DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is in response to applicant’s communication filed August 18, 2026, in response to PTO Office Action dated May 14,2026. The applicant’s remarks and amendment to the specification and/or claims were considered with the results that follow.
Claims 1-20 have been presented for examination in this application. Claims 1, 13, and 20 have been amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 11, 13-15, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)as being anticipated by Shimamura et al. (US# 2019/0026150).
Regarding claim 1, Shimamura et al. teaches a memory storing instructions; and a processor communicatively coupled to the memory and configured to execute the instructions to: determine a host to execute a serverless function, the host included in a set of hosts of a serverless function platform configured to execute serverless functions, the serverless function defined to use a dataset of a storage system that is external to the serverless function platform, the serverless function platform comprising the set of hosts [Abs., Fig. 1], the host comprising a host memory and a host processor [0031, lines 4-5; CPUS are well known to include fast internal memory], the storage system comprising a storage system controller [storage devices inherently require the use of controllers for data access and control, timing procedures, and the like]; configure the storage system to provide access from the host to the dataset; and direct the host to provide access from the serverless function to the dataset and to execute the serverless function [0078, lines 1-13; 0120, lines 8-10].
Regarding claim 2, Shimamura et al. teaches an access key is required to access the dataset; and the access key is provided to the serverless function to use to access the dataset [claim does not define what comprises an access key, with which a broad and reasonable interpretation may include an access upon which is required to load data from the serverless operation; 0120, lines 8-10].
Regarding claim 11, Shimamura et al. teaches the dataset is stored in a managed directory of a file system; and configuring the storage system to provide access from the host to the dataset comprises configuring the storage system to provide the host with access to the managed directory [0121; each type of memory includes its own addressing structure for file access].
Claim 13 recites similar claim language to that of claim 1, and is rejected for the same reasons as claim 1.
Regarding claim 14, Shimamura et al. teaches: a secure access token (rule incorporated task as part or serverless function) is required to access the dataset; and the secure access token is provided to the serverless function to use to access the dataset [0028 with 0121, lines 1-12].
Claim 15 recites similar claim language to that of claim 3, and is rejected for the same reasons as claim 3.
Claim 20 recites similar claim language to that of claim 1, and is rejected for the same reasons as claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimamura et al. (US# 2019/0026150) in view of OFFICIAL NOTICE.
Regarding claim 3, Shimamura et al. teaches serverless function and operations as noted above and containers [0086, but fails to clearly teach the serverless function is defined as a container; and directing the host to execute the serverless function comprises directing the host to instantiate and run the container of the serverless function on the host. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that serverless functions can be packaged as containers for the benefit of running applications in a serverless environment without the need for managing the hardware infrastructure to support them. The Examiner takes OFFICIAL NOTICE of this teaching. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the serverless system of Shimamura et al. to include the container system for the benefit disclose supra.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimamura et al. (US# 2019/0026150) in view of OFFICIAL NOTICE.
Regarding claim 4, Shimamura fails to teach a NVMe system incorporating NVMe qualified names (NQN) for dataset storage according to claim language wherein: the storage system comprises a non-volatile memory express (NVMe)-based storage system; the dataset is a block volume provided by the NVMe-based storage system; access to the block volume requires configuring access by an NVMe qualified name (NQN); configuring the storage system to provide access from the host to the dataset comprises determining the NQN of an NVMe initiator of the host and configuring the block volume to allow access by the NQN; directing the host to provide access from the serverless function to the dataset comprises directing the host to connect to and mount the block volume and to provide access from the serverless function to the block volume. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that incorporation of persistent storage (NVM) for data storage ensures data life after loss of power and quicker data access using the NVMe interface, while the NQN is used to correctly identify the remote storage target on the NVM. The Examiner takes OFFICIAL NOTICE of this teaching. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Shimamura et al. to incorporate the NVM, NVMe interface, and NQN data location system because of the benefits disclosed supra.
Claim(s) 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimamura et al. (US# 2019/0026150) in view of OFFICIAL NOTICE.
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Shimamura fails to teach a iSCSI-based storage incorporating the CHAP key protocol according to claim language (5) wherein: the storage system comprises an iSCSI-based storage system; the dataset is a block volume provided by the iSCSI-based storage system; access to the block volume requires configuring access by an iQN; configuring the storage system to provide access from the host to the dataset comprises determining an iSCSI qualified name (iQN) of the host and configuring the block volume to allow access by the iQN; and directing the host to provide access from the serverless function to the dataset comprises directing the host to connect to and mount the block volume and to provide access from the serverless function to the block volume; (6) wherein: access to the dataset further requires a challenge handshake authentication protocol (CHAP) key; the CHAP key is configured in the storage system and associated with the iQN of the host; and directing the host to provide access from the serverless function to the dataset further comprises providing the CHAP key to the host to use to connect to the block volume of the iSCSI-based storage system.
One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that incorporation of iSCSI-based storage allows for flexible scalability as well as simplified management over ethernet ability to add additional targets without additional drive costs. Incorporating CHAP over iSCSI allows for a secure method for password exchange by way of a hashed secret for authentication without sending actual passwords. The Examiner takes OFFICIAL NOTICE of this teaching. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Shimamura et al. to incorporate the iSCSI and CHAP authentication system as claimed because of the benefits disclosed supra.
Claim(s) 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimamura et al. (US# 2019/0026150) in view of OFFICIAL NOTICE.
