DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on February 26, 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because of the following informality:
Abstract, line 1, “A load switch system and method of manufacture can include: configuring a power switch to”, it appears that should be change to - - A load switch system and method of manufacture includes: configuring a power switch to - -.
Appropriate correction is required.
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Drawings
The drawings were received on August 5, 2024. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-10 are objected to because of the following informalities (note that the markings show the examiner’s suggested amendments):
Claim 1, line 6, “a low current comparator coupled to the current sensor, the low current comparator compares the”, it appears that should be change to - - a low current comparator coupled to the current sensor, the low current comparator compares [[the]] a - -.
Claims 2-5, line 1, “The system of claim”, it appears that should be change to - - The load switch system of claim - -.
Claims 7-10, line 1, “The system of claim”, it appears that should be change to - - The load switch system of claim - -.
Appropriate correction is required.
Examiner’s Note: Applicant should carefully review all pending claims for the presence of any similar informalities and to correct them accordingly.
Examination Notice
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 4-11, and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vargha (US 6,127,882) in view of Ohshima (US 2010/0110599 A1).
With regard to claim 1, Vargha a load switch system (Abstract, lines 1-3) comprising:
a power switch (Q1 – Fig. 1) configured to complete or interrupt a power circuit (20 – Fig. 1) between a power supply (VIN – Fig. 1) and a load (load connected to VOUT – Fig. 1) (implicit);
a current sensor (Rsense – Fig. 1) configured to detect current within the power circuit (20 – Fig. 1);
a low current comparator (COMP1 – Fig. 1) coupled to the current sensor (Rsense – Fig. 1), the low current comparator (COMP1 – Fig. 1) compares the current to a low current threshold (Threshold 1 – Fig. 1) and outputs a first current threshold signal (signal outputted by COMP1 – Fig. 1) based on the low current threshold (Threshold 1 – Fig. 1) being exceeded by the current (col. 2, lines 51-67);
a high current comparator (COMP2 – Fig. 1) coupled to the current sensor (Rsense – Fig. 1), the high current comparator (COMP2 – Fig. 1) compares the current to a high current threshold (Threshold 2 – Fig. 1) and outputs a second current threshold signal (signal outputted by COMP2 – Fig. 1) based on the high current threshold (Threshold 2 – Fig. 1) being exceeded by the current (col. 3, lines 7-27); and
a control logic (24 – Fig. 1) coupled to the low current comparator (COMP1 – Fig. 1) and to the high current comparator (COMP2 – Fig. 1), the control logic (24 – Fig. 1) opens the power switch(Q1 – Fig. 1) and interrupts the power circuit (20 – Fig. 1) based on the second current threshold signal (signal outputted by COMP2 – Fig. 1) being output by the high current comparator (COMP2 – Fig. 1) (col. 5, lines 47-51)
Vargha does not teach a filter coupled to the low current comparator, the filter outputs the first current threshold signal based on the first current threshold signal remaining active for a predefined length of time.
Ohshima teaches a filter (7 – Fig. 1) coupled to the low current comparator (CMP2 – Fig. 1), the filter (7 – Fig. 1) outputs the first current threshold signal based on the first current threshold signal remaining active for a predefined length of time (claim 3, lines 1-11).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the load switch system of Vargha, to have a filter coupled to the low current comparator, the filter outputs the first current threshold signal based on the first current threshold signal remaining active for a predefined length of time, as taught by Ohshima, in order to prevent false triggering, remove noise and output chatter and since doing so is within the ordinary capability of those skilled in the art because this configuration is well known in the art.
Examiner’s Note: it is noted the crossed out portion of claim 1 recites optional limitations, due to the use of “or”. Since Vargha already anticipates the first portion of the claim as explained above, it is not necessary to show anticipation of the alternative limitations.
With regard to claim 4, Vargha and Ohshima teach all the limitations of claim 1, and Vargha further teaches a secondary power supply (CAUX – Fig. 1) coupled to the power switch (Q1 – Fig. 1), the secondary power supply (CAUX – Fig. 1) provides power to activate the power switch (Q1 – Fig. 1) (col. 2, lines 39-47).
