DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/19/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Re Claim 1: Applicant argues that neither Zeine nor Zhang teaches or suggests (1) transmitting a plurality of wireless signals each associated with a signal identifier, (2) receiving an indication of a signal identifier associated with one of the plurality of wireless signals, and (3) adjusting the wireless signal associated with the indicated signal identifier based on the received indication. Applicant further asserts that Zeine relies only on signal strength feedback and therefore does not disclose or suggest an “indication of a signal identifier.”
This argument is not persuasive.
As explained in the prior Office Action, Zeine teaches transmitting a plurality of wireless signals configured to supply power to one or more devices and adjusting the signals based on feedback received from the device (see Zeine para 0031-0033, 0036-0039, 0042-0045; Figs. 1A-3B, 7-8). Zeine further discloses that the system evaluates signals received at the device and adjusts transmission parameters to improve delivered power.
However, Zeine does not expressly teach that each wireless signal is associated with a signal identifier or that the received feedback explicitly indicates a signal identifier associated with one of the transmitted signals. For this reason, the rejection relies on Zhang. Zhang teaches transmitting a plurality of wireless signals each associated with an identifier (e.g., sequence numbers or steering vector indices) and receiving feedback identifying which transmitted signal provides the best reception (see Zhang para 0021-0026, 0041-0043, 0049-0051). The system then selects or adjusts the signal associated with the indicated identifier to optimize the wireless link.
Thus, Zhang expressly teaches the “signal identifier” and identifier-based signal selection relied upon in the rejection, which Zeine lacks.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply Zhang’s identifier-based beam selection technique to the wireless power transmission system of Zeine in order to improve link establishment and the efficiency and accuracy of power beam focusing, since both references address selecting one signal from a plurality of transmitted wireless signals based on feedback from a receiving device.
Applicant’s argument that Zhang does not disclose wireless power transmission is not persuasive. The rejection does not rely on Zhang for power transmission itself. Rather, Zhang is relied upon for the well-known technique of associating transmitted signals with identifiers and selecting a signal based on identifier feedback, which would have been readily applicable to Zeine’s wireless power transmission system.
Accordingly, the combination of Zeine and Zhang teaches or at least suggests the full limitation of receiving an indication of a signal identifier associated with one of the plurality of wireless signals and adjusting the wireless signal associated with the indicated signal identifier based on the received indication, contrary to Applicant’s assertion.
Applicant’s arguments regarding independent claims 8, 14, and 19 are not persuasive for similar reasons, as these claims recite analogous identifier-based selection and adjustment of wireless signals which are taught or suggested by the same combination of Zeine and Zhang.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeine (US 2012/0193999) and Zhang et al. (US20100056062 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Zeine teaches method comprising: transmitting, by a computing device, a plurality of wireless signals, wherein each wireless signal is configured to supply a first level of power to one or more devices (see figs. 1A-3B, 7-8, paras 0031-0033, 0048-0049, 0060-0061); receiving, by the computing device and from at least one of the one or more devices, feedback associated with the transmitted wireless signals (e.g., reported beam signal strength over a communications channel, figs. 3A-3B, paras 0033, 0036-0039); adjusting transmission parameters of the wireless signal to increase delivered power based on the received feedback (see figs. 3A-3B, paras 0033, 0036-0039, 0042-0045).
Zeine does not expressly teach that each wireless signal is associated with a signal identifier or receiving an indication identifying one of the plurality of wireless signals.
In an analogous art, Zhang teaches transmitting a plurality of distinguishable wireless training signals associated with identifiers (e.g., sequence numbers or steering vector indices) and receiving feedback identifying which of the transmitted signals provides the best reception (see paras 0021-0026, 0041-0043, 0049-0051). Thus, Zhang teaches associating wireless signals with identifiers and selecting or adjusting the signal associated with the indicated identifier based on feedback.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to incorporate Zhang’s identifier-based beam training and feedback selection technique into the wireless power transmission system of Zeine in order to improve beam identification and selection during wireless power focusing, thereby improving the efficiency and accuracy of beam optimization.
