DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-11, 16, 18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 and 16 and 18 recite the limitation "the rotating nut". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 is written to depend from claim 11 and therefore it is not clear which claim it is intended to depend from. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5-6, 12-13, 15, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Pettinari (EP 2,120,673 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Pettinari (hereafter “D1”) discloses a leveling foot assembly ([0001] height-adjustable feet for washing machines disclosed) comprising: a foot (4 – embodiment of figure 5 referred to herein); a rod (stem 30) secured to the foot, the rod including a first threaded portion (31), a second threaded portion (32), and a third threadless portion (33) positioned between the first threaded portion and the second threaded portion ([0051]); and a leveling nut (insert A1) configured to engage the first threaded portion of the rod ([0057]; figure 7) when the foot is in a raised position and configured to engage the second threaded portion of the nut when the foot is in a lowered position ([0059]; figure 9).
Regarding claim 5, D1 discloses wherein the leveling nut (A1) is fixedly secured and the rod rotates with respect to the leveling nut ([0057]).
Regarding claim 6, D1 discloses wherein the leveling nut (A1) is fixedly secured to a frame of a rack equipment rack (secured to household appliance base 1 – [0002, 0053]).
Regarding claim 12, D1 discloses wherein the leveling nut (A1), when moving the rod from the raised position to the lowered position, travels over the third threadless portion without interference ([0062]).
Regarding claims 13, 15, 19-20, in addition to the discussion of claims 1, 5-6, and 12 above, D1 describes the moving between a raised position to a lowered position ([0060-0062]) requiring the steps of claim 13 and moving from the lowered position to the raised position ([0057-0058]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3, 10, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pettinari (EP 2,120,673 B1) in view of Weisz et al. (US 5,332,182).
D1 does not teach further comprising a spring configured to move the rod to the lowered position.
Weisz et al. (hereafter “D2”) discloses a leveling foot device (adjustable leveling assembly 10) having a threaded rod (30) and nut (leveling wheel 16) arrangement for setting the foot height and a spring (36) positioned about the rod between the foot and the housing (12) (figure 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to add a spring about the rod of D1 between the nut and foot, as taught by D2, for adding stabilizing pressure to the foot.
Claim(s) 7, 9, 16, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pettinari (EP 2,120,673 B1) in view of Dominic et al. (US 7,350, 269).
D1 does not disclose further comprising a rotating nut fixedly secured to the rod, the rotating nut being located between the foot and the first threaded portion of the rod.
Dominic et al. (hereafter “D3”) teaches a caster with a leveling assembly (at adjustment assembly 28) utilizing a rod and nut arrangement and having a rotating nut (46) at the rod base below a threaded portion (26) for providing a secure grip for a user to make height adjustments (col. 4, lines 36-44; figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to add a rotating nut secured at the bottom of the rod of D1, as taught by D3, for providing a user a secure grip point for rotating the rod.
Claim(s) 8, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lewis, II et al. (US 7,293,666) in view of Pettinari (EP 2,120,673 B1).
Regarding claims 8 and 17, Lewis, II et al. (hereafter “D4”) discloses an electronics equipment enclosure (10) having a caster wheel system (40) and separate leveling foot assemblies (30), the leveling foot assembly capable of being raised and lower by screw of stud/rod (34) into or out of its support block (36 – meeting the limitation of a nut) on the equipment rack so that the weight of the rack may rest of the foot assemblies or on the casters.
D1, as discussed above, discloses the particulars of the device of claim 1 and foot assemblies having a rod with first and second threaded portions and a non-threaded portion. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the device and in particular the foot assemblies of D4 to replace the threaded rod portions with a rod design as taught by D1 having first and second threaded portions and a non-threaded portion between for reducing the work required by a user to raise (or lower) the foot when desiring to use the casters or disengage the casters from the ground.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claim 11 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: D1 in view of D2 does not disclose any obvious arrangement in which the spring (from D2) would engage the shoulder of the second threaded portion and such modification of D1 would also not be reasonable in view of any of the prior art of record.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See notice of references cited form PTO-892. References not applied but cited are relevant as disclosing or suggesting at least one feature in the claims or disclosure of the present application.
/PATRICK D HAWN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631