DETAILED ACTION
Notice to Applicant
Limitations appearing inside of {} are intended to indicate the limitations not taught by said prior art(s)/combinations.
Claims 1-20 are pending in the application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 08/05/2024 has been considered.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because it appears there may be a typographical error in Figure 4 which exhibits item 16 when according to the disclosure (¶[0060]) it should be item 17.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Medical imaging facility in claim 13,
Analysis facility in claim 13, and
Reconstruction facility in claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10, and 12-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by “Sabol” (Sabol, John M. et al. US 20040052328 A1).
Regarding claim 13, 13. A provision system for a medical image data set, comprising:
a medical imaging facility (interpretation: medical imaging facility can be or comprise a magnetic resonance facility and/or a computer tomography facility and/or a tomosynthesis facility and/or a PET facility and/or an ultrasound facility (CT system 10; Sabol, Fig 1) configured to acquire raw data in an acquisition process (tomographic data set … may be the raw image acquisition data ; Sabol, ¶[0047]);
at least one reconstruction facility (interpretation: “reconstructing a preliminary image data set from the raw data via a first reconstruction facility, wherein reconstruction parameters of a predetermined default parameter set are used” (¶[0014])) (See Sabol Fig 7 exhibits RECONSTRUCTION2-3 processes 125 (i.e., reconstruction facility)); and
an analysis facility (interpretation: “designed to provide computer aided diagnosis (CAD) and/or clinical decision support system (CDSS) and/or computer aided risk scoring (CARS)” (¶[0021])) (CAD processing; Sabol, ¶[0063]; and See Sabol, Fig 7 exhibits SEGMENTATION1-3 75, FEATURE EXTRACTION1-3 78 and CLASSIFICATION1-3 82 (i.e., analysis facility)), wherein the at least one reconstruction facility and the analysis facility are connected via a communication link (See Sabol, Fig 7 exhibits reconstruction 125, connected via communication link with segmentation 75, feature extraction 78, and classification 82 (i.e., analysis facility)),
wherein a first reconstruction facility of the at least one reconstruction facility is configured to reconstruct a preliminary image data set from the raw data (The tomographic data set on which the CAD algorithm is implemented may be the raw image acquisition data ; Sabol, ¶[0047]),
wherein reconstruction parameters of a predetermined default parameter set are used (Sabol teaches predetermined default parameters used in acquiring raw data used in reconstructing the tomographic data: acquisition parameters 84 may be provided by an operator or in an automated manner which affect the tomographic image date acquisition 72. Such acquisition parameters 84 may affect the set of tomographic data acquired and thereby influence the outcome of the CAD processes employed. Similarly, various situational variables 86, such as patient history, known physiological traits, equipment specific issues, or patient sensitivities and temperament may contribute to the selection of acquisition parameters 84.;Sabol, ¶[0046]),
the analysis facility is configured to analyze the preliminary image data set via an analysis algorithm to determine an item of analysis information that describes image content of the preliminary image data set (The segmentation portion 74 of the CAD algorithm, depicted in greater detail in FIG. 4, may identify a particular region of interest based upon calculated features in all or part of the tomographic data set 88.; Sabol, ¶[0048]),
the first reconstruction facility, a further reconstruction facility or the analysis facility is configured to determine a second parameter set of reconstruction parameters as a function of the analysis information (Post-processing 98 may include various combinatorial techniques for coordinating the results of the manual and automated segmentation processes. These combinatorial techniques may include manual adjustment of control points resulting from the automatic segmentation process, such as for threshold adjustment, contour adjustment, and other fine tuning steps; Sabol, ¶[0050]), and
the first reconstruction facility or the further reconstruction facility is configured to determine the medical image data set from at least one of the raw data or the preliminary image data set (acquired projection data 120 may be utilized in the reconstruction processes 125 which reconstruct the slice image data 122 or the image volume data 124 ( i.e., medical image data set); Sabol, ¶[0063]),
wherein the reconstruction parameters of the second parameter set are used to determine the medical image data set (A segmented data set 98 results from the segmentation process 92, 94 and the optional post-processing process (i.e., second parameter set); Sabol, ¶[0050]; The visualization process 80 of the CAD algorithm permits reconstruction of useful images for review by human or machine observers. Thus, various types of images may be presented to the attending physician or to any other person needing such information, based upon any or all of the processing and modules performed by the CAD algorithm; Sabol ¶[0056]).
Claim 1 is similarly analyzed as analogous claim 13.
Regarding claim 2, Sabol teaches the method of claim 1. Sabol further teaches wherein raw data from a screening examination is used (The tomographic data set on which the CAD algorithm is implemented may be the raw image acquisition data; Sabol, ¶[0047]).