Regarding claim 8, Zeine teaches method comprising: receiving, by a device and from a computing device, a plurality of wireless signals, wherein each wireless signal is configured to supply a first level of power to the device (see figs. 1A-3B, 7-8, paras 0031-0033, 0048-0049, 0060-0061); and selecting one of the plurality of wireless signals (see figs. 3A-3B, paras 0033, 0036-0039, teaches evaluating candidate beams and selecting the beam or a phase configuration that provides the highest report signal strength ); receiving the selected one of the plurality of wireless signals after transmission parameters are adjusted to provide increased power (see paras 0033, 0042-0045, 0049-0053).
Zeine does not expressly teach that each wireless signal comprises a signal identifier associated with the wireless signal or sending an indication identifying the selected wireless signal.
In an analogous art, Zhang teaches that each transmitted wireless signal is associated with an identifier and that feedback identifying the selected signal is transmitted to the transmitter (see paras 0021-0026, 0041-0043, 0061).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to incorporate Zhang’s identifier-based signal selection and feedback mechanism into Zeine’s wireless power transmission system to improve beam identification and selection efficiency.
Regarding claim 14, Zeine teaches method comprising: transmitting, by a computing device, a plurality of wireless signals, wherein each wireless signal is configured to supply a first level of power to one or more devices (see figs. 1-3 para 0031-0033, 0049-0053); receiving feedback from at least one device regarding the transmitted signals (see paras 0033, 0061); and transmitting, by the computing device and based on the received feedback, additional power to the at least one device, thereby providing a higher level of power at the device (see paras 0033, 0042-0045, 0049-0053).
Zeine does not expressly teach associating each wireless signal with a signal identifier or receiving an indication identifying one of the transmitted wireless signals.
In an analogous art, Zhang teaches associating transmitted signals with identifiers and receiving feedback identifying the signal associated with the identifier (see paras 0021-0026, 0041-0043, 0049-0051).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to incorporate Zhang’s identifier-based beam selection mechanism into Zeine’s wireless power transmission system to improve signal identification and power beam optimization.
Regarding claim 19, Zeine teaches method comprising: receiving, by a device and from a computing device, a plurality of wireless signals, wherein each wireless signal is configured to supply a first level of power to the device (see figs. 1-3, 7-8, paras 0031-0033, 0046-0053, 0060-0061); providing feedback to the computing device regarding the received signals, such as reported beam signal strength used by the transmitter for beam optimization (see paras 0033, 0061); and receiving, by the device and based on the feedback, more power from the computing device after transmission parameters are adjusted to improve power delivery (see paras 0033, 0042-0045, 0049-0053).
Zeine does not expressly teach each wireless signal is associated with a signal identifier or sending, to the computing device, an indication of a signal identifier associated with one of the plurality of wireless signals received by the device.
In an analogous art, Zhang teaches associating each transmitted wireless signal with an identifier and sending feedback identifying the signal associated with that identifier back to the transmitting station (see paras 0021-0026, 0041-0043, 0049-0051).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to incorporate Zhang’s identifier-based feedback mechanism into Zeine’s wireless power transmission system so that the device sends an indication of a signal identifier associated with one of the plurality of wireless signals received by the device, thereby enabling the computing device to more efficiently identify and adjust the desired power beam.
Regarding claim 2, combination of Zeine and Zhang teaches invention set forth above, Zhang further teaches wherein the wireless signal associated with the indicated signal identifier is spatially adjusted (see para 0005, 0017-0021, 0031-0034).
Regarding claim 3, combination of Zeine and Zhang teaches invention set forth above, Zhang further teaches wherein the wireless signal associated with the indicated signal identifier is temporally adjusted (see para 0021-0022, 0025-0029).
Regarding claim 4, combination of Zeine and Zhang teaches invention set forth above, Zhang further teaches wherein the second level of power is greater than the first level of power (see para 0015-0017).
Regarding claim 5, combination of Zeine and Zhang teaches invention set forth above, Zhang further teaches wherein the one or more devices are located in an area, and wherein each of the plurality of wireless signals is transmitted into a different one of a plurality of regions within the area (see para 0017-0022).
