre-programmed button is adapted to control both an on state and an off state of a modular power adapter [see at least paragraph 0040, “the power unit 200 may include a disconnect switch (208) (e.g., a kill switch) to shut off electricity and/or a network connectivity coming into the power unit”].
Regarding claim 11, Chua in view of Ostrovsky teaches the control module of claim 8.
Ostrovsky discloses further comprising a third pre-programmed button [see at least Figure 4, (416)] adapted to control an on state and an off state of the power applied to a load [see at least Figure 7, (STEP 706) to (STEP 709); this applies to any of the buttons].
Regarding claim 13, Chua in view of Ostrovsky teaches the control module of claim 8.
Chua discloses wherein the control module is adapted to be received in a recess of a modular power adapter [see at least Figure 2, (200); a recess is clearly shown for which (202) is inserted].
Regarding claim 14, Chua discloses a method of implementing a control module [see at least Figure 1, (110); Figure 2, (202)] in a modular power adapter [see at least Figure 1, (112) component (156); Figure 2, (200)], the method comprising: providing a plurality of contact elements of a control module [see at least Figure 2, (218)] adapted to be coupled to contact elements of a modular power adapter [see at least Figure 2, (216)], wherein the plurality of contact elements comprises a first contact element adapted to be coupled to receive power [see at least paragraph 0046, “a front unit connector 218 configured to align with the connector 216 for electrical power and/or data transfer”]; providing a control circuit of the control module [see at least Figure 1, (138)] adapted to control an application of power [see at least paragraph 0015, “may include control of lights (e.g., on, off, dim, etc.)”; paragraph 0023, “causing the corresponding action to be performed, such as causing a light 116 to be turned on”] to a load coupled to a modular power adapter [see at least Figure 1, (116)]; and coupling a user interface of the control module [see at least Figure 2, (220)] to the control circuit [see at least paragraph 0052, “mechanical switch 220 can determine various functionalities of the front unit (202)”].
Chua discloses programming the control module for a several types of functions [see at least paragraph 0015, “Environmental control may include control of lights (e.g., on, off, dim, etc.), temperature (e.g., air conditioning, heating, fan control, etc.), alarm systems, doors, windows, window shades, and/or various other environmental systems. Entertainment control may include control of visual displays, audio presentations, two-way communications, and the like.”; paragraph 0020, “a front unit may be programmed to cause a device to perform a certain action upon one or more conditions being met”], but fails to disclose wherein the user interface comprises a timer portion having a plurality of pre-programmed buttons adapted to control the application of power to a load; wherein the user interface plurality of pre-programmed buttons comprises a first pre-programmed button adapted to control an on a state of the power applied to a load and a second pre-programmed button adapted to control a state of the power applied to a load, wherein the second pre-programmed button enables a pre-programmed countdown time associated with a countdown function of the control module. However, Ostrovsky discloses a programmable timer switch [see at least Figure 4; Abstract] which has multiple buttons [see at least Figure 4, (412), (414), (416), (418)] including a first button [see at least Figure 4, (412)] and a second button [see at least Figure 4, (414)] which are programmed as timers with different countdown times [see at least paragraph 0030, “Shown in FIG. 4 are the time intervals 10, 20, 30, and 60 minutes”] that controls the on/off function of a load [see at least Figure 7, (STEP 706) to (STEP 709)].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to modify the programmable switch of Chua to include multiple timer buttons/functions as disclosed by Ostrovsky in order to simplify the installation of a timer switch, well blended with other switches and can be adjusted based on a user’s need as stated in paragraph 0003 of Ostrovsky. Thus, allowing users to easily install timer switches and program these switches to the user’s needs and thereby reducing power consumption of a device controlled by these switches by turning the device off after a period of time.
Regarding claim 15, Chua in view of Ostrovsky teaches the method of claim 14.
Chua discloses wherein providing a plurality of contact elements comprises providing a second contact element to receive a neutral voltage [see at least paragraph 0040, the wires 206 may include one or more electrical wires (e.g., hot, ground, load, neutral).”].
Regarding claim 16, Chua in view of Ostrovsky teaches the method of claim 14.
