Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Chun et al. US 20230247476 A1
Claims 1, 9, 17 and 18:
Chun discloses a wireless transmit and receive unit (WTRU) comprising: a processor (See fig. 13B processor) configured to: receive configuration information indicating a plurality of quality of service (QoS) classes, wherein each QoS class in the plurality of QoS classes is associated with a set of transmission parameters (Fig. 33; paragraphs 385, 386; for the configuration information indicating a plurality of QoS classes, see the different configurations, such as first QoS configuration and second QoS configuration; Also, see Fig. 39; paragraphs 385,401,403); receive, from higher layers, a data flow comprising a plurality of data units associated with one or more characteristics (for the data units, see e.g. the packets; paragraphs 389,390; OR, alternatively, see paragraph 402); determine a first QoS class in the plurality of QoS classes is associated with the data flow; determine a first characteristic from the one or more characteristics is associated with a first data unit from the plurality of data units and a second characteristic from the one or more characteristics is associated with a second data unit from the plurality of data units (for the characteristics, see e.g. the information in the fields of the packet(s); paragraph 389; Also see paragraphs 407); determine, based on the first characteristic, the first QoS class is associated with the first data unit (paragraphs 387, 389, 391, 393; see associating the first packet with a particular packet type, and mapping it to the particular first QoS configuration, which represents a particular QoS class; this is done based on the information in the fields of the packet(s), i.e. the characteristics; OR, alternatively, see paragraphs 408, 409,410); determine, based on the second characteristic, a second QoS class is associated with the second data unit (paragraphs 388, 389,392,394; see associating the first packet with a particular packet type, and mapping it to the particular first QoS configuration, which represents a particular QoS class; this is done based on the information in the fields of the packet(s), i.e. the characteristics; OR, alternatively, see paragraphs 408, 409,410); determine, based the first QoS class, a first set of transmission parameters is associated with the first data unit (paragraphs 386, 393; for set of transmission parameters see e.g. the packet error rate, the packet delay budget, the information the data rate, etc.; OR, alternatively, see paragraphs 403, 411); determine, based on the second QoS class, a second set of transmission parameters is associated with the second data unit (paragraphs 386, 394; for set of transmission parameters see e.g. the packet error rate, the packet delay budget, the information the data rate, etc.; OR, alternatively, see paragraphs 403, 411) and transmit the first and second data units of the data flow, wherein the first data unit is transmitted using the first set of transmission parameters and the second data unit is transmitted using the second set of transmission parameters (See fig. 33, step 3350, sending packet based on the QoS).
Claims 2, 10 and 19:
Chun discloses that the first set of transmission parameters comprise one or more of a priority index, an importance level, a delay bound, a reliability level, a bit rate, or a packet loss rate (See para 134, “The QoS profile… The 5QI may comprise/indicate one or more of a resource type, a default priority level, a packet delay budget (PDB), a packet error rate (PER), a maximum data burst volume, and/or an averaging window. The resource type may indicate a non-GBR QoS flow, a GBR QoS flow, and/or a delay-critical GBR QoS flow”); and the second set of transmission parameters comprise one or more of a priority index, an importance level, a delay bound, a reliability level, a bit rate, or a packet loss rate (See para 134, “The QoS profile… The 5QI may comprise/indicate one or more of a resource type, a default priority level, a packet delay budget (PDB), a packet error rate (PER), a maximum data burst volume, and/or an averaging window. The resource type may indicate a non-GBR QoS flow, a GBR QoS flow, and/or a delay-critical GBR QoS flow”).
Claims 3 and 11:
Chun discloses that the first QoS class is associated with a first treatment profile, the first treatment profile comprising the first set of transmission parameters (See para 134, “The QoS profile… The 5QI may comprise/indicate one or more of a resource type, a default priority level, a packet delay budget (PDB), a packet error rate (PER), a maximum data burst volume, and/or an averaging window. The resource type may indicate a non-GBR QoS flow, a GBR QoS flow, and/or a delay-critical GBR QoS flow”); and the second QoS class is associated with a second treatment profile, the second treatment profile comprising the second set of transmission parameters (See para 134, “The QoS profile… The 5QI may comprise/indicate one or more of a resource type, a default priority level, a packet delay budget (PDB), a packet error rate (PER), a maximum data burst volume, and/or an averaging window. The resource type may indicate a non-GBR QoS flow, a GBR QoS flow, and/or a delay-critical GBR QoS flow”).
Claims 4 and 12:
Chun discloses that the first QoS class is a default QoS class (See para 134, a default priority level).
Claims 5 and 13:
Chun discloses that the second QoS class is a non-default QoS class (See para 134, ARP priority level).
Claims 6, 14 and 20:
Chun discloses that the first characteristic comprises one or more of a priority, an importance, a delay budget, a data type, or dependency on data or events; and wherein the second characteristic comprises one or more of a priority, an importance, a delay budget, a data type, or dependency on data or events (See para 134, “The 5QI may comprise/indicate one or more of a resource type, a default priority level, a packet delay budget (PDB), a packet error rate (PER), a maximum data burst volume, and/or an averaging window. The resource type may indicate a non-GBR QoS flow, a GBR QoS flow, and/or a delay-critical GBR QoS flow. The averaging window may represent a duration over which the GFBR and/or MFBR may be calculated/determined. The ARP may be a priority level comprising pre-emption capability and a pre-emption vulnerability. The AN 802 may apply admission control for the QoS flows (e.g., if resource limitations are determined), for example, based on the ARP”).
Claims 7 and 15:
Chun discloses that each of the plurality of data units comprises one of: a bit; a group of bits; a byte; a group of bytes; a PDU segment; a PDU; a group of PDUs; a data burst; or a group of data bursts (See para 434, bits. See fig. 33, data flow. See para 124, PDU).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chun et al. US 20230247476 A1 in view of Schimmelpfeng US 2006/0245369 A1.
Claims 8 and 16:
Chun doesn’t disclose that the processor configured to determine the second QoS class is associated with the second data unit is further configured to determine the second QoS class is associated with the second data unit for a period of time.
Schimmelpfeng discloses that the processor configured to determine the second QoS class is associated with the second data unit is further configured to determine the second QoS class is associated with the second data unit for a period of time (See para 71, “such configuration changes … the currently valid QoS definition (for example, a service-level agreement may define stricter availability requirements during normal working hours than during other time periods; correspondingly, the calculation graph will change at the beginning and the end of working hours)”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Chun with the teachings of Schimmelpfeng to improve the method disclosed by Chun by including the feature of. The motivation to combine would have been to allow flexibility around working and non-working hours.
Conclusion
HASHIM S. BHATTI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2472
/HASHIM S BHATTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2475