DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-10 and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liang et al. (WO 2024/154712 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Liang appears to disclose a method, implemented by a wireless receive-transmit unit (WTRU) in a wireless communication network, the method comprising:
receiving configuration information for reporting of a measurement event of a first type using a report of a first type (Fig. 8, S810, S814, [0153] disclosing at S810, the base station determines measurement configuration including a reporting configuration and measurement reporting parameters for L1 measurements; [0156] disclosing the base station transmits configuration signalling to the UE including the measurement configuration of S810; Fig. 8, S816, [0157]-[0158] disclosing the UE performs the measurements and monitors for triggering of an L1 event and generates a measurement report when an L1 event has been triggered), and for reporting of a measurement event of a second type using a report of a second type (Fig. 8, S812, S814, [0154] disclosing the base station determines one or more allocations of PUCCH resources for one or more scheduling requests and/or one or more dedicated PUCCH resources for transmission of an indication that an L1 measurement is available; [0156] disclosing the base station sends the configuration of the PUCCH resources to the UE);
determining, based on criteria comprised in the configuration information, to report a measurement event of the first type in a report of the first type (Fig. 18, S816, S819, [0157]-[0158] disclosing the UE performs the configured measurements, monitors for triggering of an L1 event, and generates a measurement report when an L1 event has been triggered) and determining unavailability of sufficient uplink resources for transmitting the report of the first type (Fig. 8, S820, [0158] disclosing the UE sends an initial indication that an L1 measurement report is available using the PUCCH resources configured for scheduling request or configured for sending the indication; implicitly disclosing the need for resources in order to transmit the measurement report in that at Fig. 8, S822, [0159] discloses the base station schedules resources for the measurement report upon receiving the scheduling request or indication that an L1 measurement report is available);
determining availability of resources for transmitting the report of the second type, and transmitting an indication, using the resources for transmitting the report of the second type, of occurrence of the measurement event of the first type, and of a request for resources for transmitting the report of the first type (Fig. 8, S820 [0158] disclosing the UE sends an initial indication that an L1 measurement report is available using the PUCCH resources that have been configured for a scheduling request or configured for sending the indication);
receiving an indication of resources for transmitting the report of the first type (Fig. 8, S822, S824, [0159] disclosing the base station schedules PUSCH resources for the UE to send the measurement report and signals the scheduled PUSCH resources to the UE); and
transmitting the report of the first type comprising a measurement result of the measurement event of the first type using the indicated resources for transmitting the report of the first type (Fig. 8, S826, [0160] disclosing the UE sends the measurement report to the base station using the scheduled PUSCH resources).
Regarding claim 2, Liang appears to disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the measurement event of the first type is a lower-layer triggered mobility - layer 1 (LTM-L1) measurement event ([0006], [0153]).
Regarding claim 3, Liang appears to disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the report of the first type is transmitted via a medium access control – control element (MAC-CE) ([0162]).
Regarding claim 6, Liang appears to disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein the request for resources for transmitting the report of the first type comprises a scheduling request (SR) ([0154]).
Regarding claim 7, Liang appears to disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein the report of the second type comprises at least one of: an identifier of the measurement event of the first type; an indication of a scheduling request (SR) for resources for transmission of the report of the first type; and a measurement result of the measurement event of the first type ([0154], [0158]).
Regarding claims 8-10 and 13-14, the claims are directed towards a wireless transmit-receive unit (WTRU) in a wireless communication network, wherein the WTRU comprises at least one processor configured to perform the method of claims 1-3 and 6-7. Liang discloses such implementations (Fig. 3, controller 37, [0125]-[0126], [0224]-[0225]). Accordingly, claims 8-10 and 13-14 are rejected on the grounds presented above for claims 1-3 and 6-7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5 and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang et al. (WO 2024/154712 A1) in view of Farag et al. (US 2021/0314931 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Liang does not disclose the following; however, Farag suggests the method according to claim 1, wherein the measurement event of the second type is a beam management measurement event ([0158]-[0159], [0336]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the techniques of Liang with the invention of Farag because the use of beams for communication can increase the system efficiency through directional communications.
Regarding claim 5, Liang does not disclose the following; however, Farag suggests the method according to claim 1, wherein the report of the second type comprises multiple input multiple output beam management (MIMO BM) measurement results ([0041], [0158]-[0159], [0336]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the techniques of Liang with the invention of Farag because the use of beams for communication can increase the system efficiency through directional communications.
Regarding claims 11-12, the claims are directed towards the WTRU which performs the method of claims 4-5; accordingly, claims 11-12 are rejected on the grounds presented above for claims 4-5.
Conclusion
/JOSEPH A BEDNASH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461