Ostrovsky discloses wherein the second pre-programmed button is adapted to control both an on state and an off state of the power applied to a load [see at least Figure 7, (STEP 706) to (STEP 709); this applies to any of the buttons].
Regarding claim 17, Chua in view of Ostrovsky teaches the method of claim 14.
Chua discloses wherein coupling [see at least paragraph 0044, “the power unit 200 may be configured to couple to the front unit 202”] a user interface to the control circuit [see at least Figure 2, (202)] comprises enabling the first pre-programmed button to control both an on state and an off state of the power applied to a load [see at least paragraph 0015, “Environmental control may include control of lights (e.g., on, off, dim, etc.)].
Regarding claim 18, Chua in view of Ostrovsky teaches the method of claim 14.
Ostrovsky discloses further comprising providing a third pre-programmed button [see at least Figure 4, (416)] of the user interface adapted to control both an on state and an off state of the power applied to a load [see at least Figure 7, (STEP 706) to (STEP 709); this applies to any of the buttons].
Regarding claim 20, Chua in view of Ostrovsky teaches the method of claim 14.
Chua discloses wherein the control module is adapted to be received in a recess of a modular power adapter [see at least Figure 2, (200); a recess is clearly shown for which (202) is inserted].
Claims 6, 12 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2018/0182387 by Chua et al. (Chua hereinafter) in view of US 2009/0213698 by Ostrovsky et al. (Ostrovsky hereinafter) in further view of US 2016/0212832 by King.
Regarding claim 6, Chua in view of Ostrovsky teaches the control module of claim 1.
Chua in view of Ostrovsky fails to teach further comprising a toggle switch adapted to control a state of power applied to a load. However, King discloses a programmable timer unit for controlling loads [see at least Figure 2; paragraph 0043] which uses a toggle switch [see at least Figure 2, (26)] to manually control an on/off function of a load [see at least paragraph 0043, “further comprises a toggle switch 216 that is controlled by a corresponding button 218, enabling manually turning on or off the light…”].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to modify the system of Chua in view of Ostrovsky to include a manual toggle switch, as disclosed by King, in order to operate the load outside of a timer setting which in turn would allow the load, a light for instance, to remain operational without a set duration before turning off. Thus, allowing a user to manually turn on a light without having to return to the system after a period of time and keeping the light illuminated in dark environments for safety reasons.
Regarding claim 12, Chua in view of Ostrovsky teaches the control module of claim 8.
Chua in view of Ostrovsky fails to teach further comprising a toggle switch adapted to control a state of power applied to a load. However, King discloses a programmable timer unit for controlling loads [see at least Figure 2; paragraph 0043] which uses a toggle switch [see at least Figure 2, (26)] to manually control an on/off function of a load [see at least paragraph 0043, “further comprises a toggle switch 216 that is controlled by a corresponding button 218, enabling manually turning on or off the light…”].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to modify the system of Chua in view of Ostrovsky to include a manual toggle switch, as disclosed by King, in order to operate the load outside of a timer setting which in turn would allow the load, a light for instance, to remain operational without a set duration before turning off. Thus, allowing a user to manually turn on a light without having to return to the system after a period of time and keeping the light illuminated in dark environments for safety reasons.
Regarding claim 19, Chua in view of Ostrovsky teaches the method of claim 14.
Chua in view of Ostrovsky fails to teach further comprising providing a toggle switch adapted to control a state of power applied to a load. However, King discloses a programmable timer unit for controlling loads [see at least Figure 2; paragraph 0043] which uses a toggle switch [see at least Figure 2, (26)] to manually control an on/off function of a load [see at least paragraph 0043, “further comprises a toggle switch 216 that is controlled by a corresponding button 218, enabling manually turning on or off the light…”].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to modify the system of Chua in view of Ostrovsky to include a manual toggle switch, as disclosed by King, in order to operate the load outside of a timer setting which in turn would allow the load, a light for instance, to remain operational without a set duration before turning off. Thus, allowing a user to manually turn on a light without having to return to the system after a period of time and keeping the light illuminated in dark environments for safety reasons.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOEL BARNETT/Examiner, Art Unit 2849
/DANIEL C PUENTES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2849