With regard to claim 5, Vargha and Ohshima teach all the limitations of claim 1, and Vargha further teaches a switch driver (22 – Fig. 1) coupled to the power switch (Q1 – Fig. 1), the switch driver (22 – Fig. 1) provides a drive signal to the power switch (Q1 – Fig. 1) (col. 2, lines 39-47).
With regard to claim 6, Vargha teaches a load switch system (Abstract, lines 1-3) comprising:
a power switch (Q1 – Fig. 1) configured to complete or interrupt a power circuit (20 – Fig. 1) between a power supply (VIN – Fig. 1) and a load (load connected to VOUT – Fig. 1) (implicit);
a current sensor (Rsense – Fig. 1) configured to detect current within the power circuit (20 – Fig. 1);
a low current comparator (COMP1 – Fig. 1) coupled to the current sensor (Rsense – Fig. 1), the low current comparator (COMP1 – Fig. 1) compares the current to a low current threshold (Threshold 1 – Fig. 1) and outputs a first current threshold signal (signal outputted by COMP1 – Fig. 1) based on the low current threshold (Threshold 1 – Fig. 1) being exceeded by the current (col. 2, lines 51-67);
a high current comparator (COMP2 – Fig. 1) coupled to the current sensor (Rsense – Fig. 1), the high current comparator (COMP2 – Fig. 1) compares the current to a high current threshold (Threshold 2 – Fig. 1) and outputs a second current threshold signal (signal outputted by COMP2 – Fig. 1) based on the high current threshold (Threshold 2 – Fig. 1) being exceeded by the current (col. 3, lines 7-27);
a control logic (24 – Fig. 1) coupled to the low current comparator (COMP1 – Fig. 1) and to the high current comparator (COMP2 – Fig. 1), the control logic (24 – Fig. 1) opens the power switch (Q1– Fig. 1) and interrupts the power circuit (20 – Fig. 1) based on the second current threshold signal (signal outputted by COMP2 – Fig. 1) being output by the high current comparator (COMP2 – Fig. 1) (col. 5, lines 47-51)
Vargha does not teach a filter coupled to the low current comparator, the filter outputs the first current threshold signal based on the first current threshold signal remaining active for a predefined length of time; and
a protection switch coupled to the power switch and to the control logic, the protection switch exposes the power circuit to an external connection based on the second current threshold signal being output by the high current comparator or the first current threshold signal being output by the filter.
Ohshima teaches a filter (7 – Fig. 1) coupled to the low current comparator (CMP2 – Fig. 1), the filter (7 – Fig. 1) outputs the first current threshold signal based on the first current threshold signal remaining active for a predefined length of time (claim 3, lines 1-11); and
a protection switch (T12 – Fig. 1) coupled to the power switch (T11 – Fig. 1) and to the control logic (8 – Fig. 1), the protection switch (T12 – Fig. 1) exposes the power circuit (10 – Fig. 1) to an external connection (GND – Fig. 1) based on
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the load switch system of Vargha, to have a filter coupled to the low current comparator and a protection switch, as taught by Ohshima, in order to prevent false triggering, remove noise and output chatter and the protection switch improve the protection of the power switch; and since doing so is within the ordinary capability of those skilled in the art because this configuration is well known in the art.
Examiner’s Note: it is noted the crossed out portion of claim 1 recites optional limitations, due to the use of “or”. Since Vargha already anticipates the first portion of the claim as explained above, it is not necessary to show anticipation of the alternative limitations.
With regard to claim 7, Vargha and Ohshima teach all the limitations of claim 6, and Vargha further teaches the load switch system is a low side load switch system (see Fig. 1) (implicit);
the power switch (Q1 – Fig. 1) is coupled to an internal ground (GDN – Fig. 1) (indirectly coupled through C0).
Varga does not teach the protection switch exposes the power circuit to an external ground based on the second current threshold signal being output by the high current comparator or the first current threshold signal being output by the filter.