Regarding claim 3, Sabol teaches the method of claim 2. Sabol further teaches wherein the screening examination is a tomosynthesis examination of a female breast (tomosynthesis mammography systems (XR); Sabol, [0027]).
Regarding claim 4, Sabol teaches the method of claim 1. Sabol further teaches wherein an overview image data set (interpretation: the overview image data set may be a synthetic 2D image and/or one that corresponds to a predetermined acquisition process (¶[0032])) is reconstructed as the preliminary image data set (the CAD processing may be performed on an acquisition projection data set prior to reconstruction, on two-dimensional reconstructed data (both in axial and scout modes), on three-dimensional reconstructed data (volume data or multiplanar reformats), or a suitable combination of such formats; Sabol ¶[[0045]).
Regarding claim 5, Sabol teaches the method of claim 1. Sabol further teaches wherein at least one of, the analysis algorithm comprises a trained analysis function the analysis algorithm is optimized, or the analysis algorithm is trained for use on the predetermined default parameter set (The training process 76 may be utilized to train the feature normalization process 112 to enhance the classification process based upon prior knowledge and experiences; Sabol, ¶[0059]).
Regarding claim 6, Sabol teaches the method of claim 1. Sabol further teaches wherein at least one of at least one annotation or a structured report is determined as the analysis information (The visualization 80 (i.e., reporting) may include two- or three-dimensional renderings, superposition of feature markers, color or intensity variations, and so forth. A superposed marker (i.e., annotation) may convey information, such as a feature classification, a probability associated with a classification, or three-dimensional location information of the feature, without obscuring the reconstructed anatomic data. In addition, while a marker may consist of a displayed pointer or text (i.e., annotation), it may also include a color-coded overlay, a color or intensity variation, or any other addition that is recognized and understood by the operator. Typically, CAD provides the ability to display such markers on any of the multiple data. This allows the reviewer to view only a single data or image upon which the results from an array of CAD operations, such as different levels or types of segmentation, feature extraction or classification processes, may be superimposed. In such cases, the markers may be differentiated, such as by color or shape, to allow the reviewer to determine which operation produced the marker; Sabol, ¶[0057]).
Regarding claim 7, Sabol teaches the method of claim 1. Sabol further teaches wherein the analysis information comprises at least one score, in particular a risk score, and/or lesion information relating to at least one potential lesion (The visualization 80 may include two- or three-dimensional renderings, superposition of feature markers, color or intensity variations, and so forth. A superposed marker may convey information, such as a feature classification, a probability associated with a classification, or three-dimensional location information of the feature, without obscuring the reconstructed anatomic data; Sabol, ¶[0057]).
Regarding claim 8, Sabol teaches the method of claim 1. Sabol further teaches wherein compared to the predetermined default parameter set, the reconstruction parameters of the second parameter set bring about at least one of a higher dimensionality, a higher resolution, a changed contrast, a contrast enhancement, a changed filtering, a changed binning, a changed, additional denoising, a changed layering property of layers of from the reconstructing, or lead to a reconstruction of additional image data, wherein in particular the medical image data set is determined by supplementing the preliminary image data set with additional data (The feature identification process 100 may also process the patient data 99 for information related to patient history, such as age, smoking, family history, pregnancy history, weight, BIRAD classification, genetic or proteomic profile, hormonal status, etc., for factors which may weight aspects of the feature identification process 100, such as by adjusting threshold values or weighting factors; Sabol, ¶[0052]).
Regarding claim 9, Sabol teaches the method of claim 1. Sabol further teaches wherein the medical image data set is stored in an image archiving facility (the operator workstation 40 may also be coupled to a picture archiving and communications system (PACS) 44. It should be noted that PACS 44 may be coupled to a remote system 46, radiology department information system (RIS), hospital information system (HIS) or to an internal or external network, so that others at different locations may gain access to the image and to the image data[ Sabol, ¶[0035]).
Regarding claim 10, Sabol teaches the method of claim 1. Sabol further teaches wherein the medical image data set is evaluated by the analysis facility using an evaluation algorithm to determine evaluation information that describes the image content (feature diagnosis may also be performed as part of the CAD algorithm by means of an optional feature classification process 82, as depicted in FIG. 3 and in greater detail in FIG. 6 ,Sabol, ¶[0058]).
Regarding claim 12, Sabol teaches the method of claim 1. Sabol further teaches wherein an evaluation result, which is determined by evaluating at least one user input from an evaluator, (See Sabol Fig 4 exhibits “MANUAL SEGMENTATION 92”; and “The segmentation may be manual, as depicted at block 92, allowing an operator to utilize a selection mechanism and the displayed image to select one or more portions of the image for differential processing”; Sabol, ¶[0049]).
is archived with the medical image data set (It should be noted that PACS 44 may be coupled to a remote system 46, radiology department information system (RIS), hospital information system (HIS) or to an internal or external network, so that others at different locations may gain access to the image and to the image data; Sabol, ¶[0035]; and Thus, various types of images may be presented to the attending physician or to any other person needing such information, based upon any or all of the processing and modules performed by the CAD algorithm; Sabol, ¶[0056]).