Regarding claims 7-10, Shimamura fails to teach a file server storage system whereby the system is access via file protocol (IP)over according to claim language (7) wherein: the dataset is a directory of a file server accessed through a file protocol; configuring the storage system to provide access from the host to the dataset comprises determining an internet protocol (IP) address of the host and configuring the file server to allow access to the directory from the IP address of the host; and directing the host to provide access from the serverless function to the dataset comprises directing the host to mount the directory from the file server and to provide access from the serverless function to the mounted directory; (8) wherein the IP address of the host is a virtual address configured for temporary use by the host while the host runs the serverless function; (9), wherein: access keys are configured for the file server for accessing the directory of the file server; and directing the host to provide access from the serverless function to the dataset further comprises providing the access keys to the host; (10) configuring a virtual network for use by the serverless function to access the dataset of the storage system.
One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that an IP file server incorporates a logical (virtual) address point of access for the host such that clients retain continual access even in the event of server changes or load balancing. The virtual network collects the IP file servers into a unit for easy access, such that server/host fails can be quickly replaced by another server for access without interruption. IP virtual addressing in a virtual network allows for scalability of storage without client reconfiguring, which when coupled with a serverless system would incorporate lower latencies due to local processing and decisions. The Examiner takes OFFICIAL NOTICE of this teaching.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Shimamura et al. to incorporate the IP file system over virtual network and addressing as claimed because of the benefits disclosed supra.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimamura et al. (US# 2019/0026150) in view of Wang (WO 2022225578A1).
Regarding claim 12, Shimamura et al. teaches serverless functions and operations but fails to teach where the determining, the configuring, and the directing are performed by a storage-aware serverless function management system that is communicatively coupled to the serverless function platform and the storage system; and the storage-aware serverless function management system is separate and distinct from the storage system. Wang teaches a storage-aware serverless function architecture that is separate and distinct from a storage protocol such that the architecture can reduce network I/O reduce operational cost and improve security [0147]. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the serverless function system of Shimamura et al. to include the storage-aware serverless function architecture because of the benefits disclosed supra.
Claim 16 recites similar claim language to that of claim 4, and is rejected for the same reasons as claim 4.
Claim 17 recites similar claim language to that of claim 5, and is rejected for the same reasons as claim 5.
Claim 18 recites similar claim language to that of claim 6, and is rejected for the same reasons as claim 6.
Claim 19 recites similar claim language to that of claim 7, and is rejected for the same reasons as claim 7.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 13, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s Arguments directed towards the 35 USC 102 rejection, found on pages 11-12 of the response, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant has indicated that “…the elements of Shimamura cited to in the Office Action as allegedly disclosing these systems are components of a single data processing system 900. Therefore, Shimamura does not disclose "a storage system that is external to the serverless function platform, the serverless function platform comprising the set of hosts, the host comprising a host memory and a host processor, the storage system comprising a storage system controller.” The Examiner has not attributed the data processing system 900 to any singular or combination of claimed elements, such as the serverless function platform. Multiple hosts are taught by Shimamura (Abs., Fig. 1), and the claims merely recite that the serverless function platform comprises a set of hosts, where each host comprises a processor and memory [0031, where CPUs are well known to include fast internal memory]. Also, as disclosed above, although a storage system comprising a storage controller was not specifically recited by Shimamura et al., one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that storage devices inherently require storage controllers for tasks such as passing along power, signal clock timing, and data access, retrieval, and storage. Therefore the prior art of Shimamura et al. teaches the claimed subject matter as recited.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments directed towards the 35 USC 103 rejections, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. The rejections upon which OFFICIAL NOTICE was taken relate to limitations well known in the art regarding containers, NVMe naming for basic storage access, iSCSI with naming for basic storage access, CHAP authentication for iSCSI, and IP access data access using well known virtual addressing.
Applicant has indicated that “Absent documentary evidence, reliance on Official Notice to replace these missing disclosures is improper.”, that “Accordingly, the takings of Official Notice should be withdrawn, or the Examiner should provide documentary evidence and enter a new ground of rejection so that Applicant may meaningfully respond” and that “Applicant respectfully requests withdrawal or production of evidence and a new ground of rejection”. Supporting references were then provided in the following Office Action, as noted in MPEP 2106.07(b), as further support of well known implementations to support the rejections of Shimamura et al. where common elements and implementations were not specifically recited by Shimamura et al. but would have benefited from the well known implementations because of the reasons disclosed supra.
Applicant appears to be arguing that the rejections using OFFICIAL NOTICE should be withdrawn, or if not withdrawn new documents should be provided alongside new grounds of rejection. According to MPEP 2144.03, the Examiner must provide documentary evidence in the next Office Action upon Applicant’s adequate traversal of the Examiner’s assertions. Nowhere in MPEP 2144.03 is there the requirement for documentary evidence to be accompanied by new grounds of rejection, which would therefore prevent the issuance of a Final Office Action after the Non-Final Office Action.” Furthermore, according to MPEP, 2144.03, rejections incorporating OFFICIAL NOTICE without associated documentary evidence may be properly established and introduced. Although Applicant has not specifically asked for documentary evidence to support the OFFICIAL NOTICE rejections in question, the Examiner has provided several documents covering topics pertaining to serverless systems incorporating topics including at least NVMe storage systems, iSCSI storage systems, CHAP authentication protocol, and IP address accessing.
As such, the Examiner maintains the rejections as disclosed supra according to MPEP 706.07(a).
Conclusion
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist whose telephone number is 571-272-2100.
/BRIAN R PEUGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2133