Ohshima teaches the protection switch (T12 – Fig. 1) exposes the power circuit (10 – Fig. 1) to an external ground (GND – Fig. 1) based on
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the load switch system of Vargha, to have the protection switch exposes the power circuit to an external ground, as taught by Ohshima, in order to improve of the load switch system by creating a deliberate and controlled path to safely shunt or dissipate transient currents.
With regard to claim 8, Vargha and Ohshima teach all the limitations of claim 6, and Vargha further teaches the load switch system is a high side load switch system (see Fig. 1) (implicit);
the power switch (Q1 – Fig. 1) is coupled to an internal voltage (CAUX – Fig. 1) (col. 2, lines 39-47).
Vargha does not teach the protection switch exposes the power circuit to an external voltage based on the second current threshold signal being output by the high current comparator or the first current threshold signal being output by the filter.
Ohshima teaches the protection switch (T12 – Fig. 1) exposes the power circuit (10 – Fig. 1) to an external ground (GND – Fig. 1) based on
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the load switch system of Vargha, to have the protection switch exposes the power circuit to an external ground, as taught by Ohshima, in order to improve of the load switch system by creating a deliberate and controlled path to safely shunt or dissipate transient currents.
With regard to claim 9, Vargha and Ohshima teach all the limitations of claim 6, and Vargha does not teach the filter outputs the first current threshold signal based on the first current threshold signal remaining active for a settling time of the current.
Ohshima teaches the filter (7 – Fig. 1) outputs the first current threshold signal (signal outputted by filter 7 – Fig. 1) based on the first current threshold signal remaining active for a settling time of the current ([0020] lines 1-10).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the load switch system of Vargha, to have the filter outputs the first current threshold signal based on the first current threshold signal remaining active for a settling time of the current, as taught by Ohshima, in order to improve of the load switch system by having the filter delaying the first current threshold signal to act as a debouncing mechanism, and requiring the current to remain continuously above the threshold for the full settling time, and this allows the load switch system ignore brief current spikes, electrical noise, and ensuring the signal is stable and prevents false triggers.
With regard to claim 10, Vargha and Ohshima teach all the limitations of claim 6, and Vargha teaches the power switch (Q1 – Fig. 1) is a field effect transistor (col. 2, line 22), a bipolar transistor, or a relay.
With regard to claim 11, Vargha teaches a method of manufacturing a load switch system (Abstract, lines 1-3) comprising:
configuring a power switch (Q1 – Fig. 1) to complete or interrupt a power circuit (20 – Fig. 1) between a power supply (VIN – Fig. 1) and a load (load connected to VOUT – Fig. 1) (implicit);
configuring a current sensor (Rsense – Fig. 1) to detect current within the power circuit (20 – Fig. 1);
coupling a low current comparator (COMP1 – Fig. 1) to the current sensor (Rsense – Fig. 1), the low current comparator (COMP1 – Fig. 1) compares the current to a low current threshold (Threshold 1 – Fig. 1) and outputs a first current threshold signal (signal outputted by COMP1 – Fig. 1) based on the low current threshold (Threshold 1 – Fig. 1) being exceeded by the current (col. 2, lines 51-67);
coupling a high current comparator (COMP2 – Fig. 1) to the current sensor (Rsense – Fig. 1), the high current comparator (COMP2 – Fig. 1) compares the current to a high current threshold (Threshold 2 – Fig. 1) and outputs a second current threshold signal (signal outputted by COMP2 – Fig. 1) based on the high current threshold (Threshold 2 – Fig. 1) being exceeded by the current (col. 3, lines 7-27); and
coupling a control logic (24 – Fig. 1) to the low current comparator (COMP1 – Fig. 1) and to the high current comparator (COMP2 – Fig. 1), the control logic (24 – Fig. 1) opens the power switch (Q1 – Fig. 1) and interrupts the power circuit (20 – Fig. 1) based on the second current threshold signal (signal outputted by COMP2 – Fig. 1) being output by the high current comparator (COMP2 – Fig. 1)
Vargha does not teach coupling a filter to the low current comparator, the filter outputs the first current threshold signal based on the first current threshold signal remaining active for a predefined length of time.