Regarding claim 14, Sabol teaches the method of claim 13. Sabol further teaches wherein the first reconstruction facility is part of the medical imaging facility (The computer 36 is typically coupled to the system controller 24. The data collected by the data acquisition system 34 may be transmitted to the computer 36 and moreover, to a memory 38. It should be understood that any type of memory to store a large amount of data may be utilized by such an exemplary system 10. Also the computer 36 is configured to receive commands and scanning parameters from an operator via an operator workstation 40 typically equipped with a keyboard and other input devices. An operator may control the system 10 via the input devices. Thus, the operator may observe the reconstructed image and other data relevant to the system from computer 36, initiate imaging, and so forth.; Sabol, ¶[0034]).
Regarding claim 15, Sabol teaches A non-transitory computer program product including instructions which, when executed in a provision system, causes the provision system to perform the method of claim 1 (Code stored on the tangible medium includes a routine for acquiring a tomographic data set from a tomographic mammography system; Sabol, ¶[0014]).
Regarding claim 16, Sabol teaches the method of claim 4. Sabol further teaches wherein the overview image data set is two-dimensional (the CAD processing may be performed on an acquisition projection data set prior to reconstruction, on two-dimensional reconstructed data (both in axial and scout modes), on three-dimensional reconstructed data (volume data or multiplanar reformats), or a suitable combination of such formats; Sabol ¶[[0045]).
Regarding claim 17, Sabol teaches the method of claim 6. Sabol further teaches wherein a structured report in a predefined format is determined as the analysis information (The visualization 80 may include two- or three-dimensional renderings, superposition of feature markers, color or intensity variations, and so forth. A superposed marker may convey information, such as a feature classification, a probability associated with a classification, or three-dimensional location information of the feature, without obscuring the reconstructed anatomic data. In addition, while a marker may consist of a displayed pointer or text, it may also include a color-coded overlay, a color or intensity variation, or any other addition that is recognized and understood by the operator. Typically, CAD provides the ability to display such markers on any of the multiple data. This allows the reviewer to view only a single data or image upon which the results from an array of CAD operations, such as different levels or types of segmentation, feature extraction or classification processes, may be superimposed. In such cases, the markers may be differentiated, such as by color or shape, to allow the reviewer to determine which operation produced the marker; Sabol, [0057]).
Claim 18 is similarly analyzed as analogous claim 8.
Claim 19 is similarly analyzed as analogous claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sabol in view of “Chen” (Chen; Yuanming et al. US 10734116 B2).
Regarding claim 11, Sabol teaches the method of claim 1. Sabol does not explicitly disclose wherein at least one of a further processing target or a task to be carried out is carried out using DICOM.
However, Chen, a similar field of endeavor of systems that store, share, render, simulate and/or facilitate imaging of medical procedures for purposes of optimized performance, simulation, training and/or accreditation, teaches wherein at least one of a further processing target or a task to be carried out is carried out using DICOM (wherein the at least one first 2D medical image computer data file comprises, is decoded from, or is generated from, a DICOM-format medical image file; Chen, [Col 11:1-4]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include DICOM image as taught by Chen to the invention of Sabol. The motivation to do so would be to utilize a common format of medical imaging. DICOM is a standard for handling, storing, printing, and transmitting information in medical imaging (Chen; [Col 9:1-15]).
Regarding claim 20, Sabol teaches the method of claim 1. Sabol does not explicitly disclose wherein at least the first reconstruction facility and the analysis facility are designed as DICOM clients.
However, Chen teaches wherein at least the first reconstruction facility and the analysis facility are designed as DICOM clients (according to the present invention, 2D/3D/4D medical image data can be viewed or edited without the need for special hardware and/or system. In other words, browsers would now have the capabilities to decode 2D/3D/4D medical image formats (e.g. DICOM images); Chen, [Col 9:48-52]; The workstation will be configured as a DICOM node inside the local area network; Chen, [Col 62:51-52]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Reicher; Murray A. et al.US 20170200270 A1, would have been relied upon for teaching determining second parameter set of reconstruction parameters (“Referring again to FIG. 7, after a rendering location is determined, the rendering device will determine relevant rendering parameters from rules, data attributes, and/or environment variables (such as display resolution) at block 710. When ready, the system will render images at block 712” (¶[0183]).
/CHANDHANA PEDAPATI/Examiner, Art Unit 2669
/JOHN B STREGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2669