DETAILED ACTION
The application of Seungman Kim for Electronic Apparatus And Method Of Selectively Applying Various Options To A Security Mode In A Mobile Device filed 8/05/24 has been examined. Claims 38-58 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 28-37 and 41-58 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huh US Patent Application Publication 20200195772.
Regarding claim 28, Huh teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium containing computer-readable codes as a program to execute a method in a mobile device having a network interface to communicate with an external device (paragraph 047-048), one or more cameras (paragraph 044), one or more sensors (paragraph 050), and a panel to display a menu and an image and to receive a touch input from a user (fig.5A, paragraph 050,087, the method comprising: providing a first location and a second location on the panel (Fig. 5A, home, office), the second location being expanded from the first location and including the first location (paragraph 075), to set a place selected from the first location and the second location (the state of the electronic device is change based on a selected location, paragraph 074); providing a first strength and a second strength of a signal from the external device, the second strength being weaker than the first strength, to set a signal strength selected from the first strength and the second strength (paragraph 025); and unlocking the mobile device to a normal mode according to the place and the signal strength (paragraph 070).
Regarding claim 29, Huh et al. teaches determining that the mobile device is in the place and the signal of the external device has the signal strength, and unlocking the mobile device according to the determination (paragraph 070).
Regarding claim 30, Hu et al. teaches determining that the mobile device is in the first location and the signal of the external device has the first strength, and unlocking the mobile device according to the determination (paragraph 070).
Regarding claim 31, Huh et al. teaches determining that the mobile device is in the first location and the signal of the external device has the second strength and unlocking the mobile device according to the determination (paragraph 070).
Regarding claim 32, Huh et al. teaches determining that the mobile device is in the second location and the signal of the external device has the first strength, and unlocking the mobile device according to the determination (paragraph 074-075).
Regarding claim 33, Huh et al. teaches determining that the mobile device is in the second location and the signal of the external device has the second strength, and unlocking the mobile device according to the determination (paragraph 075-076).
Regarding claim 34, Huh et al. teaches locking the mobile device from the normal mode when the mobile device is not in the place or when the signal of the external device does not have the signal strength (paragraph 0102,0141).
Regarding claim 35, Huh teaches maintaining the normal mode (unlock) of the mobile device according to another unlock process when the mobile device is not in the place or when the signal of the external device does not have the signal strength (device is maintain in the unlock state, paragraph 016,025).
Regarding claim 36, Huh teaches the first and second location is a home or office (paragraph 0103,0138) and location therefore inherently include an address.
Regarding claim 37, Huh teaches the first and second location is a home or office (paragraph 0103,0138) and location therefore inherently comprises an address.
Regarding claim 41, Huh teaches a second location area 305 expanded from a first location area 303 (fig. 3, paragraph 074). Huh teaches the first and second location is a home or office (paragraph 0103,0138) and location therefore inherently comprises an address.
Regarding claim 42, Huh teaches a second location area 305 expanded from a first location area 303 (fig. 3, paragraph 074) and teaches a touch input for making user selection (paragraph 057,087).
Regarding claim 43, Huh teaches the first location and second location are displayed on the panel (5A) and teaches a touch input for making user selection (paragraph 057,087).
Regarding claim 44, Huh teaches the first location and the second location are displayed on the panel (home, office, fig. 5A) and the place is selected from the first location and the second location displayed on the panel according the user preference (paragraph 057,087).
Regarding claim 45, Huh teaches the first location and the second location are displayed on the panel (home, office, fig. 5A) and the second location according to the touch input to the panel (paragraph 057,087).
Regarding claim 46, Huh teaches the second location (305) is expanded from the first location (303) according to touch input on the panel (fig. 3, paragraph 057,087).
Regarding claim 47, Huh teaches the first location comprises a first circle (303), and the second location comprises a second circle (305) including the first circle (fig. 3).
Regarding claim 48, Huh teaches the first location comprises a first circle (303), and the second location comprises a second circle larger than the first (305) circle (fig. 3).
Regarding claim 49, Huh teaches the first location comprises a first circle (303), and the second location comprises a second circle (305), the first circle and the second circle having a same center (fig. 3).
Regarding claim 50, Huh teaches the first strength comprises a first percentage of the signal from the external device, and the second strength comprises a second percentage of the signal from the external device (Huh teaches comparing the signal strength values representing the communication values, paragraph 025,076,082,096,0127).
Regarding claim 51, Huh teaches the first strength corresponds to a first distance from the external device and the second strength corresponds to a second distance from the external device (paragraph 011,025,076).
Regarding claim 52, Huh teaches the external device comprises a WiFi device, the first strength corresponds to a first level of the signal from the WiFi device and the second strength corresponds to a second level of the signal of the WiFi device (paragraph 0109).
Regarding claim 53, Huh teaches the external device comprises a WiFi device, and the first strength and the second strength comprise strengths of the signal from the WiFi device (paragraph 076,0109).
Regarding claim 54, Huh teaches the method further comprises maintaining the normal mode of the mobile device according to the place and the signal strength (fig. 10, step 1015).
Regarding claim 55, Huh teaches the first strength of the signal from the external device comprises a first portion of data of the external device, and the second strength of the signal from the external device comprises a second portion of the data of the external device (first and second data is used to unlock the device, fig. 4).
Regarding claim 56, Huh teaches the first strength of the signal from the external device comprises a first data of the external device, and the second strength of the signal from the external device comprises a second data of the external device (first and second data is used to unlock the device, fig. 4).
Regarding claim 57, Huh teaches the first strength of the signal from the external device comprises a first signal of the external device, and the second strength of the signal from the external device comprises a second signal of the external device (first and second data is used to unlock the device, fig. 4).
Regarding claim 58, Huh teaches the first strength of the signal from the external device comprises a first portion of communication with the external device, and the second strength of the signal from the external device comprises a second portion of the communication with the external device (first and second data is used to unlock the device, fig. 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 38-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huh US Patent Application Publication 20200195772 in view of Lowe US Patent Application Publication 20230066933.
Regarding claim 38, Huh teaches a second location area 305 expanded from a first location area 303 (fig. 3, paragraph 074) but is silent on teaching the location comprises an address map. Lowe in an analogous art teaches defining a location based on the physical address (paragraph 036) and teaches the address comprises a map (paragraph 046).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Huh as disclosed by Lowe because such modification represents an improvement over the system of Huh by providing a map that provides additional information regarding the location of the mobile device and its surrounding.
Regarding claim 39, Huh teaches a second location area 305 expanded from a first location area 303 (fig. 3, paragraph 074) but is silent on teaching the location comprises an address map. Lowe in an analogous art teaches defining a location based on the physical address (paragraph 036) and teaches the address comprises a map (paragraph 046) and teaches the address include street number (fig. 1A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Huh as disclosed by Lowe because such modification represents an improvement over the system of Huh by providing a map that provides additional information regarding the location of the mobile device and its surrounding.
Regarding claim 40, Huh is silent on teaching the first location comprises a first street number and the second location comprises a plurality of second street numbers. Lowe in an analogous art teaches an entity location (first location) and a plurality of target (second) location (paragraph 022-023) and teaches a location include a street number (fig. 1A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Huh as disclosed by Lowe because such modification represents the substitution of one means for providing location information for another and providing the predictable result of providing an accurate indication of a precise location.
Conclusion
/VERNAL U BROWN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2686