Ohshima teaches coupling a filter (7 – Fig. 1) to the low current comparator (CMP2 – Fig. 1), the filter (7 – Fig. 1) outputs the first current threshold signal based on the first current threshold signal remaining active for a predefined length of time (claim 3, lines 1-11).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of manufacturing the load switch system of Vargha, to have a filter to the low current comparator, the filter outputs the first current threshold signal based on the first current threshold signal remaining active for a predefined length of time, as taught by Ohshima, in order to prevent false triggering, remove noise and output chatter and the protection switch improve the method of manufacturing the load switch system.
Examiner’s Note: it is noted the crossed out portion of claim 1 recites optional limitations, due to the use of “or”. Since Vargha already anticipates the first portion of the claim as explained above, it is not necessary to show anticipation of the alternative limitations.
With regard to claim 14, Vargha and Ohshima teach all the limitations of claim 11, and Vargha further teaches coupling a secondary power supply (CAUX – Fig. 1) to the power switch (Q1 – Fig. 1), the secondary power supply (CAUX – Fig. 1) provides power to activate the power switch (Q1 – Fig. 1) (col. 2, lines 39-47).
With regard to claim 15, Vargha and Ohshima teach all the limitations of claim 11, and Vargha further teaches coupling a switch driver (22 – Fig. 1) to the power switch (Q1 – Fig. 1), the switch driver (22 – Fig. 1) provides a drive signal to the power switch (Q1 – Fig. 1) (col. 2, lines 39-47).
With regard to claim 16, Vargha and Ohshima teach all the limitations of claim 11, and Vargha does not teach coupling a protection switch to the power switch and to the control logic, the protection switch exposes the power circuit to an external connection based on the second current threshold signal being output by the high current comparator or the first current threshold signal being output by the filter.
Ohshima teaches coupling a protection switch (T12 – Fig. 1) to the power switch (T11 – Fig. 1) and to the control logic (8 – Fig. 1), the protection switch (T11 – Fig. 1) exposes the power circuit (10 – Fig. 1) to an external connection (GND – Fig. 1) based on
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify method of manufacturing the load switch system of Vargha, to have a protection switch to the power switch and to the control logic, the protection switch exposes the power circuit to an external connection based on the second current threshold signal being output by the high current comparator or the first current threshold signal being output by the filter, as taught by Ohshima, in order to improve method of manufacturing the load switch system by protecting load switch system against overcurrent and short circuits and safely divert or limit dangerous fault currents to the external connection or ground or discharge path.
With regard to claim 17, Vargha and Ohshima teach all the limitations of claim 16, and Vargha further teaches manufacturing the load switch system includes manufacturing a low side load switch system (see Fig. 1) (implicit);
configuring the power switch (Q1 – Fig. 1) includes coupling the power switch (Q1 – Fig. 1) to an internal ground (GDN – Fig. 1) (indirectly coupled through C0).
Vargha does not teach coupling the protection switch includes coupling the protection switch to an external ground, and the protection switch exposes the power circuit to the external ground based on the second current threshold signal being output by the high current comparator or the first current threshold signal being output by the filter.
Ohshima teaches the protection switch (T12 – Fig. 1) includes coupling the protection switch (T12 – Fig. 1) to an external ground (GND – Fig. 1), and the protection switch (T12 – Fig. 1) exposes the power circuit to the external ground (GND – Fig. 1) based on
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of manufacturing the load switch system of Vargha, to have the protection switch exposes the power circuit to an external ground, as taught by Ohshima, in order to improve of the load switch system by creating a deliberate and controlled path to safely shunt or dissipate transient currents.
With regard to claim 18, Vargha and Ohshima teach all the limitations of claim 16, and Vargha further teaches manufacturing the load switch system includes manufacturing a high side load switch system (see Fig. 1) (implicit);
configuring the power switch (Q1 – Fig. 1) includes coupling the power switch (Q1 – Fig. 1) to an internal voltage (CAUX – Fig. 1) (col. 2, lines 39-47).
Vargha does not teach coupling the protection switch includes coupling the protection switch to an external voltage, and the protection switch exposes the power circuit to the external voltage based on the second current threshold signal being output by the high current comparator or the first current threshold signal being output by the filter.
