DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 26 – 31, 36 – 40, and 45 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Blanquart (US 2014/0163319).
As per claim 26, a system comprising:
an emitter (Figure 1 element 100) that pulses a plurality of pulses of electromagnetic radiation, wherein the emitter comprises a plurality of sources of electromagnetic radiation comprising a multispectral source of electromagnetic radiation and a visible source of electromagnetic radiation (¶ 45);
an image sensor (Figure 1 element 120) comprising a pixel array that senses reflected electromagnetic radiation and outputs a plurality of exposure frames (¶ 45); and
a controller in electrical communication with the image sensor and the emitter, wherein the controller synchronizes operations of the image sensor and the emitter (¶ 45 - 47);
wherein the controller is configured to operate the plurality of sources of electromagnetic radiation of the emitter according to a pulse cycle pattern (¶ 45 - 47);
wherein the controller is configured to instruct the emitter to pulse during a blanking period of the image sensor (¶ 89);
wherein the blanking period is variable depending on a given wavelength emitted during the pulse cycle pattern (¶ 89).
As per claim 27, Blanquart discloses the system of claim 26, wherein the pulse cycle pattern comprises two or more pulses of electromagnetic radiation from one or more of the plurality of sources of electromagnetic radiation, and wherein an order of the pulse cycle pattern and/or a frequency of the two or more pulses of electromagnetic radiation are adjustable by a user (¶ 89 and 102).
As per claim 28, Blanquart discloses the system of claim 26, wherein the pulse cycle pattern is adjustable according to a pixel value of the pixel array of the image sensor, such that one or more sources of the plurality of sources of electromagnetic radiation are adjusted if the pixel value does not meet a threshold pixel value (¶ 76 - 85).
As per claim 29, Blanquart discloses the system of claim 26, wherein the image sensor is a plurality of image sensors and wherein the pixel arrays of each of the plurality of image sensors are synchronized such that the blanking periods of each image sensor are synchronized (¶ 45).
As per claim 30, Blanquart discloses the system of claim 26, wherein the image sensor comprises a plurality of different blanking periods across repeating patterns of a variable number of frames, wherein the different blanking periods are variable in length (¶ 89).
As per claim 31, Blanquart discloses the system of claim 26, wherein the wherein the blanking period is further variable depending on one or more of:
a sensitivity of the image sensor to the given wavelength, a power output capacity of the emitter, or a carrying capacity of a waveguide in communication with the emitter to transmit light from the emitter to a distal tip of an endoscope (¶ 89).
As per claim 36, Blanquart discloses the system of claim 26, wherein the emitter emits a sequence of pulses of electromagnetic radiation repeatedly sufficient for generating a video stream comprising a plurality of image frames, wherein each image frame in the video stream comprises data from two or more of the plurality of exposure frames, and wherein each of the plurality of exposure frames corresponds with a single-color wavelength of electromagnetic radiation pulsed by the emitter (¶ 76 - 85).
As per claim 37, Blanquart discloses the system of claim 36, wherein the plurality of exposure frames comprises a color exposure frame output by the image sensor during a color readout period, wherein the color readout period occurs immediately subsequent to a color blanking period wherein the emitter pulsing a white light emission by the visible source of electromagnetic radiation (¶ 65).
As per claim 38, Blanquart discloses the system of claim 26, wherein the controller instructs the emitter to pulse the plurality of pulses of electromagnetic radiation during a blanking period of a sensor cycle of the image sensor, and wherein the controller adjusts one or more of an intensity or duration of any of the plurality of pulses of electromagnetic radiation for illuminating a light deficient environment visualized by the image sensor (¶ 65 - 67).
As per claim 39, Blanquart discloses the system of claim 38, wherein the instructions further comprise determining a color-specific sensitivity of the pixel array to one or more of a red wavelength, a green wavelength, a blue wavelength, or one or more multispectral wavebands pulsed by the multispectral source, and wherein the instructions are such that adjusting the one or more of the intensity or the duration of the emission by the emitter is further determined based on a wavelength of the emission and the color-specific sensitivity of the pixel array (¶ 76 - 85).
As per claim 40, Blanquart discloses the system of claim 26, wherein the controller comprises one or more processors for executing instructions stored in non-transitory computer readable storage medium, the instructions comprising: determining a histogram for a full cycle of electromagnetic spectrum partitions, wherein the full cycle comprises one or more of a red wavelength, a green wavelength, a blue wavelength, and one or more multispectral wavebands pulsed by the plurality of multispectral sources; comparing the histogram to expected values for an expected histogram; and adjusting an image signal processing pipeline based on the comparison of the histogram to the expected values (¶ 93 and 103).
As per claim 45, Blanquart discloses the system of claim 26, wherein the image sensor comprises two or more image sensors each comprising an independent pixel array; wherein the two or more image sensors simultaneously output imaging information; and wherein the imaging information simultaneously output by the two or more image sensors is utilized to generate a three-dimensional rendering of a scene (¶ 165).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blanquart in view of Oshima et al (US 2019/0297243, hereafter Oshima).
As per claim 41, Blanquart discloses the system of claim 26.
However, Blanquart does not explicitly teach wherein the plurality of electromagnetic sources further comprises a fluorescent source of electromagnetic radiation, wherein the plurality of exposure frames comprises a fluorescent exposure frame generated by the image sensor in response to a pulse by the fluorescent source of electromagnetic radiation, and wherein the fluorescent source of electromagnetic radiation is configured to pulse electromagnetic radiation within a wavelength range of 795 ± 20 nm.
In the same field of endeavor, Oshima teaches wherein the plurality of electromagnetic sources further comprises a fluorescent source of electromagnetic radiation, wherein the plurality of exposure frames comprises a fluorescent exposure frame generated by the image sensor in response to a pulse by the fluorescent source of electromagnetic radiation, and wherein the fluorescent source of electromagnetic radiation is configured to pulse electromagnetic radiation within a wavelength range of 795 ± 20 nm (¶ 680).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Blanquart in view of Oshima. The advantage is improving the image processing.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 32 - 35 and 42 - 44 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/CHIKAODILI E ANYIKIRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487