Regarding claim 6, combination of Zeine and Zhang teaches invention set forth above, Zhang further teaches wherein in addition to the indication of the signal identifier associated with the one of the plurality of wireless signals, the computing device receives a signal strength indicator associated with the one of the plurality of wireless signals (see para 0006-0008, 0023, 0031-0034, 0038-0034).
Regarding claim 7, combination of Zeine and Zhang teaches invention set forth above, Zhang further teaches wherein the computing device comprises a wireless access point (see para 0003, 0016, 0035, WLAN 802.111, base station).
Regarding claim 9, combination of Zeine and Zhang teaches invention set forth above, Zhang further teaches wherein the selected one of the plurality of wireless signals is spatially adjusted (see para 0005, 0017-0021 0031-0034).
Regarding claim 10, combination of Zeine and Zhang teaches invention set forth above, Zhang further teaches wherein the selected one of the plurality of wireless signals is temporally adjusted (see para 0021-0022, 0028-0029).
Regarding claim 11, combination of Zeine and Zhang teaches invention set forth above, Zhang further teaches wherein the second level of power is greater than the first level of power (see para 0005, 0017).
Regarding claim 12, combination of Zeine and Zhang teaches invention set forth above, Zhang further teaches wherein the device is located in an area, and wherein each of the plurality of wireless signals is transmitted into a different one of a plurality of regions within the area (see para 0017-0022).
Regarding claim 13, combination of Zeine and Zhang teaches invention set forth above, Zhang further teaches further comprising sending, to the computing device and in addition to the indication of the signal identifier associated with the selected one of the plurality of wireless signals, a signal strength indicator associated with the selected one of the plurality of wireless signals (see para 0006-0008, 0023, 0031-0034, 0038-0044).
Regarding claim 15, combination of Zeine and Zhang teaches invention set forth above, Zhang further teaches wherein the transmitting more power to the at least one device comprises transmitting, by the computing device and to the at least one device, a wireless signal configured to provide a second level of power to the at least one device, wherein the second level of power is greater than the first (see para 0021, 0041-0043).
Regarding claim 16, combination of Zeine and Zhang teaches invention set forth above, Zhang further teaches wherein the one or more devices are located in an area, and wherein each of the plurality of wireless signals is transmitted into a different one of a plurality of regions within the area (see para 0017-0022).
Regarding claim 17, combination of Zeine and Zhang teaches invention set forth above, Zhang further teaches further comprising determining, based on the received indication, a region of the plurality of regions, wherein the transmitting more power to the at least one device comprises transmitting, into the determined region, a wireless signal configured to provide a second level of power to the at least one device, wherein the second level of power is greater than the first level of power (see para 0021-0022, 0038-0044).
Regarding claim 18, combination of Zeine and Zhang teaches invention set forth above, Zhang further teaches wherein in addition to the indication of the signal identifier associated with the one of the plurality of wireless signals, the computing device receives a signal strength indicator associated with the one of the plurality of wireless signals (see para 0023, 0031-0034, 0039-0044).
Regarding claim 20, combination of Zeine and Zhang teaches invention set forth above, Zhang further teaches wherein the receiving more power from the computing device comprises receiving from the computing device a wireless signal configured to provide a second level of power, wherein the second level of power is greater than the first (see para 0021, 0041-0043).
Regarding claim 21, combination of Zeine and Zhang teaches invention set forth above, Zhang further teaches wherein the device is located in an area, and wherein each of the plurality of wireless signals is transmitted into a different one of a plurality of regions within the area (see para 0017-0022).
Regarding claim 22, combination of Zeine and Zhang teaches invention set forth above, Zhang further teaches further comprising sending, to the computing device, in addition to the indication of the signal identifier associated with the one of the plurality of wireless signals, a signal strength indicator associated with the one of the plurality of wireless signals (see para 0023, 0031-0034, 0039-0044).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AQEEL H BUKHARI/Examiner, Art Unit 2849
/RYAN JOHNSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2849