Ohshima teaches coupling the protection switch (T12 – Fig. 1) includes coupling the protection switch (T12 – Fig. 1) to an external voltage (GND – Fig. 1), and the protection switch (T12 – Fig. 1) exposes the power circuit (10 – Fig. 1) to the external voltage (GND – Fig. 1) based on
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of manufacturing the load switch system of Vargha, to have the protection switch exposes the power circuit to an external ground, as taught by Ohshima, in order to improve of the load switch system by creating a deliberate and controlled path to safely shunt or dissipate transient currents.
With regard to claim 19, Vargha and Ohshima teach all the limitations of claim 16, and Vargha does not teach the filter includes configuring the filter to output the first current threshold signal based on the first current threshold remaining active for a settling time of the current.
Ohshima teaches the filter (7 – Fig. 1) includes configuring the filter (7 – Fig. 1) to output the first current threshold signal (signal outputted by filter 7 – Fig. 1) based on the first current threshold remaining active for a settling time of the current ([0020] lines 1-10).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of manufacturing the load switch system of Vargha, to have the filter outputs the first current threshold signal based on the first current threshold signal remaining active for a settling time of the current, as taught by Ohshima, in order to improve of the load switch system by having the filter delaying the first current threshold signal to act as a debouncing mechanism, and requiring the current to remain continuously above the threshold for the full settling time, and this allows the load switch system ignore brief current spikes, electrical noise, and ensuring the signal is stable and prevents false triggers.
With regard to claim 20, Vargha and Ohshima teach all the limitations of claim 16, and Vargha teaches configuring the power switch (Q1 – Fig. 1) includes configuring a field effect transistor (col. 2, line 22), a bipolar transistor, or a relay.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 2-3 and 12-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With regard to claim 2, in combination with other limitations of the claim, the prior art fails to teach or fairly suggest “a current to voltage converter coupled to the current sensor, the current to voltage converter converts the current from the current sensor to a voltage for comparison by the high current comparator and the low current comparator.”
With regard to claim 3, in combination with other limitations of the claim, the prior art fails to teach or fairly suggest “an OR logic gate coupled to a filter output of the filter and to a comparator output of the high current comparator.”
With regard to claim 12, in combination with other limitations of the claim, the prior art fails to teach or fairly suggest “coupling a current to voltage converter to the current sensor, the current to voltage converter converts the current from the current sensor to a voltage for comparison by the high current comparator and the low current comparator.”
With regard to claim 13, in combination with other limitations of the claim, the prior art fails to teach or fairly suggest “coupling an OR logic gate to a filter output of the filter and to a comparator output of the high current comparator.”
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see attached PTO-892.
Chang (US 10,566,780 B2) teaches an electronic circuit for single-event latch-up (SEL) detection and protection of a target integrated circuit (IC) is disclosed. The circuit comprises: a first detector configured for detecting an absolute load current (i) and comparing the absolute load current (i) with a threshold current (ith); a second detector configured for detecting a rate of change of load current (di/dt) and comparing the rate of change of load current (di/dt) with a threshold current change rate (di/dt)th; and a determination module for triggering a power shut-down to the target IC if the absolute load current (i) exceeds the threshold current (ith) and/or the rate of change of load current (di/dt) exceeds the threshold current change rate (di/dt)th.
Braun (US 5,222,011) teaches a load driver circuit has first and second comparators which receive a load current signal indicative of current flowing through a load. The comparators provide, as output signals, set on and set off signals in response to comparing the load current signal with first and second thresholds. Driver circuitry receives the set on and set off signals and provides a current control signal for controlling load current. Preferably, disabling circuitry disables the comparators after and in response to the comparators providing their respective output signals. Also, preferably enabling circuitry enables the comparators in response to comparing a sensed voltage, indicative of voltage at an output terminal of a switching device that controls load current, with respect to a predetermined voltage (2.5 volts). The selective enabling/disabling of the comparators results in minimizing the possible effect of noise with respect to controlling load current since undesired false or repetitive outputs of the comparators are minimized.
Contact Information
/N.B./Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/MONICA